Drinking Problems

• Thread starter Thread starter ripitup27

On the back of the investigation into the AFL drinking culture, I was wondering if there's a few of us who have drinking problems but don't realise it.

Do I?

Last week's alco beverages included:

-1 beer at lunch on Thursday
-3 beers after sport Thursday night
-12 beers, 2 cups of punch, few sips of bourbon from a hip flask at a Friday night party.

That's it. I probably used to go a little harder a few years ago but now I just can't. The above isn't a regular occurence but it might happen two times a month. Is that a problem? What's a problem?

I keep telling myself I'll stop doing it but I never do. It's just the social aspect of it that gets me. What's your experiences?

There's no set criteria (ie. volume/frequency) that equates to a drinking problem. If it's causing you problems, and you're unable to stop, then that'd be a fair indication.

There are some serious drinking problems on this thread :eek:, reading some of your posts blew me away. We obviously do have a serious drinking culture here in oz by the sounds of it.

I have a drinking problem...

That's what people tell me at least because I don't drink at all.

(Waits for abuse.)

I've never really figured out why I don't drink, but it just doesn't appeal to me at all.

I'm with you Nerfy, i don't see the need to use alcohol to have a good time. If people choose to drink within reason i've no problem with that.

The majority of it is social pressure and the effects that come with getting smashed. You lose your inhibitions and think you are king furuk. Others do just enjoy a glass of wine and know when to stop, that is the key.

Friday Night = 15+ Beers at Mates joint then pub.
Saturday Night = 25+ assorted beverages at cricket rooms/home.
Monday Night = 30+ assorted beverages at Resturant, Pub & Home. Ended 8.30 tuesday morning.

Problem much?

just sayin. i would say there is two classifications of problem drinkers.

7 day a week consistent drinkers who drink 10ish stubbies a day. Alcoholic.

2-3 day a week binge drinkers who pump units in all weekend. Bingers. (see above)

When someone turns 18 they normally get hammered every weekend.

Take a photo of them a year later and compare it to a photo taken when the said person turned 18 and notice the difference.

The said person will have gained quite a bit of weight and look quite bloated.

Always a good indicator of who has a drinking problem.

Friday Night = 15+ Beers at Mates joint then pub.
Saturday Night = 25+ assorted beverages at cricket rooms/home.
Monday Night = 30+ assorted beverages at Resturant, Pub & Home. Ended 8.30 tuesday morning.

Problem much?

No problem with that but didn't drink cup day or just couldn't???

I'm drinking right now, funny that. Anyway, I drink probably on average 3 nights a week, and very rarely go past drinking a 6 pack. A few years back, I could drink a slab with ease, times have changed, maturity and goals did the trick for me.

I try not to drink in the week, even when we go out Wednesdays. At the moment I usually just drink sat nights, maybe a couple(1 or 2) on fridays.

Weekends sometimes can be a problem, although I went about 6 weeks with out drinking not long ago so i don't think there's any dependence.

Footy season is a bit different though, me and my mate went through 3 cartons on (western)derby weekend. Can't be good :(. Very rarely do that though.

7 day a week consistent drinkers who drink 10ish stubbies a day. Alcoholic.

2-3 day a week binge drinkers who pump units in all weekend. Bingers. (see above)

Bingers are still alcoholics in some cases.

the fact he's drinking 20 slabs a week or the fact that it's Melbourne Bitter?:p
... that was the bloke from darwin who said he was spending $1000 a week on booze to the judge after he got caught drink driving I think. We used to have guys like that at the pub I worked at - plumbers who'd be in at 10am and stay all day until 5pm or later on a friday minus zipping off for a few jobs and do that 7 days a week.
THAT was beyond a "problem" in my view. Crazy people.

i have a bit of a drinking problem that i'm trying to overcome. It's hard work but i find that i actually prefer being sober rather than drunk.

Same. I much prefer sober, but I can't deal with drunk people when I'm sober. Kind of a vicious circle.