Draft Watch

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

While i would love a win in the final H and A, we wont beat Port. We have a pick to lose, Port has players playing for their lives. That's the difference. Another key mid, and ruckman would be what i'm hoping for.

We will beat port I'm afraid. Cuz will take a jab and play and the boys will be up for it.

Really need the lions to win against the bombers.

Start making plans for pick 6 guys as Brown has all but assured we're going to finish second last.

Thanks Browny. Can't see this Bombers team coming back from 8 goals down at half time. Pick 6 looks to be ours. Atley or Gaff will do nicely.

Hope they're not tanking to get under our percentage and get pick 6 for themselves. Would still need a 200+ point turn from here till the end of next week. They could lose by 100 today, 100 next week (Bulldogs) and we'd still be able to beat Port by ~60 and finish 15th.

Reckon we're safe enough. 10% difference between us and the Bombers and the way the Power are giving the Dees a touch up I wouldn't exactly be putting us down as certain winners

So pick 6 it is.

GOOD to know we can go out and barrack next week without knowing we are dropping back two positions.

Atley or Gaff or Smith or Polec would be nice.

If GC don't sign 16 players I think those picks then turn into PSD picks correct?

If not and we have pick 2 behind WC we should throw some coin at Knights or Rischa and tell them to go in the PSD.

Knights is really the HFF we need and Rischatelli just continues to add to our midifeld depth.

2 more elite quality mids will ensure we have the best engine room in the game in 2-3 years. We want the best, not a very good one. I believe we are just about right in terms of stocks for talls, providing most of our young talls develop (i.e. post)
we need a lot better talls than we have i would take goreing ruck forward and very athletic will go top 10

1/ DAY (unlikely)
2/ ATLEY
3/ GAFF

MARTIN,COTCHIN,DELIDIO,ATLEY,FOLEY,COLLINS,CONNORS,EDWARDS,MORTON,JACKSON,

STARTING TO COME TOGETHER !

i think it will be gaff, but id prefer atley.

i think the draft will go:

1. swallow
2. bennell
3. day
4. atley
5. gorringe
6. gaff

I'm representing the Tigers in the mock again - so feel free to abuse me/ask questions - whatever here.

I've picked Polec at 6 - and there's a full write up in the thread on the D&T board. I understand it's a little bit left of centre - but I'm a huge wrap on the rangy midfield types.

Would not have taken Polec ahead of Smith or Gaff imo.

If we can get one of Smith/Gaff or Atley and then best available at our second pick, I would go after Myles Sewell with our 3rd rounder if available. He will be Barlowesk at AFL level and would mean we inject two guns into our midfield if it pays off.

Would not have taken Polec ahead of Smith or Gaff imo.

Yeah - but why?

Polec's got the best disposal of the three - and in my opinion he just shaded Smith.

I see more upside in Polec than Gaff.

If I get a few people thinking with this initial mock then I've done my job. My second mock will be much more needs oriented.

Put it this way - if Gorringe was there at 6 I was grabbing him.

I think Gaff's disposal is just as good but he finds the ball alot more. Polec is a risky top 10 pick imo, where as Smith and Gaff are more sure things. Finding the ball is a very underrated talent.

Gorringe is a gun, but I have a problem with taking ruckman in the top 10. Never wanted Vickery at 8. I think you get just as good a player late in the draft or as a rookie, as they take a long time to develop.

Just my opinion.

Smith has Judd like break away speed and Gaff is just a good all rounder that will run all day, plus a very professional mentality already.

Good job TFLUA. I agree with you regarding Polec's hurt factor. Doesn't need a whole lot of it to really flip a game on it head. He keeps getting mentioned in the bests in the SANFL for the WWT which can only be a good thing.

I think Gaff's disposal is just as good but he finds the ball alot more. Polec is a risky top 10 pick imo, where as Smith and Gaff are more sure things. Finding the ball is a very underrated talent.

Gorringe is a gun, but I have a problem with taking ruckman in the top 10. Never wanted Vickery at 8. I think you get just as good a player late in the draft or as a rookie, as they take a long time to develop.

Just my opinion.

Smith has Judd like break away speed and Gaff is just a good all rounder that will run all day, plus a very professional mentality already.

Gaff's disposal is nowhere near Polec's in my opinion.

In the first mock I just take talent - the best kids go - and I may well be playing ducks and drakes - what I take now won't necessarily be what I take in the second mock.

Smith's breakaway speed makes him a great prospect, but Polec has a great weave and hits targets with precision.

Yeah - but why?

Polec's got the best disposal of the three - and in my opinion he just shaded Smith.

I see more upside in Polec than Gaff.

If I get a few people thinking with this initial mock then I've done my job. My second mock will be much more needs oriented.

Put it this way - if Gorringe was there at 6 I was grabbing him.

Thanks for that TFLUA, I will look at drafts board.
Statement above: Are you taking into account what Harwick and co are saying ie. Outside mid is #1 preference? Also, over the last few years we have tended to grab local players who we watch a lot of; Cotchin, Martin, Vickery, Griffiths, Post etc.
I think you need to factor this in to the equation... I would think the 'safe' bet of Atley or Gaff is what Cameron would be thinking..
Thoughts?

I'm representing the Tigers in the mock again - so feel free to abuse me/ask questions - whatever here.

I've picked Polec at 6 - and there's a full write up in the thread on the D&T board. I understand it's a little bit left of centre - but I'm a huge wrap on the rangy midfield types.

With all due respect that sounds like the kind of mentality that landed us with Aaron Fiora and JON. However TFLUA you have a pretty good record of spotting talent so will be intersting to see how Polec turns out. Incidently I have heard Polec does have a bit of an attitude problem. Have you heard anything about this?

For me it's one of Gaff, Gorringe or Atley although I would definately consider Polec if we had a pick a little lower than 6.

While I think midfield is our most pressing need Gorringe could be a star. Sounds a little like Mitch Clarke. Could go forward or play ruck. At the moment JR is our only certaintity to make it as a key forward. Still picking a ruckman/forward is probably not on our agenda considering we spent pick 8 on Vickery a couple of years ago.

I've been thinking about it a bit and from my limited knowledge I wouldn't be surprised if we pick Gaff. I reckon Atley might be gone, West Coast need quick, outside mids like us and he's probably their best bet.

Gaff is an accurate but not penetrating short-medium kick. Racks up lots of the ball and looks a great linkman type. He has a great attitude towards his footy and he might not even get tags but if he does he would break them. Would nearly top off our midfield. Also our turnovers are our biggest problem IMO and they mainly come from trying to pin point passes through zones like all young teams. Look at players like Connors, great long pass but shaky short pass. Even Dustin Martin who's praised for his kicking turns it over a bit with short passes but is a great long kick. Gaff would help in this area.

In saying that, I want Atley as my 1st preference but from my limited knowledge of this years draft I think he might be gone and I wouldn't be too upset or even surprised if we pick Gaff next. He's looks a safe bet and we can't afford any of these 1st round picks to fail in the coming couple compromised drafts with the state of our list IMO. Another reason why I think we might go with him over someone liked a Polec or a Smith. They seem more upside but more riskier types. But hey, if Gaff turns out as good as Luke Power or Scott Pendlebury (comparision on D/T board) I won't be too upset.

TFLUA - nice write up on Polec on the DT board. Sounds like there is a bit of Nicky Dal about him? Obviously would fit in well if that's the case. Also think your tactic of throwing some names out there is a good one.

All of a sudden things are looking good for us with pick 6. A few more options that the recruiters will no doubt be glad of.

Thanks for that TFLUA, I will look at drafts board.
Statement above: Are you taking into account what Harwick and co are saying ie. Outside mid is #1 preference? Also, over the last few years we have tended to grab local players who we watch a lot of; Cotchin, Martin, Vickery, Griffiths, Post etc.
I think you need to factor this in to the equation... I would think the 'safe' bet of Atley or Gaff is what Cameron would be thinking..
Thoughts?

I've tried to make it pretty clear that what I do now won't be what I'll do in the Official Mock at the end of the year - I won't be taking the clubs needs into account at this point. If I was, Gorringe would not be on the radar at 6.

Also TFLUA I'm interested to hear how you rate Harper in the scheme of things?

Much like Polec I suspect in that the hurt factor is huge with the ball in hand - he's all style and elegance, and doesn't have Gaff's ability to cover so much of the ground, nor does he get as much of the ball. It's those kids with impressive outside games that I'm looking at early, especially in this first mock.

I see Harper as eventually translating into an outside midfielder or wingman - but starting at AFL as a HFF. Put it this way - I have him behind Atley, Polec, Smith, Gaff and Caddy. I'd have him in the 8-14 region.

With all due respect that sounds like the kind of mentality that landed us with Aaron Fiora and JON. However TFLUA you have a pretty good record of spotting talent so will be intersting to see how Polec turns out. Incidently I have heard Polec does have a bit of an attitude problem. Have you heard anything about this?

For me it's one of Gaff, Gorringe or Atley although I would definately consider Polec if we had a pick a little lower than 6.

While I think midfield is our most pressing need Gorringe could be a star. Sounds a little like Mitch Clarke. Could go forward or play ruck. At the moment JR is our only certaintity to make it as a key forward. Still picking a ruckman/forward is probably not on our agenda considering we spent pick 8 on Vickery a couple of years ago.

Like I said before - Gorringe would not be on the radar if I was to consider what the club was to do - but at the moment that's not at all my concern - I'm putting names out there and pulling the trigger on guys with the most upside or the guys with aspects of their game that attract me the most.

Polec would be a lot closer to Fiora than JON - but his awareness is better than both. His kicking absolutely is on a completely different level than JON's.

I'm not discounting that there's a lot of risk in the Polec decision - but at this early stage (it's the first of two mocks) I'm happy to shake up people's opinions a bit, and take the best guy OFFENSIVELY who was still available.

I have heard little about poor work ethic from Polec; more about him placing himself on a higher pedestal than us regular folks. It's not irregular to hear these kind of rumblings about lots of draft prospects. I don't think it's of too much concern as long as it doesn't affect his work ethic.

To put it into perspective - Jack Reiwoldt had an ego the size of China at a similar age, but he was so eager and desperate to make it as an AFL player that he's one of the hardest workers on our list.

I've been thinking about it a bit and from my limited knowledge I wouldn't be surprised if we pick Gaff. I reckon Atley might be gone, West Coast need quick, outside mids like us and he's probably their best bet.

Gaff is an accurate but not penetrating short-medium kick. Racks up lots of the ball and looks a great linkman type. He has a great attitude towards his footy and he might not even get tags but if he does he would break them. Would nearly top off our midfield. Also our turnovers are our biggest problem IMO and they mainly come from trying to pin point passes through zones like all young teams. Look at players like Connors, great long pass but shaky short pass. Even Dustin Martin who's praised for his kicking turns it over a bit with short passes but is a great long kick. Gaff would help in this area.

In saying that, I want Atley as my 1st preference but from my limited knowledge of this years draft I think he might be gone and I wouldn't be too upset or even surprised if we pick Gaff next. He's looks a safe bet and we can't afford any of these 1st round picks to fail in the coming couple compromised drafts with the state of our list IMO. Another reason why I think we might go with him over someone liked a Polec or a Smith. They seem more upside but more riskier types. But hey, if Gaff turns out as good as Luke Power or Scott Pendlebury (comparision on D/T board) I won't be too upset.

I think this a terrific post Barnzy.

There's a huge risk factor with Polec and Smith - but that translates to a higher level of upside. In saying that, you've got to take into consideration where the list is at and whether we can afford to take such a risk.

I'll be making those considerations and decisions in the Mock to take place in October/November, but not now, because I'm solely putting some names out there and trying to write up players abilities - so we've all got a bit of a better idea about what each player offers.

In the second draft - someone like Gaff certainly becomes much more of a consideration for he gives the Tigers a gut runner - and his lack of footspeed isn't too much of an issue in our midfield.

Just imagine as if I'm not selecting for the Tigers at this early stage, because in my opinion i'm not. I certainly will in the second mock.

I'd like to state that the Pendlebury comparison (well how i perceived it anyway) was more about his potential to be an outside player at first, and develop more of an inside game later. I don't think he has the class, nor the quality disposal of Pendlebury; but there's a few likenesses.

Pinpointing player comparisons is a very imprecise science.

TFLUA - nice write up on Polec on the DT board. Sounds like there is a bit of Nicky Dal about him? Obviously would fit in well if that's the case. Also think your tactic of throwing some names out there is a good one.

All of a sudden things are looking good for us with pick 6. A few more options that the recruiters will no doubt be glad of.

Thanks mate.

I certainly think he has elements of Dal Santo about him - but by no means is he a clone.

Much like Polec I suspect in that the hurt factor is huge with the ball in hand - he's all style and elegance, and doesn't have Gaff's ability to cover so much of the ground, nor does he get as much of the ball. It's those kids with impressive outside games that I'm looking at early, especially in this first mock.

I see Harper as eventually translating into an outside midfielder or wingman - but starting at AFL as a HFF. Put it this way - I have him behind Atley, Polec, Smith, Gaff and Caddy. I'd have him in the 8-14 region.

I have him very close to Polec because of his hip injury at the start of the year I believe he hasn't been able to build that fitness base to be able to do the points highlighted above. If we are talking about upside and offensive hurt factor I think he is right up there. Once he get's a full pre-season he will be a game breaker IMO.

Just my opinion though and not a knock on you selecting Polec by any means.

Are there any 'Dangerfields' in this draft? Really like the way he goes about his footy.

As far as a big bodied midfielder with exquisite speed and amazing skills overhead go - there's not too many of them in the AFL - let alone in this draft.