List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

In TAC Cup news this weekend:

Of the mids ....
  • Taranto and McGrath in the bests for Sandy Dragons,
  • Berry, McCluggage and Drew in the bests for North Ballarat.
  • Clarke in the bests for Eastern Ranges
  • Brodie in the bests for the Bushrangers
  • Atley in the bests for Bendigo Pioneers
Couple of indigenous players in the bests - Cedric Cox for North Ballarat and Kayle Kirby for Bendigo Pioneers. Kirby kicked 4.

I actually came to this thread especially to mention Kayle Kirby. (Sorry if he's been discussed, I'm not going back thru 81 pages to check!)

He's from my home town and plays local footy for my old club. Young indigenous boy who always looked a tad heavy but all the skills. He was competing against men at 14 and holding his own back then. He's trimmed off now and looks fit and strong.

He's kicked a few bags of 4 and one of 6 this year IIRC.

He's only 181cm, so I know barells probably won't be a fan but a strong small forward with a bit of mongrel too. Maybe he's not a need for us but I hope he gets a chance somewhere.

Ainsworth has all the talent in the world, so if we drafted him, I'd swallow my pride and say 'well, he's one of ours now'.

I will never be a massive fan though.

FWIW, I don't see what we need with another sub-180cm forward who sort of runs through the middle, but maybe it's just me.

I wish him all the best, and hope he has a long and storied career... just preferably with someone else.
it could quickly change. some guy gives Gresh a cheapshot from behind and is laid out. Ainsworth comes over and gets in his face/knocks the campaigner out. you'd change pretty quick I reckon :P

Ainsworth has all the talent in the world, so if we drafted him, I'd swallow my pride and say 'well, he's one of ours now'.

I will never be a massive fan though.

FWIW, I don't see what we need with another sub-180cm forward who sort of runs through the middle, but maybe it's just me.

I wish him all the best, and hope he has a long and storied career... just preferably with someone else.

Yes I'm just shit stirring you. We need mids not small fwds that could be mids.

Ainsworth is a flog, give it 2 years and he'll be getting into trouble of some sort. Whoever picks him will get a talented kid with lots of issues.

Copy. So you have personal issues with him? Punch on with the campaigner IMO
I actually don't, he's a decent bloke. Bit odd, but aren't we all.

I just don't agree with his assessments. If you look, he often says exactly the same thing about a lot of players, just phrased slightly differently. And there's zero way he gets to all the games he says he does.

I actually don't, he's a decent bloke. Bit odd, but aren't we all.

I just don't agree with his assessments. If you look, he often says exactly the same thing about a lot of players, just phrased slightly differently. And there's zero way he gets to all the games he says he does.

So he's odd & a liar. **** it chin the campaigner

Im not that keen on McGrath, despite the well deserved accolades he has garnered this year.

We have too many sub 180cm players, Im sticking with Taranto, who is Darren Jaman esque, or Scrimshaw, who has Bont written all over him.
Completely agree with this.

When our blokes run out & line up against teams like Sydney, GWS, Hawthorn etc, we just look so small. Far too many 180cm tall blokes with small physical profiles too.

Get some height & size out there. Trade for Jack Steele & draft Jack Scrimshaw please

When our blokes run out & line up against teams like Sydney, GWS, Hawthorn etc, we just look so small. Far too many 180cm tall blokes with small physical profiles too.

Get some height & size out there. Trade for Jack Steele & draft Jack Scrimshaw please
Agree with height issue on McGrath and I personally would rather Taranto/scrimshaw but I think your missing what most are with McGrath his pace and agility in the midfield when gets going almost impossible to tackle or chase. His everything we want freeman to be and more

Well, read all this about Ainsworth being a smallish mid.

Would saints be happy with paying 2016 1st for Prestia?

If yes, then it needs to be remembered that both Prestia and Ainsworth are 175cm.

Having said that, I'd prefer McGrath (just too good despite the height), Venables, Scrimshaw, Taranto.

As we are seeing the tall players are making a difference in Acres and Bont both showing forward threat.

Taranto is a forward threat. The big question is whether he can transition to the midfield.

He played predominantly in the middle last Saturday...

- 12 kicks (33% eff.)*
- 13 handballs (77% eff.)
- 7 handball receives
- 5 marks (2 contested)
- 10 tackles
- 1.1 goals

*a lot under pressure/smothered apparently

All that was in a Sandy team inexplicably beaten by 55 points on the weekend.

The boy can play in the middle, and he's about Ross-sized already.

There's my thoughts...

Roadto2018; yours?
He's a pretty relaxed sort of bloke and maybe doesn't work as hard as some other prospects, but his attack on the ball is not a question mark IMO. Was watching him in the wet a month or so ago albeit against a depleted haileybury side, but he was in the packs a fair bit and still managed to always get clean possession and was impossible to bring down. If we want an athletic big body in the midfield with serious goal sense he's our man, also lifts the average looks out of 10 at the club, particularly if we give blokes like payne and murdoch the flick. But yeah would think at 9 or 10 he's he best option unless we are 100% convinced scrimshaw turns in to a mid.

Think we will probably downgrade our pick anyway but whoever gets McGrath will get "Peter Matera"
Not a bad player ...in my opinion

I agree as well BUT , we need to be careful that we are not picking size over talent.
I don't think our recruiters will fall into that trap ( after getting Gresham last year ) but you do see some clubs pick a player based on what they think he can be rather than what he is. Resulting in big strong spuds, or really fast athletic spuds.

I'd be bloody happy if we ended up with Steele and Scrimshaw.