Essendon - A Danger Game?

Am I concerned? Too right! No excuses tonight. Fremantle in Perth is looking shaky with so many player underdone. If a player is not 100% why play them, regardless of who they are. Time to step up boys, we are better than this.

Everyone around here seems pretty confident that we'll roll over Essendon and get 4 points, increase our percentage and be in the top 4 within a few weeks, but I'm not so confident.

There are plenty of signs that we're going to be great on Friday night and Essendon are going to be rubbish. Here's the breakdown so far:

Hawks will be great:
1. We played our best football of the year last week
2. Roughy kicked 8
3. Buddy is due to find form and Essendon are his bitches
4. We might have Birchall and Gilham back
5. We play well at the Dome
6. We have beaten Essendon well in the last few years
7. Several Hawks haven't hit peak form yet (Hodge, Lewis, Bateman, Williams etc.)

Essendon will be rubbish:
1. Essendon got pummelled in Brisbane
2. Essendon are young and soft
3. Fletcher and Hille are both out, and they have no-one to stop Buddy and Roughie
4. They're beset by injuries to experienced players
5. Lloyd and Lucas are out of form, while Lucas has been dropped

But Essendon have already showed twice this year, that they are not to be under-estimated after stunning victories over Carlton and Collingwood. There's no doubt Matthew Knights will fire up his troops for this game as obviously we're the reigning premiers, but because we've consistently smashed Essendon in recent years.

Not to mention it's at the Telstra Dome, it's an Essendon home game meaning their army of supporters will be out in force to lift their efforts and it's a Friday night game. Essendon are a lightning quick team and when they get going, with the crowd behind them, they're pretty hard to stop.

Does anyone share my concerns?

THANK YOU VERY MUCH, for boosting OUR percentage?

Roughhead was stopped. Ironically, owned by the young guns.

This is an epic thread.

METRCD182.jpg

I hear these guys came out of retirement to play at the after match entertainment tonight :D

Bad luck to you Hawks fans, we just played better footy on the night. Does that make us a better team? Of course not, but sometimes that's just how it goes.

I look forward to seeing how we go in round 22 :)

A: Yes

Hopefully the playing group learn some valuable lessons from tonight -

(1) Never underestimate an opponent no matter who they are

(2) Teamwork IS the thing that talks!

Well, aren't we a confident bunch.

Here's some reasons to stop and think.

1. Two very physical games in a row.
2. Six day break
3. Bombers are quicker. Yes, they are butchers but we are being sprung for leg speed by teams with similar chippy-chippy MO's (Port and Carlton).
4. I doubt Birchall or Gilham will play. Someone gets their kicking boots on in the Bombers midfield, there is this bloke called Lloyd who may give us pause for thought.
5. The pressure is off the Bombers.

With Fletcher and Lucas to miss, there is no good reason we should lose. Just don't put your house on it.....

How true to form was this post??? :thumbsu:

Too bad Hawkers....... you can still get us back this year though.

If Hawthorn don't flog the bombers by 10 goals + I would be very surprised and dissappointed.

I fully expect to win and think that +39.5 points margin betting will pay quite sh#thouse for the punters this week.

so many possible quoting options... all so very very wrong!!!!

Yep. If the Hawks go in with the attitude of a lot of bigfooty supporters... then we are going to get rolled.

Spot on mate....

After reading this thread (reminded me of some Cats fans in the week before last years GF:eek:), I assume we just need to rock up, run around the oval a couple of times and take the points??

Any game is a danger game, and sure if things all went to plan, we would expect to roll the bombers - unfortunately that word is "if"....

Well, well, well.......lets hope we can use this as an example of "NEVER COUNT YOUR CHICKENS!!" EVER................

I was quite surprised at the Hawks supporters arrogance early in the week.

The Bombers are a quick and exciting young team and I am looking forward to our bright future.

I tipped the Hawks to win easily, but oh it feels sooo good to win this one!!!

Round 22 you will have a chance to redeem this unexpected loss.

You sure got the title of this thread right NB, it was more than a danger game it ended up being embarassing. :eek::thumbsdown:

Not as much embarrassing as tiring.

It very much reminded me of the '87 Grand Final with Hawthorn just running out of legs and made to look second rate and very slow.
I think you Dons fans may have Carlton to thank for that to some degree.

Another thing: I can't ever remember watching a half of football where seemingly everything a team, did just came off.
Not taking anything away from Essendon but the ball just kept rolling in Essendons favour.
Every 50/50 situation went in the Dons advantage.
Every bounce suited Essendon.
All the hand balling and chipping looked dodgy but just kept coming off.

Very unusual

Essendon - A Danger Game?