delisting and trades

WEARECOLLINGWOOD!

Well its that time of year & once again we have come up short. We have a very good young list & have plenty to look forward to! Bucks will be back on board next year as well..

Wellingham, Beams, Sidebottom, Thomas, Pendels, McCArthy, Dick, Goldsack, Anthony, Wood & McCaffer will benefit from another big pre season & they all need to put on the extra kilos! They all have great potential & are our future!

Reid, Brown & Dawes need to step up & hold down Key positions. There time to start makning an impact is next year! They wont be Jonathan Browns next year, but they need to start to show something. Dawes will need to kick 40 to 50 goals & Ried Broen to hold down key Defensive positions will be the expectations.

Players like Blight, Blair, Barham, Rounds, Reed & Dyas would all be seeking for some senior acftion & would want to keep on developing.

Senior players in Clarke, Medhurst & Fraser will need to step up again & show that they are worthy to be on our list. Disappointing year from all three players. I have my doubts on Fraser, but he has more value to us on the list.

Players to delist or try & Trade:

Bryan
Cook
Corrie
Cox
Rocca
Stanley
Rusling

I would also put up

Cloke/Davis/Johnson up for trade to see what value we can get out of them. They all have HUGE question marks on them & we need to lure a big name at our club. They might be the ones to go..

Didak,Swan,Shaw,Maxwell,Presti,Obrien,Pendels & lockyer all can hold there heads up high after very good years. Davis should be in this group, but his finals performance was disgraceful again.

Overall I think we need to obtain an experienced in & under midfielder, an experienced Ruckman & another Key forward.

All those requirements are hard to get at once, but thats why we need to make the hard decisions now.

So Cloke/Davis & maybe Fraser all should be looked at in the trade period.

Lots of trade threads :D

There are obvious ones ike Shannon Cox etc etc but i would be looking at some big names who constantly fall away come finals.
If your able to get some gun mids who get the contested ball and can use it like Daniel Kerr and Shaun Burgoyne then i would roll the dice and involve players like Leon Davis and Alan Didak. I know they have had great years but whats the point if you go missing when it counts? I reckon between Didak and Davis they would have had ZERO contested possesions during the finals. Not good enough.

Odds are they will be retained, thats fine but they have to deliver next season

I'd be appalled if we traded Cloke. He had a crap year, but as a young tall forward he's shown enough for us to be reasonably confident about him. It's not like good tall targets up forward are easy to come by. Outside of Riewoldt, Brown, Pavlich, Buddy are miles ahead of the rest. I personally think that Roughhead is overrated and greatly benefits from the luxury of playing with Buddy and is only marginally ahead of Cloke. Tippett looks likely, but what other young tall forwards have shown enough to instill more confidence in than Cloke.

Didak wasnt that bad & worth keeping IMO. However Davis simply isnt mentally tough enough to cope on the big stage! Davis admits he plays so well at subiaco because he gets up for his family. So that just tells me that he is simply weak minded because at his age he should be able to get himself up more times than not!

Cloke just isnt reliable in front of goal & gets his marks out on the wing. He diesnt take a contested mark & you cant rely on him in front of goal.

IMO Cloke & Davis must be off loaded to obtain eithier a gum midfielder or Key Forward!

I'd be appalled if we traded Cloke. He had a crap year, but as a young tall forward he's shown enough for us to be reasonably confident about him. It's not like good tall targets up forward are easy to come by. Outside of Riewoldt, Brown, Pavlich, Buddy are miles ahead of the rest. I personally think that Roughhead is overrated and greatly benefits from the luxury of playing with Buddy and is only marginally ahead of Cloke. Tippett looks likely, but what other young tall forwards have shown enough to instill more confidence in than Cloke.

Roughead overated? your joking?
There is no point of being a key fwd if you cant A) take a contested mark in the fwd 50 and B) cant convert your set shots.
He may as well play CHB.
I have more confidence in Dawes then Cloke, enough said

To say Davis should be up for trade is an absolute joke! Obviously he didnt have the best finals series but he was a big part of our success in the H&A season and this season he re-paid Malthouse for the faith he had shown him. People are forgetting how good Leon is based on a couple of games. Also i really think Leon is carrying an injury. Now i think we should trade Cloke and possibly Ben Johnson and we should really try to lure Shaun Burgoyne because he is what we lack in the midfield. Genuine pace and a dominating clearance player. We could also make a move for Luke Ball who i think is an absolute gun and can really feed the ball out to our outside midfielders. I think we should delist Cook, Stanley(showed nothing at AFL level maybe a switch of clubs will help ala Rhyce Shaw), Corrie(possibly), Bryan, Rocca(retire), Rusling:(.

Trade OUT
Johnson
Cloke

IN
Burgoyne
Ball

DELIST
Rocca
Bryan
Cook
Stanley
Corrie
Rusling

DRAFT

• A pacey midfielder
  • A tap ruckman
  • A KP backman
  • Project type (hine special)
EDIT: Even throw Cox up for trade to.

Lots of trade threads :D

I would roll the dice and involve players like Leon Davis and Alan Didak. I know they have had great years but whats the point if you go missing when it counts? I reckon between Didak and Davis they would have had ZERO contested possesions during the finals. Not good enough.

Didak and Davis wont be going anywhere... These two boys ARE the reason we even saw finals action in the first place. Both have had the best season of their careers. They just need to find out how to shake the tag and they will be back to their devastating best.

Yes they under-performed in finals but i think its more that the opposition have worked out that if they stop the 3 D's (Didak, Davis, Dane Swan) you stop Collingwood. The whole reason we won 12 of 13 games is because these 3 boys were not given the respect.

Agreed, we need to move heaven and earth to get Burgoine/Ball in and under mids. I think we now have a plethora of young talent. Its time to give away our 1st round draft pick and whatever fringe players we need to with some currency to get what we need to win a flag! Time after time, we get smashed in the midfiled... Without Pendles we had no one winning the ball out of the middle.

Fraser and Obree have to move on this year. Cook and Stanley would do wonders for the Melbourne Footy Club Pebbles needs to join his brother in the US. (As good as he has been its time to move on)

Its time for Blair to elevated, i think there is room in our defence for Cox if he improves his disposal. I think Barham is just beyond help with his disposal...

The 3 boys i wanna see from the VFL in the AFL side (in no particular order) is
1. Kris Pendlebury (great in defence)
2. Jarrod Blair (inside mid)
3. Johnny Bennell (he is another dick, leon type...)

Didak and Davis wont be going anywhere... These two boys ARE the reason we even saw finals action in the first place. Both have had the best season of their careers. They just need to find out how to shake the tag and they will be back to their devastating best.

Yes they under-performed in finals but i think its more that the opposition have worked out that if they stop the 3 D's (Didak, Davis, Dane Swan) you stop Collingwood. The whole reason we won 12 of 13 games is because these 3 boys were not given the respect.

Agreed, we need to move heaven and earth to get Burgoine or a in and under mid. Time after time, we get smashed in the midfiled... Without Pendles we had no one winning the ball out of the middle.

Fraser and Obree have to move on this year. Cook and Stanley would do wonders for the Melbourne Footy Club Pebbles needs to join his brother in the US. (As good as he has been its time to move on)

Its time for Blair to elevated, i think there is room in our defence for Cox if he improves his disposal. I think Barham is just beyond help with his disposal...

The 3 boys i wanna see from the VFL in the AFL side (in no particular order) is
1. Kris Pendlebury (great in defence)
2. Jarrod Blair (inside mid)
3. Johnny Bennell (he is another dick, leon type...)

Mate your not going to get a Luke Ball or Burgoune without getting rid of someone. Davis/Cloke/Johnson all would have some value when luring a big name!

To say Davis should be up for trade is an absolute joke! Obviously he didnt have the best finals series but he was a big part of our success in the H&A season and this season he re-paid Malthouse for the faith he had shown him. People are forgetting how good Leon is based on a couple of games. Also i really think Leon is carrying an injury. Now i think we should trade Cloke and possibly Ben Johnson and we should really try to lure Shaun Burgoyne because he is what we lack in the midfield. Genuine pace and a dominating clearance player. We could also make a move for Luke Ball who i think is an absolute gun and can really feed the ball out to our outside midfielders. I think we should delist Cook, Stanley(showed nothing at AFL level maybe a switch of clubs will help ala Rhyce Shaw), Corrie(possibly), Bryan, Rocca(retire), Rusling:(.

Trade OUT
Johnson
Cloke

IN
Burgoyne
Ball

DELIST
Rocca
Bryan
Cook
Stanley
Corrie
Rusling

DRAFT

• A pacey midfielder
  • A tap ruckman
  • A KP backman
  • Project type (hine special)
EDIT: Even throw Cox up for trade to.

We have two tap ruckmen in Fraser and Wood.

We need a Will Minson type ruckman - one that has a bit of **** in them!

Collingwood should shop Fraser around to see what we can get maybe Cloke and Wellingham aswell.

Agreed... Though i think we are 1-2 years too late with Fraser.. We would have gotten a lot more for him last year than we would this year.. IS he even worth a 2nd rounder? I think we need to trade him for a ready-made player we need. The saints or port could do with a ruckman with Lade retiring and steven king and gardner maybe a year or 2 at best in them left.

Didak and Davis wont be going anywhere thanks, both have had the best seasons of their careers. Yes both have failed in finals, but they are not midfielders. Didak should be on the HFF just like he was in his 2006 AA year, and Davis should play 40/60 midfield and forward respectively. This is the reason our forward line fell away this season, Didak/davis weren't there for large periods of time and there was no cop out for cloke and anthony.

However, in order to move them back to the forward line, we need to recruit at least one inside mid, either luke ball or shaun burgoyne. This is an absolute priority IMO, as an inside mid combined with pendles and swanny would elevate our midfield and would allow didak and davis to play their natural outside game.
Therefore, PRIORITY 1: Inside Mid - Burgoyne or Ball

As for a big bodied ruckman, how about Charman? Has question marks over his fitness but he could possibly come cheap, say a third rounder. IMO the lions will look to move him on as Clark has been a revelation in the ruck this season and will have leunberger to help him out next season.

As far as key forwards go, they don't go on trees. Not one club atm is going to trade their KPF due to the comprimised drafts ahead. If we traded cloke the best we could possibly hope for is a secound rounder + a fringe player. I'll rather keep cloke thanks.

We are closer to a flag than everybody thinks, if we can secure the services of either burgoyne/ball and maybe a charman type ruckman, coupled with the improvement of our young mids and KPP it will go a long way to us challenging for the flag in the years ahead. The first rounder must be floated around. We have to be serious during trade week otherwise we will fall short again next year.

The trouble with trade week is that we usually are serious however most other clubs just ask too much when the Pies are involved and the trade falls flat on its face, especially with big name players. I have no doubt that we will be involved in talks with some serious additions to our list, but by the end of trade week we'll end up with nothing.

Just always happens with us.

People want Burgoyne but don't want to give up anything. Williams has been crystal clear about Burgoyne, they wont be banking on a top 10 pick to get the job done, they want a player of some value into the bargain a la the Judd deal.

Pick 14 plus Cox just won't do it. If we traded up our first round pick to make it into the top ten picks - one of our small half forwards or half backs - then I'm still doubtful we could get the deal done with no. 10 + a fringe player.

I reckon Choco would definitely go a swap with Didak and possibly Davis. That type of trade would work, so people have to ask if it is worth it. No use saying let's not trade anyone but first pick and fringe player for Burgoyne, it will cost more.

If you want Burgoyne, state the trade deal.

The trouble with trade week is that we usually are serious however most other clubs just ask too much when the Pies are involved and the trade falls flat on its face, especially with big name players. I have no doubt that we will be involved in talks with some serious additions to our list, but by the end of trade week we'll end up with nothing.

Just always happens with us.

As I said in another thread, no point in 10 yr players if they can not win a premiership for us.
Didak for Burgoyne
Davis, Cox and first round for Seaby and Kerr. They can have Rusling as well if they want.
Go hard and prepare to make the tough calls and take some risk.

Players to delist or try & Trade:

Bryan
Cook
Corrie
Cox
Rocca
Stanley
Rusling

I would also put up

Cloke/Davis/Johnson up for trade to see what value we can get out of them. They all have HUGE question marks on them & we need to lure a big name at our club. They might be the ones to go..

So Cloke/Davis & maybe Fraser all should be looked at in the trade period.

I agree with all except the delisting of Rusling and to trade Cloke. Rusling is a gun forward when he is fit, if he can play next year along side Anthony, Medhurst & Cloke then we'll really stretch any defence. I'd wait until the end of next year before deciding his future, after all he is only 21-23 years old (I think) and were not likely to do better by delisting him and actually using our draft pick around the 80-90 mark.

Cloke is also critical for taking contested marks leading up the ground (lets not forget he quite often gets double teamed), but I cannot see anyone doing a better job than him at doing this except Anthony (of whom though we want to stay in the goalsquare)

Another person I'd put up for trade though would actually be Brad Dick, I cannot see what so many people are raving on about with this guy, he couldnt stick a tackle to save himself, he cant snap/kick over the head of defenders standing on the goal line from only about 20-25 metres out, and truthfully alot of other very average players could have easily done the things he did do right. but for some inexplicable reason the media have given him the X factor, I say we should use this overhype to snare someone who will regurlarly fit into our top 22 (as we have plenty of depth) or to trade up one of our early draft picks, for a future gun/star player.

I was just having a look at what other clubs are saying and I find it staggering that some of you guys would consider trading Alan Didak. I would have him at the blues in a heart beat. I think he is a bloody super star. So if you dont want him we will take him. No question !!!

Burgoyne for picks 1 & 2 plus Wellingham - Port need to rebuild so picks are needed and a young player with potential should satisfy. Burgoyne has an element of risk with his body and wage demands - fair deal I would have thought!

sorry thats 1st round and 2nd round pick!

Josh Fraser for Burgoune straight swap. They need a ruckman now Lade has gone. How much has brogan got left?

A lot more than Josh Fraser... remember, he was left out of your best 22 in a final (23 if you include Pendlebury).

Fraser is clearly regarded as an ordinary player down at Lexus

given the right deal i would happily shop these around:
rusling, goldsack, cox, thomas, clarke, reid, wellingham, fraser, johnson, stanley, cook, cloke

retire
o'bree, rocca, lockyer, presti (all gone over the next 2 years)

delist
bryan, corrie, l brown (stanley, cook and cox if not traded)

try and get:
burgoyne, ball, seaby, everitt, walker, kerr, salopek, or any quick skillful ball winners

what about:
cloke & cox/wellingham for burgoyne or kerr?

A lot more than Josh Fraser... remember, he was left out of your best 22 in a final (23 if you include Pendlebury).

Fraser is clearly regarded as an ordinary player down at Lexus

He was injured you nit wit! He is our Vice captain & get a clue before making statements you have no idea about!

I agree with all except the delisting of Rusling and to trade Cloke. Rusling is a gun forward when he is fit, if he can play next year along side Anthony, Medhurst & Cloke then we'll really stretch any defence. I'd wait until the end of next year before deciding his future, after all he is only 21-23 years old (I think) and were not likely to do better by delisting him and actually using our draft pick around the 80-90 mark.

Where people get this crap from really confuses me. He has played 17 games in 5 years for a total of 19 goals...

That is hardly reason to be considered a gun forward!