Dockers Practice Match

FreoDocker

Well what can I say. After a 5 month break, any footy is good footy.

Walker was BOG in the match, running through the lines and gathering kicks at will. I almost lost count of the number of bounces he had along the wing for the duration of the 4 quarters. While he has lacked a bit of hardness in the past, he did enough today to indicate that he could be used in midfield bursts during the season. He really used his pace today and his disposal was also good.

Clive played at CHF/FF for the purple team and kicked a lazy 3.1 for the day. Clive looked really hungry and attacked the ball and the man alike. The great thing about today was that when he did push up the ground to the half forward line, he was taking every mark that he was presented with. Though he was matched up against Gilmore for the majority of the match Clive looked awesome (touch wood).

Simmonds played a great match as well changing from CHF to the Ruck. He took some good marks around the ground and though he didn’t kick many goals, his leading and marking was solid and he could easily roost a few from outside 50 given the chance. Could be very handy in the wizard cup for those 9-point supergoals.

Pav – Pushed forward to kick a few goals for the red team and was sensational around the ground. He was probably 2nd best for the day behind walker.

Sandilands – Was great in the middle with his tap work and attack on the ball. He did look quite agile for a bigman when the ball hit the ground. My only major concern today was that he did drop a few too many overhead marks, which he should be taking given his size.

Polak – Played an excellent game for the red team at CHF kicking a few goals and looking very lively up forward. Took a few great marks in the forward line and looked to prove that he will be a success in the forward line this year. I would expect three talls in the forward line this year would include Polak, Simmonds and Longmuir.

J.Longmuir and Medhurst – They had plenty of the ball for the red team and tended to share the ball around a bit too much. What pleased me the most was that they had obviously been instructed to put real pressure on the opposition when coming out of defence. At one stage longmuir chased down woods while coming out of defence, which is no mean feat.

Of the new blokes, I was really impressed by Peake and Dunn. Peake kicked a goal and continued to create space and carry the ball very well. My only concern is that he looks tiny compared to the other midfielders, his body needs to fill out a bit more. Dunn got the ball out of the packs a bit in the first half, but the second half was clearly his best. He has a good body size and looks ready for AFL football.

The highlight of the day was clive running down Gilmore, he must have bolted from 30 metres away and chased him down before drilling him into the ground. Clive looked hungry.

Yeah, Clive running down Gilmore on the wing was awesome.

Didn't think J. Lo played well.

Posted my thoughts on the other thread. I'll copy it here so it's in the one place.

Browne did some nice things, thought he was a bit quiet early on but improved. Dunn was quiet in the first half but looked pretty good in the 2nd half... dived in a couple of packs, got a couple of clearances and some good 1%ers. He is a tank already.

Clive played well, lead well, marked cleanly and generally clicked pretty well. Didn't expect much from him but he did well. Having said that, he only had Gilmore playing against him for the most part.

Polak took some good marks and kicked a couple of goals. He looked pretty good at ground level also and he looks like he has a set routine for goalkicking and it looked better. McPharlin was on him for quite a while and they had some good tussles. McPharlin also looked very good, took quite a few marks and looked comfortable at half back. I think Warren was playing on Polak for a bit in the first half and Warren looked good as well, he did a bit of rucking and has a nice look about him.

Pav didn't do a whole lot but looked awesome everytime he got the ball, and took a hanger in the last quarter. Pav looks a bit leaner. T.Lo played really well as well, had a bit of a run up the ground a bit and got a lot of quality possesions. Medhurst was really good in the forward line but missed a few of his shots at goal.

I thought Duffield, Peake and Edgecumbe looked alright. Peake was a lot bigger and quicker than I expected, he played well throughout the game. Duffield kept popping up all over the place, was quite impressed with him. I thought Edgecumbe's disposal and poise were good, had one really good play on the far boundary where he baulked and weaved his way through for a shot on goal.

Farmer didn't play but was on the team sheet, don't know why? Anyone know?

Was expecting a bit from J.Lo but he didn't do much and it was capped off by a sitter he dropped at the end of the 3rd. Looked a bit sore and didn't play in the last quarter.

Didn't notice Mundy much out there. Colreavy looked alright as well.

Simmonds was awesome, especially in the first half. He looks huge now. Took some good marks and lead well, and did one really nice pickup low down. Was impressed with him. Carr was everywhere in the first quarter, he looked pretty good as well.

Bell, Hase, McManus and Woods were alright but didn't do anything special. It looked like Hase hurt himself in the last quarter when he dug his knee into the turf but he was ok.

My friend's girlfriend was talking to Cook and he says he is nearly back, could play next week but is doubtful.

Walker got a fair bit of the ball on the wing and looked alright also.

Crowley didn't do much and dropped an absolute sitter.

Didn't notice much of Dylan Smith.

Siegert kicked 2 goals and looked good for the most part, but made a couple of glaring mistakes.

Schammer (who was playing on Dunn for the most part) was relatively quiet as well but when he got the ball, he looked pretty good and looks to have bulked up a bit.

Headland looked good as well but spent some time on the bench.

Michael Johnson played in defence and looked pretty good. I think he was playing on J. Lo for memory.

Doswell and Crowley again didn't really impress me at all. Edgecumbe was good and the rookie listed blokes seemed to play better than those guys. I'm starting to wonder if they will struggle to push their way up into the ranks. I think they will be overtaken by Dunn, Peake and Duffield (who I was very impressed with). It looks like we might have a bit of depth this year.

I was probably being a bit harsh on J. Lo.

I think I forgot to mention that Hayden looked really good as well. He looks a bit bigger.

Anyone know why Haddrill and Thornton weren't playing?

Carr looked bigger to me but reading another report, they say it looks like he is trimmed down.

Originally posted by FreoDocker
Doswell and Crowley again didn't really impress me at all. year.

From what I saw of them last year (admittedly on TV) they appeared to be behind our rookies last year (Gilmore , Dodd and of course Webster). Even Peake looked better than them in the WAFL games I saw. I have a good feeling about Peake, I reckon he was a real smokey.

Peake really impressed me playing today, I think he will push for a spot next friday in the wizard cup team. A thread on dockerland said that Peake got a thrashing from Walker, but I'm pretty sure Walker was playing on Headland (at least in the second half) and Peake was playing on Macca.

Yeah Crowley and Dodd weren't impressive. I remember Doswell doing once nice play and one big blunder. But I agree that Peake, Dunn and Duffield will surpass them.

The whole team generally looks a bit bigger. J. Lo looked a bit bigger. Polak was slightly bulkier but I don't think you would want him too bulky because his agility is his greatest strength.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
I was probably being a bit harsh on J. Lo.

I think I forgot to mention that Hayden looked really good as well. He looks a bit bigger.

Anyone know why Haddrill and Thornton weren't playing?

Carr looked bigger to me but reading another report, they say it looks like he is trimmed down.

Probably couldn't afford the bandages for Sir Robert. ;)

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Probably couldn't afford the bandages for Sir Robert. ;)

Tell me about it! They amount of strapping tape Robbie uses before a game is insane, its like it holds him together. :D

Just for the WC fans who are reading ....

How many Brownlows will Walker win? He is fast ....he ran past Peake like he was a first year player ....has he grown, maybe he can play CHF?

I love Walker.

Moo

I thought Clive played well.

Me and my mates were yelling out CLIVE GO CLIVE etc.

Then after the game some ****er started mouthing off to us

"Clives not back he's useless, He'll get injured mid season and that will be it"

To which My mate responded with "You'll be injured in a minute"

they shut up after that LOL.

Could walker finally become the player we expected when we spent pick number 5 on him?
I mean he has been serviceable but not what you would normally expect from a top 5 pick.
You guys made some excellent reports and the best news seems to be Waterhouse.
Im a bit worried about Headland though, And I realise its early.

Headland was pretty good. What's there to be worried about? His use of the ball is excellent.

Walker was good but given a lot of room to roam around. Let's see how he goes next week against Essendon. He needs to a) toughen up and b) improve his disposal.

Clive was good but he can't to expect to be playing on defenders of Gilmore's ilk too often. But the signs were definitely good and the main positive is he will gain confidence.

Here is the report from the west for our non WA supporters.

http://thegame.thewest.com.au/20040213/afl/news/tg-afl-new-sto119842.html

New up-front Dockers star

By Craig O'Donoghue

FREMANTLE'S new look forward line began the pre-season strongly at Subiaco Oval last night.

Graham Polak and Troy Simmonds relished the chance to go forward in an intraclub practice match while Clive Waterhouse kicked three goals and was one of the best on ground.

Polak stood out. The 19-year-old played on Luke McPharlin and Michael Johnson, kicked three goals and gave another away.

Two strong overhead marks early in the second quarter signalled that he will provide the Dockers with the ideal key forward this year.

Waterhouse's quest to break back into Fremantle's best line-up followed an amazing run of events.

He began controversially after a clash with Ryley Dunn left the first round draft pick in the hands of trainers.

Waterhouse later marked 15m out on an angle and kicked out of bounds on the full. But he fought back to kick three goals from 14 disposals and seven marks.

Simmonds was prominent early, too fast and mobile for Ryan Murphy. His marking and long, left-foot kicking were highlights and he later moved into the ruck.

Coach Chris Connolly was delighted with the performance.

"He (Waterhouse) had the opportunity to get on the end of a lot of balls tonight. He chased hard defensively and it was a big step for Clive Waterhouse tonight," he said.

"All our forwards have done well in terms of their conditioning. They've had outstanding pre-seasons. We just need to continue a structure so they create space for each other."

James Walker was outstanding on the wing opposed to Brett Peake. Walker constantly stormed down the wing bouncing the ball and driving it into attack.

Walker will be played off half-back during the year where his pace will be an invaluable asset.

The midfield performed well with Matthew Pavlich, Des Headland and Paul Hasleby prominent.

Byron Schammer played only two quarters before sitting out the second half with a tight calf muscle.

Forward Jeff Farmer did not play. He is with his family following the recent death of his uncle.

The club's draftees all showed signs they will be good players. Adam Campbell kicked a nice goal and showed poise while Dunn, Murphy, Peake and David Mundy had their moments.

The Dockers play Essendon in their first Wizard Cup match in Darwin next week.

Excellent. None of this playing a rookie on him to make him look good. :D

What, like Peake on Walker? ;) Its a practice match, I wouldn't read too much into anything. The most important thing is we have no injuries.

Kenny my comments about Headland were due to his "spending allot of time on the bench". I would have thought that like waterhouse he would be given as much game time as possible as he too has something to prove.

Polak kicking 3 goals and having a hand in one from Centerhalf forward while playing on one of the competitions best backmen is an excellent effort.

Parker and Hadrill?? Did they play and if so how did they go?

And Sera. who are you fav dockers if any apart from Ryley?

Pav of course, Polak, McPharlin, Haselby... the newer 'generation'. Don't ask me about Clive, McManus etc ;) Although I did talk to Shaun briefly at the Cott once and he seemed like a nice enough person, although nice people don't always make the best footballers.

Originally posted by Sera
Although I did talk to Shaun briefly at the Cott once and he seemed like a nice enough person, although nice people don't always make the best footballers.

You're still on "P" plates on this board, don't even think of going down the passage of doubting Macca's footballing abilities.

Scary seeing Cool Hand Luke doing pre season training, and to think that with this pre season training behind him he should only be better. Very scary thought for Pav (not AA CHB / FB in 2004).

Originally posted by masai
You're still on "P" plates on this board, don't even think of going down the passage of doubting Macca's footballing abilities.

Hey, I was asked! But just so I know for the future, perhaps you can tell me of all his acomplishments, like all the Doig Medals he has won and stuff...