Elliot

Why am i lucky to still be allowed to post here? What rule have I broken? For simply stating for what the majority of Carlton supporters think about Mr Elliot? I'm sorry you don't think my posts are intelligent, maybe i should resort to name calling like Bee. Would i get your acceptance then?

Get lost **************** there is such a thing as freedom of speech and if you don't like it go kiss my ass.

Sorry dude. Sincerely!:)

I think you will find out the answer to the first question sooner than later. I actually thought you argued your point quite intelligently... but it was just a tip, if you are "fair dinkum newbie" to BF. The worst would be getting called a troll from the get go!

PS But given your choice of your nic.....suggest you get used to the name calling:o

corpuscles

well i apologise for getting cross, i obviously took your post the wrong way.

Believe me i am a passionate Carlton supporter and i am saying what i feel is right.

no hard feelings

I can handle Jack leading a coterie group - it seems he always did unofficially anyway. I'll even buy him a beer (not that he'd need one) if I see him in the social club. Whatever his sins, and they're grievous, I can't ever forget the good things he did for us - including two of those cups downstairs.

FWIW, I was in favour of keeping his name on the stand. I thought it was churlish to take it down, and it made us look small.

But dear god, don't let him on the board (assuming ASIC allows him to be a director again).

I'm with you AD

I hope Pratt strongly suggests he refuses interviews going forward. The best thing Jack could do for his club is be quiet and raise a heap of cash.
This would go a long way to redemption in a lot of peoples eyes.

I'm with you AD

I hope Pratt strongly suggests he refuses interviews going forward. The best thing Jack could do for his club is be quiet and raise a heap of cash.
This would go a long way to redemption in a lot of peoples eyes.
WHAT HE SAID

ILet's not forget one thing, Jack may have been part of the admin that almost brought this club to it's knees, but he also helped to make this club great.

Never doubt Jack's love and passion for this club. He bleeds blue.
This is his chance to make up for his sins and perhaps we should all give him the space to do it.

Welcome home Jack

Actually George Harris & his administration made the club great. From the time Barassi was recruited in 1965 through to 1979 the club enjoyed its second most successful era (only bettered by what was achieved between 1906 & 1915). Even though Harris left on less than savoury terms at the end of '79, he left behind a club that had incredible self belief, that had no doubt it belonged at the top end of the ladder. The arrogance that we all know came from this successful period.

So strong did he leave the club, that 'caretaker' president, Ian Rice, oversaw 2 premierships (81 & 82) without having to do much at all. Even the appointment of Parkin as coach was something that Harris had sought in the late '70s, but Parkin stayed with his gig at Hawthorn at that time. The legacy of Harris continued right through the '80s.

There is no denying Elliott is a passionate Carlton man, but he needs to concede that his methods were outdated & the major cause of our massive fall from grace. The mere fact that he immediately starts talking about a return to playing games at Princes Park, tells me that he has learnt nothing about what our club has been through in the last 5 seasons. Has he not switched on to the fact that the financial strength of both Collingwood & Essendon has at least partially been built on the back of leaving behind their suburban grounds & moving with the times? His continual cries to abandon Telstra Dome reek of nothing more than revenge against Ian Collins. Certainly the Essendon Football Club haven't fared too badly out of making Telstra Dome their home.

If John Elliott can confine his efforts to leading a coterie group & bringing significant funding to the club, I will be more than happy to acknowledge his efforts. This little leg up from Richard Pratt does not give Elliott the right to speak out about what the club needs or should be doing. I can only hope that Richard Pratt gags him very quickly or else there will just be more cannon fodder for the media to ridicule our club with.

Question: Why do we not make money at Telstra Dome
Answer: Same reason we don't make money anywhere else. Getting 30,000 people to watch you lose a home game will lose you money.

Remedy: Win games, draw bigger crowds........doesn't matter where you play the money will start to roll in.

Question: Why don't we win games at present.
Answer: Everything to do with Elliots regime and its list (mis)management, and absolutely ZERO to do with Telstra Dome....

He should be invited back to the club on the grounds that he remains mute........period.

The board and Pratt should understand the emotions of members/supporters on this and not mis-rerad the situation.:cool:

You people who are worried about John Elliott returning to Carlton really have no idea. His main priority/task is to reunite the past 2 decades of prominate Carlton supporters in the business community. Forget about what he done in the past, that is the past and the main priority for Carlton is the future and if he can help rebuild the club by gathering large donations off of the business community then why wouldnt you want him back? I guarantee you that John Elliott is the most passionate Carlton supporter you will ever meet, one conversation with him and you will realise this. He is passionate and willing to help, why not let him.

:) Well said. what's happened has happened and no matter what, we can't change it. As I have said in the past, winners write their own version of history. It was in Collins' interest to paint the worst picture of Big Jack that he could.

Maybe it was true, maybe it wasn't. Who knows how much money Jack could have raised and what sort of deal he could have struck with the AFL when we moved from PP. I don't think he would have been so hot to get us to TD as Collins was. Perhaps we may have even been playing more matches at the "G" and some interstate team matches at PP still. This would have saved the Social Club. Who knows?

But all this is conjecture and is yesterday's news. We can't change what has happened and can only make the best of today's situation and plan to optimise tomorrow. If Jack can help us back to the top again, then let's get behind him.

The best thing we can do is buy a membership and go to all the games possible to show the Club and the Team how much we love and support them. Go the blues and let's all work together to make 2007 a ripper year for the Club.

Lets make this year a year of harmony, support and performance for our beloved Blues.:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Forgive, but never forget.

From the 95 premiership onwards we were poor in preparing for the future. Elliott must take a lot of blame for that and that is besides the dodgy stuff. The fact that he will not admit that he did anything wrong does not help many of us forgive him.

I think the post Elliott regimes have found how hard it is to function with Elliott stirring in the background so he needs to be included somehow. Heading a coterie group is perhaps the answer:thumbsu:

In his own way Elliott is as poor in the media for the club as Smorgon was and in many ways worse. Pratt needs to shut him up, but it will be tough as Big Jack loves the limelight:D

Jack needs to realise that he is a polarising influence at the club at a time when we need unity, so he just has to keep a low profile. Pratt can unify all the various factions, but he needs to control his mate. Elliott has the potential to keep the wounds open and raw, especially if we see his head on the TV every second week:eek:

We need to heal the wounds and move on, but it will be more difficult if Jack rubs our noses in it:thumbsd: Many of us are willing to forgive him despite the past, but he needs to realise the pain we have gone through and whether he admits it or not he helped cause it. Please show a bit of gravitas Jack and make it easier for us to move on. We are willing to give you a go in this limited way, but don't kick us in the teeth again:thumbsu:

Just my two cents:o

I'm sorry you don't think my posts are intelligent, maybe i should resort to name calling like Bee. Would i get your acceptance then?

Get lost **************** there is such a thing as freedom of speech and if you don't like it go kiss my ass.

And just what names am I guilty of calling you? Troll?
Well pardon me, but most newbies have the manners to introduce themselves before they make their first post in here.
You came in all guns blasting and the only posts you made were negative about the club. I wonder why I considered you a troll?
Haven't changed my mind on that either!:rolleyes:

I came on here and stated my opinion thats what these forums are for. I have never had to formally introduce myself on any other forum. I am not overwhelmingly negative about the club. I actually feel positive about the playing list and our long term prospects. I am negative about ELliot returning to the club however, my negativity is also mixed with anger b/c of what he has done to the club.

In sum I have done nothing wrong. I listened to your argument Bee and then rebutted it. That is the purpsoe of these forums, to share opinions and ideas. You were put out b/c my opinion was the opposite to yours, so like a child you resort to name calling. Well done

I actually think that part of the reason Elliot did what he did was his ideology political/philosophical. Big JAck is a die hard liberals and deplores what he calls the AFL"s equalisation/soicalist type methods ie drafts, salary caps. I actually have some sympathy for him in this sense although i can understand what the AFL needs to take this measures at this particularly point in its evolution. Regardless of what other peoples views are the reality is that it does not excuse Elliot for what he did. you have to pick your battles in life and Elliot picked one he couldn't win. If ever he gets back into a position of influence he will probably just want to take the fight back to the AFL. Carlton can not afford this. Theres every reason to be optimistic that we will return to being a great club however now is a critical time and it's essential that the right decision's are made.

I repeat my view again, i think it's bad move bringing Jack back tothe club.

In sum I have done nothing wrong. I listened to your argument Bee and then rebutted it. That is the purpsoe of these forums, to share opinions and ideas. You were put out b/c my opinion was the opposite to yours, so like a child you resort to name calling. Well done
Totally and completely wrong.
The day I get put out by the opinion of someone who has been here for 5 minutes will be the day hell freezes over, or St Kilda win a premiership, whichever is the earlier.
Everyone has their opinion and everyone can debate it.
Some people like Jack and welcome him back, others don't.
I don't really mind what anyone's opinion is. But to be honest you just didn't ring true to me. In fact you still haven't convinced me. Just a sceptic I suppose

ok well how about we call it a truce and in time i hope you will believe that i am genuine Carlton supporter

"The club was great under Jack. Those were our glory days. We were a powerhouse and that's the way we can be again. The way it should be!

Did you love those days? I bet you did! Or do you believe the only reason we were great was because we cheated our way there? Are you ashamed of our great past?

Like I said Jack has done his time. He did the crime and he did the time.
How else would you like to punish him? Send him to Guantanamo Bay maybe?
Give the man a chance to make up for his sins."

yeah and it ended like all of Elliot's business adventures, in total ruin.

I didn't particulary love those days. For the most part we under achieved. For all the talent and rorting we got one premiership This may count as glory for a team like St Kilda but i have high expectations of Carlton.

For the most part i found those days frustrating as I watched Parkin continually sacrifice our future for his own personal glory. Everyone could see the collapse coming. When we got caught rorting that just delayed what was always going to be a long rebuilding process.

IF John Elliot really loves Carlton then he will stay away and make a donation. ALready he is shooting of his big trap about returning to Princess Park. This is called nostalgia, it's a nice thought but not feasible. Remeber the Legends Stand? I thought that was Big JAcks idea? Another financial disaster for the club. I remember turning up to games and seeing that stand about a quarter full.

I believe John Elliott loves Carlton but he's a cheat and he's incompetent.

Get lost Jack and take your mates Kernahan, Gleeson, Williams etc with you

Certainly know now how you got your ID.!

personally, i am rapt to have jack elliott involved again.
he screwed up once, and the AFL punished US way to harshly because of its own ego. One thing that must be admired by Elliott, and something that has been completely absent since he has left, is his passion and love of all things and people of carlton. People have done alot worse in life than him, and been forgiven.

Welcome back jack:thumbsu:

to the fellow who made a comment about how all of jack elliotts business ventures ended in ruins - well la de da. How many times have you became a millionaire or started a multi million dollar company? his ability in the business world to develop potential into incredible success is a great effort. The fact that they fell over, only suggests he maybe tried to fly to close to the sun - but to ridicule someone who for the major majority of their lives we very successful, just because it fell over, does not make them a fool - you twit.

Elliotts business ventures ended in ruins - well la de da. How many times have you became a millionaire or started a multi million dollar company? his ability in the business world to develop potential into incredible success is a great effort. The fact that they fell over, only suggests he maybe tried to fly to close to the sun - but to ridicule someone who for the major majority of their lives we very successful, just because it fell over, does not make them a fool - you twit.

They fell over because he was allegedly corrput. He allegedly didn't want to play by the same rules (corporate governance) that EVERY other company follows.

Now exchange the word company for club and you see a familiar picture emerging.
Its not bad luck or a little misfortune, its being caught out for "allegedly" cheating.

Yes, he is a smart man. If he wasn't (see Alan Bond biography) he would likely have done time behind bars for what he allegedly did.

My gripe is that he has taken no responsibility for what he did at Carlton, serve only to bring the club down after he left by whinging about peoples attempt to fix his mess, and now walks back in Scott free.........sorry mate, but that leaves a bad taste in my mouth, and I'm not alone. The club is playing with fire here and really cannot afford to get burned. Not now.
Be very careful mr pratt.:cool:

They fell over because he was allegedly corrput. He allegedly didn't want to play by the same rules (corporate governance) that EVERY other company follows.

Now exchange the word company for club and you see a familiar picture emerging.
Its not bad luck or a little misfortune, its being caught out for "allegedly" cheating.

Yes, he is a smart man. If he wasn't (see Alan Bond biography) he would likely have done time behind bars for what he allegedly did.

My gripe is that he has taken no responsibility for what he did at Carlton, serve only to bring the club down after he left by whinging about peoples attempt to fix his mess, and now walks back in Scott free.........sorry mate, but that leaves a bad taste in my mouth, and I'm not alone. The club is playing with fire here and really cannot afford to get burned. Not now.
Be very careful mr pratt.:cool:

In short if we want Pratts money, business clout, contacts, ect. ect.
Elliott is a small part of the deal. Pratt is no fool.
Fairly simplistic but true.

personally, i am rapt to have jack elliott involved again.
he screwed up once, and the AFL punished US way to harshly because of its own ego. One thing that must be admired by Elliott, and something that has been completely absent since he has left, is his passion and love of all things and people of carlton. People have done alot worse in life than him, and been forgiven.

Welcome back jack:thumbsu:

to the fellow who made a comment about how all of jack elliotts business ventures ended in ruins - well la de da. How many times have you became a millionaire or started a multi million dollar company? his ability in the business world to develop potential into incredible success is a great effort. The fact that they fell over, only suggests he maybe tried to fly to close to the sun - but to ridicule someone who for the major majority of their lives we very successful, just because it fell over, does not make them a fool - you twit.
i heard that they have installed pratt in a puppet regime and it is really big jack that will wield power from the cover of a coterie group.

Believe me Bee, you will find Nutcase as passionate and proud supporter of the Blues as anyone. Anyone that loses sleep during the build up to the Draft, worrying that the Blues wouldn't draft Bryce Gibbs has got to care! :)

all the best guys