De-list Eagleton

Mofra said:
Eagle does not have a defensive side, but neither do many outside midfielders.
Perhaps that sort of thing is part of the problem. We have a tonne of outside midfielders and Eagle is the oldest of them. On my part at least bringing Eagle up for trade has nothing to do with me being dissapointed with his overall contribution. The fact of the matter is he is a guy we can afford to trade. The trick with trading is unloading your talent just before it loses its value and getting as much out of it as you can. You have to predict these things a little bit. Would Eagle get a game next year in our best 22? Definetly. Would we suffer badly if he wasn't around? Probably not. If someone offers us something for him then we would have to look at it if not then we keep him and get as much out of him as possible.

Suggesting a trade does not immediately indicate a dislike for a player nor does saying you like a player immediately mean that you dont think he is trade bait. I reckon you would even find that despite Pembleton sticking up for Eagle he would agree that Eagleton is prime trade bait under the right circumstances. It is possible to have a mixed opinion on these things.

Re: De-list Benno from Berwick

firstdogonthemoon said:
I would know if it is foolish because it would break my football heart. I dont follow this game with my head! I follow it with my heart, and my blood and my underpants. I follow it because it brings me joy and hope and a chance to pay too much for beer in a plastic cup. I dont really know why I follow it but I know I have to. That is what I know.

I also know that number 10, in certain moments, creates breathtaking acts of footballing grace and purity, acts of a magnitude such that I want to weep.

I have a fanatical view because I am hugely of fond of the way Nathan Eagleton conducts himself. I am President for Life of the recently formed Nathan Eagleton Enthusiasts Association and also a senior Ninja with the top secret Deadly Gleaming Scalp Society. Finally, I play bass and tambourine in the Silky Left Footed Love Meringue (a Nathan Eagleton Cover Band) so I dont know about footy, but I know class when I see it. I see it when I look in the mirror, and I see it when Mrs Eagletons little boy takes the field.

Any questions?

I think we have to keep ego on the basis of this post.

but I have to ask, whats a meringue?

I doubt you guys would delist him but if u did i'd take him in a snap.
if its a trade you want then im not sure what we can give you, Kent kinglsey comes to mind, he would be good for you because you guys have extremly good skills to hit him lace out making him dangerous. But i doubt you would do it, none the less i would love to see eagleton in the hoops.:thumbsu:

stefoid said:
I think we have to keep ego on the basis of this post.

but I have to ask, whats a meringue?

It's got me considering my views on Eagle as well, but unfortunately, FTDOTM, I agree with Scooter and DogTown that the valuable Eagle represents our best chance at trading for the decent tall we really seem to need.

Agreed, OS. I think he did suffer from lack of fitness in the last couple of games, but Eade obviously thought he was an automatic inclusion.

Yes, that kick over the fingertips of an (I think) Essendon defender, to a waiting Robbins, was sublime. Eade would have loved that, as did I.
OldSchool said:
He had a very good season. Some of his kicking into the forward line provided Johnno and Robbins with plenty of marks and goals. I think a lot of people undervalue his worth

Benno From Berwick said:
I have never been a fan, he has played a couple of great games.....but his best footy is played when we are going OK. Bit too much of a downhill dude for me.

And yet he has averaged more disposals in losses this year then wins. How many other Bulldogs could boast this? It may be nice to say he only goes well when we are winning and add to your argument, pity its wrong.

Please name the 22 players who will be ahead of him round 1 next year

Bulldog1954 said:
And yet he has averaged more disposals in losses this year then wins. How many other Bulldogs could boast this? It may be nice to say he only goes well when we are winning and add to your argument, pity its wrong.

I will predict his response- "If Eagle is in the best 22 we won't win the flag".

Benno seems to think of a place in the side more along it being 10 a side rather than 22. Eagle would have made every premiership side I have seen.

Like I stated in my earlier posts on this thread I believe we should look at trading Eagle if the right trade comes up (doubt it will now). As Dog Town said I would only look at trading him due to being being the oldest outside player we have, very happy with his performances.

Benno just a question. You say you are open to other opinions. You also said that one of your problems with Eagleton is he only plays well when we win. Eagle played good footy in the latter half of 2003 and was one of our best in 2004. Two seasons were we at the bottom of the ladder. This year he averaged more touches in losses than he did in wins.win Outside players naturally play better (I guess everyone does really) when we win. I think to play anywhere near as good when your team loses is excetional. Look at Westy and Johnno, they don't play as well when we lose. Is that evidence "laughable"?.

firstdogonthemoon said:
I would know if it is foolish because it would break my football heart. I dont follow this game with my head! I follow it with my heart, and my blood and my underpants. I follow it because it brings me joy and hope and a chance to pay too much for beer in a plastic cup. I dont really know why I follow it but I know I have to. That is what I know.

I also know that number 10, in certain moments, creates breathtaking acts of footballing grace and purity, acts of a magnitude such that I want to weep.

I have a fanatical view because I am hugely of fond of the way Nathan Eagleton conducts himself. I am President for Life of the recently formed Nathan Eagleton Enthusiasts Association and also a senior Ninja with the top secret Deadly Gleaming Scalp Society. Finally, I play bass and tambourine in the Silky Left Footed Love Meringue (a Nathan Eagleton Cover Band) so I dont know about footy, but I know class when I see it. I see it when I look in the mirror, and I see it when Mrs Eagletons little boy takes the field.

Any questions?
I cried when I read this post.
You are a beautiful person FDOTM. Bless you and your passion.

Now - Leave Eagle Alone. ALL OF YOU!

Rocco Jones said:
I will predict his response- "If Eagle is in the best 22 we won't win the flag".

Benno seems to think of a place in the side more along it being 10 a side rather than 22. Eagle would have made every premiership side I have seen.

Like I stated in my earlier posts on this thread I believe we should look at trading Eagle if the right trade comes up (doubt it will now). As Dog Town said I would only look at trading him due to being being the oldest outside player we have, very happy with his performances.

Benno just a question. You say you are open to other opinions. You also said that one of your problems with Eagleton is he only plays well when we win. Eagle played good footy in the latter half of 2003 and was one of our best in 2004. Two seasons were we at the bottom of the ladder. This year he averaged more touches in losses than he did in wins.win Outside players naturally play better (I guess everyone does really) when we win. I think to play anywhere near as good when your team loses is excetional. Look at Westy and Johnno, they don't play as well when we lose. Is that evidence "laughable"?.

You are right Rocco. It is great that he gets more touches when we don't win. He certainly improved alot in 2003 and 2004 from his time in the years before. I guess he needed to. I don't doubt you could find one player in each Premiership team of the last 10 tens he could replace.
I am sorry I raised this issue. I hope he continues to put his body on the line for the club over the next two or three years like he has for the past two or three years.

You and I agree that under the right circumstances we would be better off without Eagleton on our list? It is a yes or no question Rocco. You don't have to answer it again. You clearly agree.

Bulldog1954 said:

Patrick Bowden had more disposals than most in the comp!

You want him in your best 22?

Benno From Berwick said:
You are right Rocco. It is great that he gets more touches when we don't win. He certainly improved alot in 2003 and 2004 from his time in the years before. I guess he needed to. I don't doubt you could find one player in each Premiership team of the last 10 tens he could replace.
I am sorry I raised this issue. I hope he continues to put his body on the line for the club over the next two or three years like he has for the past two or three years.

You and I agree that under the right circumstances we would be better off without Eagleton on our list? It is a yes or no question Rocco. You don't have to answer it again. You clearly agree.

Mate I said in my first few posts that I think we should look at trading Eagleton. I just think its one thing to say we should look at trading him under the right circumstances and another to delist him. He is an outside player and comes with the weaknesses that pure outside players have. Under the right circumstances we would be better off without anyone is the answer to your question. I have never disagreed that we should trade Eagleton under the right circumstances. I don't have an issue with him, just that he is the oldest of a type we enough of.

Benno From Berwick said:

You dismiss opinion of Eagleton playing well and you dismiss stats/facts. No I would not want Bowden back. Eagleton's footy probably can be measured in stats more than most (inside 50's, goals) but stats never show the complete picture.

Eagle is a better player when we win but couldn't that argument also be used in saying he helps us actually win? Look at Westy's performances when we have lost this year, his worst games came in losses. Most players play worse when we lose (hey maybe it's why we actually lose!). I don't think their is a bit difference between Eagle's performances in loses than in wins, especially for an outside type that depends on his side winning the ball.

Rocco Jones said:
You dismiss opinion of Eagleton playing well and you dismiss stats/facts. No I would not want Bowden back. Eagleton's footy probably can be measured in stats more than most (inside 50's, goals) but stats never show the complete picture.

Eagle is a better player when we win but couldn't that argument also be used in saying he helps us actually win? Look at Westy's performances when we have lost this year, his worst games came in losses. Most players play worse when we lose (hey maybe it's why we actually lose!). I don't think their is a bit difference between Eagle's performances in loses than in wins, especially for an outside type that depends on his side winning the ball.

I have agreed that we should not delist but trade.

I would hate to think we are going to start to compare West and Eagleton.

I have never been keen on players with only one foot. There have been a couple of exceptions in the entire comp. Not many. They get found out.

I rated/scored most of his games this year and gave him a couple of really good reviews. Some pretty ordinary one's as well. Maybe I can't see past my bias. Maybe my view is so clouded I can't see the forrest for the trees. I am happy to look inwardly.

I apologised to Pembletom yesterday via a PM for calling his view laughable, so get over that! If I offended anyone at all I am sorry.

Delete the freakin thread!

Benno From Berwick said:

And??? All i said was Eagleton got more of the ball when we lost then when we won. Nothing about how many disposals he got for the year or whether disposals statistics earnt you a spot in a clubs best 22. This reply of yours has nothing to do with what I said, like so many of your other replys in this thread

Bulldog1954 said:
And??? All i said was Eagleton got more of the ball when we lost then when we won. Nothing about how many disposals he got for the year or whether disposals statistics earnt you a spot in a clubs best 22. This reply of yours has nothing to do with what I said, like so many of your other replys in this thread

My point was stats are meaningless in isolation.

Can we agree that we are getting no where? If you want me to admit I was wrong I will. Don't delist, try hard to trade.

tassiedog said:
You are a beautiful person FDOTM. Bless you and your passion.

Thank you Tassiedog.

It's all true. It would be disingenuous to deny it.

But you didnt mention my humility, which is one of my defining traits. I am very humile.

And there is my rugged good looks too. Or is it "and there are my rugged good looks"? Is looks plural or singular?

why even suggest delisting eagleton
he was good for most of this year
just i think his injury got the best of him
but yeah i say no to delisting eagleton

I will just add a value view.

With everyone claiming to keep the top picks in the superdraft, i imagine we wont get what we should for Eagle.

But if we wait and he has a poor year (or even a good year) and is a year older, expect the value to drop even though perhaps a higher pick may be in order.

All things being equal, if you wanted to trade him, even though his value may drop this year for a pick (not player), this trade period would be the optimal time.

I have no real problem with having him shopped, but we must set the reserve and set it high, he can be and for parts of this year was a quality player.

So two points i guess, do you shop him and whats the reserve?

firstdogonthemoon said:
Thank you Tassiedog.

It's all true. It would be disingenuous to deny it.

But you didnt mention my humility, which is one of my defining traits. I am very humile.

And there is my rugged good looks too. Or is it "and there are my rugged good looks"? Is looks plural or singular?
Beauty and Brains? This man has it all.

De-list Eagleton