Desserts

• Thread starter Thread starter campbell

Brisbane Lions
just wondering if anyone has some super dooper summer dessert recipies.
I love this time of year, with all the summmer fruits.
I love making mango mousse and apricot mousse and vanilla icemcream by hand.So decadent.

can't wait for the mango boxes to become available.

Fruit skewers are a good alternative to fruit salad. Especially at BBQs as it's 'finger food'. Melons, strawberries, pineapple, kiwi fruit, etc - colourful & simple.

A vodka watermelon or small vodka jellies are good for a bit of a fun dessert.

Ice cream cones are great for kids. Dip them in hundreds & thousands. They love it.

Apple pie with whipped cream and ice cream is another favourite of mine

Come to think of it, my inlaws used to make this absolutley melt in the mouth pudding called angels food.It was so nice.

I have lost my vanilla iceceam recipie .Does anyone have a good easy one for me.I just can't get enough of it in summer.

Not really a dessert, but a banana smoothie is ALWAYS excellent

2 sliced bananas
200 grams (I think) of milk
2 tablespoons of vanilla icecream
Glass of ice (optional)

Chuck into a magimix, turn on for 30 seconds or so.

Out comes a delicious banana smoothie.

Gonna stock up on the bananas this summer, lucky they have been decreasing in price :eek:

Cannot beat a home made sorbet.

My favourite is a mixed berry sorbet

200-250g combined of Raspberries, Strawberries, Blueberries
1/2 cup Sugar
1 tablespoon Caster Sugar
1/4 teaspoon Lemon Juice

- Heat the Sugar, Caster Sugar, Lemon Juice and 1 cup Water in a saucepan until the sugars are dissolved.
- Puree the berries in a blender/food processor.
- Add the Sugar syrup and continue until pureed.
- If you dont like it 'gritty' or seedy then pass through a nylon sieve to remove the seeds

- Pour into a tupperware container/plastic box and stick in freezer.
- Stir every 30 minutes with a fork/whisk during freezing to break up the crystals

Usually takes about 4 hours of freezing to get to what I consider a perfect texture but is awesome the next day etc. as well.

Im gonna have a crack at a semifreddo soon as well.

I am a chocolate mousse fan....

4 eggs, separated
2 tablespoons caster (superfine) sugar
200g (7 oz) dark chocolate, chopped
1¼ (10 fl oz) cups (single or pouring) cream

Place the eggwhites in a bowl and whisk until soft peaks form. Add the sugar and whisk until the mixture is thick and glossy. Place the chocolate in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water and stir until the chocolate is melted and smooth. Add ¼ cup (2 fl oz) of the cream and the egg yolks and whisk well to combine. Place the remaining cream in a bowl and whisk until soft peaks form. Add the chocolate and eggwhite mixture and fold through to combine. Spoon the chocolate mixture into 1-cup (8 fl oz) capacity bowls and refrigerate for 2−3 hours or until set. Serves 6.

Aquamarinejewel said:
I am a chocolate mousse fan....

4 eggs, separated
2 tablespoons caster (superfine) sugar
200g (7 oz) dark chocolate, chopped
1¼ (10 fl oz) cups (single or pouring) cream

Place the eggwhites in a bowl and whisk until soft peaks form. Add the sugar and whisk until the mixture is thick and glossy. Place the chocolate in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water and stir until the chocolate is melted and smooth. Add ¼ cup (2 fl oz) of the cream and the egg yolks and whisk well to combine. Place the remaining cream in a bowl and whisk until soft peaks form. Add the chocolate and eggwhite mixture and fold through to combine. Spoon the chocolate mixture into 1-cup (8 fl oz) capacity bowls and refrigerate for 2−3 hours or until set. Serves 6.

I think I might try that one today, looks scrummy.

Berries in a Cloud

Ingredients
1 lb strawberries, rinsed, dried and hulled, cut into half or quarters
6 oz blueberries, rinsed and dried
6ozraspberries, rinsed and dried.
3 tablespoons seedless raspberry preserves
3 egg whites
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
6 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons pine nuts or slivered almonds

Instructions
Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
In large mixing bowl, combine all berries. Heat preserves in microwave until melted, about 20-30 seconds or in a small saucepan or skillet over low heat until melted. Pour warm preserves (let cool slightly if hot) over berries and gently mix. Turn berries into a shallow 8-9-inch baking dish or pie plate. Set aside.
In large clean glass or metal bowl, beat egg whites and cream of tartar at high speed just until foamy. Gradually add sugar, beating constantly, to stiff peaks and until sugar is dissolved (rub a bit between thumb and forefinger to test.) Pile meringue over berries, swirling lightly. Sprinkle with nuts. Bake until meringue is golden brown, about 12 to 15 minutes.

and for pure decadence

Mango Delight

1 mango peeled and chopped
¼ cup caster sugar
1 tablespoon Grand Marnier
1 egg white, lightly beaten
l bottle champagne, Chilled

Puree mango flesh and combine with sugar and Grand
Marnier. Place in a large jug. Frost champagne classes by
dipping in very lightly beaten egg white and then into caster
sugar. Pour chilled champagne onto mango mixture and stir
briefly. Pour into frosted glasses and serve.

campbell said:
Sure did, my kids thank you.Great chocy mousse,I forgot how nice it is.Thanks heaps.

No probs anytime.

If you feel adventurous try this Mud Cake Recipe...another one of my favourites...

--

Mud Cake:

2 cups sugar
1 1/4 cups plain flour
1 cup self raising flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla essence
pinch of salt
300g butter, melted
300g dark chocolate,
finely chopped white chocolate for serving.

Icing:
200g dark chocolate, chopped
1/3 cup cream

1. Preheat oven to 150 degrees celsius. Brush a deep 23cm round cake tin with oil or melted butter; line base and sides with baking paper

2. Place sugar in a large mixing bowl. Add sifted flours, cocoa and soda. Make a well in the centre. Using a metal spoon, fold in combined eggs, buttermilk, essence and salt. Combine well.

3. Add butter and chocolate, mix well. Pour mixture into prepared pan and smooth surface. Bake for 2 to 2 1/4 hours or until skewer comes out clean when inserted into centre of cake. Leave cake in tin until cold, then turn cake onto a wire rack (cake will crack on top). Using a serrated edge knife, cut a dome off the top of the cake horizontally. Turn cake upside down and stand it on a wire rack over a paper lined tray. Pour icing completely over cake, smoothing top and sides with flat bladed knife. Allow to set. Transfer the cake carefully to a serving plate. Serve in wedges with whipped cream, garnished with shavings of white chocolate.

4. To make icing: Combine chocolate and cream in a small pan. Stir over low heat until chocolate has melted and the mixture is smooth. Remove from heat. Cool slightly.

Jeremias said:
Not really a dessert, but a banana smoothie is ALWAYS excellent

2 sliced bananas
200 grams (I think) of milk
2 tablespoons of vanilla icecream
Glass of ice (optional)

Chuck into a magimix, turn on for 30 seconds or so.

Out comes a delicious banana smoothie.

Gonna stock up on the bananas this summer, lucky they have been decreasing in price :eek:
Yeah you're not wrong mate, banana smoothies are great and easy to make :thumbsu: pre-Cyclone Larry prices on bananas within the next few months I hear.

Strawberry Shortcake

Serves 6

250g (2 cups) SR Flour
55g (1/4 cup) castor sugar
90g (3 & 1/4 Oz) butter, chilled and chopped
2 eggs separated, whites reserved for glazing
80ml (1/3 cup) milk
extra castor sugar
315g (1 cup) redcurrant jelly
500g (2 punnets) small strawberries

1. Preheat oven to 200 deg Celcius (400F). Line a baking tray with baking paper. Sift flour into a bowl, add the sugar and stir to combine. Rub the butter into the flour with fingers until mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. make a well in the centre.

2. Place egg yolks and milk in a small bowl * whick with fork to combine. Pour into the well amongst dry ingredients, then use a flat bladed knife to mix it quickly into a soft dough. If the mixture seems a little dry, add an extra tablespoon of milk.

3. Turn the mix onto a lightly floured surface, knead gently then press into a 3cm (1 & 1/4 inch) thick circle. Brush with egg white and sprinkle with extra sugar. Bake for 25 minutes or until golden brown. Coll on a wire rack.

4. Spoon the redcurrant jelly into a small pan. Stir over a medium heat until the jelly boils, then boil for 2-3 minutes. Pile the strawberries onto the cake. Pour the jelly over the strawberries. Stand for 10 minutes before serving.

** Serve with a scoop of vanilla ice cream or whwipped cream.

** Preparation time approx 20 mins, cooking time approx 25 mins

I also have a stack (& I mean a stack - hundreds of old time recipes of my grand mother's, that I had her write down a decade ago). Lucklily I got her to document the lot (ranging from soups, casseroles, biscuits, cakes, slices, desserts etc) before Alzheimers kicked in.

Will get around to publishing the lot some time in the future - when I can find the time.

My all time summer favourite would be her 16 egg pavlova (topped with anything ranging from Flake chocolate, passionfruit, strawberries, boisenberries, kiwi fruit - pretty much whatever is handy).

Abba Lonie said:
I had trifle about 2 weeks ago, I think I'm still burning it off.

One of my all time favourites as long as there is sherry or even port sprinkled over it. It even tastes better the next day. :thumbsu:

Just by reading these posts I reckon I've put on 5 kgs.

For you Bundy Rum lovers out there, here's an easy one to make.

1 pkt Ginger Nut Bikkies
1 smallish (not minature) bottle bundy rum - or even bigger and have drinkies
1 - 2 bottle standard thickened cream.
some dark chocolate

It's similar to making chocolate ripple cake.

Whip the cream, pour the rum into a separate bowl. get a preferably rectangular serving tray ready.

Start by swishing the first bikkie thru the rum (don't leave it to soak like i did once cos it goes all soggy)

Place bikkie on tray, using a knife spread some of the whipped cream on bikkie, get another bikkie and do the same, thru the rum, then sandwich onto the cream and keep going til u have a stack which u can lie on it's side and keep adding til all bikkies used - it's best to have the bikkies facing the same way except for the last one. When done spread leftover cream evenly over log, sprikle everywhere with grated dark chocolate and put in the fridge. It's best left overnight as the longer u leave it in the fridge the more the rum gets to go thru it all. Cut wedges at an angle and maybe serve a dollop of whipped cream.

I love trifle.

Also love parfaits in summer, make em up and have i the fridge for a snack.

also love sago pudding.

i make a custard with egss and sugar,vanilla and milk.
i soak the sago for 2 hours in the milk firstly.

i add dried apricots cut up.
mix all together

put in container with water around, slow coak for 50 min.

its scrummy.

Gabbie said:
One of my all time favourites as long as there is sherry or even port sprinkled over it. It even tastes better the next day. :thumbsu:

Just by reading these posts I reckon I've put on 5 kgs.

For you Bundy Rum lovers out there, here's an easy one to make.

1 pkt Ginger Nut Bikkies
1 smallish (not minature) bottle bundy rum - or even bigger and have drinkies
1 - 2 bottle standard thickened cream.
some dark chocolate

It's similar to making chocolate ripple cake.

Whip the cream, pour the rum into a separate bowl. get a preferably rectangular serving tray ready.

Start by swishing the first bikkie thru the rum (don't leave it to soak like i did once cos it goes all soggy)

Place bikkie on tray, using a knife spread some of the whipped cream on bikkie, get another bikkie and do the same, thru the rum, then sandwich onto the cream and keep going til u have a stack which u can lie on it's side and keep adding til all bikkies used - it's best to have the bikkies facing the same way except for the last one. When done spread leftover cream evenly over log, sprikle everywhere with grated dark chocolate and put in the fridge. It's best left overnight as the longer u leave it in the fridge the more the rum gets to go thru it all. Cut wedges at an angle and maybe serve a dollop of whipped cream.

yum...