Review Essendon defeat Footscray by 8 points

I agree that he's our best KPF but lets make sure he's in form before we play him eh? The last thing we need for our structure is an out of form, unfit lumbering giant up forward getting rebounded. If he plays well tomorrow he's in, if not give him time. We looked slow enough tonight.

TBC is in the VFL getting fit not getting in form, If JD and Carlisle cant kick goals against the bulldogs then he is a dead set certainty to play next week..

Think I will conduct a survey to see what is mentioned more often - Hird coming back in August or T- Bell is our best forward.

Think there is an over-reaction to our second quarter. Yes - We had a goal-less quarter ( out third for the year, but we have also kept the opposition to three scoreless quarters ) but the Bulldogs only kicked 2 goals. The defensive structures are holding up well and it's matter of having a better functioning forward line.

Think I will conduct a survey to see what is mentioned more often - Hird coming back in August or T- Bell is our best forward.

Think there is an over-reaction to our second quarter. Yes - We had a goal-less quarter ( out third for the year, but we have also kept the opposition to three scoreless quarters ) but the Bulldogs only kicked 2 goals. The defensive structures are holding up well and it's matter of having a better functioning forward line.

I think you'll find Hird in August is mentioned by mainly one poster.

Hey guys, apologies for intruding as I know it's been quite touchy with all the flak the club's copped over the last 12+ months but I've got a couple of things from a neutral perspective I wouldn't mind you hearing, if that's okay.

I haven't been Daniher's biggest fan, but bloody hell he had me impressed tonight. It wasn't his best game, but one or two particular passages of play where the kick inside 50 didn't benefit him at all, quite the opposite, and he just worked his way into a position to take the mark. He's going to be a ripper.

Otherwise, even though I know Essendon are thought to be above our level I think it was a good win for the Bombers tonight - we're a team that are capable of dragging games back within our reach now and taking more opportunities than we used to, and it was a gritty effort to get over the line when we were pressing hard. I'd be pretty happy with it.

Good luck next week!

TBC is in the VFL getting fit not getting in form, If JD and Carlisle cant kick goals against the bulldogs then he is a dead set certainty to play next week..
So if he runs around like a headless chicken and plays like sh!t (not that i'm saying he will) he's a certainty? hmmm.
I'd rather see players brought in on merit.
I suppose we did bring Dempsey back not on form but on structural need. You could be right.
Who comes out? Carlisle?

Haven't seen the game, but Melksham is one of our better kicks he shouldn't be tagging, Howlett should be tagging instead of Melksham.

Disagree. Melksham is a strong body which is needed tagging in close. I think Howlett would get tossed aside too easily, plus his pace can be quite damaging on the rebound.

watching them sing the song - abysmal

I noticed that too, not exactly enthusiastic or pleased

TBH i saw the same and i dont mind it. They sang it as if they hadnt won, which i have no problems with. They know they are a better side and didnt turn up to play today. They know they are a better side than a goal better than the dogs.

So if he runs around like a headless chicken and plays like sh!t (not that i'm saying he will) he's a certainty? hmmm.
I'd rather see players brought in on merit.
I suppose we did bring Dempsey back not on form but on structural need. You could be right.
Who comes out? Carlisle?

TBC is best 22, they play when they are fit for AFL, simple as that. Winderlich may be an out, we need someone to take the pressure off the other young talls.

Subdued supporting at my place, 4 X WB supporters, just me EFC. Doggies having Morris and Johannisen in, firmed their backline and rebound abilities. Their newer players, Libba, Dahlhaus, Macrae etc are building into the form of late last season - and aren't constant pushovers anymore.

I don't enjoy how erratic we have been lately, too many flat patches for my liking, but I'm happy to bank the four points, reasonably expect a form enhancing win against Brisbane, and take stock at 4 / 4. The Sydney game is the season definer for me. Jag a win, and we're good to go after the bye.

A catastrophic loss kills the season, imo, an honourable loss means we could sneak a finals berth based on others results, not our own merit.

With you, people calling Tbell our best forward is just bizarre... He's our best Ruckman....Our best KPF is JD...he needs time, was brilliant at times tonight, if people think our forward line is inept go have a look at the bulldogs board, anyone still think we miss Crameri? Well played Hurley...Dominated him....

No! we need inside mids getting in there and being accountable! Not mediocre seagulls. Melksham has some good scalps as a tagger (eg. Griffen) and is underrated as a contested midfielder. He won our contested poss. for something like 5 or 6 games in a row last year, hes just needs to play into some form.
Go have another look at the game, Melky did some very solid things when the game was on the line, if you've played footy you'd have noticed them...So easy to be a critic, why not find something to applaud...

With you, people calling Tbell our best forward is just bizarre... He's our best Ruckman....Our best KPF is JD...he needs time, was brilliant at times tonight, if people think our forward line is inept go have a look at the bulldogs board, anyone still think we miss Crameri? Well played Hurley...Dominated him....
I think you're getting confused. Daniher will be our best forward, but Bellchambers is currently our best key forward. Daniher will be a far better forward in 2 years, but right now I'd rather Bellchambers coming out of the goalsquare

I think JoeD and Carlisle get smashed next week by Patful and Merrett. Id like to see us push their defense for size and height so i reckon play all 3 if in dry conditions.
Merrett's playing forward/2nd ruck, which is good for us.

I think you're getting confused. Daniher will be our best forward, but Bellchambers is currently our best key forward. Daniher will be a far better forward in 2 years, but right now I'd rather Bellchambers coming out of the goalsquare
Not confused at all... Tbell is a Ruckman....he pinch hits in the forward line, I can assure you he is not a KPF... even dreamteam agrees, he's not dual position, he's a ruckman...Our best forward is JD, who can pinch hit in the ruck...Show me where Tbell has played one game as a forward...it will never ever happen..He's a ruckman, right now our best forward is Chappy...Love him..

Using DT as a reference? Just give up. Bellchambers is the best performed KPF in our side over an AFL season, bar none
well he only came back a couple of weeks ago? he's still working his way back to match fitness....
He needs a big game against Brisbane, but I can see what you're getting at.

Review Essendon defeat Footscray by 8 points