Draft whispers, rumours & scuttlebut

Which player touted as a Top 10 pick about 12 months ago has slid so far down the rankings, he might be heading to the rookie draft?

I can think of at least three clubs he would be unhappy to play for, maybe even five.
Certainly Brisbane, Carlton and Essendon. + maybe GC and Melbourne.
So basically you don't have any inside info and are just offering up your opinion.

He and his family are massive Essendon fans and he has also talked about Hird, Lloyd and Goddard as who he models his game on. So no problems there.

He also talked about moving to Brisbane in the past to play footy (can't remember exact context).

So basically you don't have any inside info and are just offering up your opinion.

He and his family are massive Essendon fans and he has also talked about Hird, Lloyd and Goddard as who he models his game on. So no problems there.

He also talked about moving to Brisbane in the past to play footy (can't remember exact context).
He's brother was a massive Lions Supporter and gave his family stick over the 2001 AFL grand Final

his brother supported brissy, and his brother wanted him to be drafted to brisbane and he'd move up there with him and become a butcher. IIRC.

He's brother was a massive Lions Supporter and gave his family stick over the 2001 AFL grand Final
his brother supported brissy, and his brother wanted him to be drafted to brisbane and he'd move up there with him and become a butcher. IIRC.
Ah yes, I remember now. Very sad story indeed.

Well a basic jist of what he sais is that he grew up loving hird and lloyd, recent years loved watching goddard and hodge play and models his game on them, and when questioned about who he supports he sais he's a massive essendon supporter.

Last season we get laverde and langford who were both essendon supporters, some even suggest laverde tanked his interviews to get to us- he even trained with hooker before being drafted..

I think to suggest he would be unhappy to play for us on exposed knowledge is farcical, unless you have some info I don't have.

Recent years have suggested dodoro loves drafting players who are bombers supporters aswell..
Fair enough. Personally I think the bloke is a gun and the clear stand out of the draft along with Weitering. If you get him then that will be huge value imo

Certainly Brisbane, Carlton and Essendon. + maybe GC and Melbourne.
Rubbish.
He is happy to go to Essendon or Brisbane. After speaking to someone very close to him on the weekend that is still the case. He is concerned that there has been some negative stuff reported about him wanting to stay in Adelaide and because of this he feels he may slip down the draft order a bit

Rubbish.
He is happy to go to Essendon or Brisbane. After speaking to someone very close to him on the weekend that is still the case. He is concerned that there has been some negative stuff reported about him wanting to stay in Adelaide and because of this he feels he may slip down the draft order a bit
Back-pedalling in 3 2 1...

Rubbish.
Good, hopefully slides to pick 9

Callum Twomey believes Gold Coast will bid on Hipwood at 8

They'd be mad not to....Kids a ripper.:thumbsu:

Also....If Melbourne don't bid pick 3 for Hopper, then you just know they've done a deal with GWS.

Hopefully they'll bid 3 for Mills & the Bombers 4 & 5 for Hopper/Kennedy to keep GWS & Sydney honest.

Keays around the 12-15 mark is fair imo.

AFL needs to do something feel for your club and it's supporters.

What is happening at the Lions is purely internal and nothing to do with "go home" factor. It may be thrown around as a reason but there is something fundamentally broken at the Lions that needs to get resolved.

Now let's get back to the thread at hand.

Don't want us to use 4 or 5 on a bloke who will piss off home after 2 years.
68532.jpg

Nice avatar btw.
Yes but Francis didn't say he wanted to stay in SA. Don't think he would do an Aish if he were to end up at Essendon.

You're all ignoring how massive the impact of his brother's death has been on his family.

Sure, he liked Hird and when his brother was alive they talked about Brisbane. But all of that has changed and the impact on his family was huge.

Rubbish.

Slipping down the draft order actually gets you to a decent team and doesn't mean anything. He should be hoping for it.

I think who players barracked for as kids has become very irrelevant in this professional era. Essendon are still clouded by ASADA, have been a bit of a mess off the park for the last decade, and are going to have a weak team for at least the next 3 seasons. They are not a powerhouse anymore and would be in the bottom half of Vic clubs with ordinary short-mid term prospects. I can't see a non-local being all that happy about being drafted by them even if he did support them as a kid. And I couldn't get the interview to work but I'd take whatever he said in it with a grain of salt. These days players don't say anything of not. He's probably already had some media training.
I think you are speaking uninformed rubbish. In most cases a kid will be happy to land at a Victorian club. Asana will be done one way or another by the start of next year.

Slipping down the draft order actually gets you to a decent team and doesn't mean anything. He should be hoping for it.
Depends who you say the decent team is.
If you mean hawthorn or a Richmond fair enough.
Adelaide have lost their superstar and will struggle to maintain their position I reckon.

If he is bid on early enough, then it'll take your first 3 picks to match it.:)

Also...It's looking increasingly likely that Dunkley won't be nominating Sydney as a preference.
Thats fine. Dont want a kid who A. Doesnt want to play for us B. Plays a position that is surplus to our needs.

Brett Anderson has us taking Mills @ 3, Mitch Brown (ex cat) @ 48 and Daniel Houston as a project forward @ 58. Id be very happy with that outcome.

Well a basic jist of what he sais is that he grew up loving hird and lloyd, recent years loved watching goddard and hodge play and models his game on them, and when questioned about who he supports he sais he's a massive essendon supporter.

Last season we get laverde and langford who were both essendon supporters, some even suggest laverde tanked his interviews to get to us- he even trained with hooker before being drafted..

I think to suggest he would be unhappy to play for us on exposed knowledge is farcical, unless you have some info I don't have.

Recent years have suggested dodoro loves drafting players who are bombers supporters aswell..
Pretty sure Langford didn't support the bombers pre draft.