Universal Love Down Memory Lane

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

93' at Subiaco. Up by 4 points when siren goes and Mainwaring has shot at goal from pocket( no daylight to see between posts, bloody tight angle). Lines up and takes a step out and kicks with left foot, ball hits post an Carlton win by 3 points.

Also remember Tim Powell from that game, unsure if he played well, he wore number 10 if memory serves me correct?

93' at Subiaco. Up by 4 points when siren goes and Mainwaring has shot at goal from pocket( no daylight to see between posts, bloody tight angle). Lines up and takes a step out and kicks with left foot, ball hits post an Carlton win by 3 points.

Also remember Tim Powell from that game, unsure if he played well, he wore number 10 if memory serves me correct?

Anyone have any stories from Arden Street? I reckon that is the only old school ground I never saw a match at.

The only stuff I remember from Arden St and North Melbourne as a whole was if it was a bad day with a stiff westerly blowing, the smell from the blood and bones works used to infect the entire suburb...

I remember watching that on tv!! Right of screen, near pocket ;)

Anyone have any stories from Arden Street? I reckon that is the only old school ground I never saw a match at.
I went there a few times in the late '70s, early '80s. Another ground which couldn't handle much more than 20k spectators. The Roos absolutely hammered us there in one game in the early '80s. 100+ point smashing. No surprise that myself & fellow Carlton supporters were rather quiet that day. The game was over at quarter time.

Unfortunately I was at that game. All I remember was Dempsey winning in the ruck and Glendinning dominating.

Was that the game Stephen Oliver played well or was that the 95 game?

I also seem to remember Kernahan going off early or Deulio getting crunched....so many memories hard to get them all together at once!! :)

I actually played a work social club game there in the early 90's (can not remember the exact time (old age)) but do remember the stands being empty (hah:) ) no, remember that the ground was quite boggy, found it very hard to run on.

Christou spotting up his good mate Koutoufides on the wing was always great. Beautiful kick with his speed and delivery off half back.

WOOF!

Hey RK reckon I have seen something developing between Brock and Kane this year as well. Maybe my imagination but they seem to pick each other out.

Was that the game Stephen Oliver played well or was that the 95 game?

I also seem to remember Kernahan going off early or Deulio getting crunched....so many memories hard to get them all together at once!! :)

The Oliver game was '93, the Kernahan crunching De Iulio incident was '95.

95' round 7 vs. Essenscum. No Williams, no sticks and rice's return game. Cme from behind at 3/4 time to win by 7 points. Was at this game and remember the roar of the crowd being so loud that didn't hear the final siren

That was the game Troy Bond took a mark 15 metres out directly in front and got up with this massive smirk on his face only to miss the set shot!! :)

As a venue it was a dump, worse than Glenferrie Oval. It had a grandstand like the Heatly on one wing which gave you a beautiful view of the gasometer directly opposite. Up the Arden Street end it had a scoreboard which was just a bit of tin which had the nails banged into it to hang the scores. Behind this was the local swimming pool where occasionally the footballs ended up. Like the Gabba it was a greyhound venue and for many years out the back stood the lean to of the betting ring. I played a representative game there in 1972 with Simon Madden as a team mate. Two years later he was playing in the VFL. I noticed somebody mentioned a thrashing during the 80s. It was 1983. I think they won by the Nelson, 111 points. Did they give it to us that day. The next time we played was the first round of 1984 where we smashed them by a bigger margin. I bloody enjoyed giving it back to them threefold. However my most memorable game there was 1973. Reigning premiers, Barassi coaching North Melbourne and he had a point to prove. Footy was a bit more rough and tumble in those days but it still had limits. One of the great Carlton players Brent Crosswell was in awesome form giving Slamming Sam Kekovich a bath. Sam obviously got frustrated and round armed him in an attempt to 'spoil'. He smashed his nose and literally when he came over to where I was sitting you could not see his facial features for the blood that was pouring out. Unable to staunch the flow and no interchange Crossa left the ground. As they couldn't stop the blood in the rooms the doctor called the ambulance and he waited underneath the stand, crowd roaring waiting for his lift. Very soon after he went down, Wallsey, one of the bravest Blueboys decided to run with the flight of the ball leaving himself open to the shirtfront which was duly delivered by Phil 'Snake' Baker. Wallsey hit the ground and didn't move. It was a very ugly day for footy. Nothing flash in those days. The canvas stretcher came out, the player thrown on and taken off the ground. Crossa was still waiting for his lift, saw Walls and had to be restrained from entering the fray to exact some revenge. We lost the game, from memory a few goals and the Errol Street slappers were doing a knees up. In those days the players were not protected. After the game they'd leave the rooms and walk through the crowd to get their cars. My mum knew Sam Kekovich quite well and gave him the biggest payout of all time. Sam kept his head down and slipped out as quickly as he could. As a footnote, this was the year that the Tigers used the same tactics in the Grand Final to take out Nicholls and Southby to win the GF. 4 decades is a long time to hold a grudge. I hate the Roos with a passion. More so than any other team. Just ask my kids. I'm totally unreasonable in regards to the Roos. I sent them off, when we beat them a couple of years ago with "I hope you bastards fold". I meant it!

I find it hard to believe Glenferrie Oval was able to hold crowds of over 25000 people. The space on the side of the wing between the ground and the Linda Cres footpath is so narrow there is no room to swing a cat.
Anyone seen a game there?

I find it hard to believe Glenferrie Oval was able to hold crowds of over 25000 people. The space on the side of the wing between the ground and the Linda Cres footpath is so narrow there is no room to swing a cat.
Anyone seen a game there?
You're teasing me? It was a long journey from Glenroy to Glenferrie. It was so strange to have a footy ground with a railway line as one boundary. The game would be hotly contested and in the background a red rattler would travel past. There were two grandstands up the members end of the ground. One still stands today and it's a bit of an architectural treasure. Plenty of standing room especially at the Glenferrie Road end of the ground. 25000 when most stood was achievable. It also had a swimming pool at this end. I don't remember great games at this venue. The Hawks were the easybeats of the comp for a long time. I see lots of mud in my memories so it had a pretty ordinary surface. I do remember Syd Jackson standing on someone's head there and taking a screamer. In my playing days I remember playing games for the Blues against the Saints, Swans and Hawks in the VFL u19s. It was always a thrill to run over the same turf as your heroes.

As a venue it was a dump, worse than Glenferrie Oval. It had a grandstand like the Heatly on one wing which gave you a beautiful view of the gasometer directly opposite. Up the Arden Street end it had a scoreboard which was just a bit of tin which had the nails banged into it to hang the scores. Behind this was the local swimming pool where occasionally the footballs ended up. Like the Gabba it was a greyhound venue and for many years out the back stood the lean to of the betting ring. I played a representative game there in 1972 with Simon Madden as a team mate. Two years later he was playing in the VFL. I noticed somebody mentioned a thrashing during the 80s. It was 1983. I think they won by the Nelson, 111 points. Did they give it to us that day. The next time we played was the first round of 1984 where we smashed them by a bigger margin. I bloody enjoyed giving it back to them threefold. However my most memorable game there was 1973. Reigning premiers, Barassi coaching North Melbourne and he had a point to prove. Footy was a bit more rough and tumble in those days but it still had limits. One of the great Carlton players Brent Crosswell was in awesome form giving Slamming Sam Kekovich a bath. Sam obviously got frustrated and round armed him in an attempt to 'spoil'. He smashed his nose and literally when he came over to where I was sitting you could not see his facial features for the blood that was pouring out. Unable to staunch the flow and no interchange Crossa left the ground. As they couldn't stop the blood in the rooms the doctor called the ambulance and he waited underneath the stand, crowd roaring waiting for his lift. Very soon after he went down, Wallsey, one of the bravest Blueboys decided to run with the flight of the ball leaving himself open to the shirtfront which was duly delivered by Phil 'Snake' Baker. Wallsey hit the ground and didn't move. It was a very ugly day for footy. Nothing flash in those days. The canvas stretcher came out, the player thrown on and taken off the ground. Crossa was still waiting for his lift, saw Walls and had to be restrained from entering the fray to exact some revenge. We lost the game, from memory a few goals and the Errol Street slappers were doing a knees up. In those days the players were not protected. After the game they'd leave the rooms and walk through the crowd to get their cars. My mum knew Sam Kekovich quite well and gave him the biggest payout of all time. Sam kept his head down and slipped out as quickly as he could. As a footnote, this was the year that the Tigers used the same tactics in the Grand Final to take out Nicholls and Southby to win the GF. 4 decades is a long time to hold a grudge. I hate the Roos with a passion. More so than any other team. Just ask my kids. I'm totally unreasonable in regards to the Roos. I sent them off, when we beat them a couple of years ago with "I hope you bastards fold". I meant it!

Awesome, this is what this thread is all about! Thanks for sharing this Robbo, love it!!! :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Anyone remember the short lived return of the 'Bluebirds' in the early 2000s.
The dancers included guys, which kind of looked a bit gay (not that there's anything wrong with that lol_