Multiplat Destiny

• Thread starter Thread starter HBK619

Why do FPS Games specifically need to have high quality stories?

Mario Games consistently have completely junk stories, does being a platformer excuse it from the same criticism you're giving Destiny?
i guess the difference is a mario game never really holds itself out to have a compelling storyline. destiny does; it just seems very shallow/boring so far and tells it even worse. and differnet genres do have different expectations of story lines. fps campaigns post-bioshock generally need to have something of an interesting story; it's just the standard. as you said, platformers less so. rpgs, it's pretty much essential.

also, as i alluded to with the mass effect comment, destiny's environments and setting feels like they could be the perfect setting for a really compelling story whereas i don't really get that impression with the mushroom kingdom. the fact that squaresoft was able to do so with super mario rpg was more a testament to how ****ing good that studio was at that time.

Honestly, who cares about story; if the game is fun to play & loaded with depth, that's easily enough to give you your money's worth.
i still think the game is awesome (9/10 is a good score, right?) it just feels like a lost opportunity to have a kickass story associated with it.

I've been playing this solo and absolutely hating it, yesterday and today I've managed to group up with some mates and it's a totally different game.
As good multiplayer as it is terrible single player in my opinion.
Yeah this. I wouldn't bother playing without at least one mate playing with me

I must say, I love the concept of co-op missions

I did the weekly strike at level 23 with two 24s & we all had mics. Even with all the firepower, it's extremely difficult because one enemy can kill you in seconds. Worth it for the strange coins.

Speaking of which, two left til I can get the armor, but the guy is going to disappear soon. Annoyed!

From what I've been reading the entire issue is the fact that the game ISN'T actually fun to play, just a grind for not very interesting loot. That's why it is getting such mediocre reviews.

inb4hurduurifinditfun
You've been reading garbage.

I did the weekly strike at level 23 with two 24s & we all had mics. Even with all the firepower, it's extremely difficult because one enemy can kill you in seconds. Worth it for the strange coins.

Speaking of which, two left til I can get the armor, but the guy is going to disappear soon. Annoyed!

I haven't even looked to touch the heroic strikes. One of the issues I'm finding is that when I try a level 20 strike playlist I get grouped with people who have obviously just hit 20 and expect a carry and we seldom finish the strike. So I have been doing the level 18 strike playlists and I get grouped with other overgeared people (I'm just shy of level 23 now) probably with the same thinking as me. I think this would be much easier once more of my friends reach 21-22 and we can just roll together.

Starting to find a lot of coins though from just these strikes. Up to 8 and obviously won't have enough by the time Xur leaves but hopefully the second time around I will.

I haven't even looked to touch the heroic strikes. One of the issues I'm finding is that when I try a level 20 strike playlist I get grouped with people who have obviously just hit 20 and expect a carry and we seldom finish the strike. So I have been doing the level 18 strike playlists and I get grouped with other overgeared people (I'm just shy of level 23 now) probably with the same thinking as me. I think this would be much easier once more of my friends reach 21-22 and we can just roll together.

Starting to find a lot of coins though from just these strikes. Up to 8 and obviously won't have enough by the time Xur leaves but hopefully the second time around I will.
If you do a Strike & all players are at the required level, you should make it through just fine most of the time. It's when someone below the limit joins that things start to get difficult.

Ok guys need help and possible feedback. Got a PS4 totally unexpectedly (when buying a washing machine) and Destiny is the game that came with it.
Now I'm more of a Nitnendo gamer, have everything Nintendo and last console of anything other is a PS2 so I have absolutely no idea what Destiny is about so here are the questions.

Will it be hard for me to play/take long to pick it up?
Is it a game that must be played online or can it be played offline/Singleplayer?
If it is single player should I start there to learn the ropes before venturing online?
Is the PS4 hard to get operational in general? Like are there many hassles in setting up a PSN account or whatevs?
Also what other games would be recommended for me to pick up on the PS4? Already looking at and pretty keen for 'The Last Of Us'
Cheers gang.

Ok guys need help and possible feedback. Got a PS4 totally unexpectedly (when buying a washing machine) and Destiny is the game that came with it.
Now I'm more of a Nitnendo gamer, have everything Nintendo and last console of anything other is a PS2 so I have absolutely no idea what Destiny is about so here are the questions.

Will it be hard for me to play/take long to pick it up?
Is it a game that must be played online or can it be played offline/Singleplayer?
If it is single player should I start there to learn the ropes before venturing online?
Is the PS4 hard to get operational in general? Like are there many hassles in setting up a PSN account or whatevs?
Also what other games would be recommended for me to pick up on the PS4? Already looking at and pretty keen for 'The Last Of Us'
Cheers gang.
Destiny is easy to pick up and have fun you do need to be online though and it's not great as a single player game but it's heaps of fun in multi player especially if you're playing with some mates or some of the fine denizens of this board. You'll pick it up in multi player no need to worry about doing any single player first.

The PS4 is easy to set up and get going. Setting up PSN is easy for online play you will need PS+ ($70/year well spent - I have a 30 day PS+ trial that came with Destiny if you want it).

The Last Of Us and Wolfenstein New Order.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

The game is positively bi-polar. It does some things absolutely top tier and some things are abysmal.

> The shooting mechanics themselves are the best on next gen and the most satisfying firefights I've played in years.
> I feel like the multiplayer is very satisfying, both PvP & Co-op.
> I am having a boat load of fun when people are playing together and the bosses aredecent.

> But as said before the plot is absolute gash, which doesn't bother me as much as others. Because I kind of expected it I guess.
> Repetition is huge here, as much as Bungie are great at creating firefights, they are bad at varying up what happens between them.
> Basically any time that you have to play solo the game becomes boring, but I understand solo-play was never the point.
> I feel like there are too many currencies in the game. Glimmer, Crucible Marks, Vangaurd Marks, Strange Coins, Mote of Light, etc. Some of it creates an unnecessary complexity.

I think the game is better than its glaring faults suggest. It really is somewhere between 8-9 for me at this point despite how bad a few elements are. I do appreciate that there are opportunities to fix some issues by DLC. But the game is going to need to keep my attention until December for that to be the case. Which is pretty much a maybe at this point.

Destiny is easy to pick up and have fun you do need to be online though and it's not great as a single player game but it's heaps of fun in multi player especially if you're playing with some mates or some of the fine denizens of this board. You'll pick it up in multi player no need to worry about doing any single player first.

The PS4 is easy to set up and get going. Setting up PSN is easy for online play you will need PS+ ($70/year well spent - I have a 30 day PS+ trial that came with Destiny if you want it).

The Last Of Us and Wolfenstein New Order.

Thanks mate. Online won't be a problem, already been smashing the MarioKart lately and the old internet handles it no worries :p

I actually got the month PS+ trial aswell so that's all good. Thanks heaps but. I did see on the game it said PS+ is essential to play this game online but is that the case with all online games with the PS4? Like is it essential/compulsary to that I have to pay for an account?

Wolfenstein fan here from way back so good suggestion also

Thanks mate. Online won't be a problem, already been smashing the MarioKart lately and the old internet handles it no worries :p

I actually got the month PS+ trial aswell so that's all good. Thanks heaps but. I did see on the game it said PS+ is essential to play this game online but is that the case with all online games with the PS4? Like is it essential/compulsary to that I have to pay for an account?

Wolfenstein fan here from way back so good suggestion also
Yes PS+ is essential for online play - works very well. PS+ has been excellent value during PS3 days with the monthly free games, they have been a bit light on for the PS4 so far but I'm sure we'll start to see grade A games making it to the free game library.

There's plenty of excellent information on the PS4 and PS+ in the relevant threads on this board.