EDFL Div 1 2020

He’s better then any other player APW have let’s be honest, also signed another 2 nfnl players.

Seems One being ex collingwood player and reigning league bnf Brent Macaffar, if you think he’s coming to play for free your dreaming.

Again funny how no one cares when it isn’t EK, pretty hypocritical if you ask me [emoji23]

Seems the $$$$ got players to APW.

It's a bit like Neville Bartos I think Turbo.... no cash here, here no cash.

We'll be back next year ready to go. With the cost to continue with cleaning, sanitizing, paying for lights and affiliation fees and potentially no incoming it makes it tough.

All the best to any team looking to compete this year but let's face it it's a two horse race and with no relegation nothing really you play for info the rest of the division. Only thing that can happen is losing blokes to injury

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

If there is no cap how can no club afford to play unless ur players not willing to play for free? Ridiculous if you ask me.

Not really Bashen, volunteers are stretched at some clubs and the stresses and strains trying to get close to meeting new compliance measures is tough ... can’t blame any volunteer for saying ya know what, I’m sorry but all this is above me.

Seems the $$$$ got players to APW.
They do have a relationship with the coach through NFNL rep side so I guess that’s the connection. However I can see where you are all coming from. Think APW have publicly stated no one (including the coach) will be paid this season as has Tulla. But listen to a podcast and you might hear a difference in views at other clubs!!
it’s strange how no premier clubs have announced late signings but good players willing to play down a division. Ummmm. I do value playing with friends/mates as this can’t be underestimated but also remember that if there so called friend is being paid will they accept no payments. Let’s all be honest here I don’t think so!!

Maybe you should read their statement.
All fair points.
They would need to do some serious sponsor chasing or might struggle for 2021 as well.

Do they have junior teams and if so are they pulling out of that?

If the seniors pull out for health concerns for players and volunteers it is surely a contradiction to allow the juniors and there volunteers to be put at risk.

Therefore allowing juniors to play it is purely a financial decision to not play seniors.

Must be a template being passed around for clubs withdrawing from the 2020 season. Clubs are suggesting they're doing this on behalf of peoples health yet mention sponsorship is down 85% and that they will be financially better placed for 2021 by not playing this season. Community football is not meant to be about choosing when you do or don't play based on how strong your club is financially, clubs are there to give people the opportunity to play football every week for the club they have chosen to give their commitment to.

Agree guarantee Roxy pulling out for financial reasons same as any other club pulling out which for me makes no sense since players should not be getting paid. There probably won’t be a vaccine for over a year so what are they going to do withdraw next year also and claim “peoples health” as Mick, Dc and Pat said how about players mental health due to missing a year.
Sucks to be them when their points stay the same the following season as a result and everyone else’s drop.

If 3 or so pull out from prem and div 1 they should merge the comps for the year.

They would need to do some serious sponsor chasing or might struggle for 2021 as well.

Do they have junior teams and if so are they pulling out of that?

If the seniors pull out for health concerns for players and volunteers it is surely a contradiction to allow the juniors and there volunteers to be put at risk.

Therefore allowing juniors to play it is purely a financial decision to not play seniors.
$18,000 to put in one senior team and one junior team.
There lay your problem with no certainty of club functions and some with sponsors pulling the pin..
The club is making massive inroads, and they sure as hell don’t wanna take a step back and fall back because of corona. It’s in the best Intrest of everyone involved at the club with health concerns and for the future of the great club.

If course some of it is financial... read the bloody statement. Also read where 99%....YES NINETY NINE PERCENT of the playing group wanted to pull out because of a number of factors. Most of our players are self employed or tradies..... If there is an outbreak within the club they ALL have to isolate and won't have an income. Also with EK and APW making a joke of the comp when they can't be promoted went would anyone want to go out there and play against a local footy all star side for no money?

You do realise with no money coming into the club, if you keep pushing on with the season you pay affiliation fees, you pay for lighting and gas, you pay for sanitizing and cleaning.... it's not all player payments that need to be considered but everything else... strapping costs money. Nobody is saying it's not financial, part of it is but part of it is the other factors. Committee members are already stuffed from dealing with this so far and with only a small volunteer arm it makes it difficult.

The part about being there for the community to give people somewhere to play footy is correct.... and if we played this year and ran out if money in a season that means nothing then nect year there might not be a RPFC at all.... think about it.

Agree guarantee Roxy pulling out for financial reasons same as any other club pulling out which for me makes no sense since players should not be getting paid. There probably won’t be a vaccine for over a year so what are they going to do withdraw next year also and claim “peoples health” as Mick, Dc and Pat said how about players mental health due to missing a year.
Sucks to be them when their points stay the same the following season as a result and everyone else’s drop.

If 3 or so pull out from prem and div 1 they should merge the comps for the year.

It is widely reported that 1 in 3 cafes that were closed in Vic due to Covid-19 will not reopen. Currently being propped up by Jobkeeper and the government. People living beyond their means and it took a pandemic to prove that their is an overpopulation of identical business.
I have said it many of time, there is an over population of football clubs within the area. Within 10km of each other you would have, Strathmore, Doutta’s, Abers, Ek, Avondale, APW, KP and probably a couple more.
Statistics would say that a couple of these wouldn’t be able to withstand the effects of Covid. Throw in the whole Comp, which is already stretched to the max, you have clubs unable to survive pre Covid. Jacana and KP propped up and struggling.
Now this pandemic has hit, its going to show up clubs living beyond their means unable to withstand a rainy day, bought about by the EDFL bottom dollar, trying to be the best in Vic. Can’t we all just play nice.
This is the clean out of clubs, the EDFL has made their bed and now they must lay in it.
Don’t have an issue with a player earning money playing footy, especially if the club can afford it. This will have ramifications for years to come and when the government/ EDFL handouts cease, clubs are unfortunately not coming out the other side.

If course some of it is financial... read the bloody statement. Also read where 99%....YES NINETY NINE PERCENT of the playing group wanted to pull out because of a number of factors. Most of our players are self employed or tradies..... If there is an outbreak within the club they ALL have to isolate and won't have an income. Also with EK and APW making a joke of the comp when they can't be promoted went would anyone want to go out there and play against a local footy all star side for no money?

You do realise with no money coming into the club, if you keep pushing on with the season you pay affiliation fees, you pay for lighting and gas, you pay for sanitizing and cleaning.... it's not all player payments that need to be considered but everything else... strapping costs money. Nobody is saying it's not financial, part of it is but part of it is the other factors. Committee members are already stuffed from dealing with this so far and with only a small volunteer arm it makes it difficult.

The part about being there for the community to give people somewhere to play footy is correct.... and if we played this year and ran out if money in a season that means nothing then nect year there might not be a RPFC at all.... think about it.

Everyone knows there is an email doing the rounds amongst all div 1 clubs and we aren't the only ones thinking this but are the first to act

All Fair points apart from the EK and APW one, your going to have one of the reasons to pull the pin on your players season because a competitor has recruited players... that excuse is so piss poor it’s laughable.

Yes they have both brought in superstars and are probably favourites but your forgetting only 47 points can be fielded and clearly they don’t all fit on the ground at once..

Everyone knows there is an email doing the rounds amongst all div 1 clubs and we aren't the only ones thinking this but are the first to act

We have had our moments over the years however this is one of the best posts I think you have written. Very true and honest assesment with no BS. Great post and your not alone..

Cmon mate let’s be serious here. As per what a lot of metro clubs have said it’s what’s going out v what’s coming in. No crowds is what is comes down to and the rules around things. Even the cleaning alone is a cost that was never there before but it’s not going to be cheap. Do you watch the UFC and see the guy spray the cage at the end of each fight. That type of thing plus cleaning of toilets etc will need to be done at local footy. At what expense.

All Fair points apart from the EK and APW one, your going to have one of the reasons to pull the pin on your players season because a competitor has recruited players... that excuse is so piss poor it’s laughable.

Yes they have both brought in superstars and are probably favourites but your forgetting only 47 points can be fielded and clearly they don’t all fit on the ground at once..

I think that comment was more said in frustration but probably what a lot of others are thinking. He was probably just brave enough to write it..

if it’s true that you play 3 out of 9 games and your points drop for next season then that’s clearly making this league a laughing stock. Not sure it’s true as AFL Vic make these rules and are the changing them to suit a small number of clubs is a big joke. If you play 5 games then sure but stick to the rules they put in place. If a player is going to a club for the right reasons then surely he will play at least 5 out of 9 games. To much bending of rules to suit specific clubs which creates a bad taste in people’s mouths.

Anyway who cares as it’s all falling to pieces.

I think that comment was more said in frustration but probably what a lot of others are thinking. He was probably just brave enough to write it..

if it’s true that you play 3 out of 9 games and your points drop for next season then that’s clearly making this league a laughing stock. Not sure it’s true as AFL Vic make these rules and are the changing them to suit a small number of clubs is a big joke. If you play 5 games then sure but stick to the rules they put in place. If a player is going to a club for the right reasons then surely he will play at least 5 out of 9 games. To much bending of rules to suit specific clubs which creates a bad taste in people’s mouths.

Can’t get frustrated and throw your hands in the air whinging because your competitor made signings. That’s a terrible mentality and will get nowhere with that, if other clubs are doing that also have a look at yourselves. That mentality is Probably the reason why you won’t get promoted any time soon.

Think the 3 games stemmed from that fact u needed 6 to drop points for a full season. Since season was halved so has the amount of games needed to drop points. Imagine a player gets injured and misses 4 of the 9 games why can’t he drop a point? Not his fault the season has been shortened.

Think that’s where it came from.

All players are coming over on a covid-19 permit. Which means if the player want to stay for 2021 then clubs will have to put in another clearance of 2021.
I don’t get why APW would pay money to players like Donaldson and Macaffer this season. There is no promotion so even if they win the flag they will still be in divy 1 in 2021. I thought it would be best for clubs to blood kids and build for 2021. Not waste $$$$ on players for anywhere from 1-8 games for no gain. It just seems like a waste of money.

All players are coming over on a covid-19 permit. Which means if the player want to stay for 2021 then clubs will have to put in another clearance of 2021.
I don’t get why APW would pay money to players like Donaldson and Macaffer this season. There is no promotion so even if they win the flag they will still be in divy 1 in 2021. I thought it would be best for clubs to blood kids and build for 2021. Not waste $$$$ on players for anywhere from 1-8 games for no gain. It just seems like a waste of money.
It gives clubs the opportunity to impress/convince new players that their club is a great place to be around. It's almost a free shot at recruiting new players so I don't see it as a waste of time or money if thats how clubs managed a deal.

I would think that clubs that have loaded up and overpaid for glory For a long time will struggle to field a side this year
Ask your players to play for zero or u already no the answer and now go the high moral ground and put it down to safety
Stick to the course and play homegrown for majority of your side and success will come
For the clubs that are in that position good luck to u all

Well haven’t posted for a while but this one caught my attention UTR, in particular the comments about the email going around, totally understand the players point of view for not playing with risk for work commitments ETC, ETC.. , I wish them all the best.

I was well aware of this email that went around with 6 of the 8 div 1 clubs not wanting to play against EK + APW, bit of a throwing the toys out of the cot situation if you ask me. My question to you is how are EK + APW making a joke of the comp? By signing players? Roxy haven’t signed players? Tulla haven’t signed any players? I think the real problem with the player signings is the quality of the signing, whilst Roxy is signing a good player in Dimech, Airport west signed Dean Limbach, Roxy signed Nathan Reichelt who is a division 1 premiership player and had one of his better years playing in premier for Crazyburn, Tulla went and signed Shannon Broadbent, but that seems to be ok.

If the World health organisation was a part of this forum they would probably blame COVID-19 on EK because of the bias opinion about them. What do 6 of the clubs want moving forward? Should EK and APW just be moved up in to premier, would that make the comp happy? Airport west went through a year of heartache in Premier last year and in my opinion they would not be in a much better position now, these clubs are recruiting to build something, everyone takes pot shots at that guy that coaches EK trying everything possible to win a flag? When I have been part of the recruitment process at a club for a coach, I didn’t want to hear that they were there to take my clubs money and do nothing with it, I want results.

So turning the attention back onto the other clubs, I like Farrelly and what he has done at Roxy, but he hasn’t done it without recruiting, Craigieburn didn’t win their senior flag without recruiting.

Before Covid-19 restrictions kicked in I was able to get around to a couple of scratch matches, I am not sure why everyone is worried about EK, they were shit against Caroline springs, Tullamarine against Altona (flag favourite in WRFL div 1) were really good, Tulla have some good kids now and good depth, my money is on them if the season goes ahead.

Anyway I wish nothing but the best for every club that is facing financial hardship and I am sure all the Presidents will make the right call on their Own club.

THERE IS NO MONEY THIS YEAR......

This will obviously mean a percentage will choose not to play..No problem, their call.

But the ones that do will be playing for the love of the game/team. That still exists in spite of all the talk otherwise.

And if it takes combining the two Div.s to make 1 as suggested then so be it. Great idea!!

Lets play footy, lets not complicate it more than it is. The juniors are going to play. And if the seniors play it
will be for the same reasons the kids do...For the joy of playing and mateship.

VFL going ahead and NO PLAYER PAYMENTS. Get your head around it people...NO MONEY THIS YEAR.

Roxy have made their choice, that is fine.

But for mine everything that can be done to get it on this year should be done and I applaud the Clubs/players that support this.

THERE IS NO MONEY THIS YEAR......

This will obviously mean a percentage will choose not to play..No problem, their call.

But the ones that do will be playing for the love of the game/team. That still exists in spite of all the talk otherwise.

And if it takes combining the two Div.s to make 1 as suggested then so be it. Great idea!!

Lets play footy, lets not complicate it more than it is. The juniors are going to play. And if the seniors play it
will be for the same reasons the kids do...For the joy of playing and mateship.

VFL going ahead and NO PLAYER PAYMENTS. Get your head around it people...NO MONEY THIS YEAR.

Roxy have made their choice, that is fine.

But for mine everything that can be done to get it on this year should be done and I applaud the Clubs that support this.

Spot on mate

Well haven’t posted for a while but this one caught my attention UTR, in particular the comments about the email going around, totally understand the players point of view for not playing with risk for work commitments ETC, ETC.. , I wish them all the best.

I was well aware of this email that went around with 6 of the 8 div 1 clubs not wanting to play against EK + APW, bit of a throwing the toys out of the cot situation if you ask me. My question to you is how are EK + APW making a joke of the comp? By signing players? Roxy haven’t signed players? Tulla haven’t signed any players? I think the real problem with the player signings is the quality of the signing, whilst Roxy is signing a good player in Dimech, Airport west signed Dean Limbach, Roxy signed Nathan Reichelt who is a division 1 premiership player and had one of his better years playing in premier for Crazyburn, Tulla went and signed Shannon Broadbent, but that seems to be ok.

If the World health organisation was a part of this forum they would probably blame COVID-19 on EK because of the bias opinion about them. What do 6 of the clubs want moving forward? Should EK and APW just be moved up in to premier, would that make the comp happy? Airport west went through a year of heartache in Premier last year and in my opinion they would not be in a much better position now, these clubs are recruiting to build something, everyone takes pot shots at that guy that coaches EK trying everything possible to win a flag? When I have been part of the recruitment process at a club for a coach, I didn’t want to hear that they were there to take my clubs money and do nothing with it, I want results.

So turning the attention back onto the other clubs, I like Farrelly and what he has done at Roxy, but he hasn’t done it without recruiting, Craigieburn didn’t win their senior flag without recruiting.

Before Covid-19 restrictions kicked in I was able to get around to a couple of scratch matches, I am not sure why everyone is worried about EK, they were sh*t against Caroline springs, Tullamarine against Altona (flag favourite in WRFL div 1) were really good, Tulla have some good kids now and good depth, my money is on them if the season goes ahead.

Anyway I wish nothing but the best for every club that is facing financial hardship and I am sure all the Presidents will make the right call on their Own club.
Are u serious, an email went around and 6 clubs dropped the bottom lip and don’t want to play against EK and APW.👎