Essendon by 58points in practice match vrs W.Coast

that sounds great. if our midfield can get the ball in quickly to our forward line with lloyd, lucas, hirdy and cj we are going to be dangerous.

did hille & laycock have many taps to advantaged. usually it seems that hille just hits the ball without much control, has he improved?

i am of the belief that neither heff or pevs should be in our starting 22. after last night's game have the youngsters gone ahead of them in the pecking order??

Great stuff Nobby, i have been pumped for Jetta for a while. When i was around him at the under 18 carnvival and training i got the vibe he knows his going to be good. I think its a good thing, he hasnt done anything bad to suggest his cocky but he has a confidence about him which i really like.

I think this was a fantastic win by the bombers. Especially cause WC were without Cox,Judd,Cousins,Kerr,Embely,Braun,Butler,Chick,Nicoski and Selwood. With this sort of stuff i think you will make top 4. :D :D

And Essendon were without Hird, Lucas, JJ, McPhee, Campo and Lovett-Murray

I took 24 shots on my camera and I wish I knew how to put them up on the EFC board. :eek:

keen on seeing them Nobby. Can you send them to your computer either via email or USB cable? If so, you merely need to host them on a free sight like www.photobucket.com, then use the URL to post the image.

Do it!

Thanks nobby for that much detail on each player.

Good to know the kids are travelling well and good to hear that much on ryder and gumby.

Looks like they are using it as practice and trying to find the right mix to bring in hirdy, jj, mcphee and co.

does anyone know about the johns injury, reported in todays herald sun that got a knock in the hip (thats not good)

I've tried Imageshack before and just can't seem to get it right.
I'll have to get the missus to have a look,she's the computer wiz in the family.

I took heaps of shots of Jobe as he was having set shots from the pocket before the game and heaps of the interchange group as they ran down the boundry and did stretching-5 mtres away.

I then got amongst the kiddies and stood on a bench and shot about 10 photos of the boys as they filed in to get thru the tunnel after the game.

Spewing we weren't thinking after the game (too many of those cans of bourbon we smuggled in) because we walked right by the gate where the boys's bus was parked and found out later on that about 30 people were let in to get autographs before they got onboard.:(

There were heaps of aboriginal folks waiting and my guess is that they were probably related to Jetta and Paddy.

Its 40 degrees here in perth today,22 at night.Lucky for the boys they played on sat night which was much cooler. It would have killed them to play in the heat even last night.

do you think jetta was good enough to put his hand up for a spot in round 1. i figure there is two spots up for grabs out of kepler, dyson, pevs, jetta, houli, dempsey, slats, bolts and heff.

i have a bad feeling that they will pick kepler????
that leaves probably one of jetta, houli, dyson, dempsey or slats. i hope that its two of these five.

but i don't think we need slats, as welsh and mcveigh are already in the team.

your thoughts.....

i'm watching the match on bomber tv right now. here are my thoughts on the first quarter:
-gumby covers the ground very well. it always seemed that he had two men on him.
-we moved the ball very quickly, great run out of defence, we are using the "switch" quite often. i think it's something we have worked on over summer.
-staker is a dud, priddis will be a gun (if he gets a game).
-the pressure and tackling was great. we forced them to make many errors. even though davey didn't get aot of it, his pressure was amazing.
-slats gave away a few stupid (solomon like) free kicks
-lovett looks great, excellent kick to set cj up for his first. nice finish by cj also, 50 metres out right near where the 50m arch and the boundary line meet.
-although he doesn't get much of it, dempsey looks great with the ball. once his kicking on the run is up to scratch he will be very handy.
-we were dominate in the centre clearance. "hille/laycock down to watson who hands it off to a running stanton" was very common.
-kepler just gets lost when his opponent is leading. paddy looked more assured down back than kepler did.
-welsh was great with his attack on the ball, controlled agression.
-cj's grab in the goalsquare was a classic. brown like almost......

more to follow

quarter 2:
-stanton providing great run through the midfield
-i can't stress enough just how good davey's pressure on the ball carrier. his tackling and pressure set up 2 goals.
-gumby took 2 great marks, one a diving mark on the lead, the other was running back with the flight.
-lovett running with the ball will be very damaging
-jetta seems to already have confidence at this level. he runs great angles and his set shot from 50 was sublime
-lloyd kick three goals all from stron marks. the third mark was very good.
-the ball didn't go in their F50 in the first 15 minutes.
-we kept possession very well and ddn't panic
-slats is very sloppy. gave away a free which resulted in a goal. he has given away three frees for pushes in the back when tackling.
-winders got a knee in the back and got straight back up.

quarter 3:
-i think worsfold got into them at half time as they were running much harder than us and we were chasing a bit of tail for the majority of the quarter.
-winders decked lynch
-lloyd was pushing up the ground alot. i thought sheeds gave up on lloydy as a CHF years ago????
-monfries kicked a very nice goal being front and centre
-paddy going up as the third man in defence when the long ball came in was very effective.
-good signs of leadership by lloydy when he dragged LeCras of fletch. he rag dolled him.
-big mal is looking very fit
-gumby has to work on his set shots as his run up is quite stuttery
-fletch zoned off hansen quite alot, i don't mind this as he generated alot of play however hansen kicked a goal when fletch was nowhere in sight.
-hille was way too strong for Seaby at the stoppages
-watson was very very good all over the ground
-there was a very nice piece of transition play after they scored a behind. mal kicked the ball out to fletch who kicked a 60m pass to lovett. he took two bounces and hit the post from 35m out. the whole play took about 10 seconds in total.
-besides the 10 minutes in the econd quarter where lloydy kicked three he was comprehensively beaten by glass. i guess this isn't too bad though as he can only improve.
-i don't mean to be slats basher, but he turned the over a few times with poor kicks. although he has great attack on the ball and the man, i think he might struggle to get a gig at AAMI Stadium in round 1.

quarter 4:
-winders kicked a great goal running out of the centre
-watson is so calm when he has the ball. he never panics
-lovett skills while running at full pace are great and his goal from 50m out was all class.
-davey kicked a nice goal from a set shot 45m out with a tough angle
-houli kicked a superb running goal from 50m. he had some really good touches in the last quarter. he just look likes he fits in really nicely
-slats absolutely smashed armstrong with a great, fair tackle.
-jetta's dribbling goal just showed how much talent he has. he was under pressure form 2 eagles and he just put it on the boot. a steal at pick 18
-fletch was desperate in defence and towelled up lynch

thoughts after the game:
-it is going to be very tough for the match commitee to pick the side for round 1. i'm glad i'm not the one picking it. i guess it's a nice problem to have though.
-heff had no impact on the game and i'm sure that he won't be in the starting 22.
-i think pevs will find it hard to make it into the side. our new game plan of run and carry doesn't suit him at all. jobe and jj will be ahead of him. we can't play all three of them in the same game.
-dyson looks very rusty. i know he had a interupted pre-season, but i think houli, jetta and dempsey may have gone in front of him.
-kepler just seems to have no position. there are much better wingman than him and paddy seems to be much more reliable in defence.
-i know it was only a praccy match, but i think if we get a good run with injuries we can really challenge for the eight. i reckon we have just as much potential as anyside apart from west coast. if lloydy plays more than 15 games we will make the eight.

all in all it was a very encouraging performance and hopefully we can back it up against the dogs this week.

i'm watching the match on bomber tv right now. here are my thoughts on the first quarter:
-gumby covers the ground very well. it always seemed that he had two men on him.
-we moved the ball very quickly, great run out of defence, we are using the "switch" quite often. i think it's something we have worked on over summer.
-staker is a dud, priddis will be a gun (if he gets a game).
-the pressure and tackling was great. we forced them to make many errors. even though davey didn't get aot of it, his pressure was amazing.
-slats gave away a few stupid (solomon like) free kicks
-lovett looks great, excellent kick to set cj up for his first. nice finish by cj also, 50 metres out right near where the 50m arch and the boundary line meet.
-although he doesn't get much of it, dempsey looks great with the ball. once his kicking on the run is up to scratch he will be very handy.
-we were dominate in the centre clearance. "hille/laycock down to watson who hands it off to a running stanton" was very common.
-kepler just gets lost when his opponent is leading. paddy looked more assured down back than kepler did.
-welsh was great with his attack on the ball, controlled agression.
-cj's grab in the goalsquare was a classic. brown like almost......

more to follow

Sheedy had a long chat to Gumby as they warmed up having shots before the match and was pointing and sort of waving his arm towards the centre of the ground. He must have told him to push up the ground in the 1st when the ball was around the mid-field and thats what Gumby was doing for awhile. I watched him run up and run around trying to get into the play and he did get a few handballs out but at one stage he got hammered with the ball by being to slow to get rid of it. But the first 20 mins of play was very congested and almost all our guys were up around the middle with Johns and lloyd in the F50.

Don't know what type of experiment Sheedy was up too, but Gumbleton looked lost as he jogged around trying to judge where the ball was headed. But hey,it was his first real big match and it will take time to get used to the sheer pace of AFL footy..he'll be right.
No such problems for Jetta but. The faster the pace of the game the more comfortable he looks. For such a young player,Jetta wasn't worried at all about his opponents and just moved around the ground like a pro.

Essendon by 58points in practice match vrs W.Coast