EDFL Premier Division 2017

EDS opening the cheque book again in what will be Wallis last year as coach. Deano is a good coach, suited to local footy so EDS having a real crack at cashing in while he's there. Got me stuffed though how they could be under the $250k cap???

Hey bang you have good mail. Did hear about 2 huge offers in which 1 was accepted however the other player declined and signed at another club recruiting well to try and get back into finals. Will they be the first club to get caught paying sign ons, via the old paper bag system. Believe it's been let out and some clubs not happy..
Don't wish to disclose names or $$ but both players were on an AFL list a few years back.

Hey bang you have good mail. Did hear about 2 huge offers in which 1 was accepted however the other player declined and signed at another club recruiting well to try and get back into finals. Will they be the first club to get caught paying sign ons, via the old paper bag system. Believe it's been let out and some clubs not happy..
Don't wish to disclose names or $$ but both players were on an AFL list a few years back.

G'day Turbo me ol' mate
Always good mail once you're into your 8th Pot and beyond sitting at the Front Bar!
Not just those 2 massive offers but they're paying overs for a couple of other recruits who demanded the same pay at other EDFL clubs that justifiably deemed them not worthy.

Definitely played at Werribee and was one of the first picked. He's a gun. Was a very good VFL player and will be in the top few players in the EDFL if he plays at Marbi. He is good mates with Robbie Castello as they lived together.

Haha good luck to Avondale Heights with their new assistant coach. Give him till round 5 before he gets the ass or upsets someone so much to make them leave

Hi lads,
Long time reader, first time poster.
Just a genuine fan of the EDFL, have a few mates at a few different clubs in the Premier Division - but no real connection/love for any club.

The Martinello deal at Marby was through Castello, I believe.
Played together at Werribee when Rob was captain and from memory Martinello played 50+ games at senior level and would train with the club previous few years and then make the trip to the country for weekend games. His brother Joey has played the previous few seasons at Marby too.

Few mumbles of a few Port Melbourne boys hearing how much the 5 or 6 that came across last year enjoyed their time and are in talks.. Not sure if thats true or not.
Did hear they've had 61 & 66 to first couple of days preseason so think the club are pretty happy where they are sitting.

Bang on the $$$ with the above mail, joey is a great fella so was no surprise to see his brother come across, can say from training so far, Marby's numbers are huge, it's great to see :)

Hi lads,
Long time reader, first time poster.
Just a genuine fan of the EDFL, have a few mates at a few different clubs in the Premier Division - but no real connection/love for any club.

The Martinello deal at Marby was through Castello, I believe.
Played together at Werribee when Rob was captain and from memory Martinello played 50+ games at senior level and would train with the club previous few years and then make the trip to the country for weekend games. His brother Joey has played the previous few seasons at Marby too.

Few mumbles of a few Port Melbourne boys hearing how much the 5 or 6 that came across last year enjoyed their time and are in talks.. Not sure if thats true or not.
Did hear they've had 61 & 66 to first couple of days preseason so think the club are pretty happy where they are sitting.

How well have Douttas recruited??
Based off that you'd have to think they'd be close too, if not top 2.
In saying that though, they'd want to find themselves a solid account and ensuring there is no rats in the club or else the auditers will be coming!!

Pasoce Vale too - Very solid recruiting.
Although Pasoce Vale are like the school yard bully - Beat up on the small guys and when a bigger/stronger challenge comes along they crumble. Maybe more of a mentality thing than ability.. Happened last 3-4 years now.

Craigieburn are the difficult one for me?
Lost a bit of talent to the weak guys who are scared of playing Premier Division to Jacana which will hurt them, and from what i've noticed anyway (might be wrong) hasn't been any huge signings coming in.

Greenvale, Abers and Keilor bound to be strong again.

Anyone willing to make a November ladder prediction?

Anyway im not huge on these forum type things, just wanted to say hello!

Far review mate.

Agree Pacco have been disappointing in some performances especially the 2 finals played over previous 2 years. Definitely have the talent as shown by beating Keilor at Keilor last season during the good weather. Kept majority of there list and recruited the type of players they lacked over previous seasons. Anderson a huge recruit in the scheme of there set up..

I guess on Marby the appointment of Castello as coach was always going to shine through. Great guy and full of loyalty shown by his resume and his commitment to Marby. Clinnick helping him will only benefit the coaching panel and the club.

Craigieburn will need to find some big key position players otherwise they will be up against it and opposing teams will kick big scores with the quality forwards in this comp. Kite will play FF.

Douttas are an interesting one at this stage..

Strathmore with improve with the raging bull Cachia the middle and Firrito down back.

Don't underestimate Avondale with the core group staying. Cam Wood will provide first use and Rose will kick plenty. But do they have the quality key backs??

Yeah and the sh*tty change rooms , sharing a toilet with the punters...

Listen mate - the council own the ground so things probably won't change in regards schools using it. So it will never be up to A Grade standard, best Marby find a ground with a suitable surface or get back to B Grade

Walter St?

So Abers 3rds and 2nd tier junior teams take precedence over Marby Park footy club. Makes sense!

Exactly that is ridiculous, they are council owned grounds so they can surely do what they want with them. Fairburn Park might be a better solution but would cost a bit more to have it ready to use as a footy ground.

Clash jumpers for 1s, 2s and 19s from 2018.

Link

EACH of the EDFL’s 27 senior clubs have been invited to submit new alternate jumper designs to be introduced for the 2018 EDFL season.

With an eye toward expansion of the League in coming years and the numerous existing jumper clashes currently existing within our competitions, the EDFL has determined clash jumpers will be required for all competing clubs in Seniors, Reserves & U19s football from Season 2018.

Exactly that is ridiculous, they are council owned grounds so they can surely do what they want with them. Fairburn Park might be a better solution but would cost a bit more to have it ready to use as a footy ground.
My mail tells me Marby may be getting a second level on the social rooms?

Thought so, Lol... All these guys 1 pointers if any of them can play.. Plus low payments..

Anyway bang, any more news as think some clubs have completed there playing list's. Plus what's happened to the bus drive Route66. His gone MIA..
Are you referring to me Turbo?
I'm a tram driver and it's Route 59.
Heard some big inclusions possibly to the league.
Two will be the biggest names to enter any level of local football ever in the country.
Two other's also ex AFL not so well credentialed but will be more than handy.
The first two I doubt will happen so sorry but no names. Hope it happens though crowds will flock.

Are you referring to me Turbo?
I'm a tram driver and it's Route 59.
Heard some big inclusions possibly to the league.
Two will be the biggest names to enter any level of local football ever in the country.
Two other's also ex AFL not so well credentialed but will be more than handy.
The first two I doubt will happen so sorry but no names. Hope it happens though crowds will flock.
D Petrie/c Dempsey to cburn if not drafted?

All due respect to those two Foss but they wouldn't bring the crowds like the two I've heard. Anyway thought it was common knowledge Petrie to Strathmore with other North boys if not taken by West Coast.
Dempsey I've heard nothing.

All due respect to those two Foss but they wouldn't bring the crowds like the two I've heard. Anyway thought it was common knowledge Petrie to Strathmore with other North boys if not taken by West Coast.
Dempsey I've heard nothing.

23 points on 4 players, Doesn't leave much for the rest of the team?

EDFL Premier Division 2017