Does Cotch handover the No.9?

TOO
Ok tigerheads, we know how good this kid is, and we know he is going to forge his own identity. But now that cuzzy bro is in town, do we keep it as is and give Ben another number or does ben he get the No 9?
Dont underestimate the effect on the opposition, when Ben is back, yeah in different colours, but with the number that they were always watching run away from them. ;)

absolutely not. Cotchin is no.9

Edit: Even if i didn't have him as my avatar i would still feel the same way.
:)

we give him the chance to play footy again, he will take whats given to him.

yeah, but think of it this way. We give him the chance to play footy again, and he will take whats given. We give him the no.9, he then knows that we are 400% behind him and we give ourselves the chance for him to play champagne footy for us.
You got to think outside the square on this one. High profile recruit playing at another club with a different number, kind of devalues him abit. Cotch is young and IMO would not in any way be concerned that Ben was given the no 9, in fact, would be honoured to hand it over to him. Would even go as far as to say, the Cotch is pulling himself at the thought of rubbing shoulders with the legend that is Ben, who for sure and certain was a player who the Cotch watched as he was growing up and wanted to be just like. On the field that is. ;)

he should be lucky we are considering him if he wants no. 9 it shows what kind of person he is. if we get him he should be grateful and take what ever number is avalible.

yeah, but think of it this way. We give him the chance to play footy again, and he will take whats given. We give him the no.9, he then knows that we are 400% behind him and we give ourselves the chance for him to play champagne footy for us. ;)

Or thik of it this way.

We are taking the guy on and this means helping him to rehabilitate. Part of that means we have to reign the ego and arrogance in (enough to bring him to earth but not blunt the edge). Give him 9 and the god complex gets reinforced. He is a PSD last pick - his number needs to reflect that to continually remind him where he is at.

NO! Cotchin is 9. Although they'll end up giving him 17 to maintain the 'tradition', which is shorter-lived than the recently-ended Melbourne 'tradition' of the captain wearing 9, or the also recently-ended 'traditions' of the Collingwood and Essendon captains wearing number 5, and certainly a long way short of the real Port Adelaide tradition of the skipper wearing number 1.
But that's off-topic. Give Cuz 27 or 36. Numerologically speaking, it's still 9.
And Cogga, not even Carlton made Murphy give up 3 for Judd. Judd goes ok in number 5.

Or thik of it this way.

We are taking the guy on and this means helping him to rehabilitate. Part of that means we have to reign the ego and arrogance in (enough to bring him to earth but not blunt the edge). Give him 9 and the god complex gets reinforced. He is a PSD last pick - his number needs to reflect that to continually remind him where he is at.

me thinks the ego and arrogance would be reigned in by now dude. We give him the no9, after giving him the life line, he busts his butt, because we reinforced our commitment.

dotn get me wrong, this is just a debate, whatever number he wears, he wears, but reckon giving him the 9 is good for the club and for him and believe it or not, Cotch. You wont understand why it would be good for Cotch though. ;)

NO! Cotchin is 9. Although they'll end up giving him 17 to maintain the 'tradition', which is shorter-lived than the recently-ended Melbourne 'tradition' of the captain wearing 9, or the also recently-ended 'traditions' of the Collingwood and Essendon captains wearing number 5, and certainly a long way short of the real Port Adelaide tradition of the skipper wearing number 1.
But that's off-topic. Give Cuz 27 or 36. Numerologically speaking, it's still 9.
And Cogga, not even Carlton made Murphy give up 3 for Judd. Judd goes ok in number 5.

**** carlton, we do things better. ;)

No. Leave Cotch and his 9 alone

Cuz might get 1 or 27 me thinks. 31, 32 and 33 are not taken. If we take Gourdis he'll probably get the no. 33 back

You wont understand why it would be good for Cotch though. ;)

In the words of a nasal ex politician - "Please explain?"

I get your point on the other stuff - I just don't get the impression that the ego/arrogance modulation has firmed into a long term pattern yet!!!!

Don't want Cousins, (if we get him he will play for the yellow and black, so will support him) but he can go to the back of the line IMO. Cotchin is a future star, Cousins is a flog who threw it away.

In the words of a nasal ex politician - "Please explain?"

I get your point on the other stuff - I just don't get the impression that the ego/arrogance modulation has frimed into a long term pattern yet!!!!

Cotch is a pro of Cousins proportions, I am more than certain he would use it to push himself to greater heights. ;)

Thought you meant something deeper than that!! I can see it, but still believe probably the wrong move - unless Catch makes the offer off his own bat?

just putting it out there dude. Slow day at work, thought a thread like this would have the effect it had...;)