Analysis Did the Tigers win by TOO much ???

GN272

Dec 2, 2014
Jove de Tarragona (Castellers)
Tigers, I've had a few discussions since our win on Saturday mainly opposition supporters (bless their souls) who reckon winning by 89 points is too much and not good for the game - Well I say - we went out to win and not humiliate they otherwise it would have been a win by 150pts.

For me when my teams play I want them to win and win by a country mile - none of these nail biter games - those are for Pies v Cats etc.

To put it another way - I draw you back to the Ashes - NOTHING is better for me if Aust - score 2/650 dec or similar when we bat and they're all out for 98 when they do and I want to see that every time we play.

SO TIGERS over to you - what do you think ?

Tigers, I've had a few discussions since our win on Saturday mainly opposition supporters (bless their souls) who reckon winning by 89 points is too much and not good for the game -
Oppo's will never be happy as long as Richmond are on top.
Well I say - we went out to win and not humiliate they otherwise it would have been a win by 150pts.
Agreed. It was typical of Geelong at their best to set out to humiliate undeserving sides, that's not how we operate.

Caddy was saying that in the last quarter they were able to look around and take it in when normally you couldnt do that.

Maybe little things like that mean that we are taking the foot off the pedal but its more important for players to love the premiership so much they badly want another one.

We were stingy till the end. Alot of teams would have let them get a few late ones.

Super impressive performance by super impressive team.

Tigers, I've had a few discussions since our win on Saturday mainly opposition supporters (bless their souls) who reckon winning by 89 points is too much and not good for the game - Well I say - we went out to win and not humiliate they otherwise it would have been a win by 150pts.

For me when my teams play I want them to win and win by a country mile - none of these nail biter games - those are for Pies v Cats etc.

To put it another way - I draw you back to the Ashes - NOTHING is better for me if Aust - score 2/650 dec or similar when we bat and they're all out for 98 when they do and I want to see that every time we play.

SO TIGERS over to you - what do you think ?

They changed the rules for two reasons:
1. To hurt Richmond as they are not a good clearance team with only 1 decent ruck.
2. To stop flooding and open up scoring.

I can see why your oppo mates are distressed.

If the result went the other way the campaigners would of been celebrating in the streets that we had lost by such an huge margin and saying the giants victory was the greatest gf win of all time

They just can’t handle tigers being on top it burns them

I ******* love it

If the result went the other way the campaigners would of been celebrating in the streets that we had lost by such an huge margin and saying the giants victory was the greatest gf win of all time

They just can’t handle tigers being on top it burns them

I ******* love it

This... plus if we hadn't run up the score then all we'd hear about is "you guys really should've put them away", or "you're lucky the Pies didn't make it through, they would've smashed you".

had a coach that said you are disrespecting a team if you don't give full effort

they (GWS) had their pre game injury concerns , they could have retained the guys from the Collingwood match , they didn't
then how many times did the media say "you shouldn't take unfit players into finals"

We have reminded the football world why that isn't a good thing to do

we should be able to show case where we were at

we did , we didn't "over celebrate" or get in their faces

we strived to play top level footy

Rioli and the deft little handball to Dusty , sublime , the football world wants to see they and brag we have the best game

Dusty - 3rd qtr running back towards goal , a mongeral bounce , at pace Dusty picks up and goals
few in the comp. could have executed that , Dangerfield yes , Prestia could have done the clean pick up but not the snap for goal
it was truly elite , we should see it , we should celebrate it , not pack it away because we'll hurt GWS's feelings

During GF week, I had to stop listening to the Radio and most media as they were all paining the picture that GWS would physically intimidate us and that it would be a close game. "Experts' were tipping a GWS win. Oppo supporters ALL WEEK were jumping on the GWS bandwagon. We were always going to win and win well.

Oppo supporters are melting and their salt shakers are feverishly working overtime. The fact of the matter is, GWS were the best of the rest. All other finals teams failed against us - even the Scats win was a 40 point turnaround. That's like being down at half time by 39 points and winning the game in the second half. We were SO much better, because were unbeatable in the final series.

The chokingwood VS Scats final was a borefest. The chokingwood VS GWS was absolute trash. Nowhere near finals standard.

What the final result shows is not a failing of the game, or "lowering of stadard of play", or "bad look for the game" - all it shows is how CRAP opposition CLUBS are COMPARED to us.

These are the same flogs bagging us when we slipped out of the 8 prior to the bye.

During GF week, I had to stop listening to the Radio and most media as they were all paining the picture that GWS would physically intimidate us and that it would be a close game. "Experts' were tipping a GWS win. Oppo supporters ALL WEEK were jumping on the GWS bandwagon. We were always going to win and win well.Oppo supporters are melting and their salt shakers are feverishly working overtime. The fact of the matter is, GWS were the best of the rest. All other finals teams failed against us - even the Scats win was a 40 point turnaround. That's like being down at half time by 39 points and winning the game in the second half. We were SO much better, because were unbeatable in the final series.The chokingwood VS Scats final was a borefest. The chokingwood VS GWS was absolute trash. Nowhere near finals standard.What the final result shows is not a failing of the game, or "lowering of stadard of play", or "bad look for the game" - all it shows is how CRAP opposition CLUBS are COMPARED to us.These are the same flogs bagging us when we slipped out of the 8 prior to the bye.
One more Grand Final win will convince the oppo... :thumbsu:

Can’t believe we blew another game where we could of got our percentage up. Seriously, you reckon old hawks go around saying gee i wish the 88 GF was closer, or Geelong supporters talk about the unfairness of destroying Port? It’s sport. It’s not communism or socialism. There is a winner and a loser. Sometimes it’s close, sometimes it’s not. I could not give one single * about the neutrals. It’s was our day and the best game of football i have ever seen us play. If the shoe was on the other foot, they’d want the same. Anyone who says differently is a plain faced liar.

It was only issue because neutrals hate us and don't give a s**t about the Giants. If it was Collingwood, Carlton, Essendon or even us on the receiving end, there would've been a lot more morbid facination in seeing how much we could be embarrassed by.