Egan?

• Thread starter Thread starter doofdoof

Back on topic, I think Egan was as weak as over-cooked spaghetti early. He wasn't gutless or stupid, he just looked to weak to actually participate in a contest.

To his credit he kept fronting up and later in the match he found was to get into it. I thought he showed that hes a skilled smart player who will be an asset once he gets enough meat on him. Certainly has the confidence to go all the way.

I heard MM say he'd been playing at halfback at Willi. I reckon our development blokes are doing better recently and this kid (as well as the great development in Maxwell, Shaw and Swan) are a sign of that.

Cyclops said:
I heard MM say he'd been playing at halfback at Willi. I reckon our development blokes are doing better recently and this kid (as well as the great development in Maxwell, Shaw and Swan) are a sign of that.

Egan certainly has spent the first half of the season doing "back to school" stuff. He has learned a bit about defence, a bit about the game plan, a bit about one percenters, and a bit about the team. He has not played great but he's stuck to the task and been rewarded for that.

FIGJAM said:
Yeah, it was a bit strange, but despite the "best players at Williamstown get a senior spot" claims from our coach, I reckon it's never even been remotely factual!

In this instance, they made a choice based on match-ups and it was the correct one. Indeed, they probably knew Egan was going to play from the get go.

So why him if his form was as most say average? Well, there are some players who need to learn the hard way, or are blessed with enough natural talent that they really require a challenge which is over and above what their form at lower levels dictate. I think Chris is firmly in this boat.

Maxwell IMO, (while I do concede I never saw him much at Willy) is one of the best examples of a player who's VFL form didn't show much. Although being a key defender/mid defender in the VFL, it is hard to stand out. When they first selected Maxwell I wondered why him.

MM seems to select players (young players more specifically) out of Willy who have improved on certain areas of their game, rather than overall form. Rowe's debut is a good example. IIRC he was only a couple weeks out of VFL reserves and he improved on his 1%ers and defensive abilties almost overnight so despite not dominating he was selected. This is probably why they selected Egan, he has improved on his defensive areas, his intensity and some other areas. He didn't select Booch this year until he strung a couple of high possesion games together, wanting consistancy from him, not only from week to week but from quarter to quarter.

Lids2Hughes said:
Egan doesn't care about footy, only cares about the booze and the bitches, typical aboriginal. :)
Now, you are an example of a racist!
To say Egan doesn't care about football is absoloutely bullcrap.
He is very passionate about it. He may not be the hardest worker on the track (you wouldn't know about that anyway), but he shows a passion on the field where it counts.

I'm not racist, im just saying it how it is.

Won't be suprised when he gets arrested for bashing a girl while drunk. :)

Cyclops said:
Back on topic, I think Egan was as weak as over-cooked spaghetti early. He wasn't gutless or stupid, he just looked to weak to actually participate in a contest.
You racist pig.

Murray said:
does not have great awareness, and thinks he is better than he actually is.

Good discussion Eddie :thumbsu:
and Egan doenst? :eek:

Never seen a more arrogant first year (Talking about last year) player in my life

Lids2Hughes said:

Of course not, I mean how can you be racist making a remark like...

Lids2Hughes said:
Egan doesn't care about footy, only cares about the booze and the bitches, typical aboriginal. :)

I am sure you know him personally then? If all cared about is that he would have been cut from the side.

Now I am sure you have a brain, that is currently struggling for air, so let some air into your brain.

jabso said:
Who do the reports go to. Moderators of this board only or more senior moderators?
Admin and mods I would hope I have reported this clown.

I'd expect him to be banned from here and from Bigfooty in general, one would hope. No need for racists on the boards.

vinnie_vegas69 said:
And the moderators are where?
In bed Vincent! :mad:

jabso said:
Who do the reports go to. Moderators of this board only or more senior moderators?
It only goes to myself and NTPM. If mods/admin were informed of every reported post, they'd be perpetually cleaning up ****, or following links to places

I've had a similar problem on the SC&P Board, whereby none of the mods were online, with even worse racism. As such I had to hunt down an Admin online, and there were none of them either!

To be honest, I'm not sure there's too much of a solution. It's a rare event where you get some freak like this, and I have e-mail access during my most of my waking hours, so I'll get around to it as soon as I'm aware.

So chill please!

Lids2Hughes said:

Errr, No you are a racist, but the really sad part is, you can't recognise yourself as one and so you stumble through your hate filled life.

on behalf of all Richmond supporters i would like to apologise for for scummy comments made by Lids2Hughes, looking at all of his post they are nearly all racist or homophopic. Quite simply a ****head

Coughlan said:
on behalf of all Richmond supporters i would like to apologise for for scummy comments made by Lids2Hughes, looking at all of his post they are nearly all racist or homophopic. Quite simply a ****head
its not your fault
its the system, how can anyone with the slightest education think like him

Coughlan said:

Fruit Cake.:D

Why do you have to apologise for someone else.

Be gone tomorrow anyway.

FIGJAM said:
To be honest, I'm not sure there's too much of a solution. It's a rare event where you get some freak like this, and I have e-mail access during my most of my waking hours, so I'll get around to it as soon as I'm aware.
No there is no soloution other than having a moderator who will be up in these hours consistantly which is almost impossible to find unless we have a sleepless freak or an international poster.

Coughlan said:
Thanks mate, :thumbsu: but you and the other Richmond fans cannot be held responsible for racist pigs like him.
Banter between clubs is welcome and to be honest it is usually fun, but some people are just sick and should be shut down.