• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

left field option for a possible senior coach
Sam mitchell
assistant at west coast and now hawks
coaching box hill atm
A bit of a hard nosed campaigner as a player , doubt he would let players off with soft efforts
knows what it takes to win a flag as a player
was not athletically gifted , had to use football smarts to get the ball

I'm not so sure that Clarkson would be the answer to anything. I'd be very hesitant about creating another Malthose situation.
Yeah it’s a tough decision...Clarkson is a lot better than Malthouse. Him getting the best out of an average team over the last few years is really going to sink hawthorn for awhile.

I like Teague but his reluctance to change the game style to one that suits the team is infuriating and worrying. He is coaching for the now and it’s not even close to working!

I know he has a laconic style but he seems quite lazy in his approach, which ultimately rubs off on the players.
I get what you're trying to say.
Hawks were thugs and had intensity like their coach.
So too Brisbane under Mathews.

Teague lacks any intensity at all and we ask why do our players as well so often.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

It would very be surprising if he was sacked this week, but could anybody mount a strong argument that it would be the wrong decision?
No way the club would sack him this week...
If it was to happen, it would be at the end of the year (give him time to turn it around) or more likely next year...

Something needs to change.
We're doing the exact same thing over and over, the definition of insanity.

Can we afford to blow the rest of the year without improvement?
The rest of the year is shot unfortunately again ,,,,all big changes including coaches need to happen end of the year unless Teague on his accord steps down !!

that won’t happen, so we have another 11 weeks of footy to go to nowhere ,,,

and surely this will be end of barker

Teague said today in his press conference he wont be playing the kids...
He will pick the best 22 to win and that Murphy was best 22 and that Jones broke even with Buddy today...

How the **** is playing 3 ruckmen picking our best 22 to win?
We're 4-7 for ****'s sake.
Getting more and more disillusioned.

We should at least be trying to make the best of the second half of the year.
Fixing the structure, playing players who will be the future, and sorting those who are not up to it.
Exactly right. We are at the crossroads now. Choose to focus on the future and I can see success starting to build next year. Choose to focus on short term wins by persisting with flawed game plans and older has been/never was players, and we are doomed.

This club, with an increasing maturity of its homegrown talent and significant investment in mature high end talent from other lists has - at best - stagnated under this coach. In fact, you could mount a strong case to say it’s going backwards in competitiveness.

we might be keeping final margins respectable but the games vs Port, Brisbane, Melbourne were not in doubt. our gap to Richmond, Bulldogs and Swans was made very clear.

Last year and this year were supposed to be the years where we are moving up the table and setting ourselves up for a big crack at top 4 and real contention in 22-24. We’re now well behind that pace and this coach has shown or said nothing to suggest he’s capable of the self reflection required to correct the clear mistakes he and his team (which he refused to change) are making in selection and strategy.

He and that team of coaches (inc. Russell) need to go. It’s costing us years, and who knows what OOC players are thinking …

That’s the thing now do we blood or try for wins ? Or both ..
If teague is picking teams for wins, then he is clueless. Bringing in casboult for Plowman to play defence against a team with 1 dangerous tall forward and a host dangerous small to mid size forwards proves this.

The only legitimate reason is that he likes Levi more than any of the 4 to 10 players that would have served us better. It's scary to think that anyone could believe the changes this week improved our chances of winning.

If teague is picking teams for wins, then he is clueless. Bringing in casboult for Plowman to play defence against a team with 1 dangerous tall forward and a host dangerous small to mid size forwards proves this.

The only legitimate reason is that he likes Levi more than any of the 4 to 10 players that would have served us better. It's scary to think that anyone could believe the changes this week improved our chances of winning.

I was going into this year pretty hopeful with Teague, a second full preseason, thought the list changes made a lot of sense (although I thought the time was right for Murphy to retire).

but your last point has sent me over the edge with Teague - it’s the obvious nature of the terrible decisions that are worrying. If bozos like me are able to immediately see the flaws in selection policy and then sit back and watch those flaws play out in a game exactly as expected?? Then the person making those calls needs to go.

Should be shown the door immediately. His record goes from bad to worse. The young midfielders aren't developing. We brought in Saad and Williams and Martin for him and we are still going backwards. We have the likely Coleman medallist and we are still going backwards. He has destroyed a talented foootballer by forcing him to play grossly out of position. He thinks defense is an afterthought. Time to move on and get someone who will demand more from the players and make them accountable and design a game plan that puts defense at the forefront of the plan and where successful attack comes off the back of strong defense. If he is fair dinkum he should drop Docherty for that pathetic attempt to kick off the ground. But he won't. Weak coach.

Nice of Teague to throw the players under the bus in the presser for the last quarter performance when the game was in the balance and specifically call out that it wasn't a coaching problem. While watching the game, I was thinking it was exactly the opposite. Swans made the necessary adjustments and finished us off pretty easily in the end. See recent examples from the Dogs and Demons games as well.

Haven't seen anything from this bloke that tells me it'll get any better. We keep making the same mistakes and he can't/won't make adjustments to the gameplan and decent teams know exactly how to beat us. Rinse and repeat....

I miss the days when Carlton had standards of excellence and ambition. We may fail and make the wrong calls sometimes, but this acceptance of mediocrity is far worse. We're risking another generation of wasted talent.

Nice of Teague to throw the players under the bus in the presser for the last quarter performance when the game was in the balance and specifically call out that it wasn't a coaching problem. While watching the game, I was thinking it was exactly the opposite. Swans made the necessary adjustments and finished us off pretty easily in the end. See recent examples from the Dogs and Demons games as well.

Haven't seen anything from this bloke that tells me it'll get any better. We keep making the same mistakes and he can't/won't make adjustments to the gameplan and decent teams know exactly how to beat us. Rinse and repeat....

I miss the days when Carlton had standards of excellence and ambition. We may fail and make the wrong calls sometimes, but this acceptance of mediocrity is far worse. We're risking another generation of wasted talent.
Our current standards are 13th is acceptable

He had no confidence when he said we will beat Eagles next week.

Didn't like it when he said Heeney was BOG. Like WFT keep that rubbish to yourself you fool.

Yes I've started seeing hints of late he is deferring blame to the players. All this tells me is he is incapable of getting them to lift. And in any event I suspect the core of the problem is his game plan. He doesn't focus on defense but now blames the players for not defending. Horse before cart David.

I’ve never done this up to this year
But I’ve turned off fox and think to myself what can I do to make myself feel good.
Hard to watch and game plan had to change during early part of 3rd for mine but anyways.

can you state what changes sydney made? this isn't to be cheeky but just for me to learn that's all.

We badly need defensively minded people at the club. The fact we have got so close to top teams with no defensive structure is amazing.

Teams just keep running back hard and defending against us and we keen leaving our defenders to do it on their own. Too lose in the midfield and too lose up forward leaving ourselves vulnerable to good defensive structures and good rebounding footy.

This open unaccountable forward running game needs to be used in balance. Good sides defend well and defend first.

The Swans game was a prime example of being out coached. We attacked hard, they defended hard and kept our scoring down, they wore is down and when they attacked they scored easily because we do not defend well structurally.

IMO the coach is on his last legs and this game is a good indicator of why. Can't have no defensive aspect to your game and do well and it was so obvious this week.

can you state what changes sydney made? this isn't to be cheeky but just for me to learn that's all.

Basically gave up trying to win the contested footy as they knew they could smash us outside and that our mids can't/won't chase. The Kennedy goal at the start of the fourth was a perfect example. Cripps was ten yards off him when he took that mark and goaled. Walsh was struggling to get back on his opponent too who had done the same.

There was often an extra mid outside the contest without a direct opponent. Buddy was almost used as a decoy forward as we were sitting deep with an extra behind play (as we had done most of the day) and Heeney and Papley took over.

Sparky I really like your post. I'm not convinced we are accepting mediocrity though. I think we are working hard behind the scenes for some big changes. Our hands were tied as far as budget for change of coaching staff. We know their will be changes at seasons end. We have had a lot of injuries this year. A lot. To players who make a difference in games.
Keep the faith.