News Essendon list changes (Update: Neagle and Atkinson delisted)

Re: Essendon list changes

Disappointed that Rigga has been let go.... would have definately kept him over Crameri.

No doubt he wont be playing for Bendigo next year either?? (He was going to be a Bendigo player before EFC rookied him)...

HFF

You are familiar with the clubs and the characters in the Frankston/Dandenong area.

Can you shed any light on rumor/innuendo.

Yeah, looking into it further at the moment..

Younger brother (who I went to school with) said: "yeah mate, he has been, bit of a shame but he is hopeful someone will give him another chance come draft time".

So just waiting on a reply back to that.

Rumor has it that he has actually bought a house up in the Caroline Springs area and it is looking increasingly likely that he will continue to play VFL football in or around the City.

Has a contract on offer from Sandy if another AFL club doesn't pick him up.

Yeah, forgot to mention that :cool:

Few mates down there (Irving, Magner, Lourey) and the highly respected Brett Lovett added to the Zebra's coaching list no wonder Rigga would love to play down there really.

i think also the fact that before the came to essendon he was earning up to 100k playing VFL footy and working as a builder...

on a rookie contract he was earning a base of around 35k and couldnt work as a builder.

that could be a reason why he has chosen to go back to just playing VFL... i know i would if i felt i didnt have a real chance to make it.. especially at 26

He should have been put into the seniors while he was dominating games, just before he was selected for the VFL state team. However, in his time in the seniors he didn't show anything to prove he would make the grade, especially at 26. He seems like one of those guys who dominates VFL, but lacks the weapons to make it the next grade up. I have the same doubts about Crameri.

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/fun_n_games/photos.asp?sp=5&vs=Pre-season+2011:&vp=&vr=&vy=&va=#

Still's still training with us, i'm assuming he's going to be rookied

edit; wait that's an october beep test

I was actually speaking to him at the Lower last week and the club has raised that as a posibility. HAs had discussinons with Hirdy, but admitted he was not confident of it. Said he has also had chats with some others about his options and also talked to some VFL clubs. I think someone will give him another shot. Seemed a genuine guy too.

Do you knnow why he was released? Was it just that Hirdy doesn't rate him? Hope to see him or T. Slatts given a second chance.

Not really sure, didn't ask. I think he was unlucky to be out of contract at the time imo. He is only just 19 still but Carlisle has gone past him in the pecking order at this stage. Only chatted to him for about 5 minutes so didn't get too deep. That and we were both well on the way to pissed, as with everyone else there that night, lol.

I've heard there'll be a couple more delisted, initials Jay Neagle and Jarrod Atkinson.

Have been offered rookie spots, but if not, they're off.

They were told after training today. Everyone was a little shocked, especially at Neagle.

Apparently, they came back to pre-season in poor shape, and have been late to a couple of training sessions.

All of this is via a very reputable source from here on BF.

gladje4.gif

Correct, and the decision was made only recently, certainly not in time to accept a trade for Houli.

Would also give T Slattery and Still a chance for a reprieve (just me speculating).

At this stage, it looks like:

Senior List:
OUT: Atkinson, Neagle, Slattery, Still, Laycock, Houli
IN: Howlett, pick 8, pick 31, pick 48, pick 65, pick 82

Rookie List:
OUT: Bock, Marigliani, J Williams, Howlett
RETAINED: Crameri, Silverlock, Quinn
IN: Webster, Meli, pick 9, pick 26

I was talking to Still at the Lower last week and he held out some hope of being rookied. He did not sound confident though.

I'm not 100%, but I reckon this decision was made later than that.

News Essendon list changes (Update: Neagle and Atkinson delisted)