Gippy Power
I am just over this bloke. Not sure how many caught his dribble last night but I happened upon it quite by accident as have given up watching when he and MacLure come on. MacLure in particular often just gets his facts wrong and contradicts himself from week to week.

Anyway last night they were banging on about if we lose this weekend then the 'heat' will go on EM (i think it was he who he was referring to or maybe NB) but either way what a load of crap. How you could possibly argue that EM decision to go with Nathan Buckley was wrong based on the outcome of one game is just laughable.......particularly in a week where they players have had to deal with an experience that none of us would want to be in and have to play a really important game.

It was even dumber bc MM hasnt even coached a game yet with the Blues and King has him back as the mesiah. Last time I checked how his coaching went it wasnt that great. We got ripped apart towards the end of last season by Geelong who had figured us out and we were v lucky to get past the two finals we won. In the GF I think its fair to say he made some monumental errors in how he changed up the plan and then failed to counter the Hawkins dominance until it was to late. Sure MM is a v good coach and good luck to Carlton with him as whilst think BR had done a good job this year, MM wont let them down but lets not get carried away given how we fell away towards the end of last year and who was at the helm when it occurred.

Anyway, I dont know why I bother being upset about him bc he was just a failed assistant coach who couldnt get another gig and who now just delves into stats. As for MM well i just cant take him seriously at times. Good for a laugh but I wouldnt think any coaches sit at home waiting for his pearls of wisdom to be unleashed!

More of the current assistant coaches etc and less of the failed ones for me

You Just Figured that Out?

I call him:

"A Know all who Knows F**k All"

I have no Idea why McClure is on there - Have a Drinking Session with Robbo after thje show?

The major issue i have with King and MM ( the Carlton one, they now have two!!) is how reactionary they are. It's., " a fly landed on the wall so we have a plague and pestilance upon us", rather than , the preceding 7 days there were no flies, lets just keep an eye on things.

Snoop, the suggestion was that NB has the heat on him, and to lose would represent disaster.
I thought three things from this.

First was that to lose both finals is clearly a poor outcome but i would have no reservations about the season being assessed as anything other than a strong 'pass'. Tough draw, key injuries, new coaching panel etc.

Second was how the the finals lottery has not fallen our way. Of the top 4 teams the one i wanted to play was Adelaide, their loss to Brisbane that seemed wonderful at the time was far from it! Only ourselves to blame though losing to North.

Last thing was, why do i watch King and Maclure?

The major issue i have with King and MM ( the Carlton one, they now have two!!) is how reactionary they are. It's., " a fly landed on the wall so we have a plague and pestilance upon us", rather than , the preceding 7 days there were no flies, lets just keep an eye on things.

Snoop, the suggestion was that NB has the heat on him, and to lose would represent disaster.
I thought three things from this.

First was that to lose both finals is clearly a poor outcome but i would have no reservations about the season being assessed as anything other than a strong 'pass'. Tough draw, key injuries, new coaching panel etc.

Second was how the the finals lottery has not fallen our way. Of the top 4 teams the one i wanted to play was Adelaide, their loss to Brisbane that seemed wonderful at the time was far from it! Only ourselves to blame though losing to North.

Last thing was, why do i watch King and Maclure?

Bucks was on a Hiding to None this year. IF we won the Flag it would be because of MM and if we didn't it would be BUCKS Fault

I am just over this bloke. Not sure how many caught his dribble last night but I happened upon it quite by accident as have given up watching when he and MacLure come on. MacLure in particular often just gets his facts wrong and contradicts himself from week to week.

Anyway last night they were banging on about if we lose this weekend then the 'heat' will go on EM (i think it was he who he was referring to or maybe NB) but either way what a load of crap. How you could possibly argue that EM decision to go with Nathan Buckley was wrong based on the outcome of one game is just laughable.......particularly in a week where they players have had to deal with an experience that none of us would want to be in and have to play a really important game.

It was even dumber bc MM hasnt even coached a game yet with the Blues and King has him back as the mesiah. Last time I checked how his coaching went it wasnt that great. We got ripped apart towards the end of last season by Geelong who had figured us out and we were v lucky to get past the two finals we won. In the GF I think its fair to say he made some monumental errors in how he changed up the plan and then failed to counter the Hawkins dominance until it was to late. Sure MM is a v good coach and good luck to Carlton with him as whilst think BR had done a good job this year, MM wont let them down but lets not get carried away given how we fell away towards the end of last year and who was at the helm when it occurred.

Anyway, I dont know why I bother being upset about him bc he was just a failed assistant coach who couldnt get another gig and who now just delves into stats. As for MM well i just cant take him seriously at times. Good for a laugh but I wouldnt think any coaches sit at home waiting for his pearls of wisdom to be unleashed!

More of the current assistant coaches etc and less of the failed ones for me

I don't know about 'heat' being on Bucks, but if we lose this week, it certainly won't be viewed as a good season for the club, which is different to how the last two seasons need to be viewed.

He has a point - it is just that you (and many of us on this board) disagree. But it is not a completely ridiculous point of view when you look at it.

I don't know about 'heat' being on Bucks, but if we lose this week, it certainly won't be viewed as a good season for the club, which is different to how the last two seasons need to be viewed.

He has a point - it is just that you (and many of us on this board) disagree. But it is not a completely ridiculous point of view when you look at it.

I think finishing 5th will be seen as a good season given the # players blooded, the draw and some of the one off things that didnt help them. To be fair not a lot went right in the 2nd half and it wasnt the coaches fault. Few blokes made sure of that.

I think it will be a fair season if we lose this week, probably just short of good. When you look at 2010 = Flag, 2011 = most successful home and away season ever, and grand final, a straight sets loss from the finals is not a great trajectory.

Granted, we have had terrible injuries all year, and a tough draw, but we have lost three of the last four while our injury list has been at its lowest. We just aren't playing good football. I am not blaming Bucks at all, but I think it is fair for some people on the outside of the club to wonder whether this would have happened under MM. King is just one of those people.

If Carlton win a flag under MM before we do then Eddie will be forced out, will go down as one of the biggest blunders in football history and we'll be the laughing stock of the AFL world.

No we wouldn't. Only if we lost to them in a grand final. :)

Maclure and King highlight what is wrong with (football) media. All bluster and controversy and very little substance. One does little to no research on the topics he speaks on and the other is so stupidly selective with what data he uses so he can twist the facts to suit his idiotic propositions. Listening to Maclure talk about Buckley's lack of change in coaching and his rant on O'Brien was embarrassing. And for King to suggest Buckley's under pressure because another team appointed another coach...this logic is staggering in its ridiculousness.

Heritage Night of AFL360 is weak.

King & The other flog (I can't bring myself to say his name)

Dumb%2Band%2BDumber%2B2%2BMovie.jpg

Unlikely Carlton will win a flag anytime soon - god I hope not!

I think the pervading emotion at the time of the deal was that it was a master stroke by EM.
Plus, would we have won in 2010 without the succession plan - maybe, but I'm saying more likely, maybe not.
( The answer would be known by some I reckon, and lies with were we or were we not getting Jolly and Ball before the plan was announced and did MM/selection panel get more ruthless culling the aging stars in 2010 as they did )

But yes, agree that many, with their 20-20 hindight goggles firmly in place, will see us as two bit losers with egg all over our faces.

If I had time, I'd go back and find and bump the Succession thread from late 2009 and see what we were all saying...

PS re David King - I'm in the minority here, I generally love his insights and think he reads the game as well as anyone.

I reckon he's one of the smartest and most perceptive going around - also love how he cringes at some of the shit coming out of Robbo's mouth at times.

But I didn't really like what he said re the heat being on Bucks, 'He'll be the biggest loser of the weekend if Pies lose" if we go out in straight sets.

If we get flogged, perhaps fair enough, but if it's a really competitive game, and following the competitive effort vs Hawks, then probably a bit tough.

But guess the haters will jump aboard and shitcan Bucks, and that's really what he's saying.

No, I think this is a bit strong. Carlton (as much as we dislike it) are certainly a chance for the flag next year on talent alone (particularly if they get Cloke).

Eddie will not be forced out at any point in the next 15 years (unless he commits some sort of embezzlement or something).

Geez, I hope not (like you) but if they get Cloke and a good coach (which is what MM is), and add those to their current list, they will challenge. They already smashed up twice this year...

If Carlton win a flag so be it. Malthouse will have got his revenge on Eddie and he will retire not only wealthier, but with the satisfaction of a winner. The sun will still rise in the morning and I'll still barrack for Collingwood and prefer Bucks as a coach.

My recollection of the Malthouse to Buckley transition was that most Collingwood people thought it was a winner, whilst outsiders felt that time will tell. I'm 100% sure that we can thank that deal for the 2010 flag. People & organisations perform at a higher level when they have an end date.

Life is about making decisions and dealing with the consequences. I have faith that the club did the right thing. There is nothing that David King or "The Flog Who Must Not Be Named" can say on their show to make me believe otherwise.

I think the pervading emotion at the time of the deal was that it was a master stroke by EM.
Plus, would we have won in 2010 without the succession plan - maybe, but I'm saying more likely, maybe not.
( The answer would be known by some I reckon, and lies with were we or were we not getting Jolly and Ball before the plan was announced and did MM/selection panel get more ruthless culling the aging stars in 2010 as they did )

But yes, agree that many, with their 20-20 hindight goggles firmly in place, will see us as two bit losers with egg all over our faces.

If I had time, I'd go back and find and bump the Succession thread from late 2009 and see what we were all saying...

Geez, I hope not (like you) but if they get Cloke and a good coach (which is what MM is), and add those to their current list, they will challenge. They already smashed up twice this year...

Yep get all that.

But against that, their list is aging in many areas. MM might be good, but I'm hoping it'll take him a while to actually get his message across, take the players a while to get used to his style, whatever that'll be thesedays.

But yeah, at their best they'd be potentially scary good.

As will Hawks, WCE, Freo, Pies, Swans and who knows, Essendon with a full list, Tiges are getting closer, Crows etc etc, so plenty of competition there.

A lot will be determined by the draw eg Adelaide this year.

I actually don't mind King, particularly as a commentator and his actual game analysis. He has to say something i guess, Fox Footy get's alot of air time...
I thought Ch 7 may have picked him up, Maclure i am sure doesn even believe 99% of what he, himself says!!
It's the Maclure/King/Robbo combo that's the large waster of air time.

Hopefully his heart isn't in it or the filth players see him as a Collingwood outsider and rebel against him, one thing we know for sure Carlton will hang him out to dry if the team doesn't respond how they'd hoped.

Hopefully we get our 16th and 17th before they get their 17th... Wouldn't mind owning the crown for a little bit before we have to share it (or lose it...).

That is why last year is SO frustrating... We should be level pegging now!

Without judging on results - it's too soon to do that anyway - It seems a very strange decision for a large sports club to commit to an untried head coach two years before he actually starts and to do so without seeming to have looked at the available field or interviewed anyone else. This may not be what occurred, but it's certainly most people's perceptions of what occurred.

It was a particularly strange decision for a club and president who love to use the phrase 'due diligence.'

Cant stand King, tosser of the highest order.
While he does understand the game he is not the expert he makes out he is, he isolates bits and pieces from games and then simply makes a case or analysis based on that play or trend in the game.

The spectrum is so so broad, so when choosing how to analyse anything from the games that he wants, its not hard to seem to know what you are talking about.

I reckon a fair few of our posters could easily do as a good a job and i am not joking.