Does Danny deserve a go-Poll

I want him to play 2 games in a row. If he doesn't adapt to the pace of the game after 2 games in a row then I'd put him up for trade or at least get him off the senior list and have him lead our VFL team, which he seems to be good at.

If its good enough for McCaffer and Corrie to get 2-3 games in a row, surely its good enough for Stanley.

Yes, he didnt do much against Stkilda, but not many did.

He deserves at least one more game against an average AFL team, where he will also have plenty more support around him then he has on Monday night.

He wont be dropped this week, with the outs due to injuries, and only 2-3 incoming players, he will play you would think.

I want him to play 2 games in a row. If he doesn't adapt to the pace of the game after 2 games in a row then I'd put him up for trade or at least get him off the senior list and have him lead our VFL team, which he seems to be good at.

At least two weeks, personally I think a month is more appropriate. If he doesn't turn in a decent performance by then, back to the VFL. I think he will be stiff to get delisted this year tho, showed too much promise in the VFL, just needs to take that extra step to the big league.

no players whoever they are, should never be gifted games

if form in whatever level doesnt warrant their on going selection then they shouldnt be selected

danny stanley is useless at afl level.
his awareness is pathetic, he is only going to be a vfl player picking up 30 touches a game, he cant seem to make the transition into the afl.
some people cant actually do it and he is one of them

If its good enough for McCaffer and Corrie to get 2-3 games in a row, surely its good enough for Stanley.

Yes, he didnt do much against Stkilda, but not many did.

He deserves at least one more game against an average AFL team, where he will also have plenty more support around him then he has on Monday night.

He wont be dropped this week, with the outs due to injuries, and only 2-3 incoming players, he will play you would think.

McCaffer earned those games he has been consistent from last year till now in the VFL and was ahead in frount everyone for that HF possition.

Of course he deserves another game or two. I'm not sure who he matches up to or what role against Blues - at least more in under to relieve Pendles from doing that to back up O'Bree (before Beams and McCarthy come back online). His strengths are probably not on best show at wide open and fast Subi vs Coasters following week, nor necessarily versus the fast Port the week after. So another game now vs Carlton would help assess his reflexes at AFL and give some grunt to the team. When Heath Shaw started in our VFL he couldn't hit a barn door with a kick. Things can sometimes change, so like with Heath, it would be good to just check with Stanley - in the guts - before passing.

Clearly the trade option is not going to happen.

If and that if is HUGE, he can play some quality ones footy he will keep his spot on the list.

If he is unable to do so he is gonesky and his value is diddly.

if form in whatever level doesnt warrant their on going selection then they shouldnt be selected

That's about as vague a response as I've seen in a while Opti.

No commitment to the subject, and a double negative to boot.

Throw your body at the contest. Pull the splinter out of your arse and tell us what you really think.

On topic, Stanners defiantly deserves a decent run in the ones. Unfortunately, consistent VFL form and undoubted ability have never featured prominently in Mick's selection criteria.

That's about as vague a response as I've seen in a while Opti.

No commitment to the subject, and a double negative to boot.

Throw your body at the contest. Pull the splinter out of your arse and tell us what you really think.

On topic, Stanners defiantly deserves a decent run in the ones. Unfortunately, consistent VFL form and undoubted ability have never featured prominently in Mick's selection criteria.
his rubbish was better then some rubbish shown on monday night

Swans injury may save him, but he had no excuse for Monday: he was used in the middle, he was given time on ground, he got the ball, he played HFF where he had played in the VFL as well

No excuse for shitty decision making and dumb errors when he should know by now that he isnt a finesse player.

To be fair, his decision-making was the problem here, and with a forward line as thread-bare as a Kangaroo's home game attendance and no-one providing strong leads - combined with the fact he's having to remember game plans - isn't helping anyone. At least he didn't die wondering - he gave it a crack.

Now you can argue that an AFL-level footballer should be able to make those split-second decisions, but I reckon you're more likely to make a better decision when you can trust your teammates and if you've only been elevated for 1 week it's going to be difficult to second-guess what they're going to do.

Medders will wheel around and spot up a central option. Dale Thomas will mark and run like buggery. Leon will swerve and hold until a good option presents. Big Trav will run a marathon until he gets space. But if all those options are non-existent... what do you do? Kick long and risk a turnover? Back yourself to outmuscle or outmanouevre your man? Without the trust, you're back to tossing a coin.

The Saints have it worked out - they travel in packs of 3 and will keep running forward in a staggered formation so they can handball laterally and slightly behind the run of play to get time and space. We haven't got that yet - once we do, Stanners will look a hell of a lot better.

I've never been a "Danny Stanley can play AFL" fan, but I think it is going to be a bit too harsh to drop him for what most likely would be the last time based on a performance such as Monday's.

The team effort was poor, and as such, almost all of the younger/less experienced players struggled (barring Wellingham and Steele).

I think Stanley should get one more game to prove what he can do, Carlton have proved they are not a top side, so if he fails to deliver this week, then the decision has to be made.

But to judge him on one game against a far superior opposition with a lack of midfield support around him is too harsh for a player who is still quite young and inexperienced.

1 more week, then I'll make up my mind on whether I was right on that Queen's Birthday when he made his debut (I think it was his debut), and was caught holding the ball 3 times, and I stated "Danny Stanley will never be an AFL player".

1 more week.:thumbsu:

I voted yes, because even though he had a bad game against the Saints, one game ain't enough to prove anything in the seniors, especially with the performance of his teammates on Monday night.

I wouldn't even count that game, if MM trully wants to see his worth, I'd be seeing Stanley in the seniors for the next three games, unless of course he is completely shocking in the next couple.

I am glad the majority of you are showing common sense.

Opti, are you trying to say that his form doesnt warrant selection?!
His VFL form is impeccable and what im trying to argue is he needs a fair go before we can judge him at AFL level.

Regardless of what we all think the selection committee may actually be forced to play him due to our ever increasing injury list. Lesser players have been given more of a go!

When I was at school, I expected a fair go from my teachers. I now expect a fair go from my elployers - in fact it;s legislated at work, and those who don't give their employees a fair go are rightly considered dogs. A few people however believe that we (the club) can treat our employees (the players) however we like - abuse them, treat them like meat, trade them like animals and use them like servants in whatever dictatorial manner we like. We're supposed to be a club that embraces good and fair concepts. I wonder how many of the "He's sh*t, delist" brigade would feel if they were treated the same way by their employers without fair trial?

But at work and at school, you are expected to perform to a minimum standard, right off the bat. If you show up to the first day of your job, piss in the fridge, shit on the photocopier and then wash you laptop in the sink, I don't think you can expect to be asked back on day 2. I'll leave it to you to make the connection with Danny Stanley's performance.

I'm now convinced that 81.97% of people on these boards are delusional. How many go's can the bloke get. We are not a charity foundation we are a footy club. Are you all related to the guy? NO HE SHOULD NOT PLAY AGAIN AT AFL LEVEL at least not with Collingwood. Some guys are not made for AFL footy Stanley is one of them. Then again it's hard to argue anyone should not be in the seniors when Leigh Brown is still being named in the forward line each week.

You all stand up for Stanley but what about Cox. He was one of our best defenders on form this year, got dropped for no reason. Absolutely smashed it in the twos. Still didn't get back in the seniors, and then broke his leg trying his heart out. Thanks Mick.

Besides with our win loss record this year we do not have the opportunity to waste a selection in the seniors on Stanley of all people. Were you at the game? the guy looked lost. Same with his other multiple attempts at senior footy. Move on..

Of course Danny deserves a go, but I expect we might get a different result if we were to ask, for example, should Danny be given 3-4 games in a row regardless of form to get 'up to pace', or is Danny part of our midfeild brigade, or should Danny be given a midfield post and replacing who?

Good luck to the boy, but a poll premised around a motherhood statement like this one obscures the context and hard questions that have to be faced when we ask if Danny deserves a go. Danny can't come in as a 23rd player, he must replace or keep another player out. We shouldn't be asking about equity in the abstract but about performance and what Danny's inclusion means.

I am glad the majority of you are showing common sense.

Opti, are you trying to say that his form doesnt warrant selection?!
His VFL form is impeccable and what im trying to argue is he needs a fair go before we can judge him at AFL level.

Regardless of what we all think the selection committee may actually be forced to play him due to our ever increasing injury list. Lesser players have been given more of a go!
if he cant transfer it to seniors whats the point?

everything we all said we wanted danny to play happened. Midifeld, HFF, tog, etc and yet he still struggled and ****ed up due to over rating himself. Davies and Iles got heaps of it in the 2s as well, danny will be worth more then them but he isnt best 22

highly agreed there mate!everytime he has had a chance he has stuffed it up too slow and i think he needs a guide dog to get around the ground as his awareness is quite pathetic!

All you guys are hounds. Give teh guy a chance FFS. He hasn't had a fair go. If we dropped every player based on what people here think we would be left with no one. Get over it. Let him play his game. Some people don't just come into the AFL and shine. Take other factors into consideration such as crowds of 40,000 watching you in a stadium let alone how many on TV and have some consideration. The guy could be nervous and when he gets bashed every week it wont do much for his confidence. Hell i get nervous and fcuk up in oral presentations at school in a class of 20! He has proven he is a good football player in the VFL so let him bring his game to the AFL. He wil need the support of the club for at least 3 consecutive games before you can make a decision.

I think Danny's getting another go through injuries, so let's hope he can make a fist of it.

But please, don't give me any more of this Stanley exceptionalism, as though other young players don't face the same issues he does. Beams, Barham and Sidebottom have hit the ground running under those same pressures. Danny might be a late bloomer like Frank Sinatra and me, but to date we haven't seen much of his prodigious talents at AFL level.

Does Danny deserve a go-Poll