Does anyone really care about the tanking thing anymore?

• Thread starter Thread starter Blue Bawls

Blue Bawls

It's so old, so unproven, so defensible... does anyone give a flying **** what people think anymore? Every time I see the Carltank threads, it's like *yawn* WCFTR.

Tanking. I mean, with a list as bad as ours was back then, how could any ever possibly distinguish a genuine loss from a tank? We sucked. Now we don't.

Did Hawthorn tank? Essendon? The Pies? They all had bad years and dipped down, then rebounded with new draft picks. We are doing the same.

1. If we were tanking then good move, great to see we are smart enough to do so.
2. Mostly we weren't tanking, let's face it we were bloody terrible and deserved to finish where we did. Might of tanked 1-3 games per year at the most.
3. Remember coaches and players were playing for their career, they were trying!
4. It's common sense to send players for operations early so they don't miss pre season stuff if you are out of it.
5. Rules are rules, we didn't break them.
6. People mentioning tanking are green with envy and jealous of our success. I have explained why people hate Carlton (Aussie's tall poppy knocking and human jealousy), they show little football intelligence and intellect. They are generally one eyed knobs but are entitled to their opinion.
7. The AFL punished Carlton sevearly for salery cap breaches which turned out in Carlton's favor. It made us worse, kept us down for longer to get better picks and we avoided picking up Wells who I don't rate all that highly.

Honestly I don't care and can't waite for all the jealous comments like this that will come out when we win a flag soon. Oh and we won't ever forget we breached the salery cap once, at least we didn't win a flag doing so.

FOR SALE.

1 Tank.
Side emblem on doors can be easily removed or painted over with new club colors.
Used with great effect to secure the best young resources.
Camouflaged for discretion.
Get in before Melbourne / Richmond buyers.

Sounds like I am in the minority but I don not believe that winning is fulfilling if it is accessed in any way possible. I am not being definitive as to if Carlton tanked or not. However I would not be happy seeing Carlton win a premiership by manipulating the system or the rules. Also do not believe our list was ever as bad as Pagan and many supporters made out. We just played with poor spirit and were a side that had little willpower. Hopefully the side under Ratten is overcoming these traits and will win premierships with passion and integrity. Already the passion and humility of young guys like Mitch Robinson and Joseph and Gartlett is suggesting that this will happen.

Yes we were bad, but we also weren't that bad, we lacked heart and passion, and Pagan just was the wrong fit for our club.

There's only one game I can question whether or not we did perhaps conjure a loss, and that was final round 07 against Melbourne when we secured our PP that we traded for Judd.

I think for a lot of the other presumed "tanked" games, the players had just given up at that time of year for there was no hope.

Some people may have forgotten just how hated and envied Carlton used to be before 2002.. That was precisely why opposition fans absolutely revelled in our crapness and took every opportunity possible to sink the boot in during the 'Dark Years' (and lets face it, we were as bad as a side could get under Den Den)...

Then suddenly, Ratts and Juddy came along. Our young guns started maturing and we've started improVing as a side... started climbing our way back up the ladder... started walking with a bit more of that old Carlton swagger... :thumbsu:

The same fans who once delighted in our misery have started panicing.. They've started clinging to any pathetic excuse possible to downplay our improvement. They've made up crap about the severity of Judd's injury when we first got him just to make themselves feel better about missing out on getting him... And we've all heard the old favourites of theirs like 'Oh, they're just cheats!', 'They're dirty fithy Tankers', 'They're buying themselves success again'. 'They may be on top, but who have they beaten so far'. There's even a thread on Bay 13 to the affect of 'If Carlton wins the flag in the next 5 years, they wont deserve it'... People are already preparing themselves for the inevitable... :D

It all just comes down to one thing and one thing only...

THEY KNOW WE'RE COMING!!!!!

2 points....

Point 1
--------
Hawthorn are actually the ones who turned Tanking into an Artform. They tanked systematically for 2-3 years, and rorted the draft system so badly the AFL were forced to change the draft rules. The Pies did something similar for 1/2 a season as well. The Hawks did well out of their cheating, but the Pies still have a rubbish list.

Point 2.
--------
Non-Carlton teams and their supporters are by definition not important, and therefore what they bleat is irrelevant, and just something to laugh at.

:)

Not really. Although I do like picking up mistruths. One recently said that nobody could offer a possible reason for Fev coming off against Essendon in 2007, another said Fev was on a roll.

Well 7 possessions and zero goals in a game he was supposed to miss because of a tear in his quad IIRC, and the fact he went for surgery after that game, might be a hint. The problem with this place is that truth is replaced by lies and sooner or later the lies become fact. I'm a believer in truth so I am compelled to uphold it.

Tanking = The care factor is nilski.

If someone has a crack at me about it I say, yes. Just to piss them off. I then suggest they should try it :)

Fair dinkum. It is because they are worried about the sleeping giant awakening. They know we're coming :)

Tanking = The care factor is nilski.

If someone has a crack at me about it I say, yes. Just to piss them off. I then suggest they should try it :)

Fair dinkum. It is because they are worried about the sleeping giant awakening. They know we're coming :)

Love it, InstantCoffeeBrandBoy! :D:thumbsu:

I simpy don't think that we did tank. We were just horrible, and didn't know how to win a game.

Even if we or others teams did, it's not our fault. It's the AFL's fault for creating a system whereby people who might throw matches benefit. If they don't look at it seriously, then they deserve everything they get. If we tanked, we exploited the system best we could. As would any other club.

To be honest, by giving us the cap penalties in 2002 the AFL created a monster. They didn't realise that by keeping us down in the dirt for so long that we'd hoard so many good picks. The competition deserves everything they get for it.

Let them say what they lke.... One thing's for sure boys.... The hatred is back!!! And I'm loving it!!!!

They've always hated us, it's the grudging respect that needs to... and is retuning.

After all, it would look pretty silly to write the obligatory "how can you support such a crap team" posts under current circumstances.

Sounds like I am in the minority but I don not believe that winning is fulfilling if it is accessed in any way possible. I am not being definitive as to if Carlton tanked or not. However I would not be happy seeing Carlton win a premiership by manipulating the system or the rules. Also do not believe our list was ever as bad as Pagan and many supporters made out. We just played with poor spirit and were a side that had little willpower. Hopefully the side under Ratten is overcoming these traits and will win premierships with passion and integrity. Already the passion and humility of young guys like Mitch Robinson and Joseph and Gartlett is suggesting that this will happen.

With all due respect mate,did you watch much footy the last 9 years???
We went from finals in 2001 to wooden spoon in 2002.Go back and have a look at our injury list in season 2002,our top 8-10 players were out injured throughout that season(including our current coach).
Have a look at the bums we drafted 2003-2005 and add to that a dinosaur of a coach ,who didn't seem to get his antiquated game plan through to the team.I'm not bagging the club when I say we had a very ordinary list;ask yourself did that core group improve over time?

The only reason we are accused of tanking is because of the salary cap infringements.Why aren't some aforementioned teams in this thread accused when they finish low in the bottom 8 one season and are playing finals the next with the same playing list????

If we weren't on top ATM there wouldn't be any Carlton threads on Bay 13 trying to smear our performances(in vain I might add)

To all the accusers I say this:

We did the crime,we did the time (and fines) and that is now 7 years ago.We have come through our darkest period intact and now we are showing improvement.
So call me arrogant if you please but my parting words to the other 15 clubs....WHOSE heckin'G NEXT

We went from finals in 2001 to wooden spoon in 2002.Go back and have a look at our injury list in season 2002,our top 8-10 players were out injured throughout that season(including our current coach).
Have a look at the bums we drafted 2003-2005 and add to that a dinosaur of a coach ,who didn't seem to get his antiquated game plan through to the team.I'm not bagging the club when I say we had a very ordinary list;ask yourself did that core group improve over time?

The only reason we are accused of tanking is because of the salary cap infringements.Why aren't some aforementioned teams in this thread accused when they finish low in the bottom 8 one season and are playing finals the next with the same playing list????

If we weren't on top ATM there wouldn't be any Carlton threads on Bay 13 trying to smear our performances(in vain I might add)

We did the crime,we did the time (and fines) and that is now 7 years ago.We have come through our darkest period intact and now we are showing improvement.
So call me arrogant if you please but my parting words to the other 15 clubs....WHOSE heckin'G NEXT

Straight to the pool room... laminated. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

And a certain assistant coach long gone...

If we tanked, we did it at the wrong time. With the loss of 1st 2 rounds for 2 years, really put us behind the eight ball.

From a post I put on Bay 13:

Ladder for 1st 2 Rounds since 2000:

Essendon 25
Hawthorn 25

North Melbourne 24

Brisbane Lions 23

Melbourne 21
West Coast Eagles 21
Western Bulldogs 21

Port Adelaide 20
Collingwood 20

Richmond 19
Geelong 19

Adelaide 18

St Kilda 16

Fremantle 14
Carlton 14

Sydney Swans 13

Ladder for 1st Round Draft Picks since 2000:

Melbourne 14

Essendon 13
Western Bulldogs 13
Hawthorn 13

North Melbourne 12

Carlton 11
Richmond 11

Port Adelaide 10
Brisbane Lions 10
Collingwood 10
St Kilda 10

West Coast Eagles 9
Adelaide 9

Geelong 8

Fremantle 7

Sydney Swans 5

Top 10 draft Picks since 2000:

Carlton 8
St Kilda 8
Western Bulldogs 8
Hawthorn 8

North Melbourne 7

Essendon 6
Richmond 6
Collingwood 6

Melbourne 5
Fremantle 5
Brisbane Lions 5

West Coast Eagles 4
Geelong 4

Port Adelaide 3
Adelaide 3

Sydney Swans 1

Some people may have forgotten just how hated and envied Carlton used to be before 2002.. That was precisely why opposition fans absolutely revelled in our crapness and took every opportunity possible to sink the boot in during the 'Dark Years' (and lets face it, we were as bad as a side could get under Den Den)...

Then suddenly, Ratts and Juddy came along. Our young guns started maturing and we've started improVing as a side... started climbing our way back up the ladder... started walking with a bit more of that old Carlton swagger... :thumbsu:

The same fans who once delighted in our misery have started panicing.. They've started clinging to any pathetic excuse possible to downplay our improvement. They've made up crap about the severity of Judd's injury when we first got him just to make themselves feel better about missing out on getting him... And we've all heard the old favourites of theirs like 'Oh, they're just cheats!', 'They're dirty fithy Tankers', 'They're buying themselves success again'. 'They may be on top, but who have they beaten so far'. There's even a thread on Bay 13 to the affect of 'If Carlton wins the flag in the next 5 years, they wont deserve it'... People are already preparing themselves for the inevitable... :D

It all just comes down to one thing and one thing only...

THEY KNOW WE'RE COMING!!!!!

Great post! but please.....never forget to mention Richard Pratt when it comes to Carlton - he saved us in our entirety (supporters too of course). Without him we wouldn't have Judd, redevelopment of PP etc etc.

Just had to get that in....