EDFL Div 1 Discussion 2025

Big crowd at Coburg today.. just a pity they didn’t have more volunteers to help with the food & drinks.. congratulations to Hillside on the win .. from a neutral attendee it was a must watch till late in the game .. looking forward to next season up in grade it’s unfortunate that the points rules will make it very hard to recruit the 10 or more players needed to be competitive.. it’s all set up for the bigger clubs to continue their dominance
Hey old mate, yes it’s not easy coming up however they played today on 34/46 points with 18 x 1 pointers and no 5 point guns I guess you could say. So they will have points.
However can all the 1 pointers compete at the higher level will be the question.

They will need to go hard at any ex juniors at other clubs and recruit a few guns, that’s obvious I guess.

I think any promoted side should be allocated 50 points, year 2 48 points..

Best of luck to them as they beat the favourites to earn there spot, and it was on the back of primarily 1 pointers.. And a smart coach who was instrumental. Rapt for him as his a great person..

He won’t play premier division mate, little to no chance. What a player he has been for hillside.
If they didn’t win it I guess there was a chance he might have left but now his got the premiership glory why would he not stay on. His very close with the football management team so I reckon he stays. Just my opinion..

They’re Certainly whooping it up back at their rooms!
I live maybe 6-700 metres away as the crow flies, and clear as day can hear em.. lost count of how many times they’ve belted out their team song (less decipherable each time lol)
And good bloody on em!
I’m Marby thru and thru, but since retiring up here and being so close, often wander around to their home games… Looked SO good today.. Tough at the footy, well coached and a game plan that they stuck to!
Really reckon they’ll do ok in A grade!
Great facilities, young keen well run club.. Get some big money sponsors and could become a future powerhouse?

If they didn’t win it I guess there was a chance he might have left but now his got the premiership glory why would he not stay on. His very close with the football management team so I reckon he stays. Just my opinion..

I agree he will stay.
32 goals to 1000
He will have a crack at that with Hillside in Premier division.
Shout out to the footy management team.
Had a plan and got it done.
Club is heading in the right direction.
Next year in premier is the time to really push the juniors and build junior teams that can play in Div 1.
Definitely has the potential to become a very powerful club.
Proud to be a shark 🦈

I live maybe 6-700 metres away as the crow flies, and clear as day can hear em.. lost count of how many times they’ve belted out their team song (less decipherable each time lol)
And good bloody on em!
I’m Marby thru and thru, but since retiring up here and being so close, often wander around to their home games… Looked SO good today.. Tough at the footy, well coached and a game plan that they stuck to!
Great facilities, young keen well run club.. Get some big money sponsors and could become a future powerhouse?
The hard thing will be that 2nd last in premier was Greenvale who had 5 wins. Let’s say 3 wins as EK were 2 of them. So they will need to win at least 5 games. It’s definitely possible.

And the question is, how will the big fella up forward go in premier?
He'd be mad not to give it a crack. Being such a big unit as long as the mids can get it down there he will kick a few. To be honest the question should be will Castello and the Caruso's go around again in Premier given they are at the end of their careers?

And good bloody on em!
They deserve to enjoy a great win. Well done to the committee who made the tough call to replace the coach a few years ago which has led to yesterday's result. The club has had a great program for a number of years but just need the right direction to get to the next level. With the ressies winning and the U18's making the prelim they are well placed for a crack at Premier.

Hillside to old to slow, Mo can't coach and all the jargon he does not understand. Who is laughing now
It's good for the competition to have a club enter Premier Div for the first time in the club's history.. In regard to yesterday's game, Hillside won it on the inside and the outside!

Congratulations to hillside, proved the haters wrong and shows the club is heading in the right direction! Do the EDFL grant prize money to the premiers on the promotion?
No prize money mate, all credit to the Hillbillies getting the choccies against Choke Park!

East Keilor have appointed a new coach. That’s a start. How do we think they will shape up for 2026?
Poorly. Might be a good coach but you can't polish a turd. No players and all their juniors walked out on them after the fiasco with captain topless and his hero brigade

East Keilor have appointed a new coach. That’s a start. How do we think they will shape up for 2026?
Signed for 2026 and 2027, I would imagine 2026 is all about just trying to stay up and build some stability. Then 2027 can hopefully see some development and improvement. Resume looks good!

When was the last time he coached a side? It mentions North Sunshine ( heads up EK maybe don’t put that club up on his list as it’s not a great look) Hillside but was probably 15 years ago and possibly C grade..

Best of luck to him though as his having a crack at a tough gig..