News Directors at the AFC... (2019 AGM Voting, with poll)

Who will you vote for the empty board seat at the 2019 AGM

• Dan Kiley

Votes: 24 63.2%
  • Paul Edginton

Votes: 2 5.3%
  • Kym Ryder

Votes: 8 21.1%
  • *seek other candidate*

Votes: 4 10.5%

Given there is no ex player against the three nominees the chance of winning seems somewhat better. Although Kym Ryder seems to be the "club preferred" option.

Can you give us a synopsis how you feel you can best represent us supporters and the main reason you are running?

Also any key changes you would like to see with the club?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

One of my key aims in running for the Board was to ensure that we finally got someone from the rank-and-file into a Member-elected position, as I feel like these positions are best used for Member representation. From what I’ve seen, Kym and Paul are both at least saying similar things, so I’m happy that it seems like we’re going to see someone hopefully take that up, whoever wins the spot.

I’m really interested in the balance between running an elite sporting enterprise, and being a ‘footy club’. I absolutely recognise the need to diversify and grow our revenue base, but I’m keen to make sure that, in doing that, we don’t forget that the Club exists to play footy and benefit its Members. I’m eager for the Club to continue to strengthen its position, whether this is with eSports or baseball or whatever (preferably not pokies), provided that the end goal always remains playing better footy, and better serving our Members and the community.

Given some of the events of last year, I’m also keen to see a bit more transparency from the Club.

I’m wary of trying to say more specific things I’ll change, because I appreciate that I would only have one vote on a Board of nine. I don’t want to overpromise and underdeliver.

I also genuinely believe that I can contribute professional skills and expertise to the Board, and that, of the three candidates, I would perhaps bring a slightly more different perspective to add to the existing line up of bankers, footballers, politicians and public servants.

Although people groan about lawyers, there isn’t one on the Board as it stands, and they can be useful for keeping things on the straight and narrow. We’ve seen what happens when that slips…

Beyond working as a lawyer generally, my specific focus is in intellectual property and media law, and I also have a degree in Computer Science and experience working in IT. I think this could be extremely useful in the context of the Club’s expanding digital media footprint (not to mention eSports).

At 31, I’d also be the first ‘Gen Y’ on the Board, which I think will help me bring a different angle to discussions.

If you're after more, take a look at what I've posted on my website, 19thdan.com.au

I'll vote for whoever plans on sticking around the forum after the voting period. ;)

It would be handy to have an accessible board member posting around here (assuming it's not against the rules and all).

In terms of BigFooty, I’m probably best described as a semi-regular lurker, occasional contributor. To be entirely honest, the Forum moves too fast for me to keep up most of the time, and, if I were lucky enough to join the Club’s Board, I can’t imagine that I’d end up being able to increase the amount of time I spend here. However, I do enjoy dipping in, and occasionally chiming in, as well as listening to NikkiNoo and co on the CrowCast.

Vooligan, if your key concern is to have someone accessible, I can’t promise to be across everything on the Forum, but I’m an extremely easy person to get a hold of, whether that’s here or Twitter or Facebook or my website or wherever.

I wonder which past player will put his hand up this year.

Kris Massie or Rhett Biglands the favourites at this stage.

I'll be stunned if there isn't one. At least they're giving us some respect and are hiding it. Unlike Jamo and his Trigg created chairmanship of the past players association. It'll happen, just wait.

There are no ex-players or people who are currently or previously part of the AFC standing this year for the member elected position.

Hallelujah!

One of my key aims in running for the Board was to ensure that we finally got someone from the rank-and-file into a Member-elected position, as I feel like these positions are best used for Member representation. From what I’ve seen, Kym and Paul are both at least saying similar things, so I’m happy that it seems like we’re going to see someone hopefully take that up, whoever wins the spot.

I’m really interested in the balance between running an elite sporting enterprise, and being a ‘footy club’. I absolutely recognise the need to diversify and grow our revenue base, but I’m keen to make sure that, in doing that, we don’t forget that the Club exists to play footy and benefit its Members. I’m eager for the Club to continue to strengthen its position, whether this is with eSports or baseball or whatever (preferably not pokies), provided that the end goal always remains playing better footy, and better serving our Members and the community.

Given some of the events of last year, I’m also keen to see a bit more transparency from the Club.

I’m wary of trying to say more specific things I’ll change, because I appreciate that I would only have one vote on a Board of nine. I don’t want to overpromise and underdeliver.

I also genuinely believe that I can contribute professional skills and expertise to the Board, and that, of the three candidates, I would perhaps bring a slightly more different perspective to add to the existing line up of bankers, footballers, politicians and public servants.

Although people groan about lawyers, there isn’t one on the Board as it stands, and they can be useful for keeping things on the straight and narrow. We’ve seen what happens when that slips…

Beyond working as a lawyer generally, my specific focus is in intellectual property and media law, and I also have a degree in Computer Science and experience working in IT. I think this could be extremely useful in the context of the Club’s expanding digital media footprint (not to mention eSports).

At 31, I’d also be the first ‘Gen Y’ on the Board, which I think will help me bring a different angle to discussions.

If you're after more, take a look at what I've posted on my website, 19thdan.com.au

In terms of BigFooty, I’m probably best described as a semi-regular lurker, occasional contributor. To be entirely honest, the Forum moves too fast for me to keep up most of the time, and, if I were lucky enough to join the Club’s Board, I can’t imagine that I’d end up being able to increase the amount of time I spend here. However, I do enjoy dipping in, and occasionally chiming in, as well as listening to NikkiNoo and co on the CrowCast.

Vooligan, if your key concern is to have someone accessible, I can’t promise to be across everything on the Forum, but I’m an extremely easy person to get a hold of, whether that’s here or Twitter or Facebook or my website or wherever.
Voting just opened.

You have my vote. Chiefly on your views around transparency and accountability. You also seem to be the only candidate with no real connection to the "Boys Club". One of us.

Voting just opened.

You have my vote. Chiefly on your views around transparency and accountability. You also seem to be the only candidate with no real connection to the "Boys Club". One of us.

I do not know Paul or Daniel however I have met Kym socially on a few occasions.

Firstly, Kym is not part of the “Boys Club”, what gave you this impression Geoffa32?

Kym is a passionate grass roots Crows member with a genuine love of the Crows and sport in general. He takes his young kids to the footy and shares many of the concerns expressed by posters on BigFooty. He indicated to me last year that he wanted to provide a fresh perspective to the Board and was very disappointed that the AFC pulled the past player card again. Speaking to other people who know Kym, they all say he is a good bloke and a straight shooter. He is very well regarded in his profession (no, I am not a lawyer).

I voted for Kym.

I do not know Paul or Daniel however I have met Kym socially on a few occasions.

Firstly, Kym is not part of the “Boys Club”, what gave you this impression Geoffa32?

Kym is a passionate grass roots Crows member with a genuine love of the Crows and sport in general. He takes his young kids to the footy and shares many of the concerns expressed by posters on BigFooty. He indicated to me last year that he wanted to provide a fresh perspective to the Board and was very disappointed that the AFC pulled the past player card again. Speaking to other people who know Kym, they all say he is a good bloke and a straight shooter. He is very well regarded in his profession (no, I am not a lawyer).

I voted for Kym.
I made the connection (rightly or wrongly) with the Boys Club via his firm being listed in one of the Coiterie groups and he acted on behalf of Bendigo Bank, a club sponsor.

It's commercial law in Adelaide, everyone has acted for essentially all of the banks at one point or another.

Kym sits in the outer with family and friends. Definitely not part of the Boys Club.

http://m.afc.com.au/club/information/afc-board

We don’t have anyone currently working as a lawyer. I’m not sure whether any of them have a law degree.

Dan, get in touch with either crowcast or feenix on twitter to arrange a time we can have a chat with you on the podcast. I know that Kym has expressed an interest to have a chat as well. We would love to get all three applicants at some stage for the Crowcast.

I noticed Paul's profile doesn't talk much about his experience as a member. I don't know him, but thought I would share that on a Facebook group he did have pictures of he and his family draped head to toe in Crows gear sitting a few rows back from the fence at Adelaide Oval.

At least this year it looks like we'll actually have a member sitting in the member elected board seat.

Fair enough, all three candidates look like they have something to offer as a genuine representative of the members.

The profiles from each of the candidates by necessity are short and only give a hint of what they can offer to improve the AFC. Any first hand information about the candidates would be helpful.

How long have they been members?
Do they attend most/all matches?
Are they sitting in corporate boxes or cheering with the fans?
Have they previously expressed an opinion about the issues that are important to most crow supporters?
Do they have the skills and experience to enhance the Board?

At one time I was a director on a not-for-profit Board. It was very obvious which other directors had a genuine interest in the organisation and who were there to improve their CV.

Dan, get in touch with either crowcast or feenix on twitter to arrange a time we can have a chat with you on the podcast. I know that Kym has expressed an interest to have a chat as well. We would love to get all three applicants at some stage for the Crowcast.
Great idea Nikki
We can all contribute to questions to be asked of the candidates

How long have they been members?
Do they attend most/all matches?
Are they sitting in corporate boxes or cheering with the fans?

The best way I can show you my bona fides as a Crows fan are to refer to my Twitter and Instagram feeds (both “@19thDan”)

From there you can get a pretty good idea of my seats in the top of the Riverbank stand (eg this post https://www.instagram.com/p/BlIhyamF93R/) where I sat for all 11 home games last year. Last year I also managed to get to three away games, in Sydney (https://www.instagram.com/p/BhyWoGcgDt9/), Perth (https://www.instagram.com/p/Bj1hvNwA3uN/) and Canberra (https://www.instagram.com/p/BmVcpa6A-AP/).

I reckon my grand total of home games missed since we’ve moved to Adelaide Oval is 2, both while I was overseas on my honeymoon.

EDIT: Oh, and also this photo of my “21 year member” season ticket https://www.instagram.com/p/BrARtgAH3Qv

News Directors at the AFC... (2019 AGM Voting, with poll)