EDFL-Premier Division 2013

When was the last time someone kicked 100 goals in A Grade? Rose has kicked 80 with 4 h&a games to go so you'd think he is a fair chance.
GV/Abers will be very interesting. APW ultra impressive, huge game Marby v AH this week, Marby lose and you'd have to say the 4 would be set, gotta say it's good to see a couple of new clubs playing finals.

Pretty sure Garth got 100 plus in 2009 or 2010. I know Tim Harvey got over 100 in 2006.

Abers the real deal this year?

Yes, I reckon they have performed admirably so far. Although I barrack for neither team I have seen a fair bit of both Abers and Greenvale. I have been impressed with Abers for their intensity and attack on the ball and opposition ( fairly ).

Would agree with Shagshouli that Greenvale look the best when both teams have full lists. They just seem to have a lot of quality players, particular in tall guys who can take a mark, but are also pretty mobile, and kick goals. They also have blokes there who are very experienced and have played lots of finals football.

Having said that, if Abers play up to the standard that I have seen on some occasions this season they are more than capable of knocking Greenvale off. They have plenty of depth, as evidenced by their undefeated 2's. Lots of blokes there who have previously played successfully in the firsts. Abers prospects would be greatly enhanced if big Fanning could recapture the form that he displayed last season. I would be very surprised if these 2 don't play off.

I think Airport West are the best of the rest and assuming they make finals should win the first semi. I don't think they can beat Greenvale in finals, but will trouble Abers, particularly if enough of the ball gets down to Kenny.

Sadly for Tim Harvey he suffered a serious knee injury playing for Bernard's a couple of weekends ago. Wish him all the best with recovery though not sure if he will go around again.

That's bad news. Tim was a top player for the Mores and a decent bloke. Went back to St Bernards in the twilight of his career to put in 1-2 seasons with his old school.

So, it seems players didn't walk out at Douttas, but were simply dropped for not turning up to a training session over the break. Sounds pretty fair to me.

Marcus has also had his contract extended by two years.

Why would Marcus call a training session over the break? They are no hope of making finals, maybe he should concentrate all his efforts on winning games of football on match day instead of calling meaningless training sessions when no-one wants to go and really there is no benefit. Sometimes common sense has to come into play instead of trying to be seen to be doing "the right thing".

You talk so much dribble. I am pretty sure training helps to win games of footy.
From your theory above as soon as finals are not in the picture you just let every one cruise along for the rest of the year?

Firstly I get the "everyone should be toeing the line" and I do agree with that to a certain extent.. but clubs need to be very careful setting these rules, we are all LOCAL FOOTBALL CLUBS/PLAYERS, not fulltime professional's
Doesn't matter how much training Doutta's would do, it wouldn't change where they are going to end up.
That's not a dig at Doutta's so much, same goes for Pacco, Oak Park , what's the use of them doing extra sessions or compulsary sessions in a week off? It's not going to make any difference to their performance, let's face it most of those blokes probably used the weekend off the get on the drink so any "additional training" is nulified. Get real, the only thing that matters is performance between 2.15-5pm on a Saturday, and at this stage of the season the only teams that matter are the clubs still a chance to make the finals. So those clubs suspending players for not turning up to training only hurts the club and their team mates and smacks of EGO from the people who make those decisions.

Could very well be the reason why Douttas are off the pace in premier division.
You make a strong case for a Div 1 side.

So, it seems players didn't walk out at Douttas, but were simply dropped for not turning up to a training session over the break. Sounds pretty fair to me.

Marcus has also had his contract extended by two years.
So why did they not play reserves? Dropped out of the club, bit drastic

Firstly I get the "everyone should be toeing the line" and I do agree with that to a certain extent.. but clubs need to be very careful setting these rules, we are all LOCAL FOOTBALL CLUBS/PLAYERS, not fulltime professional's
Doesn't matter how much training Doutta's would do, it wouldn't change where they are going to end up.
That's not a dig at Doutta's so much, same goes for Pacco, Oak Park , what's the use of them doing extra sessions or compulsary sessions in a week off? It's not going to make any difference to their performance, let's face it most of those blokes probably used the weekend off the get on the drink so any "additional training" is nulified. Get real, the only thing that matters is performance between 2.15-5pm on a Saturday, and at this stage of the season the only teams that matter are the clubs still a chance to make the finals. So those clubs suspending players for not turning up to training only hurts the club and their team mates and smacks of EGO from the people who make those decisions.
You really need to get your facts right!!!!
Firstly , there was no training session over the break. The players had actually had the Tues off, and only trained the Thursday before their weekend off. One player did not show on the Thiurs night, and another 3 did not train on the Tues after the break. Two of the three played 2 s, and another didnt train at all all week, but I suspect he will play this weekend. They did not walk out at all.
One player has been unsighted.
There were 7 changes last Sat, 3 from injury after Marby game.
All is fine at EDS.

Well if nothing else you are consistent - in serving up unadulterated crap - NFI !!

I must say that this would have to be the most ridiculous post this season. Players must conform to what the coaching staff set out. It is not unreasonable to expect players to attend training, even in a bye week. I also assume that some of these players get paid good money tax free so they are professional. In some cases senior players make more from local football than what they may be making in their full time job. Especially if they are at the start of their work career where wages are not great. If you have undisciplined players at any club and they are allowed to get away with breaking team rules etc., it breeds a negative culture.

Agree 100% if the player is on good $$$'s, no reason for them not to turn up to every training session regardles, I was mor referring to the blokes who play for the club(not the $$$'s).
Sierra - You have no idea mate, how is your team going this year?
Katamatitie Kid - Fair enough buddy, thanks for putting some facts on the table, Good luck for the rest of the season

haha nice pickup, I didnt notice that

The tweet was from The Weekly Review @TWRSport

great news on mighty mick all we need now is the AGM to come and start turning our club around.
may be now we can stop the bus going up the hill

great news on mighty mick all we need now is the AGM to come and start turning our club around.
may be now we can stop the bus going up the hill

Great to see McGuane leading Keilor FC into Season 2014 - strong appointment by the Executive. I will be at the AGM voting for the current Executive to reload & go again. IF you are a TRUE Keilor person one would have thought you would support no matter what. Obviously one of those fence sitters that we can do without!!

dont worry about me be being a true Keilor person think about where the club has gone since the Executive have taking over. The club has really gone forward. As for support for Executive the they are a club with in take a survey and see how popular there are with their members.

Watched jets v abers today.Good game in poor conditions both sides went hard and umpires also did a good job only paying the obvious.Abers done themselves no favours with bad goalkicking.Greenvale being a smaller low to the ground side suited more by conditions I thought..Bicer was good as usual and Connors good for Abers although seemed to be favouring a leg the whole game.Pretty certain these 2 will play off in grand final with Abers wanting good weather to use the height advantage I feel they have.