EDFL-Premier Division 2013

Mal was beaten in the first half and came into it as the game wore on, he offered little around the ground where as Wight/Shinners offered Greenvale marking targets and were crucial in Greenvales attacking play.
I'm sure Abers will be looking to bring in a quality tall or even play Kefford more next season.

Agree with the Drebster...Mal busted his arse all day, the in and unders where the difference, the 10%'s of smothers, pressure for miss kicks and tackling/corralling was a treat to watch, so disciplined...Big Dave...heard he didn't play because of injury, or was it that he wasn't to be picked...so did not want to run around in the 2's....
No doubting the effort - he rucked unchanged and was hard at the ball when it hit the ground - but he was soundly beaten.

Abers named their six best as Patak, El Houli, Rush, Castellano, Tipungwuti and Jacob Hislop. No arguments from me on those six. Across the board though they had too few passengers.

Agree with the Drebster...Mal busted his arse all day, the in and unders where the difference, the 10%'s of smothers, pressure for miss kicks and tackling/corralling was a treat to watch, so disciplined...Big Dave...heard he didn't play because of injury, or was it that he wasn't to be picked...so did not want to run around in the 2's....

Absolutely. Great team effort from Greenvale.

I thought Campisano was superb at full-back in this regard - gave nothing away against Tom Hislop and then (later on) Johns.

So Abers spend 400-500k, Doutta's spend 160k , both finish up with the same thing - ZIP. Abers, that was your chance, you blew it, laughing stock, ha ha ha ha
bangfrom50, Yesterday at 1:12 PM

Let's see, Money issue aside, win five games for the year and finish third last or win 15 and play off in a Grand Final and get beaten by a worthy champion in a close game, yeh a guess that makes them a laughing stock. Lucky you're happy with 5 wins as you don't have to go too hard to be happy again next year.

Let's see, Money issue aside, win five games for the year and finish third last or win 15 and play off in a Grand Final and get beaten by a worthy champion in a close game, yeh a guess that makes them a laughing stock. Lucky you're happy with 5 wins as you don't have to go too hard to be happy again next year.[/quote]

You can't just brush the MONEY ISSUE aside, that is the only reason why Abers were in the finals and the absorbent amount they spent, nothing but a Flag in the 1's could justify that. Greenvale are Justified because they won and have a culture that winning is the only thing that matters.
Not happy at all with 5 wins but comparing the MONEY spent and what both clubs achieved I'd rather be in Doutta's shoes than Abers. Let's get off Doutta's, compare Avondale & APW to Abers, $200k v $500k, which clubs in the scheme of it all has had a better year?
Your content is the exact reason why Abers keep falling over. Do you reckon the Mores were happy with last season????

Let's see, Money issue aside, win five games for the year and finish third last or win 15 and play off in a Grand Final and get beaten by a worthy champion in a close game, yeh a guess that makes them a laughing stock. Lucky you're happy with 5 wins as you don't have to go too hard to be happy again next year.

You can't just brush the MONEY ISSUE aside, that is the only reason why Abers were in the finals and the absorbent amount they spent, nothing but a Flag in the 1's could justify that. Greenvale are Justified because they won and have a culture that winning is the only thing that matters.
Not happy at all with 5 wins but comparing the MONEY spent and what both clubs achieved I'd rather be in Doutta's shoes than Abers. Let's get off Doutta's, compare Avondale & APW to Abers, $200k v $500k, which clubs in the scheme of it all has had a better year?
Your content is the exact reason why Abers keep falling over. Do you reckon the Mores were happy with last season????[/quote]
Despite the money spent at some of these clubs they are still local footy clubs at the end of the day and whether you play or simply go along to watch your mates/kids etc play, you can still be proud of these clubs efforts.
Obviously Abers would have preferred to have gone one better at the weekend but despite the loss I'm sure they'd rather be competing for the premiership than simply making up the numbers as they have previously.

What's the story at oak park? Lost the premier gf by 2 points to strathmore 2 years ago and now find themselves in B grade again

Doubt they'll be as dominant in b grade(div 1) this time around as they won 5 games in a grade the last time they were relegated this year won none

Your content is the exact reason why Abers keep falling over. Do you reckon the Mores were happy with last season????[/quote]
Seem as though you know abers pay $500000 per season please break down payments as to who gets what $$ cos thats $25000 per game which is bull s h i t. I look forward to your replyDont just make things up back it up with facts.Cheers

I heard that both fanning and mangan were on about 1500 a game. So you would have to imagine the quality of hislop, patak, cubilo, connors and johns would be around the same if not more. So 7 players at that figure is about 10 grand a week

3 Key words in your posts 1 heard 2 about 3 imagine. So many of you guys in this forum just like posting baseless rubbish n rumour try sticking to facts .And dont winge about clubs spending $$$ just cos your club cant or dont

Interesting times @ the EDFL with an Extraordinary General Meeting being called for early October to amend a policy/Constitution to allow clubs to compete without seniors/juniors. The spin from the EDFL is that they want to even up the comp for clubs that are struggling for junior players.
But could the change be for a club in the local area who's seniors play in another competition who want their juniors to play in the comp even though they left the competition a few years ago.
Surely clubs in the area (and their are heaps) would not like this proposal as surely it would effect junior set ups. Interesting couple of weeks ahead.

Your content is the exact reason why Abers keep falling over. Do you reckon the Mores were happy with last season????
Seem as though you know abers pay $500000 per season please break down payments as to who gets what $$ cos thats $25000 per game which is bull s h i t. I look forward to your replyDont just make things up back it up with facts.Cheers[/quote]

I think you are missing my point and it seems that you are more bothered by the amount of money they have spent than the result. My comment was more directed at the performance for the year rather than the value they got for their money. Looking at just the result I would be happier to make a Grand Final than finish third last and I don't think anyone would disagree with that.

I think that the amount of money spent in local football is ridiculous and not good for the competition but the reality is it has been happening for years now and there will always be someone to push the boundary and take it to the next level. I have been around long enough to remember the same complaints and uproars being heard about the amount of money that Greenvale, Marby, Pascoe Vale were spending to get into A grade and it took them all at least two years of over the top spending compared to other teams to achieve that. The divide between A and B grade requires at least a doubling of the spend to even be just competitive so should we be saying that going into A Grade is bulls**t for that same reason, or if you are going to double your spend you are a laughing stock if you don't do better than just survive the first couple of years. Deer Park won their flag but the same uproars are heard in the WRFL about the amount of money they spent and I am sure that even if Abers did win your comments would have been the same. If your club could afford that money and spent it in a season would you walk out in disgust?

So my point is, are you bitter about the amount of money they spent and whether or not your budget was the same or the result they got for the year compared to Douttas? Clearly you are bitter towards Abers as a club because "Greenvale are Justified because they won and have a culture that winning is the only thing that matter" so is it OK for Greenvale to spend as much as they want because they won or because of the winning culture, which by the way was obtained largely by spending in the first place??? I don't particularly care for Abers, Greenvale or Douttas for that matter I just find it amusing when people focus more on the spending competition than the game itself.

Could be pegs as well.... Used to play in the edfl

Last two years have their juniors up and running again

Sunbury Lions, who have been rumoured want to get into the EDFL for about the past 10 years but have had issues because their juniors are run as a completely separate club to the seniors and they have never been able to get the jnrs to agree to leave the RDJFL. This would allow Sunbury seniors to move to EDFL without the Jnrs.

Has there ever been any thought to an EDFL Netball comp, these are run successfully throughout country Vic and I think the Northern and Riddell leagues both have netball comps. The netball is usually a great way to get players wives/gfs/daughters into the footy club and provides a much better family atmosphere to the footy environment.

Sunbury had an ego problem of not wanting to come in our lowest comp. With the addition of Burnside next there would a chance that they maybe able to slot into B Grade and avoid any division having a bye.

But looking from a distanse i would say there would another club coming in to ensure there is no bye in B Grade next season.

Sunbury had an ego problem of not wanting to come in our lowest comp. With the addition of Burnside next there would a chance that they maybe able to slot into B Grade and avoid any division having a bye.

But looking from a distanse i would say there would another club coming in to ensure there is no bye in B Grade next season.
To be fair, they're too good for B grade.

I've heard nothing about Sunbury Lions since 2011 when they were still mainly angry about the umpiring in the grand final against Redan more than anything.

If they went into Div 1 it'd be a waste of a year. They'd only lose the flag if Hillside spent like crazy and Sunbury got destroyed by injuries.

With that said thou they can't expect to come straight into A Grade, a bit unfair to the club that wins B Grade.

Would it be any more unfair than a whole division going through the motions for a year due to a side being much too good?
Would it be possible to run with them as an extra side for a year and then demote two at seasons end to return to normal? Obviously it'd be a bit of a stuff around for two divisions but it's the fairest thing for all parties imo.
Providing they definitely wanted to come across that is..

I've heard nothing about Sunbury Lions since 2011 when they were still mainly angry about the umpiring in the grand final against Redan more than anything.

If they went into Div 1 it'd be a waste of a year. They'd only lose the flag if Hillside spent like crazy and Sunbury got destroyed by injuries.
Yeah they were whining about a bias against the non Ballarat sides at the time but from speaking to people after their games against North City this year I'm pretty sure they'd still like to come across.

If you have a look at past B Grade seasons there has pretty much been one dominate team that looked 'almost certain' to win the flag for the majority of the season.

Greenvale
Avondale Heights
Marby Park
Oak Park
Pascoe Vale
Northern Saints

If Sunbury do play B Grade no certainly to win remember both Greenvale & Marby lost B Grade Grand Finals when they were clearly the best team all year.