List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

Bolton is so far in front of SPP and Cedric Cox its not worth discussing.

SPP is certainly a bigger body but you need to discount his performances because of that fact especially since his disposal is not fantastic. How many "bigger bodied" players dominate under age but can't progress much further in the AFL?

Cedric Cox is just progressing through the system and is yet to show he can consistently play at the required level. Watch him in the Allstars - the pace of the game saw him getting caught on a number of occasions. Will probably make it but 23 is too low for him ATM.

I'll set my self up for ridicule on Saturday.

Bolton (10 to 20)
SPP (20 to 30)
Cox (25 to 35)

Bolton is so far in front of SPP and Cedric Cox its not worth discussing.

SPP is certainly a bigger body but you need to discount his performances because of that fact especially since his disposal is not fantastic. How many "bigger bodied" players dominate under age but can't progress much further in the AFL?

Cedric Cox is just progressing through the system and is yet to show he can consistently play at the required level. Watch him in the Allstars - the pace of the game saw him getting caught on a number of occasions. Will probably make it but 23 is too low for him ATM.

I'll set my self up for ridicule on Saturday.

Bolton (10 to 20)
SPP (20 to 30)
Cox (25 to 35)

SPP DID rate among the best for agility at the combine. So there IS more to him than just being a man among boys.
Also rated well for clean hands and goal kicking.

3AW just now....
GWS are not having any draft picks stripped from them this draft - not enough time for them to present a defence!!! ( The AFL have only known about this saga for months) Is anyone surprised?

By next year it's probably all forgotten. Sheesh, I'm over the governance of the AFL.

Having slept on this I wonder if there might be a silver lining for us...

Assuming the GWS actually do lose picks end of next season ( a big assumption I know) we will be there like a white knight, multiple top picks in hand and a fat wallet of cash....and a nice shopping list including a lot of their stars! :)

Cox is a late developer which can be viewed as a positive - most room for improvement. All three have if he, Bolton and SPP have speed but he's the only one who can kick the pill, on both feet too. I hope if we had the choice of the three we'd go with cox. But fingers crossed florent is there (unlikely but you never know) which would solve the entire dilemma!

SPP DID rate among the best for agility at the combine. So there IS more to him than just being a man among boys.
Also rated well for clean hands and goal kicking.
Hell yeah! The fact that he bullied 17yo AS a 17yo has got me stumped. Whats the problem?? He did it at east perth too in the SENIORS.
His fend off is awesome his endurance and agility is elite. And kicking has improved is really not that bad (he won the combine ffs) and actually has a huge boot on him.
SPP number one choice for me but would be happy with CCox.

if we are taking SPP and with the recent additions of Steven and Steele you would think our target is kelly not shiel
It is a glorious day when we can start saying we would pass on Dylan Shiel.

Florent could still be a chance. Twomey said it's hard to get a gauge on where he lands.

Interesting that he said we've been keeping a close eye on Battle and that we've shown recent interest in Himmelberg.

Florent commented on a pic Mav put up on Insta, I was wondering if he's a Saints fan or have the club been talking to him about picking him up?

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/afl/a/33287368/bolton-desperate-to-meet-afl-demands/#page1

Bolton’s marking ability, explosive pace and tackling pressure have drawn comparisons to idol and Norm Smith medallist Cyril Rioli.

But the South Fremantle forward is at pains to point out he has the work ethic to go with his X-factor, saying he can survive the call of home that affects many young Aboriginal players drafted out of WA. The son of former Fremantle midfielder Darren Bolton, the teenager spent more than three years away from family while boarding at Wesley College.

This year he made an 80-minute round journey from Mandurah at least three days a week for training at Fremantle Oval.

Having picked the brains of good friend and Carlton trade recruit Jarrod Pickett, Bolton knows to expect hours in the gym to prepare his light 178cm frame for the elite level.

“Obviously everyone’s going to get homesick now and then, but I’ll be able to deal with it,” Bolton said. “It’s pretty much been my dream since I was little to make the AFL.

“Mum always dropped me off at training and took me to games, but as soon as I turned 17 I ended up getting my licence. I didn’t want to rely on Mum any more.

“I drove up to Fremantle three days a week. I made sure I was at training early.”

My only concern was the go home factor and how Shai would fit into Melbourne life. I feel more confident that if we picked him he could settle into AFL life. He really is the type of player we need.....I know I've talked up other players who I like but Bolton has that out and out pace and x factor that we dont have in the team, (Gresh I think shows a bit of this to be fair).

EDIT: if his disposal skills are that bad then I would have to think twice!

Yeah the televised champs games last year were where I first saw him. He was one I definitely remembered from that game, as one or two of his blistering runs down the ground left a lasting impression. It was like "whoa, we could do with some of that!". Not just quick, but powerfully quick- presumably due to him having the extra endurance that allows him to sustain it for a longer stretch than most others who are really quick do.

My stand up and take notice was the All Stars game, he was really exciting when he did anything. He drifted in and out but when ever he went near the ball you expected something good to happen. Even the real star performers didn't seem to have his presence.

Florent commented on a pic Mav put up on Insta, I was wondering if he's a Saints fan or have the club been talking to him about picking him up?

Wasn't there a photo with Mav and Florent a few months ago, posted on insta I think? It's probably somewhere in this thread but they've definitely had something to do with eachother. Florent's the dream get, hopefully North don't take him at 13.

Exactly. Expect the unexpected.
Ive never understood that statement.
If your expecting the unexpected then its not unexpected at all.
So there is no possible way to expect something to be unexpected when your actually expecting it:eek:

Me go crazy. Need footy back :drunk:

Looks likely between Bolton , Pepper Powell or Cox with our pick 23 .
Who from those three is more likely to play our style of footy ?

Hi guys, love the discussion eapecially from members who are knowledgable on the prospects.
Just some perspective if I may.

1) Are some overthinking this? Every player has weaknesses and @ 23 there is a reason our pick hadnt gone top 10. So dont be too disappointed in who we get.
2) our draft is for undeveloped kids. Whoever we chose can work on their weaknesses and will develop over time. Allir Allir was monstered by Paddy in the champs that year and look at him now.

Dont want to rain on parades, but whomever we get will not satisfy everyone.
Hell our no.1 didnt satisfy everyone.

Wasn't there a photo with Mav and Florent a few months ago, posted on insta I think? It's probably somewhere in this thread but they've definitely had something to do with eachother. Florent's the dream get, hopefully North don't take him at 13.
Norf looking very seriously at Venables as well.

I think "atrocious" is taking things a bit far, especially since those who have seen a lot of him this year reckon they're greatly improved.

I'm not sure Berry's kicking is any better (it has likewise improved this year) and yet you said this about him not too long ago:

I doubt his kicking is any worse than Acres' and apart from Brian, I'm not sure any of us regret the club drafting him.

Whoever we get is going to have faults or weaknesses of some kind. Either their kicking isn't great, they're undersized, they're slow, don't get enough of the ball, or whatever, so we need to come to terms with that.
First thing is acres kicking is no where near as bad as everyone makes out. Especially in the last 6-7 games when he started to get used to afl pace it improved heaps and will continue to do so. Spp has more technical issues with his kicking then acres does and isn't as good a decision maker. However his kicking is probably similar to Jarod berry and will only get better after 50-100 games at afl level

Norf looking very seriously at Venables as well.

If North take Venables I wonder if Florent slides to us?

I've read he wants to stay in Victoria so really it is only Essendope and Bulldogs who could take him at 18 and 20...

Hi guys, love the discussion eapecially from members who are knowledgable on the prospects.
Just some perspective if I may.

1) Are some overthinking this? Every player has weaknesses and @ 23 there is a reason our pick hadnt gone top 10. So dont be too disappointed in who we get.
2) our draft is for undeveloped kids. Whoever we chose can work on their weaknesses and will develop over time. Allir Allir was monstered by Paddy in the champs that year and look at him now.

Dont want to rain on parades, but whomever we get will not satisfy everyone.
Hell our no.1 didnt satisfy everyone.
Great post. Spot on

No way McCarthy gets through to us as a rookie.

He does drugs, his dad is a hells angel, he likes Donald Trump, he's responsible for Justin Beiber getting a recording contract.

ammidoinitright?

Ive never understood that statement.
If your expecting the unexpected then its not unexpected at all.
So there is no possible way to expect something to be unexpected when your actually expecting it:eek:

Me go crazy. Need footy back :drunk:

Its easy just expect something to happen that you weren't expecting. If you are expecting something to happen it probably won't.
Like if the Veronica's were to walk into the draft wearing glitter body paint and carry Gill out to have their way with him.
That would have been unexpected. But now that i've mentioned it , its expected so it probably won't happen.

Did you watch the highlight reel? or have you seen him play? I can confirm his disposal is on the better side of this years draft crop.
I am basing this on the video of him playing in the U/18 champs, where Bolton was just throwing the ball on the boot randomly. To be fair, SPP's kicking looks worse in those videos, but I think they are an important reference point because they aren't just highlights.