EDFL Premier Division 2017

I'll agree with you there Turbo

Player payments are the single biggest expense for any footy club, whether you're at the bottom of C Grade and paying $30k or the top of A Grade and paying $250k. Every club would set themselves a budget at the start of the season, and would know exactly where they sit in relation to that budget at every point of the season.

It's laughable to think the people that should have known at Douttas didn't know until advised by the league!

I don't think anyone from the club has denied that have they ?

Hi KB, this is not a direct reply to you but to all the big footy readers.

Let's all be honest here. I believe Douttas knew exactly what they were doing in the preseason with recruiting and spending. Then to try and enforce on ALL players a 20% cut is totally wrong. What is even worse is informing players weeks after clearances have closed. That's a pretty low and disrespectful thing to do. These players didn't deserve that.. The least Douttas could have done was shown the players some respect and give them an option to stay and take a pay cut or give them a clearance prior to June 30. In my book that's disgusting and entrapment. If I were a player I would either tell them to stick it now (if you can afford it) or play out the year and then move on.

Rumours circulating that Douttas have moved on an official. Guess someone had to take the fall..

I would like to think it was a case of left hand not knowing what the right hand is doing rather than a direct attempt to cheat the system. There is no crime in signing 20 players to $4000 per game each so long as the total spend for the year is not exceeded. I would imagine that those negotiating payments and those doing team selection may well be different people so may well not have known what the financial impact of playing certain players may have. I like to be a glass half full type of person so would also like to think that the timing of it all coming out was not intentionally held back until after the transfer cut off. If it was then that absolutely sucks and if the EDFL can show that it was before 30 June, then any player wanting to leave to join another EDFL club should be allowed to do so regardless of closed transfer date.

I'll agree with you there Turbo

Player payments are the single biggest expense for any footy club, whether you're at the bottom of C Grade and paying $30k or the top of A Grade and paying $250k. Every club would set themselves a budget at the start of the season, and would know exactly where they sit in relation to that budget at every point of the season.

It's laughable to think the people that should have known at Douttas didn't know until advised by the league!

Hey mate, I also believe it's not the league that has enforced the club into this pay cut. Maybe Douttas have got the cash to fulfill those contracts "but" opting to take another path and take it out financially on the playing group, as its highly unlikely they will play finals and want to save cash for another tilt next season. As I previously mentioned maybe some players form warrants playing reserves or even reaccess their contract agreement in consultation with the player. Some players might be willing to accept a pay cut based on their performance but to take the "easy" way out and hit everyone financially is unethical in my book. I bet they also criticise any player that decides to not accept the pay cut and wants to leave.

His another possible case: Player x signed at Douttas for less than what other clubs offered and playing for less than his market value. So his done the honourable thing by the club, then gets told can you now take a further 20% cut to help us.. Once again totally wrong and disrespectful..

I stand to be corrected but i'm led to believe the timing of the announcement was due to Douttas hierarchy only becoming aware of the problem post 1 July (clearance closing date).

I can't answer that because I'd be guessing. I'm not sure when the committee became aware of it but the football operations and coaching staff would have been fully aware of the situation and decided to either ignore it or thought they could get away with it.
There was rumblings long before last weeks decision was made regarding the players.
I honestly believe majority of the committee and volunteers had no idea what was happening, I doubt they would have let it get that far.

Hey mate, I also believe it's not the league that has enforced the club into this pay cut. Maybe Douttas have got the cash to fulfill those contracts "but" opting to take another path and take it out financially on the playing group, as its highly unlikely they will play finals and want to save cash for another tilt next season. As I previously mentioned maybe some players form warrants playing reserves or even reaccess their contract agreement in consultation with the player. Some players might be willing to accept a pay cut based on their performance but to take the "easy" way out and hit everyone financially is unethical in my book. I bet they also criticise any player that decides to not accept the pay cut and wants to leave.

His another possible case: Player x signed at Douttas for less than what other clubs offered and playing for less than his market value. So his done the honourable thing by the club, then gets told can you now take a further 20% cut to help us.. Once again totally wrong and disrespectful..

Just plain wrong Turbo. It's a salary cap issue 100%

I would like to think it was a case of left hand not knowing what the right hand is doing rather than a direct attempt to cheat the system. There is no crime in signing 20 players to $4000 per game each so long as the total spend for the year is not exceeded. I would imagine that those negotiating payments and those doing team selection may well be different people so may well not have known what the financial impact of playing certain players may have. I like to be a glass half full type of person so would also like to think that the timing of it all coming out was not intentionally held back until after the transfer cut off. If it was then that absolutely sucks and if the EDFL can show that it was before 30 June, then any player wanting to leave to join another EDFL club should be allowed to do so regardless of closed transfer date.

To many excuses by the club KB.
1- "We didn't know"
2- "The EDFL informed us after clearances closed"

Yes agree some clubs structure is that the coach stays out of contract negotiations as he doesn't want the players value to affect his selection process and the Footy Manager deals with this stuff but these coaches especially in premier are not stupid. They would have a major input into recruiting and have a fair idea of what players would be getting.

Just plain wrong Turbo. It's a salary cap issue 100%

Gremlin, for it to affect 20% of the playing list (which is greater than 22 players) can't be just an oversight.

I'm of the opinion the cap won't be totally enforced in season 2017 and if you have a legitimate reason the league will let it slide. Do you honestly believe Douttas weekly playing squad of 22 has received the highest weekly wages of all clubs?? If true then I have little idea of the credentials of players in our league or Douttas are paying players way over their market value to the point of double what they are worth.

I can't answer that because I'd be guessing. I'm not sure when the committee became aware of it but the football operations and coaching staff would have been fully aware of the situation and decided to either ignore it or thought they could get away with it.
There was rumblings long before last weeks decision was made regarding the players.
I honestly believe majority of the committee and volunteers had no idea what was happening, I doubt they would have let it get that far.

That's probably more to the point Gremlin. Although my understanding is that all player contracts are submitted to the league at the beginning of the season. If the EDFL is communicating with clubs as to their position and any concerns they may have in regards to the cap it is being communicated to the club secretary and president, not the footy manager

In any event it's a bloody mess.

Gremlin, for it to affect 20% of the playing list (which is greater than 22 players) can't be just an oversight.

I'm of the opinion the cap won't be totally enforced in season 2017 and if you have a legitimate reason the league will let it slide. Do you honestly believe Douttas weekly playing squad of 22 has received the highest weekly wages of all clubs?? If true then I have little idea of the credentials of players in our league or Douttas are paying players way over their market value to the point of double what they are worth.

I'm not sure how many times I can say it. This has nothing to do with the clubs finances, it's is 100% with getting under the salary cap.
This is my last post on the subject as I'm just repeating myself. To my knowledge (and I'm definitely not saying I have all the facts) the coach, asst coach and footy ops manager did all the player contracts and recruiting over the summer and acted unprofessionally and with complete disregard for the salary cap. They thought that with injuries and resting players at appropriate times they would stay under by seasons end, but obviously that wasn't the case. No excuse for what these 3 people did to the players and members. I'm hoping the committee were blindsided but find that hard to believe that some of them didn't know what was happening. The club has messed up, admitted that and started the slow process of trying to earn back the respect of the competition.

Since when are you the content arbitrator? People can talk about what they want when they want . If you don't like the topic don't get involved. It's that simple.Now post something yourself and we'll see if it's unnecessary dribble .Thats if you can spare the time .
Rest my case!

Would surprise me if EDS are spending the most money in premier this year given there injuries etc... would also stagger me if there is not at the very LEAST 3-4 other clubs paying over 250k this year! Lets be honest. So im just guessing that some of these other clubs have worked there way around the cap better than Douttas

Absolutely spot on . It's who can cheat the system without being caught . What do you think Blockhead sorry Big Block . Give us something.

Do you reckon there should be a mid season amnesty? or should the EDFL just let these teams suffer the consequences. I'm assuming the top 3-4 teams maybe the ones you refer to.

The League have stated previously that the League recognises and accepts that THE principal focus this the first year of the PPR has been educating Clubs on appropriate implementation of the process required..HOWEVER THERE WILL BE NO EXCUSE FOR BLATENT BREACHES, FRAUD, GROSS NEGLIGENCE OR WILFUL OMISSIONS.... so where doe EDS sit then, regardless it all adds up to incompetence so will somebody fall on their sword and take responsibility ?

You would think Greenvale & Marby would be fine.. Few lesser lights on their list however some players probably on double the average per player, of around $600 allocated for the weekly average cap. Even Abers look slightly weaker on paper than last season however some quality players still there who must be getting decent coin. But I'm all honestly I would say these 3 clubs should be within the cap. But not my business at any of these clubs.

The EDFL are conducting a "information " evening tonight to go over all things salary cap related. AFL Vic are about to employ 7 or 8 Investigations officers who will roam the state randomly auditing clubs . It's not in the EDFL's best interests to leave these clubs exposed to any penalties or demotions going forward, hence are doing their best to ensure clubs are compliant.
e

EDFL Premier Division 2017