Dockers' about-face to pick Farmer

• Thread starter Thread starter MrGFC

What scared this week are you? You see how much of a difference he makes to the team.

Fact is he was suspended and it didnt work. He is the sort of guy that without footy he would loose the plot, so taking it away from him causes more problems for him and than for the club. They will most likely let him play, give him a fine and a pretty hefty one. And at the same time help him overcome his alcohol issues.

The problem here is that the club thinks it is ok to go out and make a tool of yourself, it sets the example that just because he is good and makes the team better it is ok.

Sure he was suspended before, what does that say for his character that he hasn't learned his lesson? What sort of a club wants that character around ??

I'm just cannot comprehend the situation the Dockers find themselves in and think that it is ok to be the laughing stock of the AFL by letting Farmer back into the frey.

It seems as though both of the WA clubs, along with Collingwood (for the Didak response), are morally corrupt. Sure we cannot just constantly suspend players and such, but if we let them continue to go down this path we will end up with similar leagues like the NBA in the U.S.

Not a week goes by where a player from the NBA has a lawsuit filed against them, is arrested for drug abuse (marijuana), shooting outside of nightclubs or about 5 or 6 paternity suits against them.

I'm not a bible basher or anthing such, however it seems as though the clubs cannot and will not discipline their players. It is time the AFL takes this on head first and tackles the issue.

Geelong took this on, suspended SJ for 6 games. He pulled his head in, learned and moved on. Gave up alcohol for the year. Now isn't this the way a player with integrity would respond ???

Farmer and Freo do not have one iota of integrity. They fear the wrath of the supporter instead of actually doing what is right.

If it was your child, brother or father, would you expect them to get assistance for their problems first than rather take on more media spotlight ???

I know the answer to that, seems as though Freo supporters are more concerned about the win/loss column instead of actually supporting the player and taking a greater moral stance.

What's the big freakin deal people??? None of you know an alcoholic or get a little tipsy yourselves. Pfft. Grow up.

Anywho, I really hope he does play. I want every team we play for the rest of the year to be full strength. Take em all on without excuses.

Again like my other quote, this isn't the issue.

The total lack of integrity by the club and player is standing out here. Sure we may get a little tipsy etc, but he is an AFL listed player coming back from an alcohol induced suspension, you'd think he would have learned his lesson.

Unfortunately for the club involved and the player he didn't. So now it is ok to just let him have his way because the losses are mounting up.

It sends out an extremely poor message to those around him, the team as a whole shows it has no leadership as they cannot even look after one of their own players.

If he had a problem, why wasn't it picked up before. Why is he now only saying this and being open about it. Due to the fact that this is the second time in less than 8 weeks that he was caught ?? What about the other times he may have not been caught ??

Players are not gods, they are human, they make mistakes. It is not ok to let them get away with it though. We all have to take our punishment if we get caught. Not handing out any punishment for bringing not only the game, but the club as well into disrepute is ridiculous.

Money is nothing to these guys. It was a wasted opportunity to say something great, to show leadership and integrity, to which Freo didn't capitalise on.

So when will Scarlett be sitting out as his punishment? I seem to recall him finding himself in a somewhat poor position but as yet he hasn't spent any time on the sidelines. Why is that?

It's easy for us to all get very high and mighty over these things, but there is not a club out there who hasn't had a player behave poorly and not swept it under the carpet. The only way things will move forward is if the AFL step in with a standardised punishment program, although, if it runs along the same lines as the MRP, I'd suggest we are all in trouble.

So when will Scarlett be sitting out as his punishment? I seem to recall him finding himself in a somewhat poor position but as yet he hasn't spent any time on the sidelines. Why is that?

It's easy for us to all get very high and mighty over these things, but there is not a club out there who hasn't had a player behave poorly and not swept it under the carpet. The only way things will move forward is if the AFL step in with a standardised punishment program, although, if it runs along the same lines as the MRP, I'd suggest we are all in trouble.

He did with his business partner, however it seems as though alcohol wasn't an issue, also the business partner didn't make a charge.

It was a one off offence, I think that is entirely different to Farmer.

He did with his business partner, however it seems as though alcohol wasn't an issue, also the business partner didn't make a charge.

It was a one off offence, I think that is entirely different to Farmer.

Also a good opportunity to make a stand, or as you've done above, make an excuse - whatever works best. You can't have it both ways though. Freo tried making a stand with Farmer earlier in the year - we'd already lost him for 6 weeks courtesy of the MRP and the club gave him another 6 for breaking team rules. It would appear his problems are worse when he's not playing football, so as long as he is receiving professional help, perhaps it's in everyone's interests that he is allowed to continue to play football.

Farmer is not the first exceptionally talented footballer to have a battle with his demons- I'm sure that Geelong supporters in particular can understand this.

Also a good opportunity to make a stand, or as you've done above, make an excuse - whatever works best. You can't have it both ways though. Freo tried making a stand with Farmer earlier in the year - we'd already lost him for 6 weeks courtesy of the MRP and the club gave him another 6 for breaking team rules. It would appear his problems are worse when he's not playing football, so as long as he is receiving professional help, perhaps it's in everyone's interests that he is allowed to continue to play football.

Farmer is not the first exceptionally talented footballer to have a battle with his demons- I'm sure that Geelong supporters in particular can understand this.

Stand against what ?? No police report, no court case. Only a jibe from a media outlet ?? (IRT Scarlett). The CATS took a stand, SJ was put down to the reserves for 6 weeks. He took that on board and made a stand for his own integrity. Obviously Farmer can't do that because he is either too stupid or barely an adult.

So should we take action against Scarlett when nothing has been proven ??

Stand is what a club should do to guys who've obviously gone over the line, Farmer, Cousins, Kerr. All should be facing more penalties than they have received thus far. Kerr is a joke, drug trafficking across state lines is acceptable by the WCE it seems.

The biggest joke at the moment is Farmer. Has a substance abuse problem so we will just put him back under more pressure. Good idea fellas. You've now got the medication for alcoholism and possibly depression. Quick get it prescribed for all of Australia.

Give me a break. So anyone that breaks team rules on the second occasion we should just sweep that under the carpet ??

If they are serious about his problem, get help. Letting him play footy isn't going to help. If HE is serious about his issues then HE shouldn't be going out and partying, HE should be able to stop himself.

What is Farmer a two year old ???

Again like my other quote, this isn't the issue.

The total lack of integrity by the club and player is standing out here. Sure we may get a little tipsy etc, but he is an AFL listed player coming back from an alcohol induced suspension, you'd think he would have learned his lesson.

Unfortunately for the club involved and the player he didn't. So now it is ok to just let him have his way because the losses are mounting up.

It sends out an extremely poor message to those around him, the team as a whole shows it has no leadership as they cannot even look after one of their own players.

If he had a problem, why wasn't it picked up before. Why is he now only saying this and being open about it. Due to the fact that this is the second time in less than 8 weeks that he was caught ?? What about the other times he may have not been caught ??

Players are not gods, they are human, they make mistakes. It is not ok to let them get away with it though. We all have to take our punishment if we get caught. Not handing out any punishment for bringing not only the game, but the club as well into disrepute is ridiculous.

Money is nothing to these guys. It was a wasted opportunity to say something great, to show leadership and integrity, to which Freo didn't capitalise on.

Oh dear, I'm sorrry our club deciding on a penalty that wasn't suspension doesn't suit your needs. Please try to get over it, all this foot stamping and crying wont help.

The bit in bold - WTF you want him punished for ...........what?

Stand against what ?? No police report, no court case. Only a jibe from a media outlet ?? (IRT Scarlett). The CATS took a stand, SJ was put down to the reserves for 6 weeks. He took that on board and made a stand for his own integrity. Obviously Farmer can't do that because he is either too stupid or barely an adult.

So should we take action against Scarlett when nothing has been proven ??

Stand is what a club should do to guys who've obviously gone over the line, Farmer, Cousins, Kerr. All should be facing more penalties than they have received thus far. Kerr is a joke, drug trafficking across state lines is acceptable by the WCE it seems.

The biggest joke at the moment is Farmer. Has a substance abuse problem so we will just put him back under more pressure. Good idea fellas. You've now got the medication for alcoholism and possibly depression. Quick get it prescribed for all of Australia.

Give me a break. So anyone that breaks team rules on the second occasion we should just sweep that under the carpet ??

If they are serious about his problem, get help. Letting him play footy isn't going to help. If HE is serious about his issues then HE shouldn't be going out and partying, HE should be able to stop himself.

What is Farmer a two year old ???

Our sincere apologies you holiness.
I assume by 'the German' you mean Pope Benedict XVI. :rolleyes:

What self righteous twaddle. :mad: he has a problem when he drinks too much; that's not a substance abuse problem.

I'll say this for the benefit of those that don't seem to want to read and possibly understand:

HE HAS COPPED THE BIGGEST PLAYER FINE IN AFL HISTORY.

Its a recurring problem however, and its a recurring problem that has happened while he is playing football. So he busted a mirror, thats not the issue; no one cares about that. what people do care about that was that he was suspended for 6 weeks on something that wasn't his first offense to begin with, and after that six week suspension went ahead and decided to cause another one. He has a history at the Freo Dockers of causing problems - the only reason he gets away with it because he is a good player. If it was someone else, he would have been turfed away so fast no one would ever hear of him again.

I like Dockers - being in perth I have a soft spot for them. But its just stupid what they are doing with Farmer. He won't learn, he will continue to do what he has always done. It sets absolutely no standard for the other players.

How many chances has Johnson had? I'd suggest the suspension he copped this season wasn't his first offence? I do seem to remember something about a broken ankle in one of his escapades?

Geelong dealt with Johnson in a way they thought appropriate for the situation - Johnson has responded well and good on him and Geelong for that.

Freo have to deal with Farmer. They tried the suspension path - it obviously failed. Farmer now has six weeks to sort out his problems or he'll be kissing his career goodbye. As a player who has been an enormous part of turning our club around, he deserves some support to ensure that his life after football is worthwhile. I think you will find that has as much to do with him playing this week as anything.

How many chances has Johnson had? I'd suggest the suspension he copped this season wasn't his first offence? I do seem to remember something about a broken ankle in one of his escapades?

Geelong dealt with Johnson in a way they thought appropriate for the situation - Johnson has responded well and good on him and Geelong for that.

And if Johnson had commited another offense a week after coming back from being suspended, Thompson wouldn't have fined him and said "nah your cool buddy, you can play." Itg was obvious from the attitude of the coach that this was it for Johnson. Farmer however did just that. And if suspension isn't the answer, what is? Taking a small percentage of his huge amount of dollars? That'll teach him for sure.

The $55,000 he has lost i wouldnt call a small percentage. Either way different circumstances with Farmer. Different people react to different things. They may think the best way to deal with him is to get him the counselling he needs but play footy so that can occupy his mind.

Our sincere apologies you holiness.
I assume by 'the German' you mean Pope Benedict XVI. :rolleyes:

What self righteous twaddle. :mad: he has a problem when he drinks too much; that's not a substance abuse problem.

I'll say this for the benefit of those that don't seem to want to read and possibly understand:

HE HAS COPPED THE BIGGEST PLAYER FINE IN AFL HISTORY.

So you don't think alcohol is a drug ??

Substance abuse means drug abuse. Alcohol is the most widely accepted drug on the planet.

So what, he got a fine. He is surely on 300k per annum, surely he can afford a small cut. He also had a 6 game suspension, did he learn from that ??

Freo have to deal with Farmer. They tried the suspension path - it obviously failed. Farmer now has six weeks to sort out his problems or he'll be kissing his career goodbye. As a player who has been an enormous part of turning our club around, he deserves some support to ensure that his life after football is worthwhile. I think you will find that has as much to do with him playing this week as anything.

It was Johnson's second time in a year. Not in 6 weeks.

Oh dear, I'm sorrry our club deciding on a penalty that wasn't suspension doesn't suit your needs. Please try to get over it, all this foot stamping and crying wont help.

The bit in bold - WTF you want him punished for ...........what?

Well like most at the club, its supporters (well the ones writing here), have no idea about having any form of integrity.

Farmer has acted like a two year old nearly all of this year, first the eye gouge, then his very public acts of ill-discipline and now the hiding behind the alcohol addiction. How about owning up to your problems, take a side step and fix the situation by acting like an adult and get the problem solved instead of trying to take on new ones.

As stated earlier I find it funny that the addiction or 'problem with alcohol' has only come out now.

Also what seems funny is that we see a repeat offender of ridiculous behaviour to be shown as an example by putting him back in the seniors because of his great clubmanship and attitude to the game.

I'm not stamping my foot or anything such, I just cannot believe the moral standard being set at the club. It is any wonder why they are in the spot they are in thus far.

Funny they are also one of the most penalised clubs at the tribunal this year also, gee I wonder why.

No integrity = poor discipline = Freo

if it isn't substance abuse then what is it???

http://www.medterms.com/script/main/art.asp?articlekey=24405

Substance abuse: The excessive use of a substance, especially alcohol or a drug. (There is no universally accepted definition of substance abuse.) A definition of substance abuse that is frequently cited is that in DSM-IV, the fourth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) issued by the American Psychiatric Association. The DSM-IV definition is as follows:
  • A. A maladaptive pattern of substance use leading to clinically significant impairment or distress, as manifested by one (or more) of the following, occurring within a 12-month period:
    1. Recurrent substance use resulting in a failure to fulfill major role obligations at work, school, or home (e.g., repeated absences or poor work performance related to substance use; substance-related absences, suspensions or expulsions from school; neglect of children or household)
    2. Recurrent substance use in situations in which it is physically hazardous (e.g., driving an automobile or operating a machine when impaired by substance use)
    3. Recurrent substance-related legal problems (e.g., arrests for substance-related disorderly conduct
    4. Continued substance use despite having persistent or recurrent social or interpersonal problems caused or exacerbated by the effects of the substance (e.g., arguments with spouse about consequences of intoxication, physical fights)
  • B. The symptoms have never met the criteria for Substance Dependence for this class of substance.

Well like most at the club, its supporters (well the ones writing here), have no idea about having any form of integrity.

Farmer has acted like a two year old nearly all of this year, first the eye gouge, then his very public acts of ill-discipline and now the hiding behind the alcohol addiction. How about owning up to your problems, take a side step and fix the situation by acting like an adult and get the problem solved instead of trying to take on new ones.

As stated earlier I find it funny that the addiction or 'problem with alcohol' has only come out now.

Also what seems funny is that we see a repeat offender of ridiculous behaviour to be shown as an example by putting him back in the seniors because of his great clubmanship and attitude to the game.

I'm not stamping my foot or anything such, I just cannot believe the moral standard being set at the club. It is any wonder why they are in the spot they are in thus far.

Funny they are also one of the most penalised clubs at the tribunal this year also, gee I wonder why.

No one has said addiction. There is a big difference between an alcoholic and a binge drinker. The fact is he cant handle the P1ss. Not the first bloke to make a dh of himself with a few too many. If he does as he says and stays off it then the problems will magically disappear.
Sorry he wasn't hung drawn and quartered to make you happy but thats life. Have a lollipop

It would seem you lot would be in favour of Gary Abblett Snr not being allowed back to Geelong after his list of SERIOUS indiscretions with the law. Jeff Farmer is a law abiding doo-gooder compared to him.

Now lets talk about the real issue here.

Youaintgotnoonethatcanstopourjeffreyandyoullgettowelledthisweekend.

It would seem you lot would be in favour of Gary Abblett Snr not being allowed back to Geelong after his list of SERIOUS indiscretions with the law. Jeff Farmer is a law abiding doo-gooder compared to him.

Now lets talk about the real issue here.

Youaintgotnoonethatcanstopourjeffreyandyoullgettowelledthisweekend.

School holidays in WA or doesn't someones mummy know they're on the internet late at night ?

:confused:

Surprise, surprise;a humourless German.

If by "integrity" you mean going around telling all and sundry (especially Freo) how to run their club, based on the back of your impressive winning streak, then you can shove it. What a pile of sanctimonious crap. The fact that Johnson has been playing well is a credit to Geelong and the player himself. That doesn't mean that you have to present an air of moral superiority. :(

It was only last year that you were a shambles.

Tell you what, being German, if you want to improve the culture write it down, say in 95 points, or theses and nail it to the front of Freo's clubrooms. ;)

Jeezus mate, get some perspective. He damaged a car wing mirror, and was kicked out of a casino. He was drunk, on a legal substance. He didn't kill anyone. Makes a mockery? The rest of us? Like The Eagles, or the Pies?
He'll be shelling out a total of $56,000. That's not chump change, even for a well paid footballer.

Your self righteuos indignation about Farmer is so blatantly Geelong-centric it beggars belief. Would you even give a toss about 'standards' if you were playing someone else apart from the Dockers this week? Are you that scared of Farmer? He's a good player but you guys are playing better footy than I've seen for years.

Runs a lot deeper then simply damaging a car and being tossed out of a Casino though surely, the fact of the matter is that he "broke team rules" and if my memory is correct he was supposed to be on his last chance after his indiscretion earlier in the year.

It does set a pretty poor example really if you have one set of rules for some and different rules for others; I have no doubt that if his name was Joe Bloggs and he was merely a fringe player he'd be out the door so fast his feet wouldn't touch the ground.
I can understand why they did it, after all winning is what it's all about and he's undoubtedly an important member of the side, would simply like to see Freo supporters acknowledge that fact rather then try making excuses for the guy.

And to answer your question "Are you that scared of Farmer?" the answer is yes, scared that is that one of our players may cop an injury from "accidental" fingers to the eyes or a knee to the jaw. ;)

Runs a lot deeper then simply damaging a car and being tossed out of a Casino though surely, the fact of the matter is that he "broke team rules" and if my memory is correct he was supposed to be on his last chance after his indiscretion earlier in the year.

It does set a pretty poor example really if you have one set of rules for some and different rules for others; I have no doubt that if his name was Joe Bloggs and he was merely a fringe player he'd be out the door so fast his feet wouldn't touch the ground.
I can understand why they did it, after all winning is what it's all about and he's undoubtedly an important member of the side, would simply like to see Freo supporters acknowledge that fact rather then try making excuses for the guy.

And to answer your question "Are you that scared of Farmer?" the answer is yes, scared that is that one of our players may cop an injury from "accidental" fingers to the eyes or a knee to the jaw. ;)

Our treatment of Farmer is somewhat unique because as far as I can tell, we haven't had anyone else do the same, so that theory is yet to be tested. I don't know, and neither do you. If Jimmy Bartel or Gary Ablett were to go off the rails, would you treat them the same away you treated Steven Johnson? You've got no idea and neither have I. Farmer broke team rules again and has been whacked with a massive fine of 56k. Even on $300,000, that's 18% of your income. The club has recognised that if suspension doesn't work maybe a massive fine will.

I reckon you actually may be right; maybe the club is playing favourites. But every club will do that; what I cannot abide is the moral indignation and sanctimonious whingeing from posters on this forum who appear to think that Freo is a club of ill repute and low integrity because of this decision, and somehow they are unique in this regard.

Oh yeah, in regards your Farmer cheap shot; our ruck stocks are thanking their lucky stars that Steven King is playing in the twos. ;):rolleyes:

Farmer is one of the main reasons I dislike the Dockers, the other is their general lack of discipline on the field. The guy just keeps on getting chance after chance and its not just the Dockers who give it. I recall last year v Swans Farmer runs past the ball in a pack and elbows Bolton on the jaw. In slow mo it looked like a scene from rocky with the mouth guard coming out etc. At the time I thought 3 weeks minimum, review panell gave a reprimand an 90 points. What happens early this season, guilty of eye guaging and gets 6.

The guy in a primidone, the way he motions to supports after kicking goals its just says "LOOK AT ME, AREN'T I GREAT". The sooner he goes the sooner Freo start improving....so I hope he stays.

what I cannot abide is the moral indignation and sanctimonious whingeing from posters on this forum who appear to think that Freo is a club of ill repute and low integrity because of this decision, and somehow they are unique in this regard.

We don't think your club is of ill repute or low integrity because of Farmer.There's many more reasons to think your club is of ill repute and low integrity.

:p