Dockers' about-face to pick Farmer

• Thread starter Thread starter MrGFC

It would seem you lot would be in favour of Gary Abblett Snr not being allowed back to Geelong after his list of SERIOUS indiscretions with the law. Jeff Farmer is a law abiding doo-gooder compared to him.

Now lets talk about the real issue here.

Youaintgotnoonethatcanstopourjeffreyandyoullgettowelledthisweekend.

Yep we do. Either Mackie or DJ will stop Farmer easily. Also, he has to play going both ways or else he will be on the bench as his opponent has meandered down the other end to kick a couple of goals.

Farmer is ok, but he isn't the best footy player going around.

Our treatment of Farmer is somewhat unique because as far as I can tell, we haven't had anyone else do the same, so that theory is yet to be tested.
Your theory isn't totally unique, let a player off because he cannot handle himself in public, in total disregard for the harmony of his club and team-mates.

A fine is nothing to these guys, most would be covered by sponsorship that they would already have.

I don't know, and neither do you. If Jimmy Bartel or Gary Ablett were to go off the rails, would you treat them the same away you treated Steven Johnson?

Yes I'd say the Cats would. Their stance was taken because a player couldn't handle himself. The thing is that both Ablett and Bartel have a bit of integrity in themselves, therefore don't get into trouble.

You've got no idea and neither have I. Farmer broke team rules again and has been whacked with a massive fine of 56k. Even on $300,000, that's 18% of your income. The club has recognised that if suspension doesn't work maybe a massive fine will.

So what is next ?? Another warning, another fine ?? Stand up for yourselves. The reason why you have so many players through the tribunal, and events like this is because you have no respect for each other, nor do they have any for the club. Integrity. Suggest you look that word up.

I reckon you actually may be right; maybe the club is playing favourites. But every club will do that;

No they won't. Steven Johnson is one of our best players, shown that since his return. The Cats didn't care how many losses stacked up, they had the balls and leadership to make a stand and a valid point.

Freo have just scrambled because they are losing and need to get into the finals or be the joke of the season.

what I cannot abide is the moral indignation and sanctimonious whingeing from posters on this forum who appear to think that Freo is a club of ill repute and low integrity because of this decision, and somehow they are unique in this regard.

To be totally honest, you aren't unique as a club. Collingwood is in the same book with Didak. You let players get away with poor behaviour then things like the NRL's Bulldogs comes up in the papers. You let them be gods and get away with everything, then they will do anything.

Oh yeah, in regards your Farmer cheap shot; our ruck stocks are thanking their lucky stars that Steven King is playing in the twos. ;):rolleyes:

Hey I'm totally happy King is in the two's, he is not up to the standard of an AFL player, maybe after a week off he will be ready. Then Ottens will go forward and no-one in the league can match up on Otto, SJ, Mooney, Nathan, Chappy, Stokes, and oh maybe Hawkins could slot in.

Surprise, surprise;a humourless German.

If by "integrity" you mean going around telling all and sundry (especially Freo) how to run their club, based on the back of your impressive winning streak, then you can shove it. What a pile of sanctimonious crap. The fact that Johnson has been playing well is a credit to Geelong and the player himself. That doesn't mean that you have to present an air of moral superiority. :(

It was only last year that you were a shambles.

Tell you what, being German, if you want to improve the culture write it down, say in 95 points, or theses and nail it to the front of Freo's clubrooms. ;)

That would be a thesis.

I doubt you have an idea on integrity. Geelong suspended one of its better players because of a second incident in 12 months. He was given a 6 week suspension, no training with the AFL squad, no personalised training from GFC. He went away, gave up alcohol for the year. Paid for his own fitness trainer for the 6 week ban, came back stronger, faster and with an improved look on the game and his life.

That is integrity.

For Farmer to be caught, many times for just being stupid (I'm including eye gouging here also), then what is that ?? You surely cannot see that he has some serious issues that need to be addressed, away from football. You'd have thought that if he had one cent of integrity and value then he would have seen the problem a long time ago and addressed it then.

Also, I would like to point out that I do have a large funny bone, against your humour jibe earlier. I'm stringing you along quite well and having a huge laugh.

So is nearly all the GFC supporters on here.

That would be a thesis.

I doubt you have an idea on integrity. Geelong suspended one of its better players because of a second incident in 12 months. He was given a 6 week suspension, no training with the AFL squad, no personalised training from GFC. He went away, gave up alcohol for the year. Paid for his own fitness trainer for the 6 week ban, came back stronger, faster and with an improved look on the game and his life.

That is integrity.

For Farmer to be caught, many times for just being stupid (I'm including eye gouging here also), then what is that ?? You surely cannot see that he has some serious issues that need to be addressed, away from football. You'd have thought that if he had one cent of integrity and value then he would have seen the problem a long time ago and addressed it then.

Also, I would like to point out that I do have a large funny bone, against your humour jibe earlier. I'm stringing you along quite well and having a huge laugh.

Mate, you have really got to slow down on the winding up.
Got them in tatters.
Personally, i coudlnt care less if he plays or not - thats an internal club issue, same a SJ was - we handled it differently.
Maybe if Freo did the same as the GFC they would never see Farmer again - maybe thats their concern.
And in relation to the fine - to clear up the insanity here - fines are not pre tax dollars, they are post tax. You cannot claim a fine as a legitimate business expense (his business being that of a footballer)- therefore effectively he has to earn close to $100k to actually pay it. Thats a fair chunk even if you earn $300k which has been slotted around - 1/3 of his salary. If that is not a deterrent to future games, god knows what woul dbe.
Lets see what happens on Saturday rememebring that we spanked them there last year when we were playing very average footy.

Mate, you have really got to slow down on the winding up.
Got them in tatters.

That is the funny part.

However clubs will do whatever they think is best for it. Sure Freo 'tried' to be honest and have some value in the club. Unfortunately that was all undone by the last Farmer indiscretion.

Sure I know he will play, I hope we win, in fact I know we will win. Freo have shown thus far they have no discipline.

Freo guys, we were exactly the same as you last year, our club took a stand in the right way to show leadership from the top down. SJ found that out the hard way.

Until you take that on, you will continue to have players at the tribunal constantly and players suffering from brain explosions out on the turps because they can't handle it.

If you can see that, then you wouldn't be arguing.

That would be a thesis.

That is integrity.

No; it would be theses. As (A) You were being so holier than thou and are (B) German I thought you might spot the Martin Luther reference.

Steve Johnson, broke his ankle whilst being drunk in 2003 climbing over the wall into the Torquay Hotel having been ejected. He was also arrested in 2005 for being drunk and disorderly after the Round 19 loss to St Kilda. He wasn't suspended then and was fined $1000. He was then arrested again for being drunk and disorderly on Christmas Eve 2006 and a suspension was levied. I am really glad that he pulled his head in; I reckon that trading or delisting him would have done no good. Maybe if the club had been a bit stronger after the 2005 incident ($1000.00 - er, lets see what I've got behind the couch :o) it wouldn't have come to a head in 2007 but who knows?

As for Jeff, he's now got $56,000 worth of integrity. Let's wait and see what happens. Hopefully he can turn his drinking problems around.

And my sincerest apologies your eminence if I didn't realise banging on and on about 'integrity' was stringing me along and being funny. :confused:

Now I see. :o Ha! Ouch! My sides!! :rolleyes:

As for Jeff, he's now got $56,000 worth of integrity. Let's wait and see what happens. Hopefully he can turn his drinking problems around.

Sure, that he does, he has that much integrity that now he can't afford a beer !!

If you also saw I pointed out that Geelong were in the exact same boat last year, finally they had enough of the harmful behaviour to the players and club of Steve Johnson. They took the right stance, he learned his lesson and moved on.

Yet another point you are missing is that Jeff Farmer doesn't seem to be able to learn a lesson. Is that what you want at your club ??

Is that part of the problem to why you are in the form you are in ?? Is that also part of the issues that you have the highest amount of players facing and being banned by the tribunal this year ??

I think so.

Nope didn't get the Luther text, I'd just say thesis, because it only needs one composition of a disertation to the Freo club on the predicament they find themselves in. Therefore the plural isn't required.

Flag favourites to a club going nowhere fast.

Our treatment of Farmer is somewhat unique because as far as I can tell, we haven't had anyone else do the same, so that theory is yet to be tested. I don't know, and neither do you. If Jimmy Bartel or Gary Ablett were to go off the rails, would you treat them the same away you treated Steven Johnson? You've got no idea and neither have I. Farmer broke team rules again and has been whacked with a massive fine of 56k. Even on $300,000, that's 18% of your income. The club has recognised that if suspension doesn't work maybe a massive fine will.

I reckon you actually may be right; maybe the club is playing favourites. But every club will do that; what I cannot abide is the moral indignation and sanctimonious whingeing from posters on this forum who appear to think that Freo is a club of ill repute and low integrity because of this decision, and somehow they are unique in this regard.

Oh yeah, in regards your Farmer cheap shot; our ruck stocks are thanking their lucky stars that Steven King is playing in the twos. ;):rolleyes:

Don't get me wrong, I'm not suggesting that Geelong are in some way morally superior to Fremantel, I believe the same would apply to all sixteen clubs actually in that they would give their star players far more latitude then they would a fringe player, my point was simply that the Freo supporters should just acknowledge the fact that the guys a disgrace but he's going to continue playing because he's important to the team, rather then continue making excuses for him.

I do think the club have been very weak in how they've handled the whole situation, after saying he was on his last chance after his previous indiscrecion to then do such a massive about face, can't really see how that's going to set an example to the team as a whole.

If they [ and you ] really believe a fine will work where suspension won't I think you're both being fairly naive, losing some money, however much it may be, would pale into insignificance compared to being prevented from doing what one does best, and that's play footy.

Don't see that as a "cheap shot" in any way, unless stating the truth is a cheap shot, because let's be totally honest, Farmers record on the field is nothing to be proud of, and I can't really understand the Stephen King reference, if you're referring to the incident [ accident ] I think you are then it suggests to me you really don't have much of an argument to put forward in defence of JF.

As for Jeff, he's now got $56,000 worth of integrity.
Very CC pre-reformation, Doc. Your Luther analogy was a goody.
Still on the religious theme: I enjoyed the crowd's deification of Farmer, as I'm sure did Tarrant.

Do you believe Mark Harvey's the man to instil discipline in your side?
He looked quite...comfortable with his players. Cuddles Mk II?

Very
Still on the religious theme: I enjoyed the crowd's deification of Farmer, as I'm sure did Tarrant.
standing ovation after he kicked his goal...

2004: charged with assaulting his girlfriend.
2006: night club brawl, no charges laid.
2007: knocked out night club guard, charged.
2007: charged with criminal damage at burswood.

the dockers fans trashed the eagles over ben cousins, but he never hurt anyone but himself...

Maybe Harvey is Bomber Thompson mark II ! I'm glad this site was down yesterday, as it made my miserable day slightly brighter knowing you cocky so and so's couldn't have a go at me. Well played, you were on and looked good BUT, its still early days to think about a flag. They don't hand them out apparently. Good team and good coach, good luck !!

At least we can think about a flag, Your team is an absolute rabble, could not hit the side of a barn by hand or foot. No passion no pride no chance of beating us yesterday and anyone who thought so clearly deluded.

He didn't get a standing ovation you knob. We stood up and cheered the goal. There's a massive difference. God, give us one bright spark. :o

I am not defending Jeff Farmer for assaulting his girlfriend. Hitting youir partner is a very low act. They are still together, so they are possibly working through that. I don't know and I am pretty sure no-one on this site does either. All In know is that he was charged. And he didn't "knock out" a night club guard. He punched a bouncer. While that's still wrong, there's a massive difference.

I agree it's a less than impressive rap sheet but to suggest that he was given a standing ovation, like Bad Boy Booze Bus Bolting Benny was, is ridiculous exaggeration.:mad:

I was there, and the freo fans around me seemed to stand and applaud, not jump up and cheer.
No Rooie, you're a KNOB! They were cheering the goal!! MASSIVE difference!!!
You can't have watched many games if ya nevah seen a crowd applauding when their team's getting walloped!! Just because the supporters of every other club in the league Bronx-cheer champions who finally show something productive after being towelled all day doesn't mean Freo fans are required to follow suit! And OK, so the applause wasn't nearly as rapturous for Headland's late snag, but...er...and they were a little down for Hayden's, but...ok, ok, Mundy's wasn't loudly received either...BUT this was a boootiful goal!!! Wave those purple flags high!!!

DrJon said:
I agree it's a less than impressive rap sheet but to suggest that he was given a standing ovation, like Bad Boy Booze Bus Bolting Benny was, is ridiculous exaggeration.
Careful now, Doc, sounding a little "morally indignant and sanctimonious" yourself. I'm sure the German wouldn't mind lending a rosary if you wish to indulge this newfound piety.

No Rooie, you're a KNOB! They were cheering the goal!! MASSIVE difference!!!
You can't have watched many games if ya nevah seen a crowd applauding when their team's getting walloped!! Just because the supporters of every other club in the league Bronx-cheer champions who finally show something productive after being towelled all day doesn't mean Freo fans are required to follow suit! And OK, so the applause wasn't nearly as rapturous for Headland's late snag, but...er...and they were a little down for Hayden's, but...ok, ok, Mundy's wasn't loudly received either...BUT this was a boootiful goal!!! Wave those purple flags high!!!

Careful now, Doc, sounding a little "morally indignant and sanctimonious" yourself. I'm sure the German wouldn't mind lending a rosary if you wish to indulge this newfound piety.

My apologies Rooie. You did strike a nerve. You didn't deserve to be called a knob however.

And stripey; thanks for the sarcasm. The Farmer goal was the only Freo goal ( i think) of a horrendous last quarter and I never give a player a Bronx Cheer. I congratulated a lot of very pleased Cats fans after the win though.
Hope you go all the way.

And stripey; thanks for the sarcasm.
It wasn't altogether unwarranted, young Jeffrey was undeniably treated as a sentimental favourite.
But ignore me, I've been in a melancholic funk all week.

I'm sceptical whether Harvey has the authority within your club to effectively switch roles from assistant coach to head coach. It's all very well being a tough opponent or staring down grizzly media veterans, but it takes a different kinda ticker to lob grenades into your own bunker, an approach some of your players may need. I hope for your sake that he's a little more Paul Roos and a little less Peter Rohde.

May Fremantle finish higher on the ladder than West Coast for years to come.

PS. Don't forget Headland goaled in the final quarter.
PPS. The rosary proved a great puller for the Riv.

For some reason I am reminded of this guy by Jeff Farmer.
modernanimal.JPG