List Mgmt. End of Year List Changes

It's amazing how liberal we all are with the clubs money when talking about trades. I would think with rebuilding PUNT ROAD that we'd not likely want to spend one dollar more than necessary. I'm not sure where we are positioned in relation to our minimum spend but certainly do not want to help the cats fit more players into their system.

Why not if it benefits us long term? Who cares who wins flags while we are doing a rebuild for the next 3 or so years.

It's amazing how liberal we all are with the clubs money when talking about trades. I would think with rebuilding PUNT ROAD that we'd not likely want to spend one dollar more than necessary. I'm not sure where we are positioned in relation to our minimum spend but certainly do not want to help the cats fit more players into their system.
Doesn't that money come out of the cap though?

Punt Rd redevelopment comes out of capital expenditure not operational expenditure.

Doesn't that money come out of the cap though?

Punt Rd redevelopment comes out of capital expenditure not operational expenditure.
Yes is comes out of the cap, however, if we keep that to a minimum spend then those funds can be redirected. I understand the want to pay part of a departing players contract to ensure we get top level remuneration/draft picks but it needs to be wagered against the long term benefit to the club off field also. This is not Monopoly money. Our membership numbers are down and we still need more than 25 million for further works. I would think at this time until some of our youth are ready, we'll bank cap space, redirect funds and continue drafting youth. It will be a slow grind for 3 or 4 years.

Interesting to see what our club does this season:

Players out of contract:

Gray (Rookie A) - 2year contract
Bauer (Rookie A) - delisted
Blight (Rookie A)
Young (Rookie A)
McIntosh - delisted
Smith
Dow
Sonsie
Colina (Rookie B) - delisted
OBH (Rookie B)

You're allowed 6 Cat A rookies & 3 Cat B rookies. You need to make room for minimum 3 players each year.

Current rookies (9):
Gray
Bauer
Blight
Young
Tresize
Campbell - singed a 4year contract in 2025, surely not as a rookie?
Mykelti
OBH - Cat B
Colina - Cat B

Is Mykelti the other Cat B rookie as I count 7 Cat A rookies and 2 Cat B?

Could see all 4 of McIntosh, Smith, Sonsie & Dow delisted to make way for 3 new draftees and Campbell? Bauer, Blight & Young goes that frees up 3 rookie spots, can see the club offering 2 of those spots to Smith & Sonsie.

Then there is talk of us being liked to Rosas Jnr? So, we are 1 main list spot short still? So, who else gets traded out?

2LDR :tearsofjoy:
Youngs on the primary list

Attachments

• Screenshot_20250905-190936~2.jpg
    Screenshot_20250905-190936~2.jpg
    115.9 KB · Views: 89

What!!!

TT is actually a good player!!

That's shocking. Not SHocking, but shocking to those who reckon that is you aren't the reincarnation of GAJ what are you doing playing AFL.

If we had some good transition mids our midfield would be pretty good. But then also, if aunt had a **** she'd be my uncle. So, it's our midfield mix not TT and Hopper that are the problem. I am shocked! Again.
Please refrain from using Shocking as it can be misconstrued, I have provided a list of alternatives:

1757115132624.png
1757115272428.png

Please note the offending word has been highlighted to avoid any confusion.

Not a good look hence for Gibcus the club and the coach that is why you get the media sniffing around for player discontentment little hit pieces.

But he was always on managed minutes and not told. He is a competitive beast it should have been spelt out like it is to nearly every other player that is on managed minutes.

And the bad optics does not happen, like a well run club would do.

Same as Kmac's retirement I said its bad that this was leaked out a well run club does not do that to a two time premiership player he should get the respect to make the announcement and I got all this negative feedback which is fine it is a public forum for people to express their views. Did not change my view.

But what was the first thing out of KMac's mouth, he was disappointed he could not tell his close friends personally and to the team.

The journo’s have their contacts everywhere. How do you know it wasn’t Macca’s sister, his partners brother or his barber who didn’t spill the news. Really lame to suggest these sorts of things leaking is in any way linked to club culture or leaks from within the four walls.

I’ve known family of multiple AFL players and have been privy to many bits of news prior to it becoming public. I’m sure loads of us are the same. Just because I don’t phone up Caro or Ralphy to spill the beans whilst others do means those clubs in question have better culture? Illogical

Mate ... your context is rubbish ... it was the MSD ... we had a list spot ... you can delist at the end of that year ... give me a break ... he only just lost best young player to 28yo Mannagh (only Geelong lol)

Morris VFL report each week crapped on about the running capacity of a man of Davison's size was incredible and everything about Blight showed he was too slow for AFL ... the context is that we got it wrong and took a key back when we already a plethora on the list and passed on a wing/forward where we desperately needed to inject youth
Check Davdisons form BEFORE the MSD. He had played 1 x game that was better than average. Ever wonder why EVERY club ignored him in the MSD? He then put some very good footy together AFTER the MSD, but we chose elite kids instead.

Once again … only his form PRIOR to the MSD was relevant. Please check it.

That is a choice ... not a fact! A fact is that it was an option to delist any MSD pick that didn't nominate a longer period. The fact is that Davidson has proved he is an AFL footballer and if we had taken him and trialled him in a full time environment we could have made a more informed choice as to list decisions before the 2024 draft and after the trade week when we had all the answers to the senior players status the RFC would have been able to make a more informed decision with all the information to hand.

But go keep trying to explain that it was a good decision. Does being loyal to you Rockjobster mean that you have to rationale every error the club has made in hindsight?

And yet the fact remains that of all the players and all the teams that have that option it’s a vert very rare occurrence.

Why is that do you suppose?

List spots are like gold for every AFL team. Do you really think teams select players that they already intend to delist in six months? If that’s the case, why did Adelaide pass twice in the same draft? Why did Brisbane?

And as others have said, Davidson has yet to prove himself as an AFL footballer. Played a few good games yes, but the list of ex-AFL players that have been delisted (including our very own Jacob Blight) having played a few good games is endless.

Lastly, what are you on about in the last paragraph? I’ve been more than critical on the clubs decisions on the long period I’ve been here. But even so, none of what I’ve said has been about hindsight. Everything is about providing context as to why a decision was made. That doesn’t mean it’s the right one as the future plays out, but it’s you who is using hindsight (albeit stating the output of a player is greater than in reality) to determine whether a decision was good or bad.

Geelong are top 4 every year because they get gifted an extra 3 wins a year due to the AFL always scheduling them against the lowly-supported interstate clubs (because they do not want to waste bums on seats by playing the big clubs there). 3 extra wins a year is a huge benefit.

However, more often than not, they get caught out come finals time because they aren't playing at the velodrome with its narrow wings, and they don't have 80%+ crowd advantage.
Getting a cheap farm also helps too

Check Davdisons form BEFORE the MSD. He had played 1 x game that was better than average. Ever wonder why EVERY club ignored him in the MSD? He then put some very good footy together AFTER the MSD, but we chose elite kids instead.

Once again … only his form PRIOR to the MSD was relevant. Please check it.
I was at all the VFL games ... all checked ... Gray didn't go through elite pathways, he was playing at Keilor the year before ... Did Blight play Colts?

As of right now we've delisted 2 x senior list players (McIntosh, Kosi), 2 x rookie players (Bauer, Blight) and 1 x Cat B rookie (Colina).

We know we'll have a minimum of 3 picks in the national draft (Pick 3, Pick 4, Kellaway) and one pick in the rookie draft.

Three players remain uncontracted (Dow, Sonsie, Smith). Whether they survive probably comes down to who we manage to pick up in the trade period or if we split pick 3/4. We also have the option of using our rookie pick to redraft one of them.

As of right now we've delisted 2 x senior list players (McIntosh, Kosi), 2 x rookie players (Bauer, Blight) and 1 x Cat B rookie (Colina).

We know we'll have a minimum of 3 picks in the national draft (Pick 3, Pick 4, Kellaway) and one pick in the rookie draft.

Three players remain uncontracted (Dow, Sonsie, Smith). Whether they survive probably comes down to who we manage to pick up in the trade period or if we split pick 3/4. We also have the option of using our rookie pick to redraft one of them.

Reckon we are delisting Dow. Been on the list for 6 years now.

We have only 2 picks in the draft not 3.

We still have later picks, 72 & 94, they're just not factored in because there's no points attached and it's assumed that probably no more than 65 get drafted.
If Kellaway doesn't receive a bid before pick 54 then we can just match with pick 74. If he's bid on before pick 54 then we can still match with 74 which would mean going into deficit next year. The points cost in any 3rd rnd bid will be minimal

I was at all the VFL games ... all checked ... Gray didn't go through elite pathways, he was playing at Keilor the year before ... Did Blight play Colts?
Huh? We had our reasons for selecting those guys, and I’m very bullish on Gray. Blight was playing terrific footy in WA.

But again …. Davidson’s performances PRIOR to the MSD did not scream ‘pick me’ - overall he was average … which is why EVERY club with a MSD selection bypassed him.

His footy after the MSD was very good, but we decided to not use a top-30 pick on him, which was a no-brainer.

We've got no draft picks to replace him with though.

We have to make room for 3 list spots (Mandatory AFL rule), pick 3 & 4 and Kellaway.

We have only delisted 2 players (McIntosh & Kosi) with 1 spare rookie spot and 1 Cat B rookie spot.

Dow, Sonsie & Smith are the only 3 without a contract, I have a feeling Dow is the one who will make way.

We have to make room for 3 list spots (Mandatory AFL rule), pick 3 & 4 and Kellaway.

We have only delisted 2 players (McIntosh & Kosi) with 1 spare rookie spot and 1 Cat B rookie spot.

Dow, Sonsie & Smith are the only 3 without a contract, I have a feeling Dow is the one who will make way.
I'm sure I'll get corrected if I'm wrong, but my understanding was that we had (going into this year) 36 on the primary list and 6 on the rookie list, meaning that we opted to leave 2 primary spots open as we could have run with 38 & 6.

With Kosi & Macca being delisted we now have 34 on the PL, Bauer & Blight are no longer on the rookie list meaning we have 4 on that list now.

We can go to 38 on the PL & 6 on the RL. Campbell needs to be upgraded to the PL so there's still 3 spots open for the club to take players in the ND and 3 spots on the RL for the RD should we wish to fill all spots.

I'm sure I'll get corrected if I'm wrong, but my understanding was that we had (going into this year) 36 on the primary list and 6 on the rookie list, meaning that we opted to leave 2 primary spots open as we could have run with 38 & 6.

With Kosi & Macca being delisted we now have 34 on the PL, Bauer & Blight are no longer on the rookie list meaning we have 4 on that list now.

We can go to 38 on the PL & 6 on the RL. Campbell needs to be upgraded to the PL so there's still 3 spots open for the club to take players in the ND and 3 spots on the RL for the RD should we wish to fill all spots.

If we go 38 on the main list, then we can only have 4 Cat A rookies and 2 Cat B rookies.

I have Gray, Tresize, Young as Cat A rookies? So perhaps if we manage to get Rosas Jnr there is a spot free for Dow as a Cat A rookie?

I think it also means Sonsie & Smith aren't getting delisted as we have only heard the club tell Dow he has to wait.

If we go 38 on the main list, then we can only have 4 Cat A rookies and 2 Cat B rookies.

I have Gray, Tresize, Young as Cat A rookies? So perhaps if we manage to get Rosas Jnr there is a spot free for Dow as a Cat A rookie?

I think it also means Sonsie & Smith aren't getting delisted as we have only heard the club told Dow he has to wait.
Ah yeah, 38 + 4 + 2. The rest is about right.

Let’s imagine we bring 5 or 6 players onto to the main list. We’ve already delisted 2. McIntosh has retired. Young departs for a draft pick. We trade for Hollands & Rosa. Campbell needs to be upgraded onto the main list. That gives us 3 picks in the national draft. We may even want a 4th to bring the young Kellaway in.

That means we have to release 3 players and I’m guessing that’s Kaleb Smith, Sonsie & Dow. I think Dow has the best attributes of the 3.

He has strong hands overhead, moves well in traffic, has become a two way runner, can distribute from stoppages and Yze likes his attitude. His weaknesses are that he has no penetration on his kicks, lacks a physical presence, a little one paced, and can turn the ball over by hand in a contested situation.

If possible, I’d be keen to rookie list Dow for next year. He offers an option in the midfield and we could also play him on a half forward flank.

Let’s imagine we bring 5 or 6 players onto to the main list. We’ve already delisted 2. McIntosh has retired. Young departs for a draft pick. We trade for Hollands & Rosa. Campbell needs to be upgraded onto the main list. That gives us 3 picks in the national draft. We may even want a 4th to bring the young Kellaway in.

That means we have to release 3 players and I’m guessing that’s Kaleb Smith, Sonsie & Dow. I think Dow has the best attributes of the 3.

He has strong hands overhead, moves well in traffic, has become a two way runner, can distribute from stoppages and Yze likes his attitude. His weaknesses are that he has no penetration on his kicks, lacks a physical presence, a little one paced, and can turn the ball over by hand in a contested situation.

If possible, I’d be keen to rookie list Dow for next year. He offers an option in the midfield and we could also play him on a half forward flank.

Bet we don't.

List Mgmt. End of Year List Changes