ripitup27

The Chapman Express
On the back of the investigation into the AFL drinking culture, I was wondering if there's a few of us who have drinking problems but don't realise it.

Do I?

Last week's alco beverages included:

-1 beer at lunch on Thursday
-3 beers after sport Thursday night
-12 beers, 2 cups of punch, few sips of bourbon from a hip flask at a Friday night party.

That's it. I probably used to go a little harder a few years ago but now I just can't. The above isn't a regular occurence but it might happen two times a month. Is that a problem? What's a problem?

I keep telling myself I'll stop doing it but I never do. It's just the social aspect of it that gets me. What's your experiences?

On the back of the investigation into the AFL drinking culture, I was wondering if there's a few of us who have drinking problems but don't realise it.

Do I?

Last week's alco beverages included:

-1 beer at lunch on Thursday
-3 beers after sport Thursday night
-12 beers, 2 cups of punch, few sips of bourbon from a hip flask at a Friday night party.

That's it. I probably used to go a little harder a few years ago but now I just can't. The above isn't a regular occurence but it might happen two times a month. Is that a problem? What's a problem?

I keep telling myself I'll stop doing it but I never do. It's just the social aspect of it that gets me. What's your experiences?

I don't think you've got anything to worry about there rip. I think you're week is pretty standard, its not like you are hitting it hard every day.

True, but do we just accept that what I do is standard without realising it's actually pretty bad? I just think maybe our standards have been lowered.

Well, I am just judging by my own experience... late teens/uni days I was punishing myself 4-5 times a week because i lived in a co-ed College where everyone was between 18-23 and there was always something happening. (Hello to any ex-Aquinians out there! lol!) Today, its more like what you described... a few beers after footy/cricket/whatever, maybe a beer or wine with a meal and occasionally get hammered for special occasions such as birthdays/house warming/weddings etc..etc..

My hangovers can be terrible these days so drinking heavily isnt as much fun as it used to be when i could bounce up the next day and feel good as new. Don't enjoy wasting the day feeling like crap on the couch when i could be down the beach instead!

Well, I am just judging by my own experience... late teens/uni days I was punishing myself 4-5 times a week because i lived in a co-ed College where everyone was between 18-23 and there was always something happening. (Hello to any ex-Aquinians out there! lol!) Today, its more like what you described... a few beers after footy/cricket/whatever, maybe a beer or wine with a meal and occasionally get hammered for special occasions such as birthdays/house warming/weddings etc..etc..

My hangovers can be terrible these days so drinking heavily isnt as much fun as it used to be when i could bounce up the next day and feel good as new. Don't enjoy wasting the day feeling like crap on the couch when i could be down the beach instead!

Same mate, I've just finished uni and work full time, but when I started I could knock it down four times a week and feel fine. Once did a straight Bundy skoll of just under half the bottle and din't vomit or get too smashed for the rest of the night.

I mean I've cut back, but I think we could all cut back more...we just don't want to.

I have a drinking problem...

That's what people tell me at least because I don't drink at all.

(Waits for abuse.)

I've never really figured out why I don't drink, but it just doesn't appeal to me at all.

I'm 18, usually only drank once a month, if that. But I'd drink when ever the oppurtunity arose.

But once I hit 18 about 6 weeks ago, I managed to get invited to (not including my 18th), 3 18ths, a GF party and went to the Edgy on the last day of school.

Dont think I'd ever drank that much in a 6 week period, infact...definitely havent.

I think in the future I'll most likely only drink 1-2 times a week, depends how much you have though. If you're getting shitfaced twice a week it's probably not a good thing. But having a social drink 3-4 times a week isn't bad.

I remember reading a story about a guy who went through 20 slabs of Melbourne Bitter a week or something. That's a drinking problem. :p

The only reason I don't drink every day is because I cannot afford to do so. I love to drunk, but unfortunately it is restricted to fridays and saturdays and social occasions.

At the moment Ill have 2-3 glasses of wine maybe 3 or 4 nights a week and if we go out to dinner then ill have a couple of drinks as well.

Used to blow anywhere from $100-300/week on booze back in the clubbing days, but cant do that any more. Body doesnt like getting super drunk too often anymore.

Usually don't drink on Monday or Tuesday (I'll be doing my first tuesday in a while tomorrow) at any time and on average have about 2 beers on Wednesday night, 2 on Thursday, 4 on Friday and am out every saturday night whether it be town/party etc and would have anywhere between 8-20 drinks.

Probably average around 25 drinks a week give or take, 75% of which would be on a saturday night.

I will buy 1 cartons of beer and 2 six packs in the first week of the month and they usually last 3 and bit weeks.

Back in the day i was heading towards having a drinking problem going out with friends (one now is a full blown alcoholic) but that got knocked out of me real quick after a few stern words by the misses.

Only drink in moderation now, cannot remember the last time i got paralytic

I think as a society we drink too much.

When even (seemingly) intelligent, educated people like me drink to get drunk regularly (ie once per week), you know your country has a problem.

If I didn't have exams to study for, I would probably be drunk right now.

I will probably drink a fair bit tomorrow night to celebrate another successful exam or, failing that, will certainly get drunk on Wednesday whilst watching the election.

What is wrong with us?

I dont drink as much as I used to and I'm only 20 in years 16-19 I used to love getting hammered I sometimes still do but not as much.

I still like going out and having drinks with friends but I dont go out and blow all my pay on it these days. Id much prefer to spend some on drinks but have money to do other stuff as well.

I drink when I'm stressed and to self medicate anxious situations like a job interview or giving a presentation. Sometimes when I'm bored too.

I'm on the way to having a problem.

I enjoy a glass of wine or two of a night to relax. Im in temporary work at the moment so I get home from work @6pm and then spend 3hrs + working on job applications so I enjoy reading a book with a glass of red after that.
Howsever I don't go out much, limit my spirit intake and generally drink wine + beer.
Personally I don't think I have any form of problem despite my mates who get smashed EVERY weekend waving their fingers at me cause i enjoy a drink on a weeknight.
If it's not affecting you, your work or any of your relationships I wouldn't worry.

I used to drink nearly every day in a massive way
when I was at uni
Formed a band so we would get free drinks at our gigs
Now drink half a bottle of wine nearly 7 days a week.
Have a Cognac once a week

Well I'm only really just starting so get smashed or baked every weekend just about 10-12 beers + whatever Bundy or Jimmy is on offer. Even after 6 months we are starting to get over it, will start to pick up again when we can legally go clubbing. Stamp runs are just annoying and Shooters and Cocktails are average.

I think as a society we drink too much.

When even (seemingly) intelligent, educated people like me drink to get drunk regularly (ie once per week), you know your country has a problem.

If I didn't have exams to study for, I would probably be drunk right now.

I will probably drink a fair bit tomorrow night to celebrate another successful exam or, failing that, will certainly get drunk on Wednesday whilst watching the election.

What is wrong with us?

We're all bogans. :thumbsu: