Nov 9, 2006
King without a crown

Samantha Lane
February 11, 2007

cmSTEVENKING_wideweb__470x372.jpg
Steven King says casting off the burden of leadership has given him a new lease on life.
Photo: Sebastian Costanzo

STEVEN King would hate this to sound like a sob story. Or a sympathy bid. Or, God forbid, an excuse. But the bottom line is that football was ruining his life. Last week though, he could at least smile at the irony that, during the year he counts as his most miserable, a youth suicide prevention group approached him about helping young Australian men from the country to ditch their pride and discuss their problems. This past summer, the 28-yearold former Geelong captain, originally a country boy himself, has been smiling a lot. His teammates and support staff at Geelong have been marvelling at it. As King sat on the train that returned the team from its Swan Hill community camp last Thursday, he emphasised that he hadn’t ever felt as desperate as the kids he intends to help through the “Coach the Coach” program.
But things did get pretty dark. “I probably just let the football thing ruin my whole . . .” King pauses momentarily before finishing. “I don’t know, it probably just transformed me a bit as a person. I just got so negative on everything.
“For a time last year I just hated what I was doing. Going to training and playing was probably the least thing I’d look forward to in a week. You put this pressure on yourself that you are this big, strong footballer. It’s meant to be fun.”
But with Geelong floundering and King once again feeling like a substandard captain — his body letting him down for a third consecutive year — nothing much at all was fun any more. King, who friends and family would have once described as a laid back and optimistic soul who loved a good laugh, was virtually unrecognisable.

“It was affecting me as who I was as a person and my outlook on life,” he said. “I was becoming a negative person. I was becoming bitter towards everyone. Not straight up, but just always doubting, questioning, and looking at the bad things instead of the positives.

@media print {.nopr {display:none}} [SIZE=-1]advertisement[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]advertisement[/SIZE]

“I shut people out of my life and even avoided doing things that I’d normally do because I felt embarrassed about what had happened and what was going on.”
The Cats were pre-season premiers and became winter fancies.
But they missed the finals, winning just 10 games. King played 18, but the numbers were more flattering than the reality. The spotlight was shone hard, chiefly in the faces of club coach and skipper. Within days of Geelong’s last game King had handed in the captaincy title he’d held for four years and the club was scoured like a crime scene.
VICTORIA’S only one-team town has a devoted or — depending on the win loss count — derisive newspaper covering its every move. The publication has a particular place in the club’s subconscious. It makes heroes and villains of the local sports stars. Many at Geelong say they pay no mind. But in spite of himself, King, already twice a best-and-fairest winner and All Australian in 2000, admits he started believing some of what he was reading and hearing.
He confided in virtually no one. “I didn’t really deal with it, as in speak to people about it,” he said. “I probably just tried to be too proud and not ask for help off anyone. You didn’t want to burden anyone with your issues and that was the hardest thing.
“It was one of those things. Guys try to deal with it themselves.” King became increasingly introverted and, to an extent, isolated himself. He hung out mostly with old friends from Shepparton, “mates that I knew that didn’t care about footy”. King’s girlfriend Danielle is not much of a footy expert. But through all this she was qualified to play personality policewoman.
“It got to a stage where she said you’re just getting so negative about life and your whole personality’s changing because you’re letting this get to you.
“I probably kept away from crowds and became more of a homebody.” It didn’t ever get worse, physically, than at the end of the 2005 season when King was wheelchair-bound and virtually immobilised. He’d had an Achilles operation and couldn’t use crutches because he’d also torn tendons in his wrist, so for around two weeks he only left bed to hop to the toilet. But mentally, 2006 was one long low point.
King didn’t even begin running until mid-January last year, and played only half a game in the VFL before round one. In the first 10 minutes of round three he did a hamstring. Then he hurt a calf.
Asked how many of the 16 games he should have played, King says: “There were probably a couple of games where I felt all right, I felt a bit fresh.”
His weekly worry was not whether he’d be able to dominate a match, but whether he’d even get through it. But pride, a sense of responsibility and even guilt kept him putting his hand up to play. Not that it’s a rare problem in the AFL (just ask St Kilda’s 2006 captain Luke Ball).
“You’re paid good money to play footy and you’ve got this responsibility, as captain, to play. You feel embarrassed that you’re letting the club down, and you’re letting your teammates down and yourself I guess.
“When we were losing and I was out injured that created more pressure to hurry up.” The effect all this had on King’s team is hard to measure. But doubtless it was significant.
It’s only now, when he is starting to feel like himself again, that King has realised how badly he struggled. That he has not spent at least some part of this summer on crutches is, plainly, a miracle. He estimates it’s been four years since he hasn’t had an operation in the off-season.
THE initial benefits are that King is feeling “a lot more at peace with myself, where I’m at as a person more so than as a footballer.”
Teammate Cameron Mooney’s analysis is a little more colourful. “He’s a completely different person at the moment, just a huge joy around the club really.
“It’s the guy that’s had six or seven beers — but he’s sober. Just so much fun.”
Last March, Geelong coach Mark Thompson had said it was a make or break year for King in terms of the club captaincy. King knew way before season’s end that he had been broken. Before September was through, Tom Harley, who is older than King, took up the post. King has since ruled himself out of the leadership group altogether.
“It was difficult in the sense that you don’t want to be seen as a quitter or someone that concedes,” King says.
For the time being, the reduced commitment feels novel. He no longer arrives at training an hour early or stays an hour late. At a “Meet the Cats” function at the Swan Hill Town Hall last Wednesday night, King remained seated with the locals, like any other member of the 44-man Cats squad, while Harley and his five deputies formed a panel on stage. Harley, King says, is far more comfortable with that kind of stuff than he ever was.
King says he is not so much sad that his four-year reign was cut short, as regretful of the circumstances. “My biggest regret would be if I have a reasonable season this year and they go, ‘oh, it’s just because of the captaincy’.”
He took over the captaincy from Ben Graham as a 24-year-old dual best and fairest winner at the beginning of 2003. “It was probably a bit soon,” King said. “I think maybe the club had previously made mistakes, not just with me but with other captains, of giving the captaincy to the best player.
“I’m not sure whether I was ready for that whole responsibility. At the time I . . . think the club didn’t really invest any time in leadership development or anything like that.”
This off-season the Cats have prioritised leadership development more than King can remember. It’s with some envy that he has joined the youngest players in the workshops run by independent expert Gerard Murphy.
The removal of King’s invisible crown has eased some pressure. But it’s no comparison to the lightness he feels because his body is working as it should. Admittedly, it is still early February, but King’s optimism sounds genuine and well-founded.
“My resolution’s just to have fun and enjoy footy. And not get bitter but get better. “If this is my last year, well so be it, but hopefully I’ve got another three or four years.
“This is something I’ve wanted to do all my life and I’m actually doing it. I don’t want to get 10 years down the track and say ‘that should have been the best time of my life and it wasn’t’.
“Even this camp now, I’ve just been laughing the whole three days and mucking around with the boys. Normally the other years I’d think, ‘********, we have to go on a stupid camp’. I looked at the negatives of it all. Now it’s just fun being part of it.”
And with that, King returned to his teammates in a noisier carriage, eager to make the most of the final hour of the train ride with them.

Great article. Love the "dont get bitter but get better" quote: Mr. Packer's advice to Richie on the latest 12th man CD if i'm not mistaken. I think this is a real step forward for King.:thumbsu:

Combine the previous article with this one for a good example of the club's self-awareness:

Mass sackings likely if Cats fail again: King

Samantha Lane
February 11, 2007

FORMER Cats skipper Steven King has admitted what everyone has been thinking: careers are on the line at Geelong this year — his own, that of senior coach Mark Thompson and around half the club's list.

The Cats' hierarchy has been patient, responding to a poor 2006 by changing strategy rather than axing personnel. But in a frank assessment of Geelong's predicament, 28-year-old King says he and Thompson would be shown the door if there was a repeat performance in the final year of their contracts.

Pre-season premier in 2006 after playing off in the previous two Septembers, Geelong won 10 matches and missed last year's finals.

"We know if we have a year like last year this year Bomber (Thompson) will definitely get the arse. I reckon half the list would get the arse, too," King told The Sunday Age.

"I think we're very fortunate that the club showed faith in a lot of the players, even though we've had a terrible year."

For all his bluntness of the worst-case scenario, King is equally resolute that his teammates and coaches will right the wrong this season.

"A lot of the things that did go wrong last year can be fixed and I think we've got the personnel there. It's just the way a lot of things were managed that had that influence on our season," he said.

"I think everyone's in the same mindset. Bomber would be the same as what we're feeling as a playing group. We just can't wait to redeem ourselves and get back a bit of respect."

King stood down from the captaincy after enduring a fourth consecutive injury-interrupted year. The 2000 All-Australian ruckman has not played a full season since 2002.

"It was equally as tough a year for Bomber, I think, as it was for me," King said of last season. "I probably didn't share with Bomber what I was feeling as much as I should have. He probably likewise to me."

The off-season has lasted what feels like an eternity. Yet King senses an unprecedented resolve. "I see guys working now harder than I've seen them work before and I think it's a really good kick in the backside for all of us.

"Blokes have realised where they were. And where they were at wasn't a position where you could call yourself an elite footballer. I'm not sure how professional we were as a whole club, but it's 10 times better now, just the way we're getting prepared for the season."

Geelong employed an independent expert in improving leadership and teamwork, who has worked with players and coaches since December.

Though one of 14 players who did not take part in yesterday's intra-club practice match at Skilled Stadium, King says he is better prepared than he has been for four seasons. Critically, it is the first time in that period that he has not required post-season surgery.

"At this stage I couldn't be in a better position," he said. "I can't make any bold predictions like I'll play 22 games and finish top five in a best and fairest or anything like that. To me that's not a goal. I just want to have fun and enjoy my footy again."

He does look fit. Yesterday before the intra-club match he was running laps with Tom Harley and James Byrne. When they stopped he keep going, this time with Tom Lonergan.

Sounds to me like King was suffering a form of depression but just dealt with the whole thing on his own. Good to be able to read his side of the story without him having to 'be the captain' with every comment he makes.

I hope he has a good season.

...and yeah the self awareness factor does seem to have finally kicked in down there.

that was a very good and interesting read, i also hope he has a good and injury free season, he is a major cog in the cats team structure n it was sad reading his outlook of life and footy seem he was struggling.

I don't know about anyone else, but everytime I read one of these articles about how irritated and hurt the players were about last season and how they want to rectify things it gets me more and more excited about a successful season ahead.

That article where King says careers are on the line this season if things go belly up really got me in a positive mood for the season ahead. If the club is fair dinkum they'll have a red hot go and hopefully we won't see any efforts like the Canberra game at any stage this year.

All I can say is BRING IT ON!!!

I am sorry the guy had a rough trot last year, but he was a crap captain and I am glad he has finally moved on. I hope he can get some if his 2003/2004 form back and become one of AFLs premier ruckmen again.

Give him a break, he was selected to do a job he was neither ready for or given the appropriate support for, tough guy.

Hopefully Harley will get more support from the leadership than King did.It however does seem that everyone has had a long, hard look at themselves and moral is up.:thumbsu:

I think in hindsight looking back at Kings 'reign' as captain..thats the big difference to what we are going to see with Harley now taking over. Harley is 28 and has learnt how to talk to the media and put his ideas across succinctly. They have consultants down there trying to work on the guys and their leadership issues. They have a more senior football guy like Balme who has basically seen it all and can advise accordingly and offer support. Everyone today is aware this is a problem at the club when before I feel it was largely overlooked.

King was 24 and had none of those things/people as resource or that critical overriding perception of what the club was like and how the leadership issue needed to be addressed. Lots of you on here probably arent 24 yet...enough of you will probably be able to recall @ 24 you might think captaining an AFL side wasnt for you either. Especially a club that wasnt promoting leadership at all really back in 2003...not in the way it is today at any rate. I hardly think its all Kings fault and lets not forget he played pretty well at the end of both seasons 2004 (Essendon final for instance)...and 2005 (Melbourne final)...so he did have input on the ground at times when it mattered.

I personally hate the phrase 'scapegoat'..because in professional sport where guys are getting paid big sums to live a so called dream life its rarely appropriate...but in this instance it might have some validity...

I think in hindsight looking back at Kings 'reign' as captain..thats the big difference to what we are going to see with Harley now taking over. Harley is 28 and has learnt how to talk to the media and put his ideas across succinctly. They have consultants down there trying to work on the guys and their leadership issues. They have a more senior football guy like Balme who has basically seen it all and can advise accordingly and offer support. Everyone today is aware this is a problem at the club when before I feel it was largely overlooked.

King was 24 and had none of those things/people as resource or that critical overriding perception of what the club was like and how the leadership issue needed to be addressed. Lots of you on here probably arent 24 yet...enough of you will probably be able to recall @ 24 you might think captaining an AFL side wasnt for you either. Especially a club that wasnt promoting leadership at all really back in 2003...not in the way it is today at any rate. I hardly think its all Kings fault and lets not forget he played pretty well at the end of both seasons 2004 (Essendon final for instance)...and 2005 (Melbourne final)...so he did have input on the ground at times when it mattered.

I personally hate the phrase 'scapegoat'..because in professional sport where guys are getting paid big sums to live a so called dream life its rarely appropriate...but in this instance it might have some validity...
i think Ben Graham copped a fair bit of that too when he was captain

Don't get bitter, get better!