Review Do NOT be disillusioned with 2009 after that performance...

Neagle needs to lift about 300% - he goes missing very easily in games and has no impact!
That being said our forward line was non-existent last night. Should be bolstered next year by Gumbleton, the experience of Lloyd and the resting Hille/Ryder.

I didn't watch the Freo/Richmond games this year, so this is the worst performance i have seen us play this year. Good opposition, but that doesn't mean we should have put in no effort.

Bring on 2010.

McVeigh, Welsh and Lovett will not be part of a premiership at the Essendon Football Club. Maybe 1 of the 3 but 2 have to go. I know McVeigh and Welsh had interrupted pre-seasons but neither are going to improve and will most likely be past their best football at the time Essendon make a challenge for the premiership.

Here we go again.

It's not going to happen mate.

a) McVeigh and Welsh will improve with a proper preseason behind them.
b) There are a umber of players that deserve to be cut/traded before thes blokes
c) Not a strong draft this year. We would get bugger all from these trades.

Here we go again.

It's not going to happen mate.

a) McVeigh and Welsh will improve with a proper preseason behind them.
b) There are a number of players that deserve to be cut/traded before thes blokes
c) Not a strong draft this year. We would get bugger all from these trades.

There aren't any other players that deserve to be cut/traded that would have any value on the trade table.

I think you're being short-sighted. I recall Hawthorn dishing off Nathan Thompson and Jonathon Hay virtually at their peak.

Essendon have a great foundation, as someone put it, it's time to focus on list management.

You had a lot of good players out last night and we smashed you.
But I was at the game and I had a sense that the Dons have a lot going for them in the next few years. Your blokes didn't drop their heads until they walked from the ground at the end. They were trying their guts out right to the end. That takes a lot of courage and speaks well for the team spirit.
There is a lot of young talent in the Essendon team. I reckon our two clubs will have some ding-dong goes over the next few years.
Good luck in 2010.

You had a lot of good players out last night and we smashed you.
But I was at the game and I had a sense that the Dons have a lot going for them in the next few years. Your blokes didn't drop their heads until they walked from the ground at the end. They were trying their guts out right to the end. That takes a lot of courage and speaks well for the team spirit.
There is a lot of young talent in the Essendon team. I reckon our two clubs will have some ding-dong goes over the next few years.
Good luck in 2010.

Thank you and good luck for the rest of the finals series! :thumbsu:

I think you're being short-sighted. I recall Hawthorn dishing off Nathan Thompson and Jonathon Hay virtually at their peak.

They were at a much different point in their rebuilding. They were at rock bottom (2004-5), while we've made the finals for the first time with this team, and are on the way up. It's not really a fair comparison.

Definitely some great signs this year from the Bombers. I've enjoyed watching them play. Lots of good signs for the future I agree. Last night was a disappointing way for you guys to bow out but lots to look forwward to. :thumbsu:

They were at a much different point in their rebuilding. They were at rock bottom (2004-5), while we've made the finals for the first time with this team, and are on the way up. It's not really a fair comparison.

We won less than half our games and lost the final by 96 points.

I realise there was a mass improvement on prior years but let's not get carried away with regards to where we're at.

Definitely some great signs this year from the Bombers. I've enjoyed watching them play. Lots of good signs for the future I agree. Last night was a disappointing way for you guys to bow out but lots to look forwward to. :thumbsu:

Thanks KG. Had one of my Melbourne mates over last night, we were looking into the future and the great battles between our two clubs. I can't wait! :thumbsu:

Essendon have heaps of upside, was at the game last night and while Adelaide won easily, the likes of Hurley ect have bright future and a big pre season will benefit them. Add to that Hille, Ryder and co back from injury/suspension, you will be a better team.

Adelaide lost their 2 previous Elimination Finals, and are finally looking like taking the next step.

Lock in the Dons for the 2010 finals, your on the up :thumbsu:

Where do I sign up? I actually thought these two did okay tonight, Welsh in particular. I might even say I thought he did well, but that might be too controversial.

How about the "McVeigh should replace Slattery as the small defender" bandwagon? Will anyone join me on that?

If only,but I think Slattery has another year to go on his contract.
Which means another year of pulling my hair out,everytime he gets the ball.

We won less than half our games and lost the final by 96 points.

I realise there was a mass improvement on prior years but let's not get carried away with regards to where we're at.

But we finished 6 points and %age clear of 9th spot. Let's not start the "we didn't deserve it" bullshit, because we clearly, clearly were the 8th best team.

Hawthorn on the other hand had won 4 (I think) games, and were second last when they traded Hay and Thompson.

The time for those sort of trades was after the 2006 season.

But we finished 6 points and %age clear of 9th spot. Let's not start the "we didn't deserve it" bullshit, because we clearly, clearly were the 8th best team.

Hawthorn on the other hand had won 4 (I think) games, and were second last when they traded Hay and Thompson.

The time for those sort of trades was after the 2006 season.

I don't adhere to the "we didn't deserve it" line but there's a hell of a lot of work to be done.

True, but we are still along way behind the 7 teams that finished above us, yes we did beat the pies,blues and saints, but lost to, well, sides that we should have beaten easily which tells me that we have a long long way to go to push for a top 4 spot.

The list needs to be shaken up a fair bit, we have to trade and trade hard something we have not done for awhile, then and only then we can start to look at a top 4 finish, anyway now I have to listen to my wife rag on me as see is a magpie supporter, life is unfair!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
;););););)

Why do people think the only way to get better as a list is to trade players?

Draft picks are 50-50 at best. Why trade an established player for a 50-50 bet? And that 50-50 is really 25-75 that they will even be as good as the player you get rid of.

Time to suck it up and invest in the players we have. Add to that list with smart drafting and we will get there. A nice run with f#$%ing injuries would be a big start.

a few points

mcveigh for the small defender role - was good on porplyzia until moved off him
slattery to play for bendigo next yr, houli to come in
knights to play at least one established ruckman per game ...the position aint no place for cale hooker, he was insipid in the middle after quarter time
mcphee for the hit up CHF role...
neagle to get fit...played like a fat piece of shit and hung out on the flank most the night
monfries to get fit and push for a midfield role...he dominated the SANFL at 17 playing centre, why hasn't he been given a go?

I'm not disillusioned with 2009 and last night at all. In fact, I think considering our injury run over the last 2 years, we've done extremely well to just make the 8 this year. With a full list, we're a better team than the performance we just gave, so keep your heads up, Bombers fans.

Last night was a great opportunity for many of our core group to experience a final and what it takes to win one.

a few points

mcveigh for the small defender role - was good on porplyzia until moved off him
slattery to play for bendigo next yr, houli to come in
knights to play at least one established ruckman per game ...the position aint no place for cale hooker, he was insipid in the middle after quarter time
mcphee for the hit up CHF role...
neagle to get fit...played like a fat piece of shit and hung out on the flank most the night
monfries to get fit and push for a midfield role...he dominated the SANFL at 17 playing centre, why hasn't he been given a go?

i agree with all of that.

mcveigh is good in defence, but with a full pre-season, he probably wants to go in the middle. for the good of the side though, he's better suited to playing in defence.

i like mcphee in the forward line. anywhere other the the D50 is good for him.

ruckmen shouldn't be a problem next year with ryder and hill back.

dempsey will also improve a lot with the confidence of 15+ games this year under his belt, and another full pre-season this year.

Why do people think the only way to get better as a list is to trade players?

Draft picks are 50-50 at best. Why trade an established player for a 50-50 bet? And that 50-50 is really 25-75 that they will even be as good as the player you get rid of.

Time to suck it up and invest in the players we have. Add to that list with smart drafting and we will get there. A nice run with f#$%ing injuries would be a big start.
Absolutely agree with this one PL.

I'd have to say that McPhee was our last worthwhile trade before Prismall. And Barnes was the last time picking up someone past his prime was worthwhile. But feeding Fremantle a steady supply of our delisted players only gets us so far.

I'm more worried about the brittleness of our list. Gumbleton, Winderlich, Laycock and Reimers have become real liabilities in terms of how many games they can string together before aggravating chronic injuries, amongst others. While I'm not saying they need to be dropped, they're contributing less to our development than Welsh or McVeigh.

Review Do NOT be disillusioned with 2009 after that performance...