Do we have a marquee player?

• Thread starter Thread starter Sttew

Id probably add Scully for GWS & the two Riewolds for their respective teams.

Ports a bloody hard one, they honestly dont have much going for them do they?!

Probably Cox for Eagles before Nat, you cant comapre his consistency over the past 5+ years.

The rest are pretty good though, Pendles/Swan are definitely the marquee pair for the Pies - take them out of the team & Cloake would have to actually work hard to get the ball. They make him look good.

Lenny Hayes is St Kilda's man I reckon.

No way. If you asked anyone at St Kilda, they'd sign Goddard up as their marquee player in a heartbeat, if they could.

I agree with Selwood though. Sometimes the obvious answer is the correct one. If free agency in other sports has taught us anything, it's that when 'potential' players are given massive contracts, as often as not, they decide that they no longer need to work as hard and they actually regress. Selwood has already committed early to Geelong once, potentially leaving a lot of money on the table in the process, so we owe him for his dedication. He is already an multiple AA and about to become a multiple B&F, which no-one at the club anywhere near his age bracket can claim. He would play the same way, whether he was on a $1 million or $10,000. He's clearly the safest bet to actually earn a high six figure salary over the next three years.

Out of boredom, I compiled a list of the players I think are the marquee players for each club.
Noting that the 'marquee' player doesn't necessarily have to be anywhere near the best player.

Adelaide (could be any number of players): Thompson Has to be Walker or Tippett?
Brisbane: Brown He is over 30. Why would Lions make him untouchable?
Carlton: Judd Marginal. He may have been a few years back
Collingwood: Swan/Pendlebury Maybe, but Pies have shown these guys can be covered if injured
Essendon: Watson/Hurley Yes, but Hurley's longevity is questionable. The guy is injury plagued. What about Crameri?
Fremantle: Pavlich Same as Brown - over 30
Geelong: Selwood
Gold Coast: Ablett (K Hunt)
GWS: Folau Joke!!
Hawthorn: Buddy Absolutely.
Melbourne: Clark Yepp
North: Harvey (heart and soul of the club) But well over 30. Who'd want to target him?
Port: ???
Richmond: Martin/Cotchin Jack Riewoldt or Martin
St Kilda: Hayes Too old, and Saints survived a season without him.
Sydney: Goodes Too old.
West Coast: Naitanui (honourable mentions Kerr, Cox) Definitely
Western Bulldogs: Boyd - surely Don't know about that

See comments in red above

Top-line, bona-fide, I-may-need-to-loosen-the-pants "Marquee" players are pretty rare, and always have been. They're the type of guys that will bring anyone and everyone to the game, just to watch 'what may happen.' They have an aura, live in a different universe and get the chicks involved. They're rock-n-roll.

Buddy is the only guy playing the game at present that has this in spades. He's Mick Jagger. If Naitanui gets to have a break-out finals series, he'll be up there. He's Jimi Hendrix meets Sly Stone.

Little Gazza is small 'm' marquee, same with Judd. They are stars, but baldies. They're Tom Morellos.

We have three - but they're all small 'm'. Stevie J. is miraculous, gifted, a fluke. But he just doesn't have 'it'. He's our Eric Clapton. Jimmeh does have 'it', according to all the ladies in the house, but is modest - a very Geelong way of being, and why we love him. He's our George Harrison. Selwood is the closest to big 'M' as we get, but he's too cool to give a rats about it all, just as long as he can keep riffin' and plyin' his trade. We're all in awe of his fearless strength to come from the brink all the time, commitment to the team and 'notorious' reputation with the ladies. Without doubt, our Angus Young and Keith Richards rolled into one.

Deep down, Buddy wishes he could be Selwood.

Top-line, bona-fide, I-may-need-to-loosen-the-pants "Marquee" players are pretty rare, and always have been. They're the type of guys that will bring anyone and everyone to the game, just to watch 'what may happen.' They have an aura, live in a different universe and get the chicks involved. They're rock-n-roll.

While that's a very entertaining post, the logic behind it is flawed. Marquee players (under the definition in this thread) are not that rare. It's not a word that can be defined ten different ways by ten different people (like 'elite', 'superstar', or 'legend'). It's basically a combination of your highest paid and youngest player, the one who is most likely to attract interest from opposition teams. It's the player who will earn the most from your club over the next three years, a player you'd like to pay overs for, to ensure you'll keep him. Under this definition, your marquee player doesn't even need to have won a B&F, been an AA, or played in a premiership. Adelaide could easily consider Dangerfield or Sloane to be their marquee player, ahead of Thompson, or one of their key forwards. Unless your team really, really sucks, you'll have at least one.

Id probably add Scully for GWS & the two Riewolds for their respective teams.

Ports a bloody hard one, they honestly dont have much going for them do they?!

Probably Cox for Eagles before Nat, you cant comapre his consistency over the past 5+ years.

The rest are pretty good though, Pendles/Swan are definitely the marquee pair for the Pies - take them out of the team & Cloake would have to actually work hard to get the ball. They make him look good.

Naitanui is the man that draws people through the gates though.
Like I said, not necessarily the best player (Folau at GWS)

See comments in red above

As I said, Adelaide is a tough one.

I'm not talking about touchable, I'm talking about players you think of when you think of a club.
Jonathon Brown is the man at Brisbane. He's the one all the fans love and go to see.

Judd is by far the star of the show at Carlton. He is their headline player. (See defintion of marquee above)

Watson and Hurley are the most popular players at Essendon. Fans can't get enough of them. They are their star players. Who do you think the fans really want a photo with?

Pavlich IS the Freo footy club. The best player in their history and still their best. The fans LOVE him.

When GWS played in Tassie, I went to the game for one reason - I Folau. He is the face of the team in Western Sydney.

Harvey is a star and I don't know where you get the idea that you need to be targeted by other clubs to be a marquee player.

Riewoldt is right up there for the Tiges but they do love Martin and Cotchin. Could throw Deledio in the mix too.

Hayes is admired by the entire football world. He is a fan favourite.

I'm not even going to comment on Goodes. This guy is a champion.

Not sure who else you would have at the Dogs. Boyd is their captain and clearly their best player.

While that's a very entertaining post, the logic behind it is flawed. Marquee players (under the definition in this thread) are not that rare. It's not a word that can be defined ten different ways by ten different people (like 'elite', 'superstar', or 'legend'). It's basically a combination of your highest paid and youngest player, the one who is most likely to attract interest from opposition teams. It's the player who will earn the most from your club over the next three years, a player you'd like to pay overs for, to ensure you'll keep him. Under this definition, your marquee player doesn't even need to have won a B&F, been an AA, or played in a premiership. Adelaide could easily consider Dangerfield or Sloane to be their marquee player, ahead of Thompson, or one of their key forwards. Unless your team really, really sucks, you'll have at least one.

Marquee:
adjective
4. superlative; headlining:

Headlining:
verb
7.to be the star of (a show, nightclub act, etc.)

Marquee:
adjective
4. superlative; headlining:

Headlining:
verb
7.to be the star of (a show, nightclub act, etc.)

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/veteran?s=t
vet·er·an

   [vet-er-uhn, ve-truhn] Show IPA
noun
a person who has had long service or experience in an occupation, office, or the like: a veteran of the police force; a veteran of many sports competitions.

Maybe we could just go to the AFL with a dictionary and ask that only half the salary of any of our players with 150+ games experience should count against the cap...

You don't need star forwards to win premierships so I don't see why people think KPF need to be marquee players.

We won 3 premierships with average KPF's West Coast won 2 with average KPF's. Sydney won theirs on the back of there defensive game plan not Barry Halls performances as full forward and Hawthorn beat us in 08 because of a well implemented game plan not because Buddy ripped us up.

Mooney was not average in 2007 nor 2009. Hawkins during the finals last year was anything but average, and probably the single biggest reason we won the premiership. I agree it's not ever due to one thing but gun forwards go a long, long way to being premiership contenders.

vet·er·an

   [vet-er-uhn, ve-truhn] Show IPA
noun
a person who has had long service or experience in an occupation, office, or the like: a veteran of the police force; a veteran of many sports competitions.

Maybe we could just go to the AFL with a dictionary and ask that only half the salary of any of our players with 150+ games experience should count against the cap...

My point is MC, that in my opinion, a marquee player is a player that people go to the football to see.
The bloke that the fans love and gets the people through the gates.
The bloke that springs to mind when you think of a footy club.

Naitanui is the man that draws people through the gates though.
Like I said, not necessarily the best player (Folau at GWS)

As I said, Adelaide is a tough one.

I'm not talking about touchable, I'm talking about players you think of when you think of a club.
Jonathon Brown is the man at Brisbane. He's the one all the fans love and go to see.

Judd is by far the star of the show at Carlton. He is their headline player. (See defintion of marquee above)

Watson and Hurley are the most popular players at Essendon. Fans can't get enough of them. They are their star players. Who do you think the fans really want a photo with?

Pavlich IS the Freo footy club. The best player in their history and still their best. The fans LOVE him.

When GWS played in Tassie, I went to the game for one reason - I Folau. He is the face of the team in Western Sydney.

Harvey is a star and I don't know where you get the idea that you need to be targeted by other clubs to be a marquee player.

Riewoldt is right up there for the Tiges but they do love Martin and Cotchin. Could throw Deledio in the mix too.

Hayes is admired by the entire football world. He is a fan favourite.

I'm not even going to comment on Goodes. This guy is a champion.

Not sure who else you would have at the Dogs. Boyd is their captain and clearly their best player.

All valid points, but under the proposed salary cap changes the idea would be to take your one long term untouchabel player out of the equation so that no other clubs can snap him up. Why would anyone head hunt former champions who are over 30 and have, at best one or two seasons left? Refer article below:

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport...fl-to-look-to-us/story-e6frepf6-1226422957507

Take Goodes, for example. A champion of the game. But if Swans declared him as their marquee under the proposed changes, players like Reid, Kennedy and Jack could / would be targeted.

Geelong get very little media coverage in my view. I'm talking about the ads on TV and the stuff you see on billboards etc.
Not sure whether it's because we have people who don't do enough to put Geelong out there in media management side of things or perhaps there is some kind of issue when it comes to advertising? FORD? or whatever......but when you watch TV, there are hardly any highlights of our stars kicking goals or taking great marks.

I actually think it's by design, since 2007 the club has kept a very low media profile. I'm in the minority on this but I'd rather they focus on their football and winning games rather than appearing on the Footy Show or Before the Couch or whatever. To me the club has its priorities in exactly the right place.

I'm more than happy for every other club and the media to forget about us, only the 2 and a half hours on the weekend matters. Do that bit right and everything else will follow.

My point is MC, that in my opinion, a marquee player is a player that people go to the football to see.
The bloke that the fans love and gets the people through the gates.
The bloke that springs to mind when you think of a footy club.

And my point is there is a definitive description of what it means, in this instance, in the OP, which has nothing to do with the literal meaning. It's just a name that has to go next to the player when they lodge the form. The fact that it can only apply to a maximum of one player per club and that players like Mitch Clark will be considered to be alongside Ablett and Franklin, suggests that 'marquee' probably doesn't need to be taken too seriously. In 2007/08, who would our marquee player have been? The answer isn't any of the abstract reasons you're providing; it's simply whoever was on the most money, probably Scarlett. Would that have meant players like Ablett, Bartel, Corey and Johnson were any less marquee, in the literal sense? Of course not.

I don't think the thread title does us justice. A defines single.. I believe we are have more than one - by all definitions...
Selwood, Bartel, Enright, Scarlett, Hawkins. Apologies to Kelly, Corey et al who would have made the list anytime in the last 2 years..

Bias excepted.

Go Catters

I think that we are about to be shown that Bartel is the other. For me he is our marquee player - can play anywhere on the field, and usually does. Mid, forward & back. Incredibly strong mark. Awesome kick for goal. Bleeds blue & white hoops.

Agree with this. We rely on Bartel so often when we are down and need to dig deep, and he rarely fails to drag us back. And when we are up, you can bet he is always flying too.

Please don't remind us what we will be missing tomorrow night!

Note sure I agree with that actually.

Tommy single handedly won us the 2011 premiership. Whilst Buddy was awesome in 08, he did nothing in the grand final and I would argue Hawthorn would be better off losing Buddy than us losing Tommy (they still have Roughhead who is far better than Grandpa Pod as much as I love him).

I thought he got the jitters abit in the Grandfinal and was it was glossed over because of the players doing their bit arouound him. Selwood and the boys won it for you ... They just went hard.

Those powerful pack marks in the 3rd and final quarter were a major turning point. Pity he couldn't convert, but he did the damage.