Toast Drew Petrie Appreciation Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Scotland

Mcinnis isn't as strong in contests against guys his size or bigger. He is a decent chop out but he would have been killed by martin today. Martin got a ton of hit outs but his hitouts were average and his trade mark around the ground stuff was missing. Credit has to go to petrie. He did what was needed form a bloke that you expect to gets smashed in the hitouts. He has 10 contested possessions, 4 clearances, 9 one percenters and 8 tackles.

consistently second to the ball anyone could have done that even ezy

Rubbish.

He plays in the WAFL. The potentail is on display there. And he has played for us at times as well.

That you are drunk I believe to be true. However because it's on Drew mistakes, well that is a lie. He had one blunder.

Given your thought process on Drew leading into the game, he could have 25 possession 4 goal game and you would still say he is hopeless.

You despise him because he is keeping out Fraser (lol) and is Simmos mate. That much is fair.

His games have simply not warranted you teeing off on him, a blind drunk can see this.
Nothing wrong with being a drunk. We actually have a thread dedicated for us drunks.

Rubbish.

He plays in the WAFL. The potentail is on display there. And he has played for us at times as well.

That you are drunk I believe to be true. However because it's on Drew mistakes, well that is a lie. He had one blunder.

Given your thought process on Drew leading into the game, he could have 25 possession 4 goal game and you would still say he is hopeless.

You despise him because he is keeping out Fraser (lol) and is Simmos mate. That much is fair.

His games have simply not warranted you teeing off on him, a blind drunk can see this.

watch without the blinkers

No offense but it seems you saw a different game than everyone else.
He was tanked....

Well at least he says he was.

I'd wager he was well on his way before the game started, honestly.

watch without the blinkers

giphy.gif

consistently second to the ball anyone could have done that even ezy
yeah no. He knew he was going to lose in the air, he nullified the damage on the ground. Lets be honest, we all froth when NN does the dirty work with his tackles and one percenters. Petrie may not be as good as NN in thats regards but he played a similar game.

new he was going to lose ill concede that

got smashed in the ruck today by a younging cant play the role he was recruited for tries his hardest which is pathetic takes the spot of a young guy preventing their development cant wait til he goes we will be a stronger club for it
You are a fair dinkum idiot

new he was going to lose ill concede that
Pretty sure simmo and mc all knew that once vardy wasn't fit.There's no one on our list left that would get close to beating martin in the ruck.

but his potential is the unknown petries is and its pretty pathetic, at the pub today we had a drinking game every time petrie stuffed up or was just hopeless, lets just say im glad i wasnt driving.
oh i dont like simmo gifting games to his mates let them earn it on form petrie hasnt had to do that once
Yeah, you totally did that [emoji57]

Pretty crazy how the majority of the board were dead against his recruitment (myself included), and now he's a massive favourite bar the odd poster or 2.

Wouldn't be against a 2nd year on the rookie list for old Drewy. Shows a ton of heart and always competes. Certainly offers the list more than Giles as backup for both Nic and JK.

Week in week out this bloke shows his value. He is shaping up to being one of our best recruits of the year. There is a part of me that wants to keep him on next year, even if it means playing in the WAFL. I know that's a big call, and probably best if he does retire but he does show desire and heart when paying... something that some of our young boys don't have.

Pretty crazy how the majority of the board were dead against his recruitment (myself included), and now he's a massive favourite bar the odd poster or 2.

Wouldn't be against a 2nd year on the rookie list for old Drewy. Shows a ton of heart and always competes. Certainly offers the list more than Giles as backup for both Nic and JK.

Yep. I was against it, given his age and form last year, became resigned to it when it happened. When he kicked that goal in Round 1 vs Norf and the boys all got around him, and we later found out he played with a broken hand well ... ALL HAIL THE DISH!!! :thumbsu:

ghost82 sorry to hear that Petrie stole your lunch money but that has nothing to do with his footballing ability. He has been good for us this year, it's not a subjective matter.

If he wanted to stay I would 100% give him another year.

its funny the eagles circles ive spoken to about him the majority dont like him yet on here he seems to have earned unconditional love by some posters, i'd say its definitely subjective. but as long as our best rucks are out its a moot point simmo will play him

Its not like there is anyone that can come in for him. Giles is old and delist material. McInness is a forward who rucks part time and will probably be gone this year too.

For a guy in his mid-30s who's played 300+ games it'd be very easy for him to just run around and pick up a paycheque but his efforts on the field put some of his younger teammates to shame.

Prime example on the weekend was when he was last man back in defence and got a hand on a ball to rush a behind. Think it was in the second quarter? Goal umpire called for a review, pretty unnecessarily.

I was against his recruitment but he's done as much as could've been expected and been a massive gain for us given the number of talls whove been unavailable during the year.

If people think he's just getting a game because he's Simpson's former teammate then I'm not sure what they've been watching.

Week in week out Petrie proves his worth.
Has more ticker and gumption than a lot of the other guy's wearing the jumper.
I would not be adverse to giving him another year, in fact I think he actually deserves it if he thinks he can go again.

For people that think he is taking up a younger players spot, is an over the hill hack and is just getting games because he is the coaches mate.......
Go have a look at the club that delisted him for these reasons.

Petrie has given it his all since moving here and has held his spot in the team on merit given what is available. He is not picked because he is "Simmo's mate". Sure, if NN and Lycett were fit, he wouldn't be playing but they aren't and he offers a hell of a lot more than Giles and McInnes. The guy has been an absolute champion in his efforts since coming to WC.

I have mixed views on keeping him on the list as a rookie, even though I was advocating it earlier in the year. I think he would be great back up given how fragile our big men are. However, I wonder if we should be looking to rookie some longer term depth given we are transitioning some of the older players out. Whilst I would be happy if he was given another year, it may not be the best list management idea. But that may also depend on how many we turn over on our list and who is available.

Anyone who questions what this guy has done for us this year has rocks in their head. He's been fantastic and his attack on the footy, presence around the ground and efforts in the ruck have been far better than we could have expected. He's shown all of our players what intent looks like. Whether he plays another year, he's been incredible for us.

For a guy in his mid-30s who's played 300+ games it'd be very easy for him to just run around and pick up a paycheque but his efforts on the field put some of his younger teammates to shame.

Prime example on the weekend was when he was last man back in defence and got a hand on a ball to rush a behind. Think it was in the second quarter? Goal umpire called for a review, pretty unnecessarily.

I was against his recruitment but he's done as much as could've been expected and been a massive gain for us given the number of talls whove been unavailable during the year.

If people think he's just getting a game because he's Simpson's former teammate then I'm not sure what they've been watching.

Very much this for me.

And I would rather we took Petrie into next season ahead of McInnes or Giles.

I cant speak highly enough of how much effort, desire and intent Petrie has bought to every Eagles game.

Love the way he throws his body around game day and puts in 100 %.

Seen him live at training several times and he trains flat out and is such a great voice on the training track encouraging and directing, the consummate team player.

Anyone who questions what this guy has done for us this year has rocks in their head. He's been fantastic and his attack on the footy, presence around the ground and efforts in the ruck have been far better than we could have expected. He's shown all of our players what intent looks like. Whether he plays another year, he's been incredible for us.

or just realistic. facial expressions obviously impress you they dont actually mean output