News Dry area for members

I love a beer or 6 at the game & even IF i get a little bit pissed I never cause trouble or yell/swear.
I'm pretty quiet at the footy in general though.

In fact the only two times I have had a problem they didn't involve alcohol, on my part. Once I was walking out of Princess park in the early nineties, pissed with a mate & we got blitzed by 5 or 6 Carlton supporters.
No words, no knowledge it was coming, just attacked from behind & had the shit kicked out of us. They were sober apparently.

The second time didn't involve alcohol either but I lost the plot at some Geelong supporters (drunk)at the G one day. They were in a private box with those floor to ceiling windows open. Words were said, I lost the plot, stepped inside the box & said I'll take on all comers. It got so nuts I thought I better get ahead of this. They can easily find my seat & Ed at the time was getting rid of the Cheersquad. I thought I don't want to lose my Dad's membership number, it means a lot. So I made an official apology to the Geelong footy club, sucking up bigtime. Some of that letter found it's way into a HUN article, which I still have. Title of article..."Foul mouthed Magpie Apologises.

More to the story than just that though, I shit myself when I came back out of the private box & realised I had about twenty Magpie supporters behind me saying things like, "Don't worry mate, we'll get 'em when they come out the back after the game."

Holy shit, I'm leading a goon squad now! I quickly got the hell outta there.

[giggle]

Top shelf anecdote...

We both should be drinking while you're telling it.

BIIIIIIIG anti-smoker/drinker.

One of my things. I was the guy that basically was constantly trying to get his mates to stop smoking and drinking. To me, they just seem like one of the dumbest things you can waste your money on.

What's your stance on fornication?

(No need to restrict your answer to the G.)

There are tonnes of alcoholic beverages where you can't taste the alcohol now, normally aimed at younger people. Respect to you if you don't want to drink alcohol as it by definition basically a poison. However with responsibility and moderation it can make a lot of things more enjoyable. Alcohol has destroyed MANY lives however.

On a positive note, it's also made many women more attractive...

Testify Baby!

I'm the same but it is a bit of nostalgia. Loved it when I was 20 or so. Two incidences I remember, absolutely bucketed down at Arctic Park one day, v the Hawks. Had my swish leather jacket on, as i was seeing the new potential Mrs Arachnid. Absolutely drenched, picked her up, then she wanted to stop off for a meal. She made me sit & eat while it was quite obvious I'm a drowned friggen rat. She didn't last long, I mean I was fair dinkum shivering me nut sack off, didn't give a pygmy.

The other one was in the CAGE at Moorabbin, absloutley freezing, raining, so much so that your can hand was red & cold ithcy, if you know what I mean.

I like me comforts now.

Sissy

(Woz gonna do some Yorkshiremen schtick...but you know th' drill...)

There are tonnes of alcoholic beverages where you can't taste the alcohol now, normally aimed at younger people. Respect to you if you don't want to drink alcohol as it by definition basically a poison. However with responsibility and moderation it can make a lot of things more enjoyable. Alcohol has destroyed MANY lives however.

Junk food and soft drink are significant causes of obesity, leading to all sorts of nasty illnesses and death. Would you describe these as poison too?

Judging by some of the comments in this thread it seems that we have quite a few Amish supporters.

Might go and raise me a barn this arvo.

Why not ban the right to talk or yell out at games either, heck let's ban any noise, sounds or anything at all that may bother anyone at all while we are at it.

Mother Russia is calling you home.:cool::p

I agree entirely on this. What are they really banning when they ban alcohol? Are they trying to ban people throwing punches or for yelling out? Personally, I couldnt give a stuff what an opposition supporter says but I do tend to get a little upset if they start to spit on me or elbow me. I trust that the people here can distinguish between those acts, because some people seem feel that you've shot their mother if you question their bloodlines..... sticks and stones etc etc..

Junk food and soft drink are significant causes of obesity, leading to all sorts of nasty illnesses and death. Would you describe these as poison too?
Blaze is right, alcohol (let's see if I remember High School Chem, C2H5OH) by definition is a poison, the others aren't.

In Europe the thing to do these days is take a pill and go to the football..
Much less violence as a result.. And everyone having a great time.
Maybe phasing out alcohol is the first step in the AFLs plans to head in this direction.

So where on earth do you get off saying it's dumb to drink it? Is it dumb to have a different taste in beverages to you?

I probably should have been more specific, I was more referring to people who drink a LOT. The type that goes out specifically to get tanked every weekend just because.

Not necessarily the social drinker. Buying alcohol is technically no different to buying any other beverage, so you're right there.

Testify Baby!

I'm the same but it is a bit of nostalgia. Loved it when I was 20 or so. Two incidences I remember, absolutely bucketed down at Arctic Park one day, v the Hawks. Had my swish leather jacket on, as i was seeing the new potential Mrs Arachnid. Absolutely drenched, picked her up, then she wanted to stop off for a meal. She made me sit & eat while it was quite obvious I'm a drowned friggen rat. She didn't last long, I mean I was fair dinkum shivering me nut sack off, didn't give a pygmy.

The other one was in the CAGE at Moorabbin, absloutley freezing, raining, so much so that your can hand was red & cold ithcy, if you know what I mean.

I like me comforts now.

Global Warming has fixed all that.

When was the last time we watched a game played in a mud bath?

I probably should have been more specific, I was more referring to people who drink a LOT. The type that goes out specifically to get tanked every weekend just because.

Not necessarily the social drinker. Buying alcohol is technically no different to buying any other beverage, so you're right there.
Exactly, so how can you justify a total ban on alcohol at the footy? Plenty of people drink it in proper moderation for the taste.

I don't think banning is the answer as you can always bring alcohol to the ground and besides the AFL would lose money and that is never on their agenda. Just give those of us that don't want drunks around us somewhere to watch the game in peace.

In excess yes it is a poison, it kills you and damages your body
Actually it's a poison in any amount.

Anyway, as far as the dry area goes, I think it's a good idea. More choice is good. I wish they'd give us more choice/competition as far as catering goes.

Personally, I sit in the MCC. I usually have a (one) full strength at quarter time and half time, maybe three-quarter time too if the mood takes me. I catch the train home. I enjoy it and no-one gets hurt. The idea of a total ban is legislating for the lowest common denominator, and I'm not in support of it.