Easy win this week

I think the dogs can win... we do play OK at AAMI and I think if we can be within 4 goals at 3 quarter time we'll be a huge chance.

Just need to find something special from someone this week... I'm sure rocket has something up his sleave.

noddy said:
I too am reasonably confident of overcoming the Doggies this week providing our players/coaches are turned on for the whole game.

No 300 game event for them this week & their no name mid field group should not catch us out 2 games in a row.

Crows by 4-7 goals.
No name midfield, yes we are short up forward but you may not have heard of West ,Cross ,Cooney, Johnson, Murphy, Ray, Griffen and Eagleton :rolleyes:

Stiffy_18 said:
I mentioned on www.asthecrowsfly.com that Bulldogs trouble us with pace and Eade is probably the most difficult coach to coach against simply because he keeps throwing his side around. When you play against Eade's sides you have to be quick to react. He moves his players around more than any other coach and that is designed to unsettle the opposition. He is trying to create a bad match up at much quicker rate than other coaches. The coaching box has to be really on their game to keep up with it. Craig said so himself after the game that Eade is probably the hardest coach to coach against because his player movement is hard to keep up with.

Fair point, however, without Darcy and probably Chris Grant, he hasn't got the manpower to mix it around too much....whoever plays in the key positions pretty much have to stay there all day.

bogan4life said:
No name midfield, yes we are short up forward but you may not have heard of West ,Cross ,Cooney, Johnson, Murphy, Ray, Griffen and Eagleton :rolleyes:

I think the point he was trying to make is that none of them would be regarded as superstars with the possible exception of West and Johnson. You have provided a quality list no question.

This one still worries me cause as Stiffy says they are a pacey side and can split a team open. Ok they have a lot of injuries with no Darcy, but heard last night that both Smith and Grant could play.

They do play well at FP but perhaps coming back from a trip to the west might also take something out of them, but we are no certainties.

They will be a very good side next year with all playing.

GoSarge said:
I think the point he was trying to make is that none of them would be regarded as superstars with the possible exception of West and Johnson. You have provided a quality list no question.

Exactly,

Take Cross for one, a guy that killed us at the stoppages was someone i knew very little of.

No disrespect to the doggies mid-field at all.

We will probably struggle.We do get a couple back this week but they will be pretty underdone and we are playing alot of kids at the moment.

Bit worried about our ability to cover guys like Mcgregor whos work rate I have admired for some time.Good solid KPP and the type we would move heaven and earth for.We generally match up ok against you guys at footy park and even when we were horrible we managed to squander pretty handy leads but I just dont see it this time.

Midfield will be interesting.Cross and West dominated last time so they might be paid a little extra attention.West is having his best season which is quite unbelievable.We would have been beaten by 15 goals last week if it wasn't for him.He should be tagged before anyone else.Cooney is damaging but West is more damaging just through pure weight of numbers.

Morris tagged all 3 of your guns last time we met.He rotated between Roo,Goodwin and Bungee so that will be a chance to happen again.I would prefer to see Riccuito tagged because he has a habit of killing us.Goodwin also worries me with his foot skills.

Mcloud has been playing off half back hasn't he?Matty Robbins will probably play as a defensive forward on him if he does start down back.

How have you guys gone against small forward lines.We really dont have much choice other than to go small so I would say alot of Craigs planning will revolve around holding us up and slowing the tempo down so that we cannot get out and run and hit leading targets.Pace is obviously our major weapon but we have to push forward so hard that we can be exposed on the rebound later in the quarters .

noddy said:
Exactly,

Take Cross for one, a guy that killed us at the stoppages was someone i knew very little of.

No disrespect to the doggies mid-field at all.
I guess most of you are from Sa and dont get all the media about the dogs mid field, Players like Cross Gilbee Hahn Cooney and Gio have all had feature pieces in the papers about them and are all rated very high by the Victorian media.

Cross has i think in 5th for touchs this year in the league, Gilbee is classed as on of the best kicks in the comp, Hahn as a big strong tough mid fielder, Cooney is loved by the media and is almost a Superstar already and Gio was in most peoples AA team on a wing before he went down.

The same would happen in Sa with the likes of Goodwin, who we have never heard about.

Dog Town said:
Midfield will be interesting.Cross and West dominated last time so they might be paid a little extra attention.West is having his best season which is quite unbelievable.We would have been beaten by 15 goals last week if it wasn't for him.He should be tagged before anyone else.Cooney is damaging but West is more damaging just through pure weight of numbers.
From memory our no.1 run-with player Shirley was out injured, so I would expect he will get the important job on curbing West's influence. That would go a long way to winning the game given West's awesome form, but we must also not take the so-called lesser likes in the Bullies midfield, as we all know what happened in the last game!

I think cause there is alot of SA guys there they tend to try and play better against us. Often cause we overlooked them or they supported us as a kid. Cooney and co were definitely trying alot harder when we last played them, compared to some of the performances this yr. Same goes with pavlich, they like to put on a show.

Stiffy_18 said:
I mentioned on www.asthecrowsfly.com that Bulldogs trouble us with pace and Eade is probably the most difficult coach to coach against simply because he keeps throwing his side around. When you play against Eade's sides you have to be quick to react. He moves his players around more than any other coach and that is designed to unsettle the opposition. He is trying to create a bad match up at much quicker rate than other coaches. The coaching box has to be really on their game to keep up with it. Craig said so himself after the game that Eade is probably the hardest coach to coach against because his player movement is hard to keep up with.

Definitely.

Another thing that also worries me is the fact that it is West's 300th game.

We always seem to play in these monumental games for some reason. :confused:

Bockchoy67 said:
Another thing that also worries me is the fact that it is West's 300th game.

We always seem to play in these monumental games for some reason. :confused:

topjars mentioned this on another thread. I think there's a big difference between this and the Grant 300th game. For starters, West's 300 games (which includes pre-season, state and international games) is a bit of a pretend milestone, so much so that it doesn't even rate it's own thread on the Dogs board, and a footnote on the Dogs website. Secondly, there was a decent sized and vocal crowd at Grant's 300th, just waiting for anything vaguely worthwhile by Grant or the Dogs to cheer for. Anything spectacular West does this weekend is likely to lead to a disgruntled silence.

As for always playing in monumental games - well, with 22 players on the ground, plus a senior coach, the odds of someone being involved in game 1 / 50 / 100 / 150 / 200 / 250 / 300 / 350, or in their 100th for that club, or in their 100th consecutive game, or in their 300th game including everything has to rate about 1 in 2. This year alone at the AFC has seen Burton 100 games, Biglands 100, Edwards 200, Torney 150, Goodwin 150, Hart break the club games record, Thompson 50, Van Berlo and Knights debut, Mark Stevens 100 games for Adelaide, and Ricciuto get the 300 total games milestone. By the end of the season, we're every chance for another few milestones - Bassett 150 and Mattner 50 aren't far away.

It's Daniel Bandy's 150th this week, too.

marvin said:
topjars mentioned this on another thread. I think there's a big difference between this and the Grant 300th game. For starters, West's 300 games (which includes pre-season, state and international games) is a bit of a pretend milestone, so much so that it doesn't even rate it's own thread on the Dogs board, and a footnote on the Dogs website. Secondly, there was a decent sized and vocal crowd at Grant's 300th, just waiting for anything vaguely worthwhile by Grant or the Dogs to cheer for. Anything spectacular West does this weekend is likely to lead to a disgruntled silence.

As for always playing in monumental games - well, with 22 players on the ground, plus a senior coach, the odds of someone being involved in game 1 / 50 / 100 / 150 / 200 / 250 / 300 / 350, or in their 100th for that club, or in their 100th consecutive game, or in their 300th game including everything has to rate about 1 in 2. This year alone at the AFC has seen Burton 100 games, Biglands 100, Edwards 200, Torney 150, Goodwin 150, Hart break the club games record, Thompson 50, Van Berlo and Knights debut, Mark Stevens 100 games for Adelaide, and Ricciuto get the 300 total games milestone. By the end of the season, we're every chance for another few milestones - Bassett 150 and Mattner 50 aren't far away.

It's Daniel Bandy's 150th this week, too.

The Roo equals Nigel Smart on second most number of games for the AFC. What a great milestone (much better than the grammar in that sentence :D )

marvin said:

Does 250 total games grant AFL life membership? If so, then people are right not to make a deal over West's "300th including everything".

It's like having a big 20th birthday, it's not gonna compare to the 21st so why bother making it huge?

Do the Dogs have a good record at AAMI? Didn't think many teams did, but the Crows should coast it in with the Bulldogs' woeful run of injuries at the moment. Adelaide have been lucky with injury, hopefully it doesn't strike you in September. But does anyone think the $5.00 on the Bulldogs is good value or will the Crows smash em?

johnnyhoward said:
Does 250 total games grant AFL life membership? If so, then people are right not to make a deal over West's "300th including everything".

It's like having a big 20th birthday, it's not gonna compare to the 21st so why bother making it huge?

Do the Dogs have a good record at AAMI? Didn't think many teams did, but the Crows should coast it in with the Bulldogs' woeful run of injuries at the moment. Adelaide have been lucky with injury, hopefully it doesn't strike you in September. But does anyone think the $5.00 on the Bulldogs is good value or will the Crows smash em?

Good value johnny, especially given that the weather will more than likely be freezing and raining bucketloads (god I hate winter)

I'd tip the crows to get over the line but It'll be a low scoring affair. Be lucky if both teams score 150 points between them.

Tip the Crows by 1 or 2 goals

bogan4life said:
i reckon you guys may have a easy win this week, we are hit to hard by injurys and since we last played you almost all of our KPPs have got injuryed, on the other hand you have been playing some great footy and are in 2nd.

good luck for next week and tell your players not to brake any more dogs players bones i dont think we could habdle many more.

best of luck cheers bogan.

Cheers bogan mate, my guess is It'll be closer than you're expecting.

Big fellas wont have as much influence on the game judging by the weather conditions (which could play right into your hands) I'll still be tipping the Crows... but only just ;)

Rave Slave said:
Cheers bogan mate, my guess is It'll be closer than you're expecting.

Big fellas wont have as much influence on the game judging by the weather conditions (which could play right into your hands) I'll still be tipping the Crows... but only just ;)
dogs have named the big ins of Power Skipper and Boyd, still not sure if Eade wants to win this week.

Smith wont play.

noddy said:
I too am reasonably confident of overcoming the Doggies this week providing our players/coaches are turned on for the whole game.

No 300 game event for them this week & their no name mid field group should not catch us out 2 games in a row.

Crows by 4-7 goals.

Westy is playing his 300th this week!

Number 2 1961 said:
Westy is playing his 300th this week!

As said before, its 300 all included. Not 300 day games like Grant did in rd 5 this year and a whole lot of hoopla was made of it.
This is not the same and if I understand correctly not even mentioned a great deal in the Vic media.