EDFL Premier Div 2018

I know it’s only the first week of junior footy but what is going on here in under 17 div3. It’s no wonder kids are dropping off in the 17s and 19s. Is this the fault of the league or have these clubs nominated an easy division to start with.

How are premier league clubs under 17 A team in div3. Surely this is a blight on the league and it’s happening in other divisions as well.

I give a club like Abers credit as they always play in the highest divisions they can whereas a club like Douttas is surely taking the pi&&. And they have done it in other divisions to.

How does Marbys A side play Hillsides B side??? Strange..

This is part of the reasons we are seeing a decline in junior participation at these ages..

993A36BF-5C5F-43DF-AE0F-4DF816A97CF3.png

Sp
I know it’s only the first week of junior footy but what is going on here in under 17 div3. It’s no wonder kids are dropping off in the 17s and 19s. Is this the fault of the league or have these clubs nominated an easy division to start with.

How are premier league clubs under 17 A team in div3. Surely this is a blight on the league and it’s happening in other divisions as well.

I give a club like Abers credit as they always play in the highest divisions they can whereas a club like Douttas is surely taking the pi&&. And they have done it in other divisions to.

This is part of the reasons we are seeing a decline in junior participation at these ages..

View attachment 480737
♂️♂️Hopefully some grading happening

View attachment 480737

As usual Turbo you have no idea what you are talking about! Clubs nominate a division they want to play in but the league don’t always accommodate. Douttas asked for their 17’s to be put in Div 2 but were put in Div 3.

Maybe you need to read my post with your glasses on bucks. That’s what I said..

So why would a club like Douttas with predominantly strong juniors nominate Div2? Why not div1 can I ask.,

Here is another example for you. Why is a 2nd side in such a low division like div7.. Another one sided result. 27 scoring shots to 1 in under 11 footy is very one sided. I’m guessing they enjoy singing the song bucks.. But it’s really damaging to participation levels buddy. Imagine a 8-9 year old kid from the opposite side who probably didn’t touch the ball. All they want is a fair contest..

2A48C1FB-A254-4F43-A49C-6A53C5FBE89A.png

So why would a club like Douttas with predominantly strong juniors nominate Div2? Why not div1 can I ask.,

Here is another example for you. Why is a 2nd side in such a low division like div7.. Another one sided result. 27 scoring shots to 1 in under 11 footy is very one sided. I’m guessing they enjoy singing the song bucks.. But it’s really damaging to participation levels buddy. Imagine a 8-9 year old kid from the opposite side who probably didn’t touch the ball. All they want is a fair contest..

View attachment 480792

Turbo you need a life buddy, why are you so concerned about EDS juniors. The team is a mix of bottom age and top. If you understand the grading system, we asked for Div 2 and if we had of won those games would have been put in Div 1, which would have been fine by us. The league controls where teams are put, clubs put in a preference.
From the rumours I’m hearing you might need to be a bit more concerned about Pacos finances. But you would know this already if you were in the know down there but from your previous posts that they weren’t getting audited or over the salary cap we all know that you are not. Worry about your own backyard !!

View attachment 480737

The first four weeks are grading aren't they?

There is always anomalies this early in the campaign and once sorted with the reshuffle it settles down.

The only anomalies post the re-grading is from those coaches who wax the first month but you would hate to think that happens.

Torquay never lost their premiership last season for being over.
In the past Melbourne Storm were found to be 'cheats' as a result of breaching the salary cap.
The Melbourne Storm salary cap breach resulted in the governing body stripping the Melbourne Storm of all honours achieved during that period which included two Premierships.
As most of us are aware AFL Victoria chose to enforce salary caps as a form of equalisation yet when selected teams chose to knowingly breach salary cap restrictions resulting in inadequate small sanctions there is absolutely no deterrent to 'cheating'.

Strong governance is the only way to deter 'cheats'.

Because the junior rules have a massive impact on what your senior team can do. Unfortunately the damage will be done and ut will be too late to fix.

Good point, but a dedicated thread on junior footy issues wouldn't get lost amongst game discussion about senior footy.

View attachment 480792

Hey Turbo your continue condemnation of Ess Doutta Stars is becoming very funny - read Go Bucks comment below to see the truth and then let’s see if your big enough to post that maybe for once you may be wrong, particularly against a EDFL club you obviously detest. Getting stuck into 16-17 year old kids is one of your lower posts I’ve seen. Your question about nominating for division 1, look at where the U17 team ended up last year on the ladder, the EDFL has placed them in Div 3, let’s hope with the grading games equilibrium is restored, it’s only round 1 of 4 grading games - let’s all relax shall we?

Oh
Hey Turbo your continue condemnation of Ess Doutta Stars is becoming very funny - read Go Bucks comment below to see the truth and then let’s see if your big enough to post that maybe for once you may be wrong, particularly against a EDFL club you obviously detest. Getting stuck into 16-17 year old kids is one of your lower posts I’ve seen. Your question about nominating for division 1, look at where the U17 team ended up last year on the ladder, the EDFL has placed them in Div 3, let’s hope with the grading games equilibrium is restored, it’s only round 1 of 4 grading games - let’s all relax shall we?

Hey Walter I strongly detest your low jab that I’m getting stuck into 16-17 kids. That’s a low insulting comment from someone that really needs to understand the reason behind my post.

Do you agree one sided results even in grading games in good for junior footy and keeping young kids playing footy when you can see especially at the older ages and some younger ages that the kids are leaving footy..
My point was seeing 2 results showed 55 scoring shots to nil..

Yes I hear you regarding previous seasons but these 2 clubs are both premier clubs with historically strong sides especially the club you are defending. They have won junior premierships in these grades..

What’s your view on a MP 1st side playing HS 2nd side.. Surely that’s a joke.

Also I was alluding to the point was it the league doing this or the clubs? It’s my honest opinion that coaches would roughly know from pre season training and practice games which division they are roughly headed for.

I really hope the league makes immediate changes and not wait 3-4 weeks...AFL Vic keep drumming it into us about junior participation levels and enjoyment in junior sport. Getting beat by 200 points in round1 is not enjoyable for anyone. That I can assure you..

Yes I did make an uncalled for wisecrack on singing the song post game but I would seroiusly hope no club official would encourage the singing after a win of this kind in a junior grading game. Let’s at least acknowledge the mistake in grading.,

Thoughts..

Snake, based on what I saw Saturday, Hansen would really need to lift his performance level to justify what Pacco are probably paying him. Was largely ineffectual. Would have thought a player of his undoubted quality would dominate in EDFL. May have just been an off day, and he will work his way into it. Took Cacchia at Strathmore a few weeks to find his feet last season.

Oh

Hey Walter I strongly detest your low jab that I’m getting stuck into 16-17 kids. That’s a low insulting comment from someone that really needs to understand the reason behind my post.

Do you agree one sided results even in grading games in good for junior footy and keeping young kids playing footy when you can see especially at the older ages and some younger ages that the kids are leaving footy..
My point was seeing 2 results showed 55 scoring shots to nil..

Yes I hear you regarding previous seasons but these 2 clubs are both premier clubs with historically strong sides especially the club you are defending. They have won junior premierships in these grades..

What’s your view on a MP 1st side playing HS 2nd side.. Surely that’s a joke.

Also I was alluding to the point was it the league doing this or the clubs? It’s my honest opinion that coaches would roughly know from pre season training and practice games which division they are roughly headed for.

I really hope the league makes immediate changes and not wait 3-4 weeks...AFL Vic keep drumming it into us about junior participation levels and enjoyment in junior sport. Getting beat by 200 points in round1 is not enjoyable for anyone. That I can assure you..

Yes I did make an uncalled for wisecrack on singing the song post game but I would seroiusly hope no club official would encourage the singing after a win of this kind in a junior grading game. Let’s at least acknowledge the mistake in grading.,

Thoughts..
As I said, it’s grading games. Let’s hope the EDFL get it right. I agree with you about no one wanting to get thumped by that amount and it’s not good for junior footy - but you have to agree - you do show a unprecedented bias to EDSFC -
I mean you could have picked the U15 Oak Park vs Abers junior game where Oak
Park beat them by over 220 points as well - but as as usual week in week out - let’s review EDSFC. You can have good insight at times on the EDFL but can I see a post from you in the next week not aimed at Douttas - can you accept the challenge

As I said, it’s grading games. Let’s hope the EDFL get it right. I agree with you about no one wanting to get thumped by that amount and it’s not good for junior footy - but you have to agree - you do show a unprecedented bias to EDSFC -
Park beat them by over 220 points as well - but as as usual week in week out - let’s review EDSFC. You can have good insight at times on the EDFL but can I see a post from you in the next week not aimed at Douttas - can you accept the challenge

Washup from Saturday going by results - Abers still team to beat accounting for PV with key outs. GV and MP with big wins suggests gulf between top 6, then AH then G/WC/EDS. Biggest losers EDS and G - EDS for the size of loss and G for losing at home to WC which they would have wanted to win. They play each other this round at Nippa and even after 2 rounds that loser would jump to relegation favouritism.

Paul Chapman certainly makes some very valid points in today's Sunday Herald Sun.
He certainly told it how it is.
There wouldn't be to many team orientated sporting environments around the world that would allow a team to be crowned the best team of that season whilst also being found guilty of cheating throughout the same season.
As Paul Chapman said "if you cheat you should win nothing".
Surely some of the Aberfeldie coaches, players, administrators, members and supporters would not have stood as proud as one should have yesterday when they unfurled the flag knowing that they had knowingly breached the salary cap.

i don't understand Chappy i mean why turn to the paper to have your 5 minutes of air time it is poor taste. As a passionate Jets man i was totally disappointed by this and especially some of the posts from some of there senior players too recently on social media and now trying to win on these terms just stinks to me.
I think if he had a choice again to pick his moment it wouldnt be this way maybe tryin to stay relevant because i was so disapointed last year on grand final day because he picked himself instead of Koronoes and picked Marric also when clearly injured and maybe it would not made the difference but could have helped get closer to abers
i say move on it is a new year boys and we have a flag to win

Washup from Saturday going by results - Abers still team to beat accounting for PV with key outs. GV and MP with big wins suggests gulf between top 6, then AH then G/WC/EDS. Biggest losers EDS and G - EDS for the size of loss and G for losing at home to WC which they would have wanted to win. They play each other this round at Nippa and even after 2 rounds that loser would jump to relegation favouritism.

avondale were good for most part no depth thoush as our reserves where very impressive. avondale will win there fair share of games this yr and surprise a few to

Nah! I think Turbo should continue to focus on EDS. Otherwise he’ll just revert to his other favourite whipping boy, Strathmore. We’ve had a nice little break of late.

Yes, they haven’t got anything to fall back on if they get a few injuries. Really disappointed in Lachie Hansen. He should dominate at this level. Hopefully works his way into it.

As a North supporter, I was happy to see Firrito at Strathmore last year. He was holding his own against the best forwards in the AFL so I thought he would dominate EDFL either up front, back or in the midfield. While he was very handy and ran a place in the BnF, he was no where near as dominant as I thought.

I will watch with interest Hanners progress this year

As a North supporter, I was happy to see Firrito at Strathmore last year. He was holding his own against the best forwards in the AFL so I thought he would dominate EDFL either up front, back or in the midfield. While he was very handy and ran a place in the BnF, he was no where near as dominant as I thought.

I will watch with interest Hanners progress this year
Yes, you're absolutely right. I overlooked Firrito. He would have been a more relevant comparison to Hansen's situation. If Hansen can reproduce anything approaching his AFL ability ( even over the last couple of years ), he will be a real weapon for Pacco.

I don’t necessarily have a crack at EDS all the time. I can refrain for 1 week. Lol

Just on the Abers loss in that game I don’t like that result either however I do notice most (if not all) of Abers teams are playing a reasonably high division. Even there 3rd sides play high up. I have been known to dislike Abers as well but I give them a lot of credit with regards to this.

I know this is a senior thread but now with this points system in place juniors need to be taken as a priority. I think the lower 2-3 divisions should be for clubs 3rd sides and thoses trying to rebuild like Keilor Park, Tulla etc unless they have some good players. Don’t want to see a big kid tackle some 8-9 year old first year player and throw him into the ground. That’s why some kids head to soccer or basketball.

I agree it’s tough with so many sides but clubs need to be honest and help the league.

The other thing is it’s not just the kids who lose interest but imagine a new coach on the receiving end of a 200 Point loss. His probably thinking stuff this let’s stop at 1/2 time as we are getting nowhere here. Better running a training session or sitting somewhere having a beer and watching AFL. It’s honestly a waste of time. And his probably thinking grading games should be just that. Yes the season ahead you might encounter a gun side and lose by 60-90 points but a grading game.

Seroiusly Walter if that was me giving up my Sunday arvo to coach I would pull the pin at 1/2 time as what are your kids getting out of that game?? If your doing the right thing by the coaching book you pull the pin and try and teach them via an extra training session.

Thoughts...

I don’t necessarily have a crack at EDS all the time. I can refrain for 1 week. Lol

Just on the Abers loss in that game I don’t like that result either however I do notice most (if not all) of Abers teams are playing a reasonably high division. Even there 3rd sides play high up. I have been known to dislike Abers as well but I give them a lot of credit with regards to this.

I know this is a senior thread but now with this points system in place juniors need to be taken as a priority. I think the lower 2-3 divisions should be for clubs 3rd sides and thoses trying to rebuild like Keilor Park, Tulla etc unless they have some good players. Don’t want to see a big kid tackle some 8-9 year old first year player and throw him into the ground. That’s why some kids head to soccer or basketball.

I agree it’s tough with so many sides but clubs need to be honest and help the league.

The other thing is it’s not just the kids who lose interest but imagine a new coach on the receiving end of a 200 Point loss. His probably thinking stuff this let’s stop at 1/2 time as we are getting nowhere here. Better running a training session or sitting somewhere having a beer and watching AFL. It’s honestly a waste of time. And his probably thinking grading games should be just that. Yes the season ahead you might encounter a gun side and lose by 60-90 points but a grading game.

Seroiusly Walter if that was me giving up my Sunday arvo to coach I would pull the pin at 1/2 time as what are your kids getting out of that game?? If your doing the right thing by the coaching book you pull the pin and try and teach them via an extra training session.

Thoughts...

Thoughts...
My thoughts are:
1. Can you accept the challenge, I reckon your going to struggle
2. There was quite a few big wins on the weekend, the EDFL put teams where they think they should be going on last years results, with kids moving to other clubs, kids moving up from younger divisions then you are going to get what happened on the weekend, as team dynamics change from year to year
3. Other premier league clubs U17 first teams Avondale, Marby also in Div 3 and won by over 200 points
4. If grading is taken seriously by the EDFL this should be rectified in coming weeks to all the teams (winner and losers) so a fairer system is had by all, in years gone by there were teams who were defeated by this much each week prior to grading so at least EDFL are having a crack at getting it right, I mean this is
Not the first time it’s happened
5. Nothing worse than being beaten by that margin
6. Abers U17 side 2017 all won premierships so deserve to be in higher divisions
7. Let’s move on to next week ..... and remember you said you would have a crack at running down another club this week & not EDSFC - I’ll be watching , I’ll buy you a beer at the next EDSFC vs Paco game if you succeed

Thoughts...

Thoughts are that is a victim mindset!

Sitting there complaining about your own lot instead of doing something about it.

Sure the league has to play their role in ensuring some equality across each division so their is no blowouts but seriously throwing in the towel at half time because you are getting beaten in junior match would have much greater impact on the kids than rolling up your sleeves and trying to coach them.

My other point on this is - of the talented Abers home grown players who played on Saturday against Pascoe Vale across 1's and 2's all of them played in the first or second team throughout our junior program for the majority of their junior career.

Putting a cap on clubs would lead to less participation of our great game than equality IMO.

I rehash what I have said before also - invest in your people, your community, your club, your program and the culture of your club don't sit back and play the victim that Abers and Keilor and Greenvale and Strathmore and Marbi and Hillside have the run of the green because they have more teams across divisions.

Look deeper and try and understand WHY these programs are working and WHY these clubs have 70% or more of their own talent playing senior footy today.

The other carry on about unfairness in point deductions on "non home grown" players is a cop out also - why shouldn't we be rewarded if we retain the likes of Craven, Cubillo, Davis, Allan, Johns, Blackwell, Reimers, Hislop x 3? Long standing loyal club people not just footballers!! Try and understand it first before canning it.

Sure some keyboard warriors will sit back and fire garbage back and I wish you all the best of luck with that!! I really do hope it leads to a life of smiles!!