Eagles Vs Crows

• Thread starter Thread starter Visro

Visro

Just heard the great news, Gardiner and Gaspar aren't playing. Turnball and Humm have come in to replace them. Can we still win?

My tip: Adelaide by 15 points

Vis

Bloudy afl.con.au, no live scores, that sucks
and abc radio is broadcasting the cricket instead.
from vis the score is
4.5 Adelaide to
3.0 West Coast at 1/4 time!
GO EAGLES

Could the WCE match committee be saboutaging a winnable game so we don't get over 5 wins? Could be, expecially considering how often they played injured players and now suddenly Gardiner is missing with a mystery injury/illness.

Half-time
Adelaide 5.7.37
WCE 4.4.28

The Eagles made a game of it in the wet against Adelaide at Football Park, but in the end they couldn't quite catch the
inaccurate Crows in a low-scoring encounter. It was an important win for Adelaide, who stay on the edge of finals contention.

Adelaide 4.5 5.7 8.11 8.16 64
West Coast 3.0 4.4 4.5 7.9 51

Michael Gardiner was pulled out of the Eagles team with a "mystery illness",
giving Ryan Turnbull his third run for the year. Travis Gaspar's ankle injury from
last weekend also kept him off the ground, allowing Jeremy Humm a second
game at AFL level.

In wet conditions, the Eagles stayed in touch through most of the game,
though they were always a couple of goals behind. Had the Crows been more
accurate in kicking at goal the margin could have been much greater.

Rain always makes for unattractive football, and there were long periods in the
game where neither side could break through for a major score - most notably
the second term in which no goals at all were kicked until the last minute,
when both teams got one.

The third quarter was the downfall for West Coast. They scored just one point
which allowed Adelaide to take a 30 point lead into the three quarer break.

Although the Eagles turned the tables in the last, keeping the Crows goalless,
the margin was too much to peg back.

Captain Ben Cousins was again the dominant force for West Coast. He was
held reasonably well early in the game but cut loose in the last quarter,
recording eight kicks and seven handballs for the term as the Eagles came
back.

Overall there were more contributors for the West Coast cause, as Richard
Taylor, Glen Jakovich and David Wirrpunda continue their good form. Callum
Chambers and Josh Wooden also played well, and Trent Carroll contunes to
improve in the backline.

Scott Cummings remains in indifferent form, being taken from the ground in the
second quarter with just three kicks and one goal to his name. He returned to
the ground in the third quarter, but didn't get a touch before going back to the
bench.

http://westcoast.rivals.net/default.asp?sid=1523&p=2&stid=8143256

We were crap tonight...but yous were absolutely PATHETIC!!

West coast supporters, yous should worry about that, your disposal was as good as a man paralysed from the forehead-down :D

what a shocking game.The skill level of both sides was deplorable.And people have the cheek to knock the Dockers.That was as bad a game as I have seen all year.

I have to agree it was a pretty shocking game looked for good west coast for awhile and then it just slipped away :(

The skill level wasn't helped by the fact there was driving rain and a moderate wind going across the ground. Yes the skills were crap but I still think other sides would have struggled there last night.

Vis

PS Hey QT, if we were pathetic going down by 13 points, that must make the crows just about pathetic.

I think the Eagles game plan was to slow it up , give the youngsters some experience, avoid a thrashing but lose.
I think Judgey is going for the 5 wins and extra pick.
If we had been serious about the game Roo would not have started on Jarman. Probably Wirra would have been there but Judgey wants to experiment with Wirrra.
It was an excellent game from a development viewpoint considering Gardy and Gaspar joined the injury pile.
Cox did well, Wooden was good as was Munro and Chambers. Cuz was brilliant as usual. Wirra was good and Trent Carrol. Jako played well. Glass good. Jones, Williams, Embley, Fletcher all put in solid performances.
The four away games before averaged 90 points beltings. This was okay. here was passion and accountability. I have no complaints. I'll leave that to the dockers supporters because they're good at it and very experienced ;)

Originally posted by QT
We were crap tonight...but yous were absolutely PATHETIC!!

West coast supporters, yous should worry about that, your disposal was as good as a man paralysed from the forehead-down :D

I should worry more about the Crows mate. Our injury ravaged club is turning up some real stars for the future whereas the Crows have nothing and, now that Drummy has gone, the worst coach in the AFL

Good stuff Frodo, I reckon you're pretty much on the mark. Only thing I disagree with is that I think Matera on Jarman was at least as good a match-up as Wirra, if not better as Wirra isn't that accountable early.

It reminded me a bit in style (though not weather) of the Eagles away to Essendon at Colonial last year, a game I attended.

We played such a defensive game that I believe we never thought we could win. I reckon there's a big difference between coaching to win and coaching to avoid getting heavily beaten. Coaches do the latter to say "hey we're improving, we're still learning, keep with us, and don't sack me".

It probably looks like if it had gone another x minutes the Eagles would have won, but I don't buy that.

Having said that, I thought it was a creditable defensive performance in the circumstances.

Two reasond why Matera should not have been on Jarman

1) Jarman is faster on the lead

2) Roo has had calf and ham injuries and it was a cold night. In that position he is dependant upon acceleration from a standing start. Just the recipe for another hammy.

QT - the crows were just as bad as the eagles last night. It was a shocking game and at one time i watched a crow kick to an eagle, the eagle then kicked it straight back to the crow then the same crow in turn kicked it to another eagle who in turn kicked it to a crow LOL

It was BAD!

I thought Merenda was great on half forward and Jako Peter Matera and Wirrpunda were pretty good in defence. Carroll continues to improve and Wooden has really cemented his position in the team.

Cousins was again prolific and dominant as usual but the low quality of the game and the low scoring made it an ugly match. We were never gonna get back 30 points after we had only kicked 4 goals up to then.

But at least we didnt go to Adelaide and get thrashed by 80 points. I think we may very well have slightly turned the corner. We went down to Brisbane by 22 points which was there for the taking but they were too good in the wet. Then the first quarter against Collingwood was great, the last three werent, then a win over Melbourne and now a narrow loss to Adelaide at Footy Park.

Apart from the last 3 quarters against the Pies i think we have been decent this last month.

Originally posted by anchor man
what a shocking game.The skill level of both sides was deplorable.And people have the cheek to knock the Dockers.That was as bad a game as I have seen all year.
You must be joking!!! Dockers have not played with anything like the skill level of any AFL side. 92 point losers 0-14 and you come here and have a knock at the Eagles. Get real

Originally posted by Frodo

You must be joking!!! Dockers have not played with anything like the skill level of any AFL side. 92 point losers 0-14 and you come here and have a knock at the Eagles. Get real
Frodo have to agree we were terrible see my post on the Dockers site.But your mob are just fractionally in front on games won and the skill level.
Football in WA is in a really bad way and something needs to be done about it.The rally was a start.It dissappointed me that I did not see any Eagles colours there.Were you there Frodo??????

Originally posted by anchor man
Football in WA is in a really bad way and something needs to be done about it.The rally was a start.It dissappointed me that I did not see any Eagles colours there.Were you there Frodo??????

Look on the bright side, with both teams in similar positions in terms of players and performance, both teams are likely to peak and play in the finals at the same time in the future. We could well see an all WA final. Wouldn't that stick it up the vic teams.:D :D

I think a lot of ppl are looking over how bad the Saints really are. Even Malcolm Blight said himself that they were 500% worse than any club in the league. Thats really saying something after the thumpings we have taken this year and of course Freo not yet winning.

Are the Saints the worst team in the league?