Autopsy Dogs win another close one.

lots of games recent years we've scored many Behinds ruing the performance so they can cry about that....Croft still looks a bit raw at times but stood up in the heat, O'Donnell with some vital spoils/moments might not show up in the stats
He’s obviously a good mark but I think with some experience he’ll hold more of the almost-marks.

Still raw but I love the fact he can play almost anywhere - deep forward, half forward, relief ruck, wing and back. Would be best if he had one position but it’s a rare quality.

Still have a few brutal games left for the year in Sydney at Sydney & Freo at Optus but both our losses came at the height of our injuries but I think that this was a season defining win. We'd usually give up or leave the comeback too late in the past but this time we just went flatout in the second half.
I still thnk Fremantlle are gettable... edpecially if we don't give them their standard 6 in a row

I know it’s in Mitchell’s DNA to have a mouthy player as captain . But Sicily absolutely cost them the game. Once Lewis got into his head it was almost game over . He was a liability for them down back after he lost the absolute plot and started acting like a toddler.

Sicily lost them that game. His head went and our forward line took advantage. How that behaviour by a captain can be tolerated by his teammates is crazy. But then again the hawks do love recruiting flogs. Only really Gunston and Amon aren’t for me.

I’ll be kind and avoid going back three weeks to where multiple posters said they didn’t know where our next win was coming from.
Play the kids, season over,was probably the most optimistic.
We should all boycott the rest of the season was probably the most daft.

I’m with Bev on this. I’ve always thought the criticism of McNeil was over the top. I get that he lacks a lot of polish around goals, but he doesn’t deserve to be pilloried for maxing out as a ‘nearly’ player that has given us something useful in a role we have really struggled to fill. For one of the last blokes picked he’s solid.
Way over the top. If he could just kick a bit further and nail a few more shots he’d be a very handy player.

Unfortunately if you’re a low possession player and fluff one or two gettable opportunities it makes fans implode but there’s a reason he keeps getting played. He works hard and fills multiple roles.

Play the kids, season over,was probably the most optimistic.
We should all boycott the rest of the season was probably the most daft.
“Never seen the club so low” was actually posted in one thread relating to the Carlton game less than a month ago.

I seem to recall someone saying Hynes hadn't put the work in to develop his endurance 🤔
He came back at the start of pre-season and smashed all of his PBs. Track watchers noted how well he was running.

His defensive efforts have been really good all year, now he's getting some composure and adding offence.

I'll admit I turned it off at half time. Looked like every game we play against the Hawks. They were harder, cleaner, better in every way. The 27 point margin flattered us. Our clearance game is meant to be our biggest strength and they were embarrassing us in that part of the game. I just couldn't stomach their over the top celebrations as they humiliate us for the 6th match in a row. Did not see any way we could turn that around and I expected to see a 10 goal loss when I checked at the end. Even after watching the replay I don't know how we won

How good is future rematches between Watson / Sellwood & Lewis / Sicily going to be. Rivalry is shaping now we got one back on them.

Sicily carved us up in the 24 EF on the backline, dictating play against us. Last night Sicily was just about negated, I think Lewis was key in our fwd line last night

The last 3 weeks have shown that we have some very clutch players who love to stand up in the heat of tight finishes: Selwood, Croft, Naughton, Bont, Richards, Sanders.

Reckon Budarick was carrying an injury in this game. It was his least productive game for the season. And the last time we played the Hawks it was Budarick who covered Watson and held him to a single goal in game we comfortably lost. So I suspect the decision to play Selwood on Watson came out of necessity not design. That said - all the more credit to Sellwood for completing a task he is not suited to ideally.

Anyone else notice how many erroneous frees are awarded against Kennedy? Not disparaging Newcombe's game - the guy is uber good - but he gets too many undeserving high frees. It's exasperating. I thought Kennedy would have been totally justified in losing his cool by abusing the umpire and giving away a 50 meter penalty. Credit to him for not.

Keep pumping games into Croft - we have a unicorn here. Once he gets as strong as his father, he will rip games apart for fun. Each of the last 3 games, he has taken critical contested marks at pivotal of the last quarter - that's clutch. And for a young kid to do this consistently there is nothing more exciting to witness.

I'm ok with Bevo defending McNeil. I'm not sure why now of all times Bevo felt it necessary to come in to bat for him. Particularly as this year, many of us who have routinely libelled McNeils performances over the years - have conceded that this year he has been quite good. The difference I've noticed this year is that McNeil is prepared to be more physical and put himself in positions where serious body contact is likely. Ergo he becomes far more vulnerable to collisions and concussion. Yet, it is precisely this reason that he is more effective. If I'm right, then Bevo's comment is a strange kind of public recognition of McNeil's improvement.

Really hard to pick the best 3-5 in this game - Coaches votes will be interesting.
To the eye: Bont, Richards, English, Dale, Sanders and Selwood.
Richards last quarter = clutch.

I'll admit I turned it off at half time. Looked like every game we play against the Hawks. They were harder, cleaner, better in every way. The 27 point margin flattered us. Our clearance game is meant to be our biggest strength and they were embarrassing us in that part of the game. I just couldn't stomach their over the top celebrations as they humiliate us for the 6th match in a row. Did not see any way we could turn that around and I expected to see a 10 goal loss when I checked at the end. Even after watching the replay I don't know how we won
Two key differences imo.

We settled and stop making so many errors.
And we started playing tough/hard.

We were fumbly in the first half, and too soft aswell. I thought our structure was OK most of the game.

Fantastic win. Most i've celebrated out of all our close wins bar maybe Brisbane in opening round. Everyone played their role.

Although not sure i've seen kickouts/defensive 50 exits that bad since Brendan McCartney. Hoping that was a one off last night.

Two key differences imo.

We settled and stop making so many errors.
And we started playing tough/hard.

We were fumbly in the first half, and too soft aswell. I thought our structure was OK most of the game.

Don’t think we adapted well to the MCG surface either. We really to be play more games there.

It’s crazy how much good disposal off half back opens up the game in this era, like one good kick out of defence is the difference between going end to end and scoring or getting a goal kicked over your head.

I think we’re generally happy to take the risky kicks on and cop the turnovers that come with that, and to be fair when we don’t and we go slow and sideways we’re basically completely unable to move the footy.

It’s why I like Jaques, he’s not getting it a lot but when he does he’s always happy to take the game on by foot. And it’s why I’m desperate to see Bont off half back, that one kick off half back last night basically won us the game. Let’s get him in position to do that 15 times a game please.