ONE EYE

I took the family to Eagles Training this morning. It was a sausage sizzle affair for the kids with the players making themselves available for autographs after. Great weather made it a great day out.

Here is a report on what I saw:

Antonowicz - certainly has built himself up. Looks in really good shape. Been at the club for a number of years and now 21. Seemed to be in good touch. Has a funny kicking style. Needs a good run in the seniors to assess properly.

Banfield - Hobbled around before being sent from the track by John Annear. (Team physio) Looks a long way off at this stage.

Beeck - I had not seen him before. Only 19 and a fair lump of a kid in the Dean Buszan mould. I would think he is a key position player and not a ruckman.

Braun - Just ran heaps of laps. One of my favourites. Doesnt seem to be limping. Maybe just proppy and needs the run in his legs. Hasnt played much last few years.

Buszan - Big lump. Moved well. But will not dislodge Troy Wilson this season

Carroll - Walked laps. Didnt seem anything serious. Obviously doesnt need a lot of work this time of year.

Chambers - Growing in stature all the time. Impressive on the track. Still only 21. Has built up his skinny frame.

Collica - walked laps. Didnt seem anything wrong. Doesnt need the work.

Cousins - walked laps. Nothing wrong I would say.

Cox - Looks in great shape. Sharp for such a big man.

Cummings - Looks shocking. Fumbled and bumbled all day. I love him to death. But he needs to get match fitness and confidence. The Eagles need him.

Donnelly - AWOL

Embley - Looks in great touch after missing a few game searly on. Should have a good finish to the season. One of my favourites.

Fletcher - I think he has bulked up. I think he has lost a bit of that sharpness and skill he had.

Gardiner - Trained lightly. He is our Hercules.

Gaspar - Very skinny. Walked laps. I would think he would miss this week.

Glass - Looks great.

Green - Steady. Our forgotten man. He must have ran over Judgeys dog or slept with his daughter or something.

Harding - Involved with full training. Looks fit

Haynes - Looks in great touch. Needs to be given a good go in the firsts to see if he will make it at AFL level. 20 now.

Humm - I reckon a real prospect. Only 18. Looks in good shape. Not a skinny kid.

Hunter - 20 years old. Looks in great shape and ready to make an impact. Must be played in the senior side. Seems to be growing with confidence.

Jako - Took it easy.

Jones - In great shape after a good game against the Roos

Kemp - On a break deciding his future.

Kerr - Great shape

Peter Matera - I didnt seem him on the track at all.

Phil Matera - Looked good.

McCarrey - I didnt notice him. I couldnt say if he was there

McDougall - Tall strapping lad. A bit thin. Looks in good touch. An Eagles recruiting guy told me he played a great game for Perth on the weekend. Will play this year.

Milli - Trained with the main group. Said he will play this week.

Merenda - Alongside Richard Taylor I would say the recruit of the year. In great touch.

Miller - I read he was down in confidence. I have seen him play with great endeavour. But I would say he is out of his class from what I saw today.

Morrison - No where to be seen.

Munro - Judge spent a lot of time with him and Calluym Chambers Skinny kids who we both need to develop. He just needs more bulk.

Prior - Didnt join in

Read - Jogged laps. Some kicking. Looks like he will be ready for 2002. In great shape.

Siera - Same as Read

Taylor - I didnt sight him.

Turnbull - Dodgy knee. Walked laps. Almost finished I would say.

Williams - in good shape.

Wilson - Love him to bits. In peak of form and condition.

Wirra - Looks in great shape

Wooden - Looks fine.

So sorry if that was boring. I just think some of the kids are just starting to make an impact.

By the way Bluey competed in full training and looks in great shape.

GO EAGLES!

Wouldn't mind giving us some more info on the following players would you, the ones we dont get to see often, if at all.

Antonowicz - is he good enough for the AFL? Is he confident in training with his team mates and is he pressing for selection? Good enough to be fullback?

Beeck - what exactly is he like, none of us have ever seen him before. What are his skills like? Will he make the grade?

Braun - will he be back this season. Did he do any ball work?

Buszan - are the coaching staff looking at him or they just letting him develop for the rest of the season. Anyone teaching him how to kick by any chance?

Donnelly - What does AWOL mean? :p

Gaspar - to miss another week! Whats wrong with him, is his ankle a lot more crook than first expected or something?

Green - is he good enough? Has he improved since last year?

On Chambers and Munro, what positions is Judge molding them into, a wing and a forward pocket?

Sad to hear that about Turnball. Do you think he and Donnely will retire at the end of the season?

Anyway, thanks for all the info above.

Vis

One Eye - boring? NO WAY! That was very interesting to hear about the entire squad. I hope you didn't take notes though - otherwise they might of suspected a Geelong spy for the weekend :D I haven't been to any training sessions this year, but did spot some of the boys at City Beach during the off season... can you post up the training days and times if they have a regular fixture.

Originally posted by ONE EYE
Banfield - Hobbled around before being sent from the track by John Annear. (Team physio) Looks a long way off at this stage.

Braun - Just ran heaps of laps. One of my favourites. Doesnt seem to be limping. Maybe just proppy and needs the run in his legs. Hasnt played much last few years.

The injury list in The West had both these guys as three weeks away from fit. Yes/no?

Banfield is aiming for the game against Sydney, but may be one week later than this.

Braun is aiming for round 18 (St Kilda I think) but he thinks it will more likely be the Debry he's back for. He has started running, but says the ligament still feels a bit loose. Should be at least another week before he can start upping the tempo with his training.

And for those of you who were wondering, Morrisson had his recon yesterday.

In answer to Visro's queries.

Antonowicz - When I have seem him play for the Eagles he has always given a good contest. He looked sharp at training yesterday. But he has competed with Milli and Jak for a key position defensive spot. I think he is a young fellow ripe for senior footy. If his ungainly kicking style doesnt let him down (But it is generally effective) I think he has a future. I wouldnt think the Eagles would disgard him this year. This is the type of player the Dockers do not have enough of. Remember when Malthouse first arrived we didnt have enough key position options. We cannot let a guy of this nature go. Unless he is out of contract, which I dont know. and is looking for greater opportunity.

Green - Steady but just didnt stand out.

Gaspar - The fact he didnt participate in the ball drills I wouldnt think he would play this week. But he wasnt limping. Just walked laps.

Chambers and Munro - After the main Group left the track Judgey was rolling the ball to them with a helper using a small padded bag to create body contact. Thats the key to these guys. They are not big. They have to be able to sustain body on body pressure in tight. Thats where ever they play. Chambers will be ok. Munro I have likened to Carltons Lappin. He takes a good mark and is clever around the goals. But where can you play him other than off the bench. Our small forwards Merenda (in particular) and Phil Matera are in good touch and both in their prime. Munro is only young and if we are to persist with him he needs to build himself up. I like him but his options are limited because of his size.

Donnelly - I read an article that says his knee is stuffed. I wouldnt think he would play with the Eagles again.

Turnbull - Looking at Andrew McDougall. I cant see Turnbull continuing on beyond this year. But we would need to recruit another young backup ruckman for Gardy and Cox. McDougall is a tall forward I would say but a few years off regular AFL football. He is not as strong or tall as Cox.

Beeck - I would liken his build to Buszan. Where we would play him I dont no. I think someone said he kicked a bag for East perth Reserves. Maybe an AFL fullback. Wouldnt be mobile enough for CHB. Interesting to read Breretons article in todays paper. He says no future for fat kids who just kick goals, Lloyd may be the last of the FF who kick centuries (Not saying he is fat) FF or any key position player needs to be flexible.

Remember Brett Spinks or Steven Jackson or Brendon Fewster they were limited in their roles and whilst made an impact they didnt last long. This may be the issue with Buszan and Beeck. We all love big hulking FF (ie Lockett or Cummo) but can they help you win a Flag.

Buszan - Just looked in great shape and kicked straight. Yesterday they did a full ground drill where the ball was won in a contest at half back. Then carried through the midfield and delivered to a leading option downfield. Cummings looked really out of touch. Buszan was OK. But WILSON!!!!!.............. LOVE THIS GUY.

Braun and Banfield - They ran heaps of laps. They didnt limp around but were not right. I could see them playing a few games towards the end of the year.

Funny you should mention spys. I said this to my wife at training that a Cats spy would be somewhere. But they wouldnt have learnt much from the Eagles training. I was prepared to escort them out if I found them but they would have to have been dressed in Eagles Colours with a couple of 6 to ten year olds with them (not a bad disguise hey) No one stood out.

Just another tid bit. Did I say that I met an Eagles recruiting officer the other day. He seems to think that the Dockers will recruit Polak. He says Sampi doesnt work hard enough. He says he attended the under 18s Carnival in Melbourne and was more impressed with the young Victorians. They he did mention a young West Aussie key position player that the Eagles are interested in. But If I told you who I would have to kill you.

GO EAGLES!

Originally posted by ONE EYE

They he did mention a young West Aussie key position player that the Eagles are interested in. But If I told you who I would have to kill you.

Not even initials? :D

Can I have a guess? Lynch, Glancy or Parker?

My boss wont let me! Says I have to keep my butt planted to my chair and dont move until I get something done. And he is an Eagles and Royals supporter as well!!

Guess I will just have to win Lotto!

GO POWERBALL!!!!!