Delisted Daniel Nicholson

NICHOLSON%20Daniel.png

Goes into the 2011 season as a 20 yr old rookie and possibly a nominated rookie (eligible for senior service) full yr or mid yr next season.

RD Pick: 14

Number: 26 (Original No. 49)
Height: 183cm
Weight: 76kg
DOB: 02/11/90
Club: Uni Blues (Vic)

Club Profile

Demonwiki

Re: 49. Daniel Nicholson

Absolute find.

To come from the amateur comp and slot straight into a team - :thumbsu:. Excellent recruiting. Doesn't look out of place at all, needs to work on his disposal (a couple of ordinary turnovers, but then again, that's representative of our entire team), but attacks the ball with ferocity and tackles like a beast.

Loving the look of this kid.

Beautiful goal that. Took on a couple, took the shortest route to goal and kept his balance and drilled it at full speed.

2011 review courtesy of Deestroy:

#49 Daniel Nicholson

2011 info
Games:
Goals: 2
Position: Run with player/defender

Drafted with Melbourne’s first pick in the 2010 rookie draft (pick 14) Nicholson impressed early in the season playing a number of run with roles with Casey showing good pace, good endurance and the ability to find the football. After being the second rookie elevated in 2 weeks (the round after Evans had an impressive debut) Nicholson showed enough to keep his spot and eventually played 9 AFL games before the season was out.

At AFL level he was able to show a lot of what impressed in the VFL. Exceptional pace and endurance, and an ability to back himself and evade tackles not seen since Aaron Davey burst onto the scene (considered using the Johnstone example as Nicholson shows a similar ability to find time where none appears to exist, but unlike Johnstone there doesn’t seem to be any laziness in Nicholsons game).

He has spent most of his time off half back and in run with roles through the midfield, a position that opened up following the long-term injury to Rohan Bail earlier in the season. What did expose him on occasion, is his disposal by foot. This is likely the reason he has lasted out of the AFL system until this time, as he has all the physical attributes and a seemingly strong work ethic. The other thing that did worry me was his confidence in himself to break tackles went too far at times, and he tried to take the game on far too much. This is something that may come with experience, but like those that said for years Johnstone might apply himself the next year or Morton might put on half a kilogram of weight, some things just never leave a player.

These are going to be the big question for Nicholson going forward that determine if he makes it as an AFL footballer or ends up as another rookie that has a promising few games when no-one knows who he is and then slides away into oblivion in the years that follow (think Jace Bode who showed a bit at the end of a bad season, signed a 2 year deal and was never heard from again).

I don’t pretend to have a crystal ball but my gut feeling is that given his deficiencies by foot he may be pushing a rock uphill to make it, but given Melbourne’s current list he should be given every chance as a potential run with player/line breaker off half back to give it a go. The return of Bail might cost him games early, but with his pace he may yet be able to prove himself as an impact player (sub) or a back pocket runner if his defensive game is good enough.

Many called for him to be placed on the senior list, but with the ability to list a rookie mid season and the likelihood that a long-term injury will open up a spot in any case, I think it would’ve been stupid not to keep him on the rookie list at this stage. Didn’t hurt McKenzie’s development, and if Nicholson is good enough it won’t hurt his either.

No doubt this will be a make or break season. If he continues to improve he may be able to get permanently onto the senior list ,but there is no room for error. Any regression or second year blues and it’s likely he won’t be around in 2013, especially with Evans in such a similar position in direct competition for a senior spot.

In summary Nicholson has shown a bit, suggested he may make it but it’s anyone’s guess what will happen for him in 2012. Definitely a watch this space.

Promoted to senior list due to Maximum Gawn's LTI.

Here's to hoping he has been practising kicking the football.

Will be playing his first game for 2012 this weekend.

Daniel Nicholson

Thought he showed a lot v Carlton. 22 touches, plenty of run and attacks the contest hard. Disposal can be shonky but the positives outweigh that I think.

Reckon he needs to be persevered with. And if he cements his spot then Jamie Bennell will be very nervous come list lodgement time.

Re: Daniel Nicholson

Thought he showed a lot v Carlton. 22 touches, plenty of run and attacks the contest hard. Disposal can be shonky but the positives outweigh that I think.

Reckon he needs to be persevered with. And if he cements his spot then Jamie Bennell will be very nervous come list lodgement time.

I agree, which is a shame, as yesterday there was one passage of play in the 3rd quarter, that actually showed what he can do, when he takes the game on...

The work he did on the boundary line to keep the ball in, dodge the carlton player and dish out to a running Blease really impressed me. He should keep his spot although i think he would be perfect on the wing.

Definately added some run and carry to the team, Nicholson and Blease did this well yesterday, and often linked up with each other which was good to see. Also never gives up on a chase

His run was certainly a positive this weekend. In a team full of plodders pace is like gold.

Not sure about his longevity in the side - he needs to vastly improve his disposal but if he can get this up to standard then there is a place for him in the side long term.

Nicholson, Blease, Bennell, Bail! All very quick players. Not sure we can carry all 4, but pace is something we have really missed. Blease has been the most promising of these 4. I think he's turned a corner. I know Nicholson has been injured, but I've been crying out for him to come into the side. Yes, disposal is a worry, but his run and carry is something this team really needs right now. Bail has had an ordinary season, but played his best game on the weekend. Hopefully he can continue. Bennell should be freed up when Struass gets back in the team. Maybe a wing is best suited to him. Blease on one wing, Bennell on the other? He just doesn't find the footy in the F50 as a crumber, and he's not tight enough as a defender. But was great to see pace back in our side on the weekend...

The work he did on the boundary line to keep the ball in, dodge the carlton player and dish out to a running Blease really impressed me. He should keep his spot although i think he would be perfect on the wing.

Yeah, I pointed that out at the time too. Both he and Blease give us plenty of run, and we've obviously been needing that desperately this year.

Based on what?

Watch some of his vfl games they have the same kind of playstyle and he's shown just as much talent. Even look at his highlights he does very impressive things. Which are akin to Yarran's style. Problem is he doesn't get nearly enough of the ball and he only does one or two good things per game.
[YOUTUBE]rPdQiIBBbIc[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]ItNorps1r-c[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]QK41NJmMTBE[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]9jWaX7iLoLw[/YOUTUBE]

While I don't mind Bennell he can't be mentioned in the same breathe as Yarran. A few good highlights doesn't mean he should be up there with him. I think the kid has the rest of this year just to keep his spot on the list - and I still think there is a role for him to play in our side, he just never goes hard enough for long enough to take it.

I'm not saying he should be up there with him I'm saying he has as much talent and run. Yarran has been developed more.

Only criticism of Nicho and Bail - The speedy types is there ball use. This will improve with the right coaching but you cannot teach players to play with pace. This is natural. Keep them both in the team and let them develop.

Delisted Daniel Nicholson