List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

... and if he is that good, we get him with our first round rookie or even at 61.

Boy's got a heap of natural talent and seems worthy of a draft pick around our 61 anyway?

As a key defender/ruckman he's got a strong mark and a brilliant tap.
Yeah all I really know about him is his name!

Im really struggling with the McCluggage Tarranto Florent Setterfield and Ainsworth hype based on their highlights. I know im probably wrong and its just a highlights package but i just dont get it. Tell me they're better than the highlights suggest

The thing with highlights is any old Joe can have a decent highlights package in a 4 minute video. Hell, I bet I would have even had a highlights package that would have rivaled these players back in my 18s days.

The difference between the guys that will make it and run of the mill country footy players is what they do doesn't make the highlights videos.

Will Hoskin-Elliot had one of the best highlight videos I've ever seen and that's why I take youtube draftee videos with a grain of salt.

G'day boys and girls from a rather warm, weirdly sunny (and not invaded by Trump yet) Canada!
Great work over the Trade period, I kept an eye on the board and was very happy with the results.

I apologise for not posting, I wanted to but unfortunately I have spent the last few weeks with my Old Man who is not doing so well. All I can say is Cancer sucks and to those of you who have experienced it, are experiencing it or are watching some one you love experience it, my heart go's out to you.

As for the Draft, the Gresh was my fav but this time last year but this year I am less sure. For a while there I thought Venables was going to drop our way, but it appears he is rising again on the phantom drafts. I still think he may slide. Bolton would be an interesting addition and his speed is a big plus, but only if he can become a winger and the defensive side of his game can be worked on. I would be happy with a number of the KPD kids that are available, but will a decent one fall our way?

The thing that interest me most was Cal's mock draft pod cast comment: St Kilda are not really lacking for much. This made me very happy, and its a great sign.

He then went on to point out that most of the supporters think we need leg speed. He is right, most of us do comment on that here, but are we right? We moved the ball very quickly last year, just with boot and hand as well as quick thinking. I would like more leg speed, but I would only like it if it comes with quality foot skills and a good footy brain.

Just some thoughts.

G'day boys and girls from a rather warm, weirdly sunny (and not invaded by Trump yet) Canada!
Great work over the Trade period, I kept an eye on the board and was very happy with the results.

I apologise for not posting, I wanted to but unfortunately I have spent the last few weeks with my Old Man who is not doing so well. All I can say is Cancer sucks and to those of you who have experienced it, are experiencing it or are watching some one you love experience it, my heart go's out to you.

As for the Draft, the Gresh was my fav but this time last year but this year I am less sure. For a while there I thought Venables was going to drop our way, but it appears he is rising again on the phantom drafts. I still think he may slide. Bolton would be an interesting addition and his speed is a big plus, but only if he can become a winger and the defensive side of his game can be worked on. I would be happy with a number of the KPD kids that are available, but will a decent one fall our way?

The thing that interest me most was Cal's mock draft pod cast comment: St Kilda are not really lacking for much. This made me very happy, and its a great sign.

He then went on to point out that most of the supporters think we need leg speed. He is right, most of us do comment on that here, but are we right? We moved the ball very quickly last year, just with boot and hand as well as quick thinking. I would like more leg speed, but I would only like it if it comes with quality foot skills and a good footy brain.

Just some thoughts.
I hear you man. Thinking of you.

Just some thoughts.
Wishing the best to your old man and his battle.

I'm surprised there isn't much hype about Will Brodie, whomever picks him (probably Carton) will get a star. Was a machine in the TAC Cup.

Just some thoughts.

Welcome back after an understandable absence. Thanks for your thoughts, you make some nice points.

Wishing all the best to your dad mate. Its a ****ing horrible disease that touches far too many of us.

Just some thoughts.
Sorry to hear about your Dad.

My Dad was diagnosed recently so know how you feel.

Just some thoughts.

All the best to you and your father.

I'm surprised there isn't much hype about Will Brodie, whomever picks him (probably Carton) will get a star. Was a machine in the TAC Cup.
I have him as the best player in the draft still by a fairly big margin. I dont get why people have moved off him

Just some thoughts.
Sorry to hear about your dad mate. Wishing you all the strength in the world in this tough time

Just some thoughts.

All the best to you & your father.

Matt Balmer's two round mock is up on AFL Draft Central.

We get SPP at 24 - Cox goes next and Mutch and Ridley at 28 & 29 - and Jack Maibaum at 40, passing on Begley who goes next.

Oddly enough, Geelong get both Cox and Begley...

For joop, the post-draft U23s;

FB: Rice - Coughlan (r) - Wright
HB: White - Maibaum - McKenzie
RK: Pierce - Steele - Dunstan
CR: Acres - Gresham - Billings
HF: Minchington - Goddard - Sinclair
FF: Lonie - McCartin - Membrey

IC: Powell-Pepper Freeman O'Kearney (r)

Drew could be anything.

A pineapple, a microwave safe plastic tub, a footballer.

Could be a Dan McKenzie style pick. Not a brag-worthy BigFooty pick, but a bolter from the crop 3 years down the track.

Like that he still looks raw despite being influential and classy. Seems a natural at quick, progressive decisions under pressure. Pops up all over the ground.

See some Acres & Bonts elements in a ginger disguise.

Drew could be anything.

A pineapple, a microwave safe plastic tub, a footballer.

Could be a Dan McKenzie style pick. Not a brag-worthy BigFooty pick, but a bolter from the crop 3 years down the track.

Like that he still looks raw despite being influential and classy. Seems a natural at quick, progressive decisions under pressure. Pops up all over the ground.

See some Acres & Bonts elements in a ginger disguise.
He certainly has good hands.

Snoop's mock has dropped: https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/snoop-dog-afl-2016-phantom-draft.1152419/

Has us taking Chris's man Cedric Cox. Interesting and good to see him describe him as a "ripping kid".

Saw this post about him by someone on the WB board:
Cedric Cox would be a great get at pick 26, wouldn't mind him even at 18. Saw him play in one of the finals. He didn't do a lot across half back, so they pushed him up to half forward. I think he only had 10 possessions, but I counted 3 of his possessions were direct goal assists and another 4 of his possessions ended up up in scores from scoring chains. He also kicked a goal himself. Very damaging player and can kick it very well on both sides of his body. His tackling and defensive work rate is already high quality as well. Improved a lot as the season went on. He's a very driven character apparently, so he's someone that should do good in a full time environment.
If he is in fact good defensively, as well as super-skilled and quick, he could be someone who really appeals to us.

He certainly has good hands.

Slightly annoying that our second pick isn't late 20s / early 30s. I really like Mutch and Drew.

Don’t think SPP or Witherden will make it passed Brisbane's back-to-back picks (and that's after they slide).

I'm all for taking a player we think might be thereabouts at our second, with our first, if we have massive faith in them, even if they need a fair bit of work.