Daniel Jackson Should be dropped

richmondkickass2

Daniel Jackson should be dropped after a shocking start to the season. He turns the ball over to many times, he cost us the game against Sydney. We could have won that game against Sydney.
I believe by dropping Daniel Jackson is a good idea. This will give a young players like Adam Thomson or Jayden Post or Putt a chance to play.
We need to have belief in our young players.
Daniel Jackson go back to Coburg and find yourself.

You mean the Thomson, Post and Putt who can't even dominate VFL seniors. Yeah, top idea. Thomson would turn the ball over with his kicking twice as much as Jackson and Putt and Post simply wouldn't play in his position and aren't near AFL standard yet for any position.

Daniel Jackson, despite myself not being overly fond of him, is doing his job this year and actually gives 100% which is more than I can say for some others. He's no star, and I don't think he ever will be, but he's better than anyone else at Coburg at the moment by a long long way.

Rayzorwire, the stage is set for you to tear this thread to shreds. I can see the steam coming out the ears already. ;)

Well to be honest, the guy who posted in the first place is completely wrong.

Be as it may, Daniel Jackson may not be doing the things that Gary Ablett Junior does, however the boy needs to play under pressure, at the moment he is ranked 48th in total disposals with 135, 82 kicks, 53 handballs.

He is a player who gives a few tackles, spoils, has given Richmond 24 inside 50's, so he's giving the ball into the forward 50 for a potential 24 scoring shorts.

His disposals arent the best but... at Richmond at the moment, they are playing under pressure, Daniel Jackson remember is also a tagger at best, he may not be a Jason Gram who can rack up the ball, but for him to be Richmond's top 4 disposal getter and top 50th in the league after Round 6..

your being awfully unfair!

No son, better luck next time :thumbsu:

Without Daniel Jackson we wouldn't have been in the situation to win the game against Sydney in the first place !

The boy tagged Goodes completely out of the game ! When was the last time you can remember that Goodes didn't have 30 plus disposals & 2 plus goals against us ?

If anyone should be dropped it should be our medical staff, my 'physio' that my footy team has would do a better job. And she's a volunteer !

i think ur joking but just incase

Kept Goodes to 7 Kicks
Had 18 Kicks and 11 Handballs himself
9 Clearances (Most on the ground)
8 Inside 50s (Most on the ground)

Was easily our best player on the weekend as has been one of the most improved players going around this year.

This year has had

More Kicks than Gary Ablett Jnr
More Marks than Gary Ablett Jnr
More Clearances Than Gary Ablett Jnr
5 Less Tackles than Gary Ablett Jnr
Equal Inside 50s As Gary Ablett Jnr
Equal Goal Assists as Gary Ablett Jnr

so dont think his been terrible

i hope you are joking about dropping jackson otherwise you are a goose and have no idea about football
I have daniel jackson in my dreamteam so i watch him very closely,he is a very good player,not only does he shut good players dowe but he also gets the hard ball and clears packs.And if you reckon he has a crap disposal then go back and have a look at how many goals he has set up this year by his pin point passes into our foward line.Yes i will admit he has had a few shocking turn overs but come on he is young and is having a fair crack and i think ihe s a very good midfielder and i would have him in there full time
I love richo but this second half of the year is the best thing for this club,we will get to see who really steps up and who the NEW coach next year will delist,Im guessing that J Reiwoldt will have a very good second half of the year and players like bling,nahas,collins buzzing around our foward line will be the making of this young team,so come on tigs,im very confident about this weekend,we will beat the lions and with cuzzy and cotch coming back in this is the start of our season,go tigs

i probably would go so far as to drop jacko, but he is not the goto man i would want to be getting clearances going forward from the centre bounces because of his mediocre disposals. he should play on the hff where he can be on the recieving end of a pass. his kicking for goal in better than what they have now, but his field passing is poor.

go to man??? His field kicking has been good.

It has been very ordinary. He has made a couple of worm burners come off but other than that he was been average at best. Opposition teams won't mind at all giving Jackson free reign to gather possessions.

There is nothing worse that idiots who come on here and constantly start threads trying to be controversial.

He is an apprentice and should be banned for a few weeks.

The Snag

one of the worst threads i have read for a while.

since round 2 jacko has been regularly in our best.
against geelong he beat selwood and selwood even told him this after the game.
and the last 2 weeks has been our best player and at worst in our top 2.

his kicking has been excellent the last fortnight especially. crawford even made mention of it on the sunday footy show.

learn something about footy mate.

cheers

Daniel Jackson should be dropped after a shocking start to the season. He turns the ball over to many times, he cost us the game against Sydney. We could have won that game against Sydney.
I believe by dropping Daniel Jackson is a good idea. This will give a young players like Adam Thomson or Jayden Post or Putt a chance to play.
We need to have belief in our young players.
Daniel Jackson go back to Coburg and find yourself.

What total flipping nonsense!!!!

hmmz...I had a crack at Mitch yesterday and took some floggings by the faithful, but it was more aimed at his lack of tackle / fitness etc. and yes i hate the snaps.

Reading this one...just is all wrong.....Jackson, may lack some skills..but has had a fair crack all year. I actually thought he played wella gainst Sydney and would be pushing the B&F right about now.....not such a smart move....to dump him, when you have a few other's making up the numbers.

Next Thread......

:)I was more critical than most last week in the "Who will get Goodes" thread re Jackson getting the assignment on the Swans star.
And probably just as critical of Jacko as a player in his time at Tigerland, after showing great promise in his debut season, yet floundering soon after.
I think I described him as both "averae" and a "plodder" who who at least has the desire and second to nobe work rate to get the most out of his limited ability. He's no star for sure, but to downplay his performance in 2009 - and worse - calling for him to be dropped is lunacy!!!
His game last week was exceptional - his game the week before even better.
I'll stand by the fact I said Judd beat him in round one, but he cleaned up Selwood (Selwood admitted as much) and Griffen (who is struggling) in the week's after, while his last two weeks you can fault.
I had this argument with Rayzorwire and I can forgive the odd Jackson turnover based on the fact of the positive he brings to the team and the fact we are a club full of turnover specialists!!!

If we're putting it to the vote, this thread gets my vote for the dumbest I have seen on Big Footy!!!

At the time he played on Griffen, Griffen was in red-hot form, coming off two B.O.Gs in a row. So he has been excellent this year.

I believe by dropping Daniel Jackson is a good idea.
I believe you are a ****ing idiot:rolleyes:
Yes lets drop one of our best performed players for the year for players struggling to make an impact at VFL level

almost bog against north, good tagger shut down selwood very nicely and that is quite a task. our best player fitness wise and he has actually improved disposal... shocking thread

Richmondkickass2 You have no idea do you, Daniel Jackson has been doing good in the centre. Winning contested footy, He has been abit sloppy with the clangers. But most unexperienced up and coming Midfielders are. So give him a break aye?

I thought the klutz Jacko wasn't too bad V the Swans.
He actual ran around like an old time utility. All bluster and movement, forcing the ball forward.

He certainly wasn't the worst.
At least there was some urgency to Jacko's game.

Wish Jack Riewoldt would apply that to his game too. :rolleyes: