Lestat

Arsenal
Thought he played really well today. Really showed something.

And was ripped off a third goal.

Once he bulks up a bit I reckon he'll be a good player, with a bit of versatility as well.

Played in defence for most of the last quater.

He's a rough diamond.

Anyone who wrote him off recently (and you know who you are!) needs to have a reality check.

He needs to play 1's. He will learn nothing at Williamstown.

All we need is patience, and to put up with the shockers. Same goes for Travis in the backline.

A lot of our youngsters stood tall today and it was fantastic to watch.
Egan played great, easily the best game he's played so far.
Thomas... just incredible. Seemed like he just couldn't do anything wrong even if he tried. Ripper of a match for Dale... lets hope he keeps his form.
Pendles was good.
Swan was excellent.
Heath Shaw also excellent.

And I know he ain't one of youngster's, but someone who really stood up to his game today was O'Bree... had a great game I thought. It was also good to have Brodie and Presti back... now they just need to get Morrison off the team and I'll be happy. They shouldn't have to be carrying the same dud week in week out.

HotPies! said:
A lot of our youngsters stood tall today and it was fantastic to watch.
Egan played great, easily the best game he's played so far.
Thomas... just incredible. Seemed like he just couldn't do anything wrong even if he tried. Ripper of a match for Dale... lets hope he keeps his form.
Pendles was good.
Swan was excellent.
Heath Shaw also excellent.

And I know he ain't one of youngster's, but someone who really stood up to his game today was O'Bree... had a great game I thought. It was also good to have Brodie and Presti back... now they just need to get Morrison off the team and I'll be happy. They shouldn't have to be carrying the same dud week in week out.

agree with all of that.

Obree did have one of his better games, but ill never be a fan. He has one good game for every 5 **** ones.

I think that half back/wing free running role suits him.
I heard MM earlier in the year talking about 'teaching' him that role.
Best game he has played for us - hope he keeps it up.

Haven't we got some great kids coming through?
Ben Davies was also good today

FIGJAM said:

Although barrack for Essendon, I regularly check out your board for Williamstown news as I have followed them for years before they aligned with Collingwood :mad:, and I agree totally that the Egan kid must play 1's, because for some reason he doesnt do as well in VFL compared to the AFL, which is a bit weird but true

Murray said:
Haven't we got some great kids coming through?
Ben Davies was also good today

I knew I was forgetting someone... add Ben Davies to my list, he was a good contributor today.

As I have said before, he is an AFL player and not a VFL player. He has adapted and always has been good at the quicker more stylish game of football, and therefore, with his form at VFL not being convincing and us on the outer thinking it is a major problem, we simply know he is more suited to the big boys game.

Hasn't put a foot wrong to be honest, when in the senior side. Consistency is obviously an issue that happens to most small forwards, but he showed he has pace and good hand skills to work through the midfield, and he showed he could be accountable and could read the footy if playing one on one where he wasn't the target.

Was terrific today, and showed he is a true talent, and hopefully he can continue playing good footy and show us why he was a first-round draft pick.

His handball skills and vision are brilliant! One of the most improved things about Egan in such a short time is that he gets his own ball, and when he does he is so classy.

Drizt while he used to be a 1 good game in 6 player the first half of the year he has been very conistant. I will say however since we have had the poor patch he has been poor too. However today he was given some time up forward and rotated heavily which shook off his tag.

We must n ot forget one young player.

Heath Shaw.

How good was he and is he. Has to be a huge show for the rising star award.

Go Heater you gun.

Magpie Phil said:
We must n ot forget one young player.

Heath Shaw.

How good was he and is he. Has to be a huge show for the rising star award.

Go Heater you gun.

I did mention him... he had a great game.

Now I am not putting this guy in the same league or even close(for any adelaide supporters that might be reading) but when he took the mark and played on and kicked the 3rd goal that was denied did anyone else think he looked alot like mcleod??
As I have said a few times on this sight people have been very harsh on him. He is very young and still really skinny but I think and have thought since I saw is praccy match against the roos earlier this year that he is the best one touch player and possible the most skilled player at the club. How much has his kicking improved in the off season?? He rarely misses a target and unlike last year looks great in front of goal. He lacks intensity but does chase hard off the ball. We need to except he will never be an in and under. I still think he could be our most exciting player. With guys like obree and licca in the midfield we need guys like him stepping up. Also remember he did this against one of the more physical sides in the comp which is a good sign.

I'm unanimous like the rest whom have replied to this topic. Egan was unquestionably good.
Best game I've seen him play, hopefully he can advance from here.

Timmy from Thomastown said:
I actually think that in his stint at Williamstown he has learnt a lot, and is a better and more accountable player because if it. Well done Gotchy.
No doubt that this is the case, but my point is that even in said apprenticeship, he wasn't shining. And if he were playing at Windy Hill today, I wouldn't exept him to shine their either.

I'd rather cop his ordinary games for a bit, as I'd rather him learn to avoid errors in the big league.

Put some time into him and we'll see an extraordinary game from him, whereby he completely takes apart a game off his own boot. Anyone who saw Buckley's Williamstown game against Box Hill will know what I'm talking about!

Timmy from Thomastown said:
I actually think that in his stint at Williamstown he has learnt a lot, and is a better and more accountable player because if it. Well done Gotchy.

I agree with this. Playing him in the backline at Willy has worked a treat.

I think last year Chris Egan lacked intensity at the ball and made too many clangers. Now he seems more hard at the ball and more composed when he gets it.

Only squibbed three times today (Well I only watched pieces of it so it could have been more)

FIGJAM said:
He's a rough diamond.

Anyone who wrote him off recently (and you know who you are!) needs to have a reality check.

All we need is patience, and to put up with the shockers. Same goes for Travis in the backline.

trav is a forward and playing him in the backline is a waste of development for him and a waste of time for everyone
its like saying play lloyd at full back