Random Dogs

• Thread starter Thread starter doug85

So yeah she is okay for now. Doc reckons it's something to do with the way her lungs work (or don't work properly anymore) which is a progression of the spinal injury she has had for the last 4 or 5 years. So we are just keeping her on antibiotics for now and hoping the tooth just dies without rotting and causing an abscess or something. If that happens we'll have to basically put her in for an op knowing that she will more than likely die on the table.

Tough choice. How old is she?

She'll be 13 on August 1.
Our first family dog died suddenly at 10 years in 2015. I still have regrets about his last days. We could have managed it better. I suppose with your dog coming back to life she's kind of already living on borrowed time and, while it is never easy to lose a pet, you now have the opportunity to appreciate and maximise your time with your dog and try to make her exit pain free when the time comes. As Dapper Don says, it just sucks. No getting around that. In my experience though, you'll feel better if you minimise the regrets.

DID YOU HEAR HOW THE BOMBERS WENT FRIDAY NIGHT?
CysbPQU.jpg

WE WON BY 61 POINTS!
8y7IxAx.jpg

I reckon I would think twice jumping over your fence to retrieve my kid's footy. That said, I don't think I have ever met a rotty that hasn't been super friendly.
A mate of mine had a rotty cross staf that was an incredible dog. Potentially a bruiser but the most fun loving respectful dog you'd ever find.

Discipline as a pup makes so much difference for the supposed aggressive breeds. The alpha dog is very much a thing for them, make sure they know their place and they are the most amazing companions. Dogs can read your emotion and empathise. It's incredible.

I've never owned a dog. Dad refused to get one due to the "we live in town, dogs need space" mentality, I then rented then met a non-dog wife(who was bitten by a German Shepherd as a kid). I love them though, will always run amok with mate's dogs, can't find their cats half the time though.

I reckon I would think twice jumping over your fence to retrieve my kid's footy. That said, I don't think I have ever met a rotty that hasn't been super friendly.

Well if your strapped head to toe with roast chicken you don't stand a chance ;)

So we got a 5 month old male border collie x kelpie dog last night from a local farm for $20. The bloke hasn't been fixed, vaccinated, chipped or wormed (the fun of being a working dog that are seen as tools as opposed to pets). He was the more timid one of the two available so my wife and daughters chose him.
He shit himself in the back of our Kluger within 200 metres of driving off. Washed him at a dog wash before getting home because he was covered in filth.
He was so nervous i called him a nervous wreck - hence his name is now Rex.

Introduced him to our 6 year old female border collie x kelpie and all was great for the first ten minutes, waggy tails, sniffing of bums, then out of nowhere the aggression started.

He will openly attack our female if she comes into the backyard. 5 months old and he's trying to establish his dominance over my dog who normally doesn't put up with any shit from other dogs. She will not even go outside if he's there.
Wife has put him on a leash this morning and let our female out for sniffing and the doing of the business but she instigated a fight this time.

He's fine (very timid) around us, gaining our trust slowly with food and pats when our female isn't there and he's very good with the kids, has shown no signs of aggression at all. In fact the wife has been texting me all morning telling me how great he's being with the kids in the yard.

I am trying to look at it from his point of view. He's been taken away from his brothers. New environment. New people. New dog.
He doesn't understand his role nor has he had any real exposure to other animals so it's as much a period of adjustment for him as it is for all of us.

But if he attacks my female again (I didn't realise my love for this dog was so strong) I'll have no hesitation in taking him back to the farm.

So we got a 5 month old male border collie x kelpie dog last night from a local farm for $20. The bloke hasn't been fixed, vaccinated, chipped or wormed (the fun of being a working dog that are seen as tools as opposed to pets). He was the more timid one of the two available so my wife and daughters chose him.
He shit himself in the back of our Kluger within 200 metres of driving off. Washed him at a dog wash before getting home because he was covered in filth.

Introduced him to our 6 year old female border collie x kelpie and all was great for the first ten minutes, waggy tails, sniffing of bums, then out of nowhere the aggression started.

He will openly attack our female if she comes into the backyard. 5 months old and he's trying to establish his dominance over my dog who normally doesn't put up with any shit from other dogs. She will not even go outside if he's there.
Wife has put him on a leash this morning and let our female out for sniffing and the doing of the business but she instigated a fight this time.

He's fine (very timid) around us, gaining our trust slowly with food and pats when our female isn't there and he's very good with the kids, has shown no signs of aggression at all. In fact the wife has been texting me all morning telling me how great he's being with the kids in the yard.

I am trying to look at it from his point of view. He's been taken away from his brothers. New environment. New people. New dog.
He doesn't understand his role nor has he had any real exposure to other animals so it's as much a period of adjustment for him as it is for all of us.

But if he attacks my female again (I didn't realise my love for this dog was so strong) I'll have no hesitation in taking him back to the farm.
Yeah it can be tough trying to bring a new cat or dog into a situation where there's already a pet and associated established social structure. Maybe you need to take him for some training or try an animal behaviourist.. or google as a cheaper first option. It's obviously not the first time this has happened so there's probably some good advice about different things to try out there before you take him back.

(Replying here instead of random chat)

I think that’s pretty normal, they’re trying to establish a pecking order in the new environment. I think there are ways of introducing pets to each other slowly so they get to know each other with a fence in between or whatever..? Not really my forte but I watched a bit of Dr Harry when I was a kid :P

Yes he is. He's actually a rescue dog. I got him from the RSPCA just over 3 years ago. He was very timid due to being mistreated but has come out of his shell a lot.

I've had Jack since he was a puppy. He's 11 next month. I am dreading losing him so much.

Yes he is. He's actually a rescue dog. I got him from the RSPCA just over 3 years ago. He was very timid due to being mistreated but has come out of his shell a lot.

I've had Jack since he was a puppy. He's 11 next month. I am dreading losing him so much.

Not to be a downer, just helps to discuss these things I find, but I had to get my 13 yold Kelpie, Roadie, put down the end of April as her back went on her but otherwise she was the same old dog & it was a gut wrenching decision to have to make. Wasn't I a mess for the next couple of months & it's really only been the last couple of weeks that I can look forward & consider looking for another one, probably an older rescue dog.

I've gone through losing them before but nothing as bad as it was with her & in hindsight I should have forced myself to move on earlier, would be some advice I would give.

received_272304316714598.jpeg

The new apple of my eye. What I've learned is don't Google for advice, especially if it takes you to the US forums. Those guys are nuts.

EDIT: But **** it coz I know most of you aren't nuts I'll throw it out there. Currently with her (8 weeks) she's getting half hour walk in the morning plus probably 20/30 minutes play time, I leave for work 8am and she's in the yard with all her toys and bed as pictured, neighbors come and check on her every couple of hours, partner gets home either 2 or 3.30 depending on her shift, walks and plays with her, then I've been getting home about 7pm and walking/playing with her. She's normally in bed by 8.30 asleep in her pen in our en suite and wakes us up every 2 to 3 hours to take her outside to the toilet.

Are we doing anything wrong here? As I said I tried google but I end up on "don't get a dog if you work full time, don't leave your puppy alone for more then 2 hours etc" which makes me think we're doing a shit job.

Only been a few days but so far so good. Thoughts? Anything I should change?

Runk you liked before I edited :p

View attachment 553959

The new apple of my eye. What I've learned is don't Google for advice, especially if it takes you to the US forums. Those guys are nuts.

EDIT: But **** it coz I know most of you aren't nuts I'll throw it out there. Currently with her (8 weeks) she's getting half hour walk in the morning plus probably 20/30 minutes play time, I leave for work 8am and she's in the yard with all her toys and bed as pictured, neighbors come and check on her every couple of hours, partner gets home either 2 or 3.30 depending on her shift, walks and plays with her, then I've been getting home about 7pm and walking/playing with her. She's normally in bed by 8.30 asleep in her pen in our en suite and wakes us up every 2 to 3 hours to take her outside to the toilet.

Are we doing anything wrong here? As I said I tried google but I end up on "don't get a dog if you work full time, don't leave your puppy alone for more then 2 hours etc" which makes me think we're doing a shit job.

Only been a few days but so far so good. Thoughts? Anything I should change?

Runk you liked before I edited :p

Awesome pup! (Kiara?)
You have nothing to worry about, that is a good schedule. You have obviously done some research and put some thought into it. (And also have some great neighbours)
Pups probably sleep at least 18 hours a day, so she wouldn’t be awake much while you are out.
I’d keep her awake while you’re around so she’s extra tired when you’re not there.