List Mgmt. Draft Watch 2015

If by chance we end up with 2 first round picks I've been doing a bit of research and I reckon Ryan Clarke's worth some serious consideration as a player that could go some way towards replacing Dangerfield, ticks most boxes. I'd use the other on Tucker or Bonner with the hope of allowing their drafting to eventually allow Brodie Smith into the midfield?? I think it was you I saw ask about highlights of guys in this years draft?? Go here...https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIjRjvHFnVYm6OtdD1C9n2Q

Knightmare's bio.

Ryan Clarke (VIC – MID/FWD)
Height: 186cm, Weight: 84kg, DOB: 17/06/1997
Recruited from: Eastern Ranges
Reminds me of: Stephen Hill
Best position/role: Midfielder (outside leaning) who can rotate forward.Strengths: Pace/athleticism/endurance – Clarke is an excellent athlete overall. He runs a 3 second 20m sprint. Has excellent agility and excellent endurance with this evidenced by his 15+ beep test score, and you can really see out on the field how easily and quickly he covers the ground.
Pace/ability to take on the game – Clarke has excellent pace but even more critically excellent ability to use that pace in game. When he has the ball in hand and some space in front of him he can really provide meaningful run at speed with ball in hand.
Evasiveness – Clarke has some nice evasive moves to him and can dodge and weave tackles easily. He has excellent anticipation, and is quick on his feet, but also quick of mind. He can both in general play avoid would-be tacklers, and also at high speeds he also has the ability to turn or stop on a dime or change direction to avoid tacklers.
Footskills/vision/decision making – Clarke has a nice 55m kick on him and displays some real hurt factor by foot. He is an excellent kick in general play when running at full speed, he can hit his targets in general play and also out of stoppages has the ability to find and hit long targets up the field.
Scoreboard impact – Clarke has through the TAC Cup averaged more than a goal a game this season. He is an excellent finisher on goal and can kick goals from as far as 55m. He can kick highlight reel goals running through the centre and kicking long on the run from outside 50m or from the impossible positions, but then also convert from set shots.
Tackling pressure – Clarke provides excellent tackling pressure and some real tackling energy around the ball. He also is an excellent chase-down tackler and can provide some highlight-reel type tackles that can really lift the energy of his team.
Marking ability – Clarke is a strong, clean and capable mark overhead. He is more someone who will take marks in space on the outside or in the forward 50 uncontested.
Production – Clarke has achieved some excellent numbers through the TAC Cup this season. And it’s unusual for such a damaging player with his running ability to find several 30+ disposal games, and manage to average more than a goal a game.
Improvement – Also incredibly impressive with Clarke has been his rate of improvement. This year he has from round one come back to the TAC Cup a dominant footballer after having only played the one game early last season in which he was quiet, with his testing numbers also reported also a substantial step up from where he was at back in 2014.
Questionmarks:Contested ball winning ability – Clarke is a good but not great contested ball winner. He is more at this stage a receiver who will get on the end of someone else’s hard work on the inside rather than be the guy who does the grunt work himself.
Summary:Clarke has the ability to be a 200 game player at the next level and provide meaningful run, production, class and hurt factor through a midfield. Clarke is good enough to receive some senior games in his first season but most likely in season two becomes a regular.

This guys is a good one bicks ....only query is his kicking

can't be stuffed reading the whole thread so would someone be kind enough to fill me in on

- Strength of the Draft
- Potential start midfielders with pace and grunt (Danger's longer term replacement)
- KPP depth and quality.

In other words if we get Geelong's pick 9, who is the player we should be looking at and why?
Reckon the club would like to go harry McKay with that pick , 200cm v quick left footed key fwd that plays high up ground and bolts back to goal ...good mark as well but better in a bit of space as v light

With any picks in teens we have local lads
Milera - outside mid and dangerous fwd played well for centrals in finals and SA 18 champs
Bonner - best kick in draft left foot , 191cm half back mid west Adelaide

Tucker - all Australian u18 in bottom age year , Vic country , super quick , left foot half back 184cm , should be able to transition into midfield but has struggled a bit with that role at times and
looks most comfortable half back

The U/18 championship starts next week so I thought it was an opportune time to create this thread.

We've got some keen analysts on this board who have their finger on the pulse of the TAC Cup, SANFL juniors and the NAB U/18 championships and it's always interesting to hear their thoughts.

There's an article on afl.com.au highlighting some standout prospects

The talented 20

Here are the South Aussies they profile:

Aaron Francis
191cm/88kg
10/8/97
Key defender
South Australia/West Adelaide
Francis may be the first South Australian drafted this year. The jumping and marking tall defender had an excellent game for the NAB AFL Academy last month, when he took nine marks in the back half against Werribee. Although perhaps not quite big enough to hold down a key defensive spot at the next level, Francis' confidence in the air has seen him play several games at SANFL level already where he has acquitted himself well.

Will Snelling
177cm/68kg
6/8/97
Midfielder
South Australia/West Adelaide
The small midfielder has belied his size to play well at senior level in the SANFL so far this year. Snelling is smart and can find the ball, and dominated South Australia's under-18 trial game, when he booted three goals. He runs both ways as a midfielder and is happy to get back and help his defenders and then rush the ball forward. Expect him to have an impact for his state as it searches for its third consecutive division one title.

Saw this on Facebook...

You sure your not Damian Hardwick masquerading as DABM on Big Footy?

Richmond coach Damien Hardwick has said if first round draft picks play too much VFL early "they become a VFL player"

- SEN

Do you agree?

i dont get that.

playing in an sanfl grand final on sunday will hardly do snelling any harm at all. it didnt go any harm for adam cooney in 03.

how many players do we see plucked from pretty much obscurity in sanfl u/18 sides go on the have any sort of an afl career? some skinny kid gets picked up 40-60, chewed up, spat out and then go back home, and still don't make the senior sanfl side. in my view players should only be considered by afl clubs if they're good enough to play at least a few seniors games, but that can vary obviously.

Saw this on Facebook...

You sure your not Damian Hardwick masquerading as DABM on Big Footy?

Richmond coach Damien Hardwick has said if first round draft picks play too much VFL early "they become a VFL player"

- SEN

Do you agree?

Hardwick is thinking about his SC scores.

Brindy reminds me of Dane Swan both on and off field wise.

Surely Swan now? Not saying he's passed it cos if Pies won a few more matches I would've put him down as top 5 Brownlow easily but he's not as quick as he once was and not Swan prime?

Michael Hartley who has been reported to be on the AFC's radar in this draft as a mature age draftee capped of a stellar VFL season with sharing Coburg's B & F Award after earlier being named at Centre Half Back in the 2015 VFL Team Of The Year. Still prefer him to Michael Talia as KPD depth mainly due to his size, he's one big unit at 198cm and 102kegs.

http://coburgfc.com.au/best-and-fairest/

Pivotal Lions share Jim Sullivan Medal

John Lindon
  • September 23, 2015
12025390_10154265029799966_730798888_n1.jpg

Experienced midfielder Daniel Venditti clinched his third consecutive best and fairest award in a tie with highly-regarded defender Michael Hartley on Friday night.

Venditti, who played his 50th game for Coburg in 2015, again proved his importance with a consistent season that saw him among the Lions’ leading ball-winners in every game. The 28-year-old vice-captain also popped up to kick crucial goals and lead teammates by example around the ground and particularly with his contested work.

Venditti has now topped the best and fairest count in three of his five seasons at Coburg since joining from Western Australia and joins club legends Ray Jordan and Lawrie Bert as three-time winners of the award.

“I’m pretty blown away,” Venditti said.

“I got a new lease on life and footy since coming to Coburg. I was a new player in a new team and the rest took care of itself - I was grateful of the opportunity.

“I’m honoured with the chance that Germo and Leesy have given me. It’s the best club I’ve ever played with in terms of cultures and values.

“This year was good but I think we can go to something else next year.”

It is also the second consecutive year in which Venditti has shared the award. In 2014 he tied with future AFL draftee Adam Saad and, in 2015, we hope the same will soon be said about Hartley.

Hartley’s first Jim Sullivan award in his second season at the club was great reward for an outstanding season by one of Coburg’s most consistent players. His strong, reliable displays in the Lions defence also saw him named in the 2015 VFL team of the year at centre half back, invited to the AFL State Draft Combine for the second year running.

“Thanks to the footy club for getting me down,” Hartley said.

“I didn’t know what to expect and it’s turned out well. Thanks to Germo, Leesy and all the coaches. To all the boys, particularly the backline, I love running around with them.

“Thanks to my biggest supporters, mum and dad. They both live in Western Sydney and drive up and back to watch me play every week.”

After an injury-plagued stint as a rookie at Collingwood in 2013, Hartley’s standout form has him firmly back on the radar of AFL selectors.

Venditti jumped out to an early lead but Hartley stormed home in the back half of the season as the count finished with each player polling 32 votes each.

Ozgur Uysal – who also earned a spot in the VFL team of the year as an on-baller – finished second to claim the Brad Nimmo Second Place Trophy with 27 votes. The young midfielder’s ball-winning abilities and poise under pressure has seen him attract attention at AFL level.

I set myself the goal this season of finishing in the top three in the best and fairest and I’m glad to have achieved that,” Uysal said.

“Well done to Daniel and Michael for their awards, thanks to Peter German and all the coaches and thanks to my family for all their support.”

Leadership member and consistent contributor Ben Clifton came third with 25 votes to win the Vin Taranto Third Place Trophy while impressive rebounding defender Robbie Fox and hard-running midfielder Jordy Williams rounded out the top five.

Hartley and Uysal earn Team of the Year honours

• September 8, 2015
UysalHarts.jpg

Michael Hartley and Ozgur Uysal have both won selections in the 2015 Peter Jackson VFL Team of the Year. Hartley was named at centre half back whilst Uysal earned his place as rover.

Hartley, 22, enjoys his first selection in the team of the year following an outstanding season keeping the league's best key forwards goalless including fantastic games against opponents Liam McBean and Tom Boyd that saw Hartley awarded with five votes in the JJ Liston Medal count from the matches against Footscray and Richmond.

Uysal, 23, further stamped his authority in 2015 and won back-to-back VFL team of the Year honours after another fantastic year breaking the lines in the centre square. Uysal's second nomination in the squad has him now firmly etched amongst the elite of the competition.

Michael Hartley who has been reported to be on the AFC's radar in this draft as a mature age draftee capped of a stellar VFL season with sharing Coburg's B & F Award after earlier being named at Centre Half Back in the 2015 VFL Team Of The Year. Still prefer him to Michael Talia as KPD depth mainly due to his size, he's one big unit at 198cm and 102kegs.

http://coburgfc.com.au/best-and-fairest/

Pivotal Lions share Jim Sullivan Medal

John Lindon
  • September 23, 2015
12025390_10154265029799966_730798888_n1.jpg

Experienced midfielder Daniel Venditti clinched his third consecutive best and fairest award in a tie with highly-regarded defender Michael Hartley on Friday night.

Venditti, who played his 50th game for Coburg in 2015, again proved his importance with a consistent season that saw him among the Lions’ leading ball-winners in every game. The 28-year-old vice-captain also popped up to kick crucial goals and lead teammates by example around the ground and particularly with his contested work.

Venditti has now topped the best and fairest count in three of his five seasons at Coburg since joining from Western Australia and joins club legends Ray Jordan and Lawrie Bert as three-time winners of the award.

“I’m pretty blown away,” Venditti said.

“I got a new lease on life and footy since coming to Coburg. I was a new player in a new team and the rest took care of itself - I was grateful of the opportunity.

“I’m honoured with the chance that Germo and Leesy have given me. It’s the best club I’ve ever played with in terms of cultures and values.

“This year was good but I think we can go to something else next year.”

It is also the second consecutive year in which Venditti has shared the award. In 2014 he tied with future AFL draftee Adam Saad and, in 2015, we hope the same will soon be said about Hartley.

Hartley’s first Jim Sullivan award in his second season at the club was great reward for an outstanding season by one of Coburg’s most consistent players. His strong, reliable displays in the Lions defence also saw him named in the 2015 VFL team of the year at centre half back, invited to the AFL State Draft Combine for the second year running.

“Thanks to the footy club for getting me down,” Hartley said.

“I didn’t know what to expect and it’s turned out well. Thanks to Germo, Leesy and all the coaches. To all the boys, particularly the backline, I love running around with them.

“Thanks to my biggest supporters, mum and dad. They both live in Western Sydney and drive up and back to watch me play every week.”

After an injury-plagued stint as a rookie at Collingwood in 2013, Hartley’s standout form has him firmly back on the radar of AFL selectors.

Venditti jumped out to an early lead but Hartley stormed home in the back half of the season as the count finished with each player polling 32 votes each.

Ozgur Uysal – who also earned a spot in the VFL team of the year as an on-baller – finished second to claim the Brad Nimmo Second Place Trophy with 27 votes. The young midfielder’s ball-winning abilities and poise under pressure has seen him attract attention at AFL level.

I set myself the goal this season of finishing in the top three in the best and fairest and I’m glad to have achieved that,” Uysal said.

“Well done to Daniel and Michael for their awards, thanks to Peter German and all the coaches and thanks to my family for all their support.”

Leadership member and consistent contributor Ben Clifton came third with 25 votes to win the Vin Taranto Third Place Trophy while impressive rebounding defender Robbie Fox and hard-running midfielder Jordy Williams rounded out the top five.

Hartley and Uysal earn Team of the Year honours

• September 8, 2015
UysalHarts.jpg

Michael Hartley and Ozgur Uysal have both won selections in the 2015 Peter Jackson VFL Team of the Year. Hartley was named at centre half back whilst Uysal earned his place as rover.

Hartley, 22, enjoys his first selection in the team of the year following an outstanding season keeping the league's best key forwards goalless including fantastic games against opponents Liam McBean and Tom Boyd that saw Hartley awarded with five votes in the JJ Liston Medal count from the matches against Footscray and Richmond.

Uysal, 23, further stamped his authority in 2015 and won back-to-back VFL team of the Year honours after another fantastic year breaking the lines in the centre square. Uysal's second nomination in the squad has him now firmly etched amongst the elite of the competition.
There goes chances of getting that done quietly

Great height !!

Speaking to a melb based recruiter I know who reckons milera is the real bolter in this draft , wasn't as bullish on Bonner - said his defending and contested work is poor and does his own thing on a football field and not necessarily his role . Said his kicking looks great but surprisingly
misses targets . Also said that he has height , athleticism combo that will attract clubs so not ruling him out to be a good player but compared him to McKenzie of GC ie looks good but not doesn't do the non negotiables always

Also said was disappointed in tuckers season as didn't perform in champs and also lacked the grunt when given opportunity in midfield as was expecting easy ball on outside all the time - but I'm thinking maybe thats exactly what we need

So I think if we get pick 9 we will take H McKay and pick in teens we will go for milera if available as according to him has 'Shaun burgoyne' traits but doesnt win as much ball

The other interesting one is ah chee from WA - different player than his brother at port , a v dangerous small forward who takes marks as a forward and is super quick running under 2.9s in 20m sprint . Has scope to play outside mid but hasn't quite proved it yet. Is prob top 3 or 4 on talent in draft has played well in wafl seniors at end of season and also against VFL teams for AIS where he took that massive hanger which would have won mark of year if in AFL

Someone else will get Hartley. [emoji34] but a monster sized defender like him is gonna be vital with 199cm blokes like Daniher Dixon etc developing as key forwards

Hey Crows fans, I'd like to here your opinion on what types of players and what attributes you need to target at the draft.
Did you watch us play hawthorn ?

Outside mids with a bit of speed that can kick, defend and tackle

Maybe some key position to reinforce that both defence and attack

If by chance we end up with 2 first round picks I've been doing a bit of research and I reckon Ryan Clarke's worth some serious consideration as a player that could go some way towards replacing Dangerfield, ticks most boxes. I'd use the other on Tucker or Bonner with the hope of allowing their drafting to eventually allow Brodie Smith into the midfield?? I think it was you I saw ask about highlights of guys in this years draft?? Go here...https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIjRjvHFnVYm6OtdD1C9n2Q

Knightmare's bio.

Ryan Clarke (VIC – MID/FWD)
Height: 186cm, Weight: 84kg, DOB: 17/06/1997
Recruited from: Eastern Ranges
Reminds me of: Stephen Hill
Best position/role: Midfielder (outside leaning) who can rotate forward.Strengths: Pace/athleticism/endurance – Clarke is an excellent athlete overall. He runs a 3 second 20m sprint. Has excellent agility and excellent endurance with this evidenced by his 15+ beep test score, and you can really see out on the field how easily and quickly he covers the ground.
Pace/ability to take on the game – Clarke has excellent pace but even more critically excellent ability to use that pace in game. When he has the ball in hand and some space in front of him he can really provide meaningful run at speed with ball in hand.
Evasiveness – Clarke has some nice evasive moves to him and can dodge and weave tackles easily. He has excellent anticipation, and is quick on his feet, but also quick of mind. He can both in general play avoid would-be tacklers, and also at high speeds he also has the ability to turn or stop on a dime or change direction to avoid tacklers.
Footskills/vision/decision making – Clarke has a nice 55m kick on him and displays some real hurt factor by foot. He is an excellent kick in general play when running at full speed, he can hit his targets in general play and also out of stoppages has the ability to find and hit long targets up the field.
Scoreboard impact – Clarke has through the TAC Cup averaged more than a goal a game this season. He is an excellent finisher on goal and can kick goals from as far as 55m. He can kick highlight reel goals running through the centre and kicking long on the run from outside 50m or from the impossible positions, but then also convert from set shots.
Tackling pressure – Clarke provides excellent tackling pressure and some real tackling energy around the ball. He also is an excellent chase-down tackler and can provide some highlight-reel type tackles that can really lift the energy of his team.
Marking ability – Clarke is a strong, clean and capable mark overhead. He is more someone who will take marks in space on the outside or in the forward 50 uncontested.
Production – Clarke has achieved some excellent numbers through the TAC Cup this season. And it’s unusual for such a damaging player with his running ability to find several 30+ disposal games, and manage to average more than a goal a game.
Improvement – Also incredibly impressive with Clarke has been his rate of improvement. This year he has from round one come back to the TAC Cup a dominant footballer after having only played the one game early last season in which he was quiet, with his testing numbers also reported also a substantial step up from where he was at back in 2014.
Questionmarks:Contested ball winning ability – Clarke is a good but not great contested ball winner. He is more at this stage a receiver who will get on the end of someone else’s hard work on the inside rather than be the guy who does the grunt work himself.
Summary:Clarke has the ability to be a 200 game player at the next level and provide meaningful run, production, class and hurt factor through a midfield. Clarke is good enough to receive some senior games in his first season but most likely in season two becomes a regular.

Has had a great finals series. Leads from the front and has practically taken them to the granny with his midfield dominance. In finals he has averaged 25 disposals and kicked 5 goals. Hes a dangerfield replacement for sure.

Speaking to a melb based recruiter I know who reckons milera is the real bolter in this draft , wasn't as bullish on Bonner - said his defending and contested work is poor and does his own thing on a football field and not necessarily his role . Said his kicking looks great but surprisingly
misses targets . Also said that he has height , athleticism combo that will attract clubs so not ruling him out to be a good player but compared him to McKenzie of GC ie looks good but not doesn't do the non negotiables always

Also said was disappointed in tuckers season as didn't perform in champs and also lacked the grunt when given opportunity in midfield as was expecting easy ball on outside all the time - but I'm thinking maybe thats exactly what we need

So I think if we get pick 9 we will take H McKay and pick in teens we will go for milera if available as according to him has 'Shaun burgoyne' traits but doesnt win as much ball

The other interesting one is ah chee from WA - different player than his brother at port , a v dangerous small forward who takes marks as a forward and is super quick running under 2.9s in 20m sprint . Has scope to play outside mid but hasn't quite proved it yet. Is prob top 3 or 4 on talent in draft has played well in wafl seniors at end of season and also against VFL teams for AIS where he took that massive hanger which would have won mark of year if in AFL
Milera for me too. Moves nicely, quick thinker and has speed and disposal skill. Just what we want. Apparently doesn't get heaps of the football but they said that about Ablett as a junior too (no I'm not comparing him to Ablett).

Thought the same of Bonner, had heard he was 'almost the best kick in the draft' but if you watch his U18 highlights, he's constantly giving the ball away.

Can't see McKay going that early and be very surprised if we went for Ah Chee considering who we already have on our list.